Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 14
0 24
3 7
0 2
0 0
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 01:02:15

Part 3 of the trilogy and what I now call one of the deadliest Tier 1 modules. This is a must run, almost as a graduation out of T1 play.

Intro is lack lustre (but allows for time to do the big combat, so I'll allow it). Puzzle can get tiresome after a few runs. I've started changing the puzzle to have multiple broken panels as well as having the door open 1d6 rounds after completion (so PCs don't just dash and split up and then jump on down.).

I'd also like to shout out to the authors. NO! WADUMU FRIEND! would have to be the main buzz word around the AL group over here in Singapore. Wadumu is an icon.

The big bad. Boy, is this tough. And if you have good players, don't be afraid to scale this up to the nine hells. Player her smartly, positioning with a HoH and the right eldritch blast invocations can make for a Tpk. This is meant to be scary as hell.

Only downside to the amazing fight (which can easily go for 10 rounds) is that due to timing, the end can get rushed. Sad because our favourite NPC needs to have his moment.

Would 100% play multiple times and be terrified each time as a player. As a DM, this scratches that itch of throwing something powerful at low levels and really seeing your party work together well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:17:37

can be deadly with newer players, but provides a great end of 1st tier



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2018 16:34:15

This has been one of my favourite modules of season 7 so far. It is not recommended as an emergency pick up and run without prep.

There are a few consistent criticisms that I read in reviews here when prepping and I agree with. 1- continuity with Wadumu in description (colour), and character (part 3) - his betrayal really doesn't make sense. 2-It is a long adventure and better suited to 4 hours.

I ran for a small party (Very Weak) and they had difficulties with the first part due to numbers. The waves of zombies really took their toll on resources, but they really seemed to enjoy it. They also wasted a lot of time trying to explore the ruins of the buildings on the outskirts. I would recommend to anyone recreating the maps to zoom in and just include the clearing as the buildings are a distraction. The clues to the door lock is on the flipside of the page describing all the defenses, so the whole section needs to be read in advance to prep it. . I printed the clues on a handout which I distributed as each riddle was read. I think was helpful for the players. It takes a little extra prep to get everything sorted (e.g. the description when doorway is opening not included in original description), but is worth it. The entry

I asked players to prepare some character background info to prepare for part 2 which freaked them out to everyone's enjoyment (good place for Xanathar's tables). If your room allows it, I'd recomend walking around the table, to make it seem like the voices are coming from all over the cavern. I think the adjustments for a very strong party would be tough, but more entertaining. The legendary actions for the BBEG were quite impressive,but the very weak adjustments were very easy (but time consuming). for a resource drained weak party to defeat. One character almost died staying behind to kill zombies in part 3.

Guild Adept adventure Hunter fits very well before or after this adventure



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:14:43

PRetty good overall. Some people definitely end up needing some heavy handed hinting at some points. Good plot through the module, but trigger happy players who spend resources tend to have a harder time through the last half. With that in mind, it is really important for the DM to adjust as necesarry.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 08:29:14

Good: Deadly Combat Challenge Great Puzzle DM Tips: Review adventure to get most out of challenge



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2018 22:22:36

This adventure has a great story, solid riddles, and fun combat. My players also loved the loot, so that's another plus. But, as several people on here have mentioned, the difficulty is pretty hard to nail. My party took a good hour of play time to figure out all the riddles, as they were fairly distracted by the zombie horde. I had to make it VERY clear to them multiple times that they could not fight their way out. That set a fairly difficult tone, which made how easily they destroyed the boss a bit of a curveball. My boss lost the initiative roll, and I didn't add any backup for her, so by her first turn, she was hanging on by a thread. As a new DM, I was slightly disappointed that my boss fight wasn't too climactic, but my players all had a great time playing :)

tldr: Super fun adventure, cool riddles, great loot, and do not be afraid to jack up the difficulty.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 08:13:54

When reading the adventure I was expecting someone was going to die, but it didn't happen. I expected the legendary actions/resistances to be more effective but she still got ripped apart really fast. I think the group had a harder problem trying to get away up the tunnel at the end. I noticed some other people saying the first fight with the yellow creeper and zombies was problematic but I think that's more on the DM to express the fight as hopeless. My group is also paranoid so they avoided the corpses and studied the obelisk and figured out the puzzle before combat began. I think in retrospect I probably should have started the fight before they'd gotten into place to press the buttons to keep things exciting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:22:07

Can be very swingy in difficulty. The riddles are just fine difficulty-wise, not too hard - not too easy. The zombie horde can be incredibly deadly if the party doesn't realize fast enough that they have to focus on the puzzle instead of the mobs. The zombies are very tough and very hard to kill for low-level characters and the creeper can potentially one-shot a player and insta-kill them if they're unlucky.
The encounter adjustment suggestions for the boss fight seem completely off. the weak party gets just a regular solo Yuan-Ti Pureblood with some Legendary Actions/Ressistances but those aren't enough for her to provide a challenge against a mid Tier 1 party. Definitely needs some additional spellcasting abilities. The tougher options also seem a bit too tough. Should probably use lower HP on the boss in that case.

Looting during danger sounds interesting as a concept but has the potential of leaving the party empty-handed at the end. Feels a bit unrewarding considering the difficulty of the adventure.
I really liked Wadumus character and the given quotes made it really simple to characterize him and make him likable even if the characters didn't play the previous part of the trilogy. Which makes his completely random betrayel at the end even more frustating. Would have prefered him to stay as a friendly contact/guide for the party in future adventures of the season.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 05:01:53

Good finish to the series. Interesting timebomb mechanic to begin and end with, and a solid, atmospheric climax.

The yellow musk creeper is deadly - literally - for characters in the APL range, however. Combined with the ToA death Curse and you can lose a character or two very early in the campain.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:42:14

Not incredible but still super fun.

The whole Tier 2 trilogy is great and a must run for anyone who likes at least a bit Chult and everything going on there.

There is a pretty nice foreshadowing of the tier 3 and tier 4 modules as well as even other tier 4 adventures of AL. I won't spoil anything but if you prepare a bit and run stuff in a semi-closed group, you can build a super intersting story with this one and all the modules of the season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 16:16:21

This mod continues the fun of the season in high style, with interested fights, interesting NPCs, and quick action.

My only complaint is that, as written, many DMs will assume there's no room for a short rest between the two fights. If the party consists entirely of long-rest characters, it's not that big a deal -- but a group of warlocks, fighters, and monks are going to be bitterly and unfairly pressed because they are never given the chance to recover the resources that other classes have in enough quantity to not need recovery.

Remember: the DMG explicitly calls out 2 short rests to the long. This mod, like many AL mods, forgets that this isn't just an HP recovery opportunity -- it's when certain classes get the opportunity to recover abilities, bringing their power level in line with the expected power level.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 01:25:35

This is an excellent finale to the Jungle has Fangs trilogy consiting of a timed puzzle (in the form of endless zombies) followed by a boss battle beneath the ruins.

The first half requires that the players solves several riddles (one for each player) and activate the corresponding pedestals while also dealing with increasingly more zombes. If the players alert the zombies before they begin the puzzle (as my players did) this becomes a much more difficult fight and will probably require some hints from the DM (Wadamu) in order to actually succeed.

The 2nd part involves a boss battle against a yuan-ti. Unfortunately my players were below the the recommeded party strength to the tuan-ti was quite a bit weaker than she could have been. But her legendary actions still provided her with enough versatility to scare them.

The final escape as the temple is collapses is the weakest part by far but it is very short so it doesn't cause a problem. The most unusual plot point also occurs here when Wadamu betrays the part after doing nothing but helping them.

The finale section stops this module from being 5 stars but it doesn't last long enough to spoil the rest giving the Jungle Has Fangs trilogy an excellent finale.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank v. d. Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2018 08:48:56

DDAL07-05 is a good adventure and the conclusion to the trilogy. This review contains SPOILERS.

Note that in this review the story will be rated on it's own and its prequil will not have any impact on the overall rating.

Part 1 picks off after the events of the previous DDAL07-04. The explorers have travelled to the lost city and will attempt to foil the Yuan-Ti's plan to summon Dendar the night serpent. Wanderlost no longer plays a part in the trilogy. The puzzles are easy on their own, however mix them with the potential combat while they are solving them and looting (during combat), it will make the encounter challanging and fun. What I really liked, as a DM, for this part is building up the tension. Really set the scene with the swarm of undeads appearing (The Walking Dead horde style).

Part 2 lacks a moment to rest. Characters can rest up before heading down the steps in the temple, but I doubt many groups will have this restraint. I loved being able to really set this creepy scene. In a store setting this is somewhat difficult due to the volume required. The encounter itself is very challanging. I liked the legendary creature and boss feeling to this battle. A true villain at the end of this trilogy, however unexperienced DM's will have an easy TPK on their hands.

The escape also had very nice narrative value. Again the mechanic to loot under pressure, big plus to explore these areas. The hard timer to escape isn't so much the cave collapsing completely, but more the swarm of undead becoming to much to handle, but this might be unclear. I skipped over the Wadumu betrayal. I know Grungs are evil in their hearts, but it had no extra value and it opens up a friendly Grung in Dungrunglung when running the hardcover. I actually made a nice Gollem scene out of it where tension was rising if Wadumu would throw the characters backwards into the hoard or help him up.

All in all, very high narrative value, really nice material to make a very solid creepy setting. The combat value of the adventure is easily lethal, which is good for a boss fight, however just a bit over the top.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 08:48:14

I was initially going to give this module a low rating based on the play-throughs I have experienced, but after reading through the adventure most of the issues may not have been completely with the module. The first battle of the session is combined with puzzle challenge with is a major challenge for a small group given there are multiple plant opponents and then unending waves of zombies. The riddles are fairly easy except for the last one which make no sense even if you are familiar with bees. Most parties will solve the riddle by guessing or using process of elimination. The final battle can be skipped by a group with a grappling hook that ignores the voice. All they have to do is climb up into the snake head and leave. Alternately, the party faces off with a creature that is very deadly and could leave the party feeling like the deck was stacked against them rather than being heros. The final betrayal of Wadumu comes out of nowhere and makes very little sense. I would recommend just skipping it entirely as it does not add to the adventure.

One of the major flaws in this adventure is the lack of a place to rest between battles. Most parties are going use up significant resources in the first battle even if they don't try to defeat all of the zombies. They must then fight a creature that will require most of their resources to defeat without a way to recoup or recover. Overall, DMs will need to read this adventure carefully and adjust play if they don't want to just TPK the party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:40:35

This was a good cap stone adventure, end fight can be very challenging as a boss fight. Meaning a group of level 2 players will probably need help. Had good exploration, story fit nicely, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back