Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 18
1 12
0 2
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 20:51:52

I really enjoyed running this module for my table and they enjoyed it too. The final combat was very intense and it was almost a relief when they destroyed the flesh mote instead. I love the flameskull dragonchess encounter; it was awesome to see that gaming proficiency actually come into use.

There are two suggestions I would make for this module. One is that the undead caster villain could have used more of a backstory. I realize there was a time crunch that was important to the adventure hook but the nature of their enemy was not clearly understood and the party was left wondering why this all happened in the end. The second is that it would have been nice to have more concrete negative consequences for letting the faction agents die in the catacomb collapse. My party excercised their flaws to run brilliantly but in the end, everyone is just "oh you did what you could, thanks anyway." I'm going to try to work their failure to rescue them into a negative consequence in the following adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 23:00:29

My players called this "Two Combats for Which We Are Underleveled and Ill-Prepared, with Occasional Plot", and I think that's accurate. The initial plot hook is very compelling, and everyone got into it very quickly. Poe is fun to roleplay, as is Crackle, so everyone had a good time with those interactions. The issue is really that the combats are incredibly drawn out. This module ran 4.5 hours when I ran it, and all but maybe 45 minutes of that was one of the two combats. None of my players were able to guess that the undead either needed fire or were immune to it, so everything took a lot longer than it maybe should've. The final battle is very easily a TPK, and for my table it wasn't by only one roll on my part. Note that Spawn of Kyuss are exceedingly powerful this season, so if you take those options, be careful unless you're ready to kill T2 characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 02:08:22

This has a nice story hook of a beloved woman going missing, and a shady guy knows that a necromancer is behind it. The battle at the refuse pit and the final fight are both pretty exciting. Does that undead thing have the missing guy's mace? Sure does! It's a tense final fight as you need to save the prisoners before they feed the cyst, but also defeat the spellcaster!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:31:26

Has good starter RP, interesting exploration and combat was fun if not challenging. Good entry tier 2 module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 10:04:48

The players and I really enjoyed the module. It had a great balance of RP and combat. The role playing with Favin and Crackle were a blast to run. The players felt challenged at the end of the adventure, but really liked the terror of the pulsing cyst.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 22:07:36

This is a reasonably enjoyable adventure to play and run. It introduces characters to the workings of the Executioner's Run, which is one of my favorite parts of Port Nyanzaru society.

The mission moves on to a few simple battles, though they have enough interesting content in them to keep players on their toes. There's one particular enemy in the first battle that has a nice lore tie in. The final battle can be made challenging, and includes a bit of a timed element to it.

All in all, I'm rather fond of this module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2018 21:31:38

Was a great module that my players really enjoyed. Will be running this again soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 04:35:05

This is a great mixture of skill checks, roleplaying, and interesting changeable combat encounters. It gives the players some interesting choices to make and is well written for the DM to make changes on the fly so that each run is a bit different. It's a great fit for this more dangerous and deadly season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 19:36:53

The boss was a pain to handle for my party, and I enjoyed it. The minor annoyances before hand as well as the time counter didnt dawn on the party until the very last room, by which point they wasted half the day giving the bad guy plenty of time to prepare. Solidly built episode with a lead in to the trilogy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 01:39:36

4/5 I really enjoyed the unique characters. I felt the fights weren't tough. My group had a cleric and 2 paladins so the undead never really did stand a chance. The puzzles were more or less just roll a high enough int check. My group didn't have any int and it ended up taking longer then wanted. The encounters were all interesting and I really enjoyed it overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joris v. d. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2018 19:01:56

It does have a solid idea but the adventure really bogs down in the combat. For us it was a slog that would have TPKed the party with ease if played as intended and even when the spellcasters did not make optimal choices they still could have easily slaughtered the entire party.

The RP sections are interesting but also felt a bit inconsequential. It barely had any impact on what you do for most of the adventure and did not weigh up against the hit back and forth damage of the first combat. And that was after the flameskul ran off due to a turn undead. Admittedly the session we ran had quite a bit of bad rolls from the players but the combat feels really unsuited for party compositions that do not follow the traditional setup. Which occurs fairly frequently with smaller tables and varying amounts of players.

The battles really needed to be powergamed to stand a chance. If you don't act on player knowledge of what monsters do (Regen and what stops it? Do you have a player trained in religion? The Flameskull discourages using fire of your own and you might not have a paladin or cleric on hand.) How these monsters they work they can easily take down a low level party. You are dealing with a lot of immunities, regen that needs special damage, and plenty of AoE spellcasters.

Add to that that the balancing seems off. Remember that level 5 and 6 character parties could be running this adventure and then Jaru on its own would already be quite the challenge for a party. Add in the other monsters and environmental hazards and potentially 2 fireballs in the first round while you enter from a 5ft corridor. Going by this it feels like it is assumed you have at least one spellcaster with counterspell and even then your caster can just counter the counterspell.

I don't mind encounters stacked against the players but at least give them alternative methods to deal with the threats or to disrupt what is going on. In this case you have pretty much an undead ambush and final boss chamber you only have one entrance too and the boss seems to already know you are coming. Risk is good, tension being high should be a thing. But it should not feel like you only live by the grace of the GM.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 11:06:55

I was able to run this within the time constraints. I had players come up with clever ways to manage the trap and roll really well to be successful. It was a fun adventure and tough enough for the veteran players to be challenged with out killing them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 22:53:58

Great module!

It's doable in 2hr without limiting the fun. First part is great RP. Overall good balance of RP, puzzle, combat. A lot of suprises in this adventure. Players really appreciated this module and how different it felt.

Also, the handouts are great and were really appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 11:04:08

First off - 5 stars because the adventure comes with the Fantasy Grounds Mod for free. Period that's enough for 5 stars.

But the story is also well told and written, the typical "save someone you like, find a bigger threat, get ready to destroy that threat" this is a perfect setup for the rest of the Rot from Within Trilogy. Well balanced RP to combat factor, menacing end combat all wrapped around a sense of urgency with the timed mechanic of saving the previous adventures who never returned. Really give the players the sense that they are heroes not just another group of adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 20:40:10

Absolutley loved this adventure. The tension of the undead is great and the city having people going missing is nuts. In this adventure in particualar, the boss is crazy strong. The spell slots available make them able to wipe a party easily. Thankfully, they can potentially have a priest who can handle that situation but even so, WOW. what a nuts adventure.

I'm a big fan of the escape sequence too. Those are just plain fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items