Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 25
2 15
0 2
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2018 06:45:06

I have played this mod on both sides of the DM screen. It is enjoyable and easy to run. Crackle is a lot of fun to play. In my experience, many DMs run invisibility as equivalent to hidden. The last encounter can be difficult if DMs run it this way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 12:09:59

I've run it three times now, and eact time has solidified how much I like this adventure. The combats are short and brutal, the puzzle elements are interesting, and there's some good set-up for the next two adventures. I feel like the section with Crackle could've been expanded a bit, but this is otherwise a stellar entry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:15:54

fun 2nd tier module with lots of story leading into the next 2 modules



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 01:29:23

This mission was efficiently created. It's clear, concise, and uses the exhaustion mechanic effectively in order to make the final fight and escape a nail biter.

Tier 2 modules are hard to balance. I've found that some of them attempt to make fights difficult by increasing the number of combatants, but the result is the fight turns into a drawn out slog. Or the flip is the problem: some writers introduce strong enemies that destroy a party before they have a chance. This one balances this challenge using other mechanics, and it made all the difference (as I stated: exhaustion ... also enemies with unique abilities and a puesdo "liar action" in the final fight).

I really have no complaints. A party that is on the edge of Tier 3 (Levels 9 to 10) will probably blow through this one though ... at that point, character abilities supersede the powers of these enemies, even with them APLed at level 8.

I'm interested in the next part of this trilogy!

~Brent



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:57:36

I've played this twice and DMed it twice. I think everyone had a great time with it, even though one time ended up in an almost TPK. The time we almost TPKed was long and epic to say the least. A common trip up on DMs I've noticed is they read the dragonchess "treasure" section and let it slip that the potions are potions of poison (they read the text like its a textbox for the players). It might be advisable to rewrite it to say there are 2 potions (then in parenthesis say they're poison but appear to be healing).

DM advice: That first fight scene can go very different depending on the group and which set of creatures the DM decides to pick. The double flame skulls with double fireballs? Ouch! 7 players and low level could easily wreck a group. Be careful as the DM as to which you pick! Can easily run in less than 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 11:34:09

This module did a good job of setting up the rest of the series and keep the theme for the season. Once into the heart of the module it got a very Indiana Jones feel, the pace picked up and did not end till the conclusion. There are some good early on role-play opportunities.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:30:56

My favourite adventure of this season yet. Includes some challenging fights as well as some great roleplay encounters. Also gives the exploration option if going the brute force route making it really feel like the party can approach the scenarios however they prefer without hampering the adventure. The tickling clock mechanic is pretty interesting and makes the way the players approach their hurdles matter in a real way.

There a lot of life draining enemies in this one which is really dangerous considering the death curse mechanics but can be replaced with other creatures without much issue if prefered. The spellcaster boss is pretty powerful but the amount of AoEs can be kinda awkward considering the relatively small map and the fact that she doesn't really want to kill the capturesdprisoners since they're still needed for the dark ritual.

Overall a great introduction to the trilogy and also not too difficult to finish in the estimated time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 08:57:19

While the hooks into the adventure could use some work (fortunately I've been running my players through the hardcover and just found a way to get them to executioner's run besides the hooks the adventure provides), this module does a good job of making the dungeon-crawl feel dungeon-crawly without actually needing any maps.

The catacombs are sufficiently creepy with a teensy bit of effort on the DM's part.

The provided monsters and encounters (especially the Spawn of Kyuss) are well-balanced for party strength.

The chess section gave my one player with Dragonchess proficiency a time to shine! He rocked it! Huzzah for making use of otherwise-useless proficiencies!

The final fight is a mess. The rules for the mote are scattered across three pages, so make sure you read and reread those three pages and make sure you're intimately familiar with how the encounter is supposed to work. The things I missed in my playthrough:

  • The tentacles actually have an AC and HP separate from the Mote -- I used the Mote's AC and just guessed that each tentacle had 1/6 of the Mote's HP
  • The captives have 0 HP -- I thought they were at full health, so they immediately joined the fight once freed, which made the escape sequence SUPER easy because they were all conscious and only the PC that died had to be carried out

As written, it does not seem that there is any way for the players to learn Jaru Tasca's name. There also is no explanation of what she is. Undead, certainly, and a spellcaster, but what kind? Is she a lich? There's no mention of a phylactery, so I doubt it, but I floundered for what to call her.

Despite its flaws, though, the module told a fun story, the flameskulls and Spawns of Kyuss provided fantastic challenge (and instilled a new phobia of being in "Fireball Formation" in my playgroup), and it's great fun. My recommendation is actually to run this after DDAL07-07 and before DDAL07-08 -- we ran them in that order due to DM illness, and the story seems to flow better that way. Just don't mention at the end of DDAL07-07 where the masonry came from. Tell them at the start of DDAL07-08!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:37:10

I probably enjoyed this the most of the season 7 tier 2 adventures. It's a fun little dungeon crawl that opening into an exciting fight for the lives of the imprisoned adventurers. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 04:46:14

Great adventure - lots of fun, and with some intersting NPCs (Crackle particularly).

As a few others have stated - If you are still within the Death Curse period in your game beware - HP draining monsters be found here and under the curse drain to Max HP does not return on a long rest. You could easily kill or cripple the characters for the remainder of your campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 20:51:52

I really enjoyed running this module for my table and they enjoyed it too. The final combat was very intense and it was almost a relief when they destroyed the flesh mote instead. I love the flameskull dragonchess encounter; it was awesome to see that gaming proficiency actually come into use.

There are two suggestions I would make for this module. One is that the undead caster villain could have used more of a backstory. I realize there was a time crunch that was important to the adventure hook but the nature of their enemy was not clearly understood and the party was left wondering why this all happened in the end. The second is that it would have been nice to have more concrete negative consequences for letting the faction agents die in the catacomb collapse. My party excercised their flaws to run brilliantly but in the end, everyone is just "oh you did what you could, thanks anyway." I'm going to try to work their failure to rescue them into a negative consequence in the following adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 23:00:29

My players called this "Two Combats for Which We Are Underleveled and Ill-Prepared, with Occasional Plot", and I think that's accurate. The initial plot hook is very compelling, and everyone got into it very quickly. Poe is fun to roleplay, as is Crackle, so everyone had a good time with those interactions. The issue is really that the combats are incredibly drawn out. This module ran 4.5 hours when I ran it, and all but maybe 45 minutes of that was one of the two combats. None of my players were able to guess that the undead either needed fire or were immune to it, so everything took a lot longer than it maybe should've. The final battle is very easily a TPK, and for my table it wasn't by only one roll on my part. Note that Spawn of Kyuss are exceedingly powerful this season, so if you take those options, be careful unless you're ready to kill T2 characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 02:08:22

This has a nice story hook of a beloved woman going missing, and a shady guy knows that a necromancer is behind it. The battle at the refuse pit and the final fight are both pretty exciting. Does that undead thing have the missing guy's mace? Sure does! It's a tense final fight as you need to save the prisoners before they feed the cyst, but also defeat the spellcaster!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:31:26

Has good starter RP, interesting exploration and combat was fun if not challenging. Good entry tier 2 module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 10:04:48

The players and I really enjoyed the module. It had a great balance of RP and combat. The role playing with Favin and Crackle were a blast to run. The players felt challenged at the end of the adventure, but really liked the terror of the pulsing cyst.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back