Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Tomb of Annihilation Companion $4.99
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 10
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Click to view
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leons P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 20:42:52

This is a vital supplement for Tomb of Annihilation. It vastly improves Chapter 2, and makes great additions to the other four chapters as well. I really like how it links many of the random cool things in ToA as well as how it foreshadows the things to come.

For Chapter 1, it makes it actually possible to run a dino race as a DM.

I'm looking forward to using the other refinements on the module once my players get to Chapter 3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Perry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 15:53:20

I am currently running a campaign with this productThe guide fills in a lot of gaps and makes the adventure move smoothly. I recommend it for TOA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jeff s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 11:07:26

I am using this product and find it a great asset for running Tomb of Annihilation. I think the Jungle days of travel is such a great idea and so useful. Only struggle I have is I want to mix up the days different then they are in the companion, but the PDF is made with some strange fonts or encodings. I am unable to copy the text out the pdf and into my own word document for use in my compaign. It only pastes as garbled text. Tried so many different ways to do this. I am only able to retype everything and I hate typing.

Great product and highly recommend for running your Tomb campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarrod N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 15:03:07

I own four different Tomb of Annihilation supplements, and this is the only one I'd call a must-buy for running the game.

If you want to provide yourself with many more interesting options for travel days, including unique discoveries of flora, fauna, and both roleplay and combat opportunities, this PDF is a must-own and well worth the price. This alone would be worth it for me, but add onto that some truly ingenious expansion of the dinosaur racing (should be tons of fun to run for the players while also introducing them to some of the Port's major sights), and some twisted ideas for introducing a certain trio of Sisters that can play a role in the later campaign.

I've purchased all the companions this author has provided for WotC's campaigns over the last few years, and every one has made my game better for myself and my players. Buy his stuff because his ideas are worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allison R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 21:42:09

For the price this is SUPER worth it. I use it here and there for fun inspiration regarding daily travel through the jungle between locations. Sometimes I just use it for a general idea, other times I use it as written. Sometimes I try to use it as written...and my players do the weird things that all players tend to do. :p

Overall this has a lot of great ideas that are worth using in your campaign to keep treking through the jungle from getting stale.

It's a great way to get those creative juices flowing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 13:38:59

This book was worth it for the race alone!! thanks for taking the time to put this together



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 12:35:24

Excellent ideas, well organized, also good inspiration for other encounters or events that help tie the story together and really weave a coherent narrative. I highly recommend it for anyone running or thinking of running Tomb of Annihilation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2017 16:03:32

This is an outstanding resource. There's alot of great material here. In particular, the expanded dinosaur racing, the supplemental exploration/foraging material, and the expanded detail of the city of Omu will make ToA easier to DM and more enjoyable for the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 13:21:27

McGovern's Tomb of Annihilation Companion is an absolute must-have.

His grasp on the more subtle aspects of the narrative and his ability to weave it all together into a cohesive story is fantastic. The way in which he finds ways to drop hints about important characters, Chultan myths and legends, places, and plot lines is creative, clever, and organic.

With all the potential encounters and open-ended exploration of the world outside of Port Nyanzaru, I found myself wondering how to really flesh out the world of Chult beyond simply rolling from the lengthy encounters table. McGovern breathes life into the random jungle travel encounters and helps paint Chult's rich diversity, history, and danger in a truly wonderful way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Will D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2017 20:33:02

This is brilliant. The whole thing is brimming with fresh ideas, and best of all, shows a real understanding of the product. So many elements dovetail back into and enhance the lore. McGovern knows our book back-to-front, and having read through his supplement, I'm 100% sure I'll be using it in my next campaign playthrough.

Some highlights: 1) A complete 30 day schedule of jungle events for travel that really enhances the story. Learn to form your own battle stack (!), endure a literal rain of zombies, explore a temple of Ubtao, avoid zombie swarms, and learn to fear the Sewn Sisters - the deadly penultimate-nemeses of Tomb of Annihilation. Overall, it's perhaps a little lacking in combat challenges, but more than makes up for it in thematic colour and roleplaying opportunities. 2) A list of additional Omu locations that build on the lore of the city. 3) Magical enhancements for each of the legendary treasures listed in the Tomb of the Nine Gods.

Yes, there are some typos and odd turns of phrase, but the breadth of content here easily outweighs those minor issues. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items