Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:2.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
1 4
0 7
0 6
0 3
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2018 13:07:22

There is a lot to like about this adventure; one of those is that it forces players and DM's to think. For example: we're so used to authors giving us solutions before there are problems and I see that reflected wit the revies complaining about breathing underwater. However, one of the downtime activities players can use is purchasing Uncommon and Rare potions from Wakanga, which would include potions of water breathing.

I will say that there are also some things that were difficult for the players and for myself to process. The largest thing was that the interaction with NPC's felt similar to that of a World of WarCraft quest chain; where every time you ran into a different group of NPC's it felt like they were asking you to do something, even though they were all asking you to investigate threads of the original story. In the end, it could have been my interpretation of the module that hindered the storytelling.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2018 09:15:35

Adventure itself was fine but there were a lot of events resting on very specific player abilities/actions. Like the whole underwater portion without actually offering the players a way to explore underwater (I just added some wizard hirelings to cast water breathing on them). Or the Marid at the end of the ship which is the only way to find out Delnira's location (assuming the party saves him).
This honestly felt like 2 adventures crammed into one. The entire middle portion is like it's own adventure which as a quest reward gives the players the necessary info on where to go to finish the actual adventure. Part 1 & 4 are the actual main quest and only make up 1.5 hours out of 4. The actual plots were interesting enough, even if Aremag kidnapping that elf specifically to be his watchdog felt like a kinda random decison. It's just too much content for a 4 hour slot, which is a problem with the AL-style of play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2018 22:02:23

Module tends to be a bit biased towards spellcasters. The OG mission is pretty vague and can be easily missed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 09:49:54

It starts off with a fun hook, find the daughter who has been missing for 100 years! I think the initial investigation phase is generally good.

The plot is inconsistent and weakly connected from there:

  1. Can't cast water breathing? Adventure fails.
  2. Why doesn't this module have a sidebar regarding underwater combat and the constitution saving throws required of long term exploration in the chilly high pressure depths?
  3. Head into the ship before talking to the merfolk? Adventure fails because you don't know how to save the only creature that can unravel the mystery.
  4. Why are merfolk warlocks pact of the fiend? It's a completely thoughtless choice.
  5. Aremag doesn't have legendary actions? Aremag is literally a legendary named denizen of the Bay of Chult, but his stat block is so boring as a solo opponent for a T3 party that I simply can't continue on the subject and remain civil.
  6. Aremag's motivation and scripted behavior regarding Dalnira and his lair is nonsensical.
  7. There isn't enough time in a 4 hour block to run the Order of the Gauntlet mission.

Many aspect of the module are solid. The underwater settings are pretty well detailed for encounter purposes. However, the monster generator on the ship is problematic for encounter length as it keeps adding fairly low threat monsters.

There are too many ways to fail this before you start by not having the right party. Too many ways to fail in game due to making reasonable choices based on available information. Too many creature design/selection flaws for the fights to make sense for the underwater milieu.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2018 14:54:50

TL;DR: The module tried to accomplish too much, and in the end accomplished very little.

"Yay! We finsihed the side quests! That was fun! Oh yeah, what exactly was our main quest again?"

The entire adventure can be summarised as "the missing daughter is with Arameg, get her out", and everything else in the module were just filler content to fill up the 4-hour time slot. The relationship between the plot points were also very, very far-stretched, almost like they were just pieced together for the sake of plot convenience.

The arm with the sword and the signet ring, looking for the man's adventuring journey, seeking out a ship at the bottom of the ocean, cleansing aberration leeches, negotiating with Arameg... These are all fun ideas with a lot of potential on paper, but none of them got the attention they deserved to do those ideas justice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 11:20:32

Good: Good Side Trek Story Murderhobo Deterrent Bad: Long Middle Part DM Tips: Be prepared to shorten the middle part



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:38:26

An interesting 6+ hour adventure slotted into 4 hours. The idea is interesting, but the middle is pretty much pure fluff and time killer, on an adventure you can't finish in 4 hours.

Spoilers: Cut the whole merfolk portion. Perhaps some other superfluous fights too.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 10:49:59

Recently bought this module for a DM I know to say I've completed all the season 7 tier 3 modules. The tl;dr is that it's a fairly boring series of fetch/search quests. Suggestions at improving this module include:

  • Provide the players something to make traveling underwater less of a chore and class check, with said items being obtained by the related factions. This can be accomplished by temporarily lending some Rings of Swimming or other minor magical item, some sort of aquatic mount, or giving the party Potions of Water Breathing.
  • Not defaulting nearly every underwater encounter to combat, especially when one of the only non-combat encounters is with creatures that the players are practically forced to kill because the creatures shot first.
  • Allow the players more options at resolving the final situation beyond even more combat or having just the right spell prepaed. I can see something like what 7-9 did, or letting the players make use of certain contacts in the Port to negotiate terms that would make all parties involved happy.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 09:42:46

This adventure goes back and forth with good and bad points, and ended up a bit of a mess overall. The mystery and story is very intriguing, but the path to get there is all jumbled. One wrong move in a particular encounter and the module is over. The combat encounters range from too easy for tier 3 to decent. It feels like the writer was trying to do too many things at once. I appreciate the overall story of the module, but the details make this less enjoyable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2018 02:52:30

I really enjoy roleplay heavy adventures. However, this is just rediculous. So if the players want to complete the quest in the time limit allotted they would need to skip the entire underwater scene and ship exploration. Everything all together easily puts this at a 6 hour adventure. My combats lasted 2 rounds each tops. The monsters are a relitive challenge for teir 3 but not by much. What is the group supposed to do if they don't have a wizard to cast water breathing? The fact that everything eventually leads to one place is one thing but the fact that only one enemy knows the location just seems like a wild goose chase. What if the pcs just kill the crazy old elf and take the sword. It's just poorly written. The modual also suggests to the player to case Find the Path, which my player actually had a blessing from Ubto for. That was the only neat part about this adventure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by john j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 01:42:01

This was a very well balanced and interesting adventure. There are some areas for improvement. A few of the merfolk are underpowered and the warlocks should have a different patron due to fact that half of their spell selection is useless due to the environment. I like the fact that this is underwater for the most part it provides a unique challenge for players at this tier.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 13:02:48

The module is a bit off the rails. I enjoyed the great RP early on, but that section does not serve a point. This can easily be streamlined, and can be unnecessary. The middle section is just odd. Merfolk enslaving Sea Elves? I get what the author was going for but they missed the mark. Finally, what is the best win condition? If there is not a OOTG present, the party either willingly gives themselves to slavary or takes actions that could cause problems for the Port. Even with the OOTG, you give a bad person into servitude. Not exactly a good thing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 16:29:25

This module is just a huge mess. The story starts off okay but immediately becomes ridiculous. When I finally reached the end and explained to the players how they were suppose to get to the dragon turtles lair they were stunned. "You need to walk into a dragon turtles mouth so he can take you to his lair". They replied only a real idiot would do that. I ended up changing it so a muguffin helped them get into the dragon turtles lair. They fought him without killing him and took all his stuff. I always thought that hoard of the dragon queen was one of the worst written dnd adventures but this one definitely proved me wrong. My players enjoyed this module only because it was like watching a horrible train crash. Its awful yet funny (the fact the dragon turtle is willing to let you sit on his dragon hoard for TWO DAYS before he becomes impatient and attacks you is hysterical). But it is also extremely dark. The fact that this dragon turtle has been holding this women captive for 100 years is really messed up (she would be insane by that point). I would give this module 0 stars if I could.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 02:17:31

This module is way too easy to fail. You need to be perceptive and ask the right questions of the dinosaur bait's family. Then you need to talk with the hostile merfolk that have sea elf captives. Otherwise, you'll never know how to save the Marid and get the information you need! He's the only one who knows where the daughter is! Oh, and don't kill our beloved dragon turtle, even though he's enslaved someone! Sorry, just wasn't my cup of tea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2018 19:26:11

This module had a great deal of potential, unfortunatly several critical flaws detracted from the experience. First, the investigation of the location of the ship as very well done, it provided a relief from the normal hack and slash of DMs guild adventures. That being said, the secret mission was a little too secret, so if the players had other plans than outlined in the nodule, the secret mission was unaccomplishable. If the players execute a couple of key conversational gambits, they can skip the entire middle (meat) section of th module. Similarly, if the players are not careful with important NPCs later in the adventure, it quickly becomes un-finishable. Ahh, also, in the middle section, the spell seclection for the main antagonists are absurd, almost like the authors were not really thinking about the NPCs, just throwing an appropriate CR stat block at the problem (hint scimitars and maces along with fire based spells are absurd).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items