Close
Close
Advanced Search >

Tools of the Trade: Artificer Options
Quick Preview
/gs_flipbook/flip.php?xml=/demo_xml/268410.xml&w=500&h=324
Full‑size Preview
https://watermark.dmsguild.com/pdf_previews/268410-sample.pdf

Tools of the Trade: Artificer Options

ADD TO WISHLIST >
PDF
$3.45

Fill out your utility belt with these new artificer specialties!

With the recent release of the much-anticipated artificer revision, we wanted to strap on our goggles and get to work on these fascinating class. We hope these artificer specialities let you explore different playstyles while still maintaining the arcane inventor theme.

"The impressive part about Tools of the Trade is how different the subclasses feel." - Christian Hoffer, comicbook.com

"I like how much flavor has been put into each of them." - Discover RPG stream

What's Inside?

  • The Arcane Botanist—unlock the power of plants and pheromones with this nature-loving specialization.
  • The Biomancer—push your body to the limit with deadly chemical cocktails with this monstrous specialization.
  • The Golemancer—create a loyal servant from your fallen foes with this shocking specialization.
  • The Ironclad—create and modify a powerful suit of armor and join the frontline with this hard-hitting specialization.
  • The Observer—use stealthy drones to relay vital information to your companions with this tactical specialization.
  • The Sapper—litter the battlefield with dangerous mines with this explosive specialization.
  • 10 new infusions!
 
 More from this Title's Contributors
 
 Customers Who Bought this Title also Purchased
Reviews (0)
Discussions (7)
Customer avatar
Miguel A March 20, 2019 3:46 pm UTC
Are the new infusions focused on the new subclasses that are introduced in this or are they general infusions that could be used with any subclass?
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 20, 2019 3:52 pm UTC
CREATOR
Hey Miguel!

Thanks for your interest in our product. The new infusions are not directly tied to the specialties in any way. They could be used by any artificer.

If you have any other questions, please let us know.
Customer avatar
Alexander R March 15, 2019 2:18 pm UTC
PURCHASER
I really love what you've done in this supplement.
Excellent work! You've inspired me to work on my own Artificer subclass.

I did have a couple questions relating to the ironclad's temporary hitpoints feature. The armor is active for 10 turns, and while active, confers 5 temporary hitpoints at the beginning of the turn. How did you intend this to work? I'm making the assumption that this means, the character would receive 5 temporary hitpoints at the beginning of each of those 10 turns. Do unused temporary hitpoints rollover and stack with future temporary hitpoints? Or is it capped at 5 temporary hitpoints per turn?
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 15, 2019 2:26 pm UTC
CREATOR
Hey Alexander!

Thanks so much for the kind words and support. When you release that subclass, post it here - we'd love to see it!

Temporary hit points do not stack in fifth edition - you always take the highest single source of temporary hit points available to you. For example, when activated the ironclad gains 5 temp HP. If they are hit for 10 damage that turn, they will gain the full 5 the following turn (and have still suffered 5 damage on their "normal" hit points). If they only took 3 damage, however, they would "gain" 2 temporary hit points (bringing them back to 5). A more accurate way to say that would be that they then have 2 sources of temporary hit points: 3 and 5. They would choose the 5 as it is higher.

You can refer to chapter 9 of the Player's Handbook for more information on temporary hit points.

Hope this helps!
Customer avatar
Alexander R March 15, 2019 2:38 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Well would ya look at that...thanks for pointing that out! My first DM played some house rules then, and I just kinda assumed that's how it went. For an embarrassingly long time. Shame on me. Thanks again for your help and your work here!

(Looking forward to checking out those new infusions!)
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 15, 2019 3:01 pm UTC
CREATOR
The new infusions are actually already out! You should see a version 1.1 series of documents in your library. Download those and you're good to go!
Customer avatar
Tyler C March 14, 2019 3:34 am UTC
PURCHASER
Great product! I love the balance of the non-companion subclasses, and adore the flavor of all of them! My only recommendation is altering the name of the Biomancer subclass to something different, and making a biomancer that grafts/mutates parts more, and deals in chemical based enhancement less. I think there’s design space for both to exist separately :) Thanks guys!
Customer avatar
Harris R March 12, 2019 9:49 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Hey, I was wondering if the Biomancer's extra attack stacked with the Artificer's Arcane Armament, as in 5e extra attack modifiers don't stack. Is this just to circumvent the need for a magical weapon from Arcane Armament?
Customer avatar
Christian E March 12, 2019 10:14 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Hi! While in Biomination form, you can make an unarmed attack using a bonus action. This is separate from the Arcane Armament, meaning it doesn't apply to it. Or in other words, once you have Arcane Armament, you can use your Attack action to make 2 attacks like it says in the UA. Before or after that, you can use a bonus action to make an unarmed attack.

I hope this clarifies the rule! If there's anything else or it didn't, let me know ;)
Customer avatar
Harris R March 12, 2019 10:30 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Sorry, I meant when you gain the ability to grow additional arms at 14th level using Biomancy mastery.
Customer avatar
Christian E March 12, 2019 10:35 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Hi again, I just realized you were talking about the Biomancy Mastery feature (Pair of Arms)! The intend is that you have an additional attack with whatever weapon you are wielding in your additional pair of arms. I'll reword this to better represent it. Thanks for pointing it out! I'm not 100% sure what you mean with "attack modifiers don't stack" but it would work like the 11th level fighter ability that let's you have three attacks. For Pair of Arms of arms that would mean 1 regular attack, 1 attack with whatever you are wielding in your new pair of arms, and 1 attack with the magic weapon as per Arcane Armament.
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 10, 2019 11:01 pm UTC
CREATOR
Hey everyone!

Thank you so much for your support. We became a Silver bestseller product today, and, as promised, will be releasing additional content in the next few days. This will come in the form of new infusions to use with either these specializations or two from the Unearthed Arcana document.

If you have already purchased the product, you will receive a notification in your Guild inbox prompting you to download the new version.

Thanks again, everyone!
Customer avatar
Darrell L March 08, 2019 7:15 pm UTC
PURCHASER
For the Ironclad,you say that the Arcano-magical armor is a 'suit of magic medium armor'.

In the 'It's Still "Armor"' sidebar, you say that Infusions that target armor work on arcano-armor. Is this an exception to the general Infuse Item description that 'Enhance Armor' and 'Resitant Armor' can only affect non-magical items?
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 09, 2019 12:47 am UTC
CREATOR
Hey Darrell!

Firstly, thanks a lot for picking up Tools of the Trade, your support really does help a ton.

I'm actually the creator of the Ironclad, and my intent was that infusions *can* be used with the arcano-armor. The "magical" language is a holdover from an early draft of the specialty. We will be sure to change this in an update shortly. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

We hope you are enjoying the specialties so far. What do you think of this latest version of the artificer?
Customer avatar
Darrell L March 14, 2019 4:05 am UTC
PURCHASER
Thanks for the reply, took me a while to get back to it.

Another question concerning the Arcano-armor ability"When you hit a target with a melee weapon attack using a weapon with the heavy property, you can force the target to make a Strength saving throw (save DC equal to your spell save DC). On a failure, the target is pushed 5 feet directly away from you.". Why give this ability when the Artificer gets no Proficiency with heavy melee weapons. To use it I basucally have to take a level in another class or the Weapon Master feat. Is this as intended?
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 14, 2019 4:34 am UTC
CREATOR
Hey Darrell!

Check out the Large and In Charge feature. The Ironclad gains proficiency in one weapon with the heavy property. Hope this helps!
Customer avatar
Darrell L March 14, 2019 4:53 pm UTC
PURCHASER
Bleh . . . somehow I completely missed that section . . . I am going senile. :)

Thanks.
Customer avatar
Nikolas T March 05, 2019 7:47 pm UTC
PURCHASER
The cover is a m a z i n g. This looks extremely professional. I am getting this and going to thorough check on the options!
Customer avatar
Christopher W March 05, 2019 8:07 pm UTC
CREATOR
Hey Nikolas!

Thanks so much for your support - it means a lot to us. If you have any questions, let us know.
Narrow Results
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!









Product Information
Electrum seller
Community Content
Rules Edition(s)
Pages
19
Format
Original electronic
Scanned image
These products were created by scanning an original printed edition. Most older books are in scanned image format because original digital layout files never existed or were no longer available from the publisher.

For PDF download editions, each page has been run through Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software to attempt to decipher the printed text. The result of this OCR process is placed invisibly behind the picture of each scanned page, to allow for text searching. However, any text in a given book set on a graphical background or in handwritten fonts would most likely not be picked up by the OCR software, and is therefore not searchable. Also, a few larger books may be resampled to fit into the system, and may not have this searchable text background.

For printed books, we have performed high-resolution scans of an original hardcopy of the book. We essentially digitally re-master the book. Unfortunately, the resulting quality of these books is not as high. It's the problem of making a copy of a copy. The text is fine for reading, but illustration work starts to run dark, pixellating and/or losing shades of grey. Moiré patterns may develop in photos. We mark clearly which print titles come from scanned image books so that you can make an informed purchase decision about the quality of what you will receive.
Original electronic format
These ebooks were created from the original electronic layout files, and therefore are fully text searchable. Also, their file size tends to be smaller than scanned image books. Most newer books are in the original electronic format. Both download and print editions of such books should be high quality.
File Last Updated:
March 11, 2019
This title was added to our catalog on March 05, 2019.