Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 21
1 8
0 2
0 0
0 0
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 05:14:03

Rotting Roots is probably the best of the seasonal adventures so far - from the slightly far fetched barrels to the 'cave' environment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 19:11:55

This is one of the better season seven stories. The motivations are clear and the story flows well. The combat is very balanced, even if the end boss it significant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 02:00:25

This module has a wonderful story. The Big One, defender of the Chultan jungle turned on it's friends and had to be put down. But wait! It seems to be back again! And it has brought its assailants back with it! Talking with the Aaracockra is fun, and I love the discovery that the cave you've entered is actually the Big One itself. The start of the module is also very fun and silly, flying in a barrell over a hoard of zombies should be fun for everyone!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 15:47:05

An exciting module that has a bit of everything for everyone.

My players had trouble suspending their disbelief for the barrel launching, but eventually went along with it anyway so as to keep the game moving, as none of them wanted to sneak.

The monkeys seem... a bit off-the-wall.

The beholders were less fun than I thought they'd be.

The bridge encounter was hard to do, as my players did not want to risk crossing together but were afraid of staying back. A lot of arguing happened =/

The aarakocra town feels a bit rushed.

The final dungeon makes it hard to give clues without immediately giving it away.

The last encounter was sufficiently epic.

All-in-all, needs a good deal of work from the DM to put some flesh on its bones, but it has good bones.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scooter O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 13:28:03

Rotting Roots was is an exciting mod that provides players with an immersive roleplay opportunity, and challenging combat scenarios. It does tend to be hard to keep within a set time schedule with larger tables, but that is fixed easily by shortening or dropping one of the smaller sections to compensate for extended combats.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:32:40

When my party found out where they were they freaked which was really fun, good RP, good cohesive story that fit with the last adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 10:08:53

Well balanced with combat and RPing for a short adventure. The players loved the decisions to be made (barrels, rope bridge) and interacting with the arrakocra. The final battle freaked them out but they managed to survive it (barely!). I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 22:13:18

This one is pretty direct and straight forward. The intro is a bit goofy, but sufficiently amusing that I don't mind it that much.

The second part offers five possible encounters, two skill/puzzle, two combat, and the final one to tie them together. The variety is nice to see, and each of them offers a slightly different kind of challlenge.

The third part is pure roleplaying. Each time I've run it, the characters have enjoyed it - even the ones who didn't catch on to the clues.

The final part is a great climax. The first fight is pretty much a pushover, leaving the characters (and players) wondering what gives... and then it gives hard. There are callbacks to other popular properties, but it works very well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2018 21:36:06

Had lots of fun with this one, with multiple people swallowed in sand as the eye beams went off. Was hoping to turn a player to dust.. Sadly not this time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 04:42:10

I absolutely loved this module from the bit at the beginning, players get so creative there, to the ridiculous boss fight that everyone had a blast with, despite almost wiping. It loses a bit trying to run it in a strict 2 hour slot, but with a bit more time this mod is awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 22:51:19

I really enjoyed running this adventure. It ran exactly 2 hours both times which is nearly unheard of. The combats were interesting and could be deadly. I had a player downed in almost every fight. The big One is scary and well written. I maximized his health both times I ran and I really wish he had a bit more he did go down pretty easy with level 9's who have been to Barovia. Still the rp encounters were flavorful and all my pcs really enjoyed it. 5/5 would run again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 19:35:21

The bos wrecked my group: and they enjoyed it. The treasure wasnt quite worth it but the story/adventure to get there was solid. Couldnt quite understand if they were supposed to fight the nagas (the module didnt make it clear if they got auto saved or fought for several rounds). Need more T-Rex's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:32:38

Rotting Roots – 5 stars. Honestly, I would give this adventure 5 stars based on the boss fight alone. I had a flipping blast running it, and my players nearly freaked out when I pulled out the “mini”. A fun module which dovetailed perfectly into Putting the Dead to Rest. Keep the party moving and don’t let them get bogged down in the journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 23:27:56

Very interesting module with nice mechanics and options for the DM and players.

This module "can" be run in 2hr but you have to make choices between RP and combat.

First part : fast track the RP and run it more as a cinematic

Second part : run only one of the four available encounters if you are in a rush

Third part : nice RP, can be run as a cinematic to save time

Fourth part : very very nice surprise hahah, there is a great Empire Strikes Back reference here so it made me (and my players) very happy

In general, finish the end of fights as cinematic when like after killing the boss there are 2-3 zombies remaining. Have the flee or be killed be players (just ask a player : "so describe me how you kill those remaining critters")

If your players prefer RP, go RP all the way in 1st and 3rd part, if they prefer combat, run them as cinematic (but save time in the fight by ending them even there are still monsters remaining but it is obvious that the big part of the challenge of the fight is overcome)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 10:57:55

Ok first off, you literally fight in the belly of a zombie tyrannosaurus rex. That alone is enough to buy this adventure (and deserves 5 stars).

But there is so much other awesome content in this adventure – like the “epic” feel to the multiple paths to get from point A to point B in the middle part. The beholder encounter is my favorite of all of season 7, if you have a little fun with it you can give the beholders a voice and let them RP with the players.

The story buildup of being ambushed by Nagas, then rescued by the tribe of the fallen feather was awesome, really put a fear of death into the PCs as they Nagas began to destroy the party.

Then you enter a T-Rex, fight your way out of said T-Rex only to have to defeat said T-Rex in an epic boss battle.

It’s adventures like this that bring players to D&D in the first place – for a 2 hour mod this one is better than most 4 hour stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items