Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:2.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
1 2
0 5
0 4
0 3
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:38:26

An interesting 6+ hour adventure slotted into 4 hours. The idea is interesting, but the middle is pretty much pure fluff and time killer, on an adventure you can't finish in 4 hours.

Spoilers: Cut the whole merfolk portion. Perhaps some other superfluous fights too.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 10:49:59

Recently bought this module for a DM I know to say I've completed all the season 7 tier 3 modules. The tl;dr is that it's a fairly boring series of fetch/search quests. Suggestions at improving this module include:

  • Provide the players something to make traveling underwater less of a chore and class check, with said items being obtained by the related factions. This can be accomplished by temporarily lending some Rings of Swimming or other minor magical item, some sort of aquatic mount, or giving the party Potions of Water Breathing.
  • Not defaulting nearly every underwater encounter to combat, especially when one of the only non-combat encounters is with creatures that the players are practically forced to kill because the creatures shot first.
  • Allow the players more options at resolving the final situation beyond even more combat or having just the right spell prepaed. I can see something like what 7-9 did, or letting the players make use of certain contacts in the Port to negotiate terms that would make all parties involved happy.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 09:42:46

This adventure goes back and forth with good and bad points, and ended up a bit of a mess overall. The mystery and story is very intriguing, but the path to get there is all jumbled. One wrong move in a particular encounter and the module is over. The combat encounters range from too easy for tier 3 to decent. It feels like the writer was trying to do too many things at once. I appreciate the overall story of the module, but the details make this less enjoyable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2018 02:52:30

I really enjoy roleplay heavy adventures. However, this is just rediculous. So if the players want to complete the quest in the time limit allotted they would need to skip the entire underwater scene and ship exploration. Everything all together easily puts this at a 6 hour adventure. My combats lasted 2 rounds each tops. The monsters are a relitive challenge for teir 3 but not by much. What is the group supposed to do if they don't have a wizard to cast water breathing? The fact that everything eventually leads to one place is one thing but the fact that only one enemy knows the location just seems like a wild goose chase. What if the pcs just kill the crazy old elf and take the sword. It's just poorly written. The modual also suggests to the player to case Find the Path, which my player actually had a blessing from Ubto for. That was the only neat part about this adventure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by john j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 01:42:01

This was a very well balanced and interesting adventure. There are some areas for improvement. A few of the merfolk are underpowered and the warlocks should have a different patron due to fact that half of their spell selection is useless due to the environment. I like the fact that this is underwater for the most part it provides a unique challenge for players at this tier.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 13:02:48

The module is a bit off the rails. I enjoyed the great RP early on, but that section does not serve a point. This can easily be streamlined, and can be unnecessary. The middle section is just odd. Merfolk enslaving Sea Elves? I get what the author was going for but they missed the mark. Finally, what is the best win condition? If there is not a OOTG present, the party either willingly gives themselves to slavary or takes actions that could cause problems for the Port. Even with the OOTG, you give a bad person into servitude. Not exactly a good thing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 16:29:25

This module is just a huge mess. The story starts off okay but immediately becomes ridiculous. When I finally reached the end and explained to the players how they were suppose to get to the dragon turtles lair they were stunned. "You need to walk into a dragon turtles mouth so he can take you to his lair". They replied only a real idiot would do that. I ended up changing it so a muguffin helped them get into the dragon turtles lair. They fought him without killing him and took all his stuff. I always thought that hoard of the dragon queen was one of the worst written dnd adventures but this one definitely proved me wrong. My players enjoyed this module only because it was like watching a horrible train crash. Its awful yet funny (the fact the dragon turtle is willing to let you sit on his dragon hoard for TWO DAYS before he becomes impatient and attacks you is hysterical). But it is also extremely dark. The fact that this dragon turtle has been holding this women captive for 100 years is really messed up (she would be insane by that point). I would give this module 0 stars if I could.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 02:17:31

This module is way too easy to fail. You need to be perceptive and ask the right questions of the dinosaur bait's family. Then you need to talk with the hostile merfolk that have sea elf captives. Otherwise, you'll never know how to save the Marid and get the information you need! He's the only one who knows where the daughter is! Oh, and don't kill our beloved dragon turtle, even though he's enslaved someone! Sorry, just wasn't my cup of tea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2018 19:26:11

This module had a great deal of potential, unfortunatly several critical flaws detracted from the experience. First, the investigation of the location of the ship as very well done, it provided a relief from the normal hack and slash of DMs guild adventures. That being said, the secret mission was a little too secret, so if the players had other plans than outlined in the nodule, the secret mission was unaccomplishable. If the players execute a couple of key conversational gambits, they can skip the entire middle (meat) section of th module. Similarly, if the players are not careful with important NPCs later in the adventure, it quickly becomes un-finishable. Ahh, also, in the middle section, the spell seclection for the main antagonists are absurd, almost like the authors were not really thinking about the NPCs, just throwing an appropriate CR stat block at the problem (hint scimitars and maces along with fire based spells are absurd).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 15:31:36

I've DMed and played through this one a handfull of times, and I want to like it. The first part is an investigation that just feels thrown together and unncessary. I appreciate the effort to try and add some RP/skills opportunities, but this wasn't executed very well. I'd rather it had been skipped to allow more time for the last part of the adventure, which has been forced to be rushed every time I've run or played it.

The second section is by far the strongest. It's a series of solid undersea combat affair. I personally would have changed out some of the monsters used (fire-based attacks underwater - really?!), but it's not bad all in all.

The last part could be great. An RP or a solid boss battle opportunity, there is just never enough time for it to be run effectively.

So to sum up - a decent adventure that can be quite good if a creative DM takes license to clean up the messy parts.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2018 12:52:22

This is an okay module. There are good points and bad.

The bad:

  • As a tier 3 module, the base mission is "help crazy elf find daughter lost for over 100 years." My players, at least, did not find this compelling.
  • The OG Secret Mission is very "tacked on." It's a more compelling story than the basic mission, but it really isn't integrated with the story at all.
  • The crux of the entire module rests on not killing Jafray. If he dies, the adventure stops there. Powerful parties can easily take him out and/or be disinclined to to help the "bad guy."
  • The Brain Leeches really should operate like other swarms: have a reach of 0ft and do half damage once it's at half HP.
  • The Merfolk Warlocks of the Fiend... nearly all of their abilities are fire-based, which the party has free resistance against being under water.

The good:

  • A disjointed mystery, but the clues lead the party to the wreck easily enough without feeling like they were led by the nose.
  • I actually like the story here (but again, see my first bad comment about tier appropriate).
  • The characters adn setting are flushed out well, and it was easy as the DM to drop my characters into each piece.

Random other thoughts:

  • This is a very minor thing, but as a decent portion of this adventure takes place underwater, it may be good to note where the party can get Potions of Water Breathing or a scroll or similar - in case they aren't equipped to handle it.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 15:44:04

I did enjoy the module when it can be properly ran.

The module is broken if the characters lack water breathing. Similarly, 75% of the module is thrown away if you resurrect the NPC that is dead.... simple loopholes in the modules that could have been addressed with some playtesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 12:19:27

Overall I really enjoyed this adventure but it had some MAJOR problems. First of them being the waterbreathing. I had to tell my players before the adventure that if they did not have a character who could cast waterbreathing, that they would need to spend 10 downtime days and visit the merchant princes. This let them purchase potions of water breathign for 300 gold. The next step breaking point in the adventure is when the players didn't know how to find the ship.

After being immediatley attacked by the merfolk, the players where not willing to talk to the camp and just attacked them all. This lead to a long drawn out combat. A combat that was quite dangerous with feeblemind and finger of death being flung about. Compared to the ship, this was the hard part. Essentially the Idea of talking was out the window to them because they merfolk attacked first. The number of creatures in place here helped and I thought it was spot on for balance.

When moving back into the ship, There was very little danger. The leeches where 1 shot by a wizard both times though I can see how they can be VERY dangerous. I like it. Also the swarm of ghoulish crabs is hilarious and I love them. It became a joke. "A Lesson in Love: You've got Crabs". Having the capitan under the influence of the worms causes another lose point. Without the appropriate magic prepared at the right time, you lose.

The last encounter they group volontared to replace the captive, suceeded the Charisma check and when they got there tried to teleport. When that failed, they said screw it and plane shifted. I thought it was cleaver and everything worked out though someone is probably going to be angry.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2018 01:02:22

This mod has a fun narrative structure. You've got a nice little investigation, some exploration, some negotiation -- overall quite entertaining.

But the devil is in the details.

First is a class check. If the party doesn't have a way to cast underwater breathing, the module cannot be finished. AL rules don't let DMs add spells to the spellcasting services available, but that is the only way to let a party continue if they don't have the relevant spell handy. Class checks suck. There should be explicit guidance on how to handle this.

Second is the combats. Infernal Pact Warlocks not only are a tad bit weak underwater, they're an extremely odd choice to have lying around in quantity, without other backup. (And a nasty one, when they feeblemind a spellcaster, completely shutting them out of the rest of the adventure unless someone else can cast greater restoration or heal. Which... sounds like another class check to me.) DMs can work around this one, of course. Substitute some champions for the warlocks or something similar. Volo's is filled with NPC classes that can be 'tweaked' into working.

But the bigger issue is that the combats just add up. They take too long. That's compounded by a decision to use a large number of low CR creatures, coming in waves of 2D6. This mod just doesn't want to be run in a 4 hour slot. Guidance on appropriate minimization may be appropriate.

The entire Aremag encounter is bad. Rather than writing the necessary guidance in, you're instead directed to a page number in the Tomb of Annhilation book. NO! This is BAD people! You do not make owning the book a prerequisite for running this adventure, and you certainly don't do it without proper warning up front, before purchase. Oh, and if you don't happen to have a physical copy of the book, sucks to be you -- it doesn't include the necessary references to find the encounter unless you use a version that has page numbers. Which means that you can't, for example, rely on your Fantasy Grounds / Roll20 copy very readily.

My final complaint... really is directed more at players. There's a strong lack of guidance on the final interaction with Aremag. It's thrown all on them. And, bluntly, AL players simply aren't trained for this. They aren't used to actually having to come up with a solution more complex than 'bash it in the face!' and it tends to show.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 15:08:05

Easily one of my favorite "three-pillar" modules in AL. The opening section is very interesting, though the LA mission is more compelling than just "finding a half-mad elf on the street", and gives the party two ways to go about finding the information they need, each gaining a bit of extra information depending on how they go about it. The next quest is more roleplaying, but with some very vivid characters that are fun to work with. Discovering the location of the Breaker of Waves is good as well, with a couple of options, all of which seem perfectly natural. My players were very interested in the other locations plotted in his journals, so I'd suggest thinking of a few places he's visited beforehand. I also think it would be useful for there to be some place in the adventure to get potions of water breathing, because otherwise the adventure gets derailed very quickly.

A few of my players had "Hero of Port Nyanzaru", so when they started looking for a boat to go out there, I had Jessamine call them in personally to warn them about interfering with the safety of Port Nyanzaru, which gave everyone a nice shiver. You do need ToA to run this, as the encounter with Aremag isn't actually listed in the module. It would be nice to have that in there.

The merfolk camp is fun exploration and roleplaying, with a good potential for combat. Players discovering the merfolk are doing something evil was a good shock, and it made the horror of the brain leeches even more clear. My one complaint is that they're warlocks of the fiend, which doesn't really lend itself to underwater combat.

The Breaker of Waves is a fun exploration. The Deep Lacedons should be more numerous or more powerful, whichever you think works for your group. Jafray should also be more powerful so that he'll challenge the party a bit, either that or more swarms of brain leeches. Roleplaying an enemy who's constantly screaming not to kill him and that he doesn't have a choice is a lot of fun, and the players had a lot of fun debating whether or not to kill the monster attacking them who was begging not to be killed.

Just to speed things up, I had Aremag try to plunder the ship again after they returned from the Breaker of Waves. That encounter was fun as well, with players trying to convince him to let Dalnira go. My biggest issue was what happens if a player successfully persuades Aremag to let them guard his lair in her stead. I feel like there should be some story award in that case, something. A player with a shield guardian and an iron golem seems like a perfectly reasonable trade for an elven fighter, and after succeeding on the suggested persuasion check, I was a little lost, eventually just agreeing that that's what should happen.

My party split up multiple times to cover ground and always seemed to be happy with how they got complementary information each time. The biggest complaint my players had was that the magic item was a bit weak for T3, as it just becomes a +2 sword after a finite number of charges. This is a solid adventure, very different from other "go find this thing" modules, and probably my favorite module in AL so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items