Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:2.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
0 3
0 11
2 11
3 12
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2018 22:01:47

The central premise of this module is to spend an entire adventure weakening a single creature that the party was probably easily capable of defeating in the first place. As originally written, most of the other combat encounters were more suitable for a mid or high Tier 2 party, and required significant upscaling to provide a challenge. The new version looks to be a significant improvement for many of the subencounters, but I don't think it goes far enough. Fortunately, it is easy enough to upscale - simply add more demons, and possibly replace the final encounter with one of the demon lords (suitably reflavored).

The module does a good job supporting the exploration and social pillars. There's a pretty cool dungeon to explore, and plenty of opportunities for roleplay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 12:48:05

It's an interesting module, with great characters and story developments (and quite the final boss fight), but it feels out of place in Season 7.

Characters will want to explore this massive map, which may take them well over the 4-hour expected slot, which poses an issue when playing AL at a game night. Also, if your players are pretty in sync and effective they will make short work of almost all of the encounters.

It should also be noted that when I originally ran it, it was before the second version was released. I cannot speak to the newer version.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2018 22:19:20

The flavor of this adventure and the lore behind the enemy mobs was fantastic but the actual combat bits were just terrible. This felt like a Tier 2 adventure in disguise. Solo Bosses without Legendary Actions just don't work in 5e (and even those with LAs barely do). The final boss fight is also just way too easy when leveled down, even without the dragon helping out as well. My party of 4 & APL 12 barely took any damage during the entire module. Also way too many fights that aren't even easy.
If I ever happen to run this again, I'm probably gonna rebuild pretty much all of the combat encounters to make them work for 3rd Tier. I'd give this module a higher rating just because the flavor was spot-on, but seeing how this is a dungeon crawl mod I can't in good faith give it anything better than this seeing how core the combat is for these kinda adventures.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:09:42

season 7 has been extraordinary with this being one of the my groups favorite bosses.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 10:48:32

Good: End Encounter Lore & Type Bad: Too many low difficulty encounters DM Tips: It is highly recommended to review the adventure and make changes tailored to their party needs.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by john j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 11:23:05

Amazing adventure with a feel of a hardcover like Out of the Abyss, excellently paced with just enough variation to keep this boss rush style adventure from being stail.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:34:56

Very memorable boss. Sadly the design of the fight robs most of the challenge. He should have likely been something like CR20 and made into a CR17 for Tier 3, not CR17 and downleveled to CR11ish.

The adventure is cool and my players loved the final fight, even if it ended in round 2. (Our 2nd playthrough killed the boss without him taking a single action).

Like much of this season's content the difficulty is too low, and there are too many fights tiers below the party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Donald M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2018 21:49:32

While better than the original, see my first post on the matter in the discussion tab. Things are more smoothly streamlined in the revision, but still some issues remain. Overall even with the changes, the module is still lackluster for a tier 3 adventure, and with a decently equipped party, this module is a simple dungeon crawl, with little substance or challenge. There is very little outside of the magical darkness in this module that will challenge a balanced party in this tier, as even one bad save on the final big bad ends this fight can end this fight before it begins, and as a result makes the four hours that go, make you ask yourself - are we there yet?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2018 23:59:47

Stay away from this adventure unless you are trying to run the entire season. The adventure is riddled with so many typos in the maps, descriptions, and monsters that it is near-unplayable in its current state without a lot of prep and guesswork. The encounters are so easy that a party of 5 level 11's were able to walk through without taking hardly any damage. Even the final boss died in the first round without landing a single hit. I would hold off on this adventure until it is majorly overhauled by the author.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2018 02:57:03

Magical Darkness throughout the entire adventure....low cr monsters, then finally a monster scary enough to make my players afraid didn't even make it to it's first turn in inititive. Next time I run this everything will be at max health including the final boss. This was a joke of an adventure, I had the dragon attack the pcs to give them SOMETHING to fight. Need to add thematically appropriate monsters to give a challenge.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dennis R H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:56:33

This was likely the least challenging module I have run at T3 and likely one of the most frustrating. It seemed to me that the intent of the encounters along the way is simply to take up time. Not in-character time, but seat time. The encounteres were no challenging to even a low-level T3 table, they soon realized they needn't waist resources, which then made it go even longer - cantrip, simple attacks, no smiting, etc.

The only redeaming part is the secret mission, which is a challeng in itself.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 08:41:26

Reworked rhe Dragon to talk first, which my dis-interested party largely ignored so it left.

I didn't mind the survival checks to crosa areas but it was hardly exciting.

There were too many CR too low time fillers, which did drain the party's resources a little but it was tough to make even the Sub-Bosses challenging.

The Shadow Demon was the only possible highlight for me as a DM. The party though, who, due to most HC and module (not only season 7) have made several players murder hobos, were completely uninterested in hunting it down. No loss in the end.

The boss could have been a challenge, if monsters could counter the min/max issues that many players have going. Too low spell and effect DC, not enough damage per round and one v party does nothing to stop 5d6 sneak attack.

FINAL ISSUE: Half of the group had already read the poor reviews below and had their minds set that they weren't going to enjoy it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 19:41:37

As other reviewers have said, this module is not a tier 3 challenge. I ran this at a convention over the weekend and our ranger 1-shot the final boss. However, the story is intriguing and with some massaging I think you can make the adventure fun.

The tweaks I made consisted of having Cyndreath approach the party directly and tell them to look for allies in the ruins. This let them ignore the door to the Balor's pit and fully explore the ruins. I made the lieutenants have petty squabbles with one another (a la Klarg and the goblin in LMOP) and try to get the party to kill the other lieutenants, leaving that lieutenant in charge of the ruins. This led to some fun gameplay interactions with the demons and made them more memorable than they otherwise would have been. My biggest suggestion for this module would be to beef up the demon lieutenant fights into significantly greater challenges, remove the other weenie fights, and change the wizard spirits to offer aid by round or as needed in the combat encounter, instead of a flat reduction.

The absence of puzzles or personality in the module really hurt its interactivity and fun for the party, since the combat wasn't a challenge. I think that would have been fine (not optimal, but not so much of a hindrance) if there was more meat on the bones of the idea.

Also I did find the skinning of Vastonash and description of the body unnecessarily grim. My party was disappointed they couldn't take his body back to Cyndreth.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 23:09:26

In a season of mostly subpar moments, this module is, thus far, the nadir. Others have already examined how this appears to have been tuned for a low tier-2 module; I won't repeat those criticisms, although they are completely valid. Nor will I belabor the quality of the map for the upper levels, which comes without a key, or the total absence of a sensible hook, which makes the continuation of this module from 07-09 shaky at best. I won't even go into the magical item that's rewarded, which seems to exist for no reason other than to pad out the shelves of Fai Chen's senseless, ever-growing arsenal of absolute garbage.

I will, however, take a moment to criticize what I see as the single biggest flaw in tier 3 module design, which this module sadly succumbs to as well: an unholy love of resource management by attrition. This module contains a maximum of thirteen separately listed combat encounters (depending on how players rush the lower level or whether they engage with the dragon, which is as pointless as it is unsatisfying); only one of those contains a single creature (spoiler: the boss) bearing a CR that poses even a slight threat to an APL 13 party--much less an APL 13 Adventurers' League party, which is likely loaded for Tarrasque by that point. Most of the creatures in these encounters sport ludicrously low CR's, and even en masse they're not a credible threat to an APL 13 boiled ham. The goal, it appears, was to try and whittle down a Tier 3 party's vast resources by a thousand cuts, prolonging a module that is, frankly, starved for actual content into a painfully long, boring slog, if played straight--so that, by the final fight, the party will be running on fumes (never mind the fact that, by running all those combats, the final boss becomes about as dangerous as a slug in the Dead Sea).

Let me put this as gently as I can for those of you who try to design tier 3 content in the future: THIS IS NOT FUN. THIS IS NOT A GOOD IDEA. DO NOT DO THIS.

Look, we all know that 5e works best at mid-high Tier 2, and that, by Tier 3, simply too many variables exist to make combat anything other than an exercise in polite boredom or complete rocket tag. Still, better to err on the side of rocket tag than an endless grind intended to artificially deplete the resources of a party that, realistically speaking, can likely take out the fully-powered boss in one round even after exploring every single last crevice of the dungeon. (The party I ran it through simply burst the final boss fight door open with a mid-30's athletics check as soon as they made it downstairs and took out the fully-empowered boss--with max possible hit points--in two rounds.)

Designer moral: believe your parties are capable of miracles by Tier 3, because they very likely are. (Also: Don't ever put a solo boss against a full party, because they will get action economied to death before you can blink.) Let them have a walk in the dog park followed by a fight against an 800-lb gorilla, rather than a long, tedious series of initiative contests against critters with less than a fifth of the party's APL. One or two massive, seemingly overwhelming fights will generate a lot more enjoyment than half a dozen or more smaller slogs every single time.

Anyway, as for the good: I enjoyed the abyssal magic surge table, even if I could never get it to go off, and the theme of the final boss was slick, even if the execution was lacking. Good ideas, but the design philosophy of the crunch, even if it was properly scaled for tier 3, needed massive overhall.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 15:22:54

There's an opportunity for a good adventure here, but the execution just falls way flat. The boss battle is severely nerfed to the point of being laughable, and given what you fight, it shouldn't be. The other enconters leading up to it are also pretty breezy to get through. This is one of those modules where a DM has to hack into it, make their own changes, and it has great potential; run as is, it's a snoozer.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back