Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 13
1 9
1 2
0 2
0 0
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:10:57

felt a little forced storywise but was a fun module



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2018 21:22:43

Quite enjoyed this one. The combat encounters are very interestingly done and have just the right level of challenge as well. NPCs have unique and fun personalities and the foreshadowing was done well enough. Adventure hook is a bit on the weak side but overall a fantastic module.
This one can also easily be finished in the estimated time, which ís another huge positive for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 10:32:37

Good: Challenging Combat Encounters Unique NPC's DM Tips: Spend time reviewing enemy tactics and abilities



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by john j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 11:05:25

Nice and unusual blend of combat and roleplay. Loved the final encounter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 10:44:24

Great adventure. Heavy in combat and in socialisation, low in exploration. The notes for roleplaying the different characters and Soggy Wrenn is written true to form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 11:40:06

I loved this adventure. My players have mixed feelings. Good role-playing almost caused a TPK as we bascially repeated the fight in the flooded village. The RP opportunities were great and the combat satisfying. Overall a very well written module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marshall M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2018 23:49:50

This is a fine adventure, although the roc battle feels a little too random, but it served its purpose well enough. It's an incredible follow-up to the Tomb of Annihilation since you can weave the plot from the Black Opal Crown right into it to make it a seamless transition the the summoning of Dendar. You'll be able to easily have the party get a rest in-between every encounter, which is probably recommended since the last fight can be absolutely brutal if they're not prepared. I played the Ramshackle King with the mannerisms of Sheogorath from Shivering Isles, which seemed to be a big hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 07:32:45

Nicely written. Interesting fights. I liked the battle strategy hints provided. My players enjoyed the end battle and were on the edge of their seats right up to the end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 23:11:39

Overall, a fairly fun adventure. The combat with the rocs can easily eat up large portions of time, so watch out for that. Requiring the characters to "play nice" with hags is always fun, and a very good change of pace from normal "infomation fetch" missions. The Ramshackle King is a good RP opportunity for characters, and one wanted to stay with his ... not quite cult, but was barely talked out of it. I only mention this to give a sense of how effective he can be. The final death knight combat is exciting, but if you don't have anyone good at searching it's hard to find the bodaks, unless I drastically misread the module. My party just retreated afterwards, which fixed the problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 17:19:18

JUst ran this today, as my first tier3 mod in AL.

Both me and my players loved it. My players have kinda cakewalked through most of tier2, but as one of em said.

This felt just as dangerous as Tier1, but with a much more fun character to play.

I would love to run this again, and im now itching to run more t3 content.

Thanks to Dan Dillon from Adventurers League Denmark for a great mod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:52:55

A shady individual with possibly precious information needs to be found! But you need to work nicely with hags to do it? Yes you do! This is a great module for roleplaying, and provides a great way to make the final fight even tougher for whoever drinks that foul concoction. I had a wonderful time running this as well as playing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 23:46:59

This module had a lot going for it, but the story never quite sticks the landing. It has enough awesome moments to more or less forgive that you're on a glorified fetch quest to get information about where to find further information about a future module. (Seriously.)

The opening travel montage and encounters felt like padding for time, which it was; the rocs (and optional dragon turtle) don't add much to story, and they don't actually deplete the party's resources, so why are they there? This is a question I want every tier 3 designer to ask him/herself: why are you putting this (potential) fight in the module?

The best parts of the module (and, so far, pretty much the season so far) appears in part 2, which has some amazing moments. Say what you will about hags as an overused villain motif, the Three present in this module are, at least, quite memorable. Their demand for something beautiful--and the fallout for giving in to that demand--is exactly the kind of thing I'd inject into a home game, and I was very pleased to see it appear here. The combat that ensues in this section can be spooky, depending on how the PC's saves go, and I was pleased to see that even a legitimately very strong party seemed at least somewhat challenged by the encounter as written. (I also enjoyed the tricks of the trade sections throughout--nice to see that feature appearing more often.)

Part 3 suffers from a combination of narrative bloat and the difficulty of following such a good second act. I liked the character of the Ramshackle King, but I really wished I knew more about him, as DM. (This became an issue when one of the players, using a particular class feature only available at high levels, figured out who he was.) The Ramshackle Court is a slick design, but, again, it was difficult to disguise the fact that the PC's were still on yet another information fetch quest without really much of a clear idea of why they should care.

The final fight is a lot of fun--a solid challenge with a nice turret-and-tank combination. This module "gets it": one or two difficult, meaningful fights promotes much more enjoyment than a lot of small, easy encounters. Unfortunately, this module suffers from having to be part of (what seems like) an overall lackluster story with the next few modules (I suppose we'll see how 07-13 and -14 pan out), and the great ideas and inventive setpieces it creates are still somewhat overshadowed by the looming specter of mediocre storytelling to come--but, if you can overlook that and just play this module for what it is, you will have a great time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2018 23:36:25

This was an awesome module to run. For a Tier 3 module, it didn't get bogged down in combat as I expected, and the players and I enjoyed tons of roleplaying. The Ramshackle king and the hags were really fun characters, and the players' interactions with them really tested their diplomacy skills.

I didn't get a chance to use them in my game, but the two sidequests in this mission are probably the best faction quests I've seen in AL. They both legitimately test the players' roleplaying abilities and character abilities, instead of just being a free renown for two factions.

My only concern is the easiness of the combats, which obviously depends on the party. I ran this with a party of 4 characters, making them a weak party, but they still managed to end every combat in 1 or 2 turns while playing at average difficulty. The first and last fight just aren't suited for players who have access to spells like banish, so I would suggest adding lots of minions to supplement the big monsters.

I was also pleasantly surprised by how quickly the adventure went by. Like I said, my players made easy work of the combats, but in total they finished the adventure in two hours and fifteen minutes, even with plenty of roleplaying. This isn't a problem for me, but it's something to consider when you schedule the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:24:16

Enjoyable adventure, interesting side quests and pretty well written. Fit the flavor of Chult nicely as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2018 16:39:32

I liked this mod quite a bit. There are quite a few good places for roleplay, and interesting characters.

The main difficulty I have with this mod is not the authors fault, but frankly the mod suffers from a hang up of AL rules.

You have the opportunity to sacrifice something of great value to get an object that you MUST have to advance the mission.

A creative DM may allow a lovely but low value in gp item to be sacrificed, and that is well and good, however as DMs are of various skill levels, there are some who are less flexible, and want their players to sacrifice magic items.

Sadly in AL as it is currently adjudicated (March 2018) that is a real detrement to a player- Not only do they lose the power of the item to advance the story, they also do not have this item removed from their magic item count- or face a scaring that they do not know is limited in duration.

In the name of fairness to players, I can't endorse this kind of exchange. Not all players will mind.

As a DM, I have players offer items and explain their value based on past adventures, and what the item means to them. The item must be attractive- but it could be as simple as a gem that the character has kept since first level.

Further, making the Zhentarim ask for another potion, and making that dependent for the completion of a secret mission with the same requirement is also of questionable value. I typically require that the Zhents drink the actual potion they are after, and role play the "Near-LSD" experience it gives.

I recommend this mission with a "Buy!"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back