Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
0 17
0 25
0 13
1 3
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:21:39

Part 1 Nice follow up to A day in the Races, goes right in to the mission shot and simple even if the players havent played it. It''s very easy to set goal of the mission for the players to follow and their reasoning. The chase was curtainly uniqe and fun to run, but It's way too easy to bypass with characters having a really high passive perception, plus if the players dont really care for their personal items or the small amouts of gold they carry it just feels forced. Having a way for the thieves to pickpocket something worth to the players would make the chase feel more organic. The satchel shop was a blast to roleplay the owner and Wadumu was especilly fun.

Part 2 Nothing really wrong with this part I found, fun skill challenges, didn't drag on too long and forcing players to think outside the box to sovle basic turrain problems.

Part 3 This is your standard big fight at the end nothing to it, it did make things intresting that it could be a three way fight with the players, Yuan-ti, the Grung and the Players, other than that fun and simple combat encounter.

All in All and short and fun mod to run especially for newer players, even older ones near the end.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2018 02:10:55

This adventure can actually go quite quickly, and there are cool things in it. Waramu is a hoot to roleplay. You and your crew will enjoy this. Pretty straightforward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:22:59

I love Wadumu and I always have a great time roleplaying as this NPC. I thought the story behind him was pretty deep and liked how it tied into DDAL07-05. I though this module was a great bridge between the other modules in the trilogy. I will say I was undewhelmed with the combat component, but had fun running this module regardless. Good job Satine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 11:08:11

love parts of this module the flash flood in the jungle is awesome as is the final fight. but other than that part 2 of this triligoy is lacking



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 00:54:38

The 2nd part of the trilogy was unfortunately the weakest in my opinion. It was great to see more tied to the overlying plot line of Wanderlust (something part 1 was lacking), but the investigation was very one sided. Not much player options here, so great to run at conventions where time is short.

I loved the jungle hazards and would like to see more of these. Especially hazards where based on decisions follow up hazards are ramped up or down.

More options for players to come up with a plan in the final part would have been nice. And something better to tie it into part 3 (which has the issue of 'hey we just go here because... Well, you just do").

Not my favourite, but not even close to the bad end of AL. For trilogies though, this is still one of my first picks, so we'll done.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:19:39

very story driven trying to connect module 3 and 5, but offers some funny moments when the party screws up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:32:07

Definitely requires some adjustments during the final fight to pose a bit more of a challenge. Poor editing however made for a frustrating experience and greatly takes away from what over al lcould have been a great trilogy. If the DM works for it though, it can be a great game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:51:23

Overall I liked the trilogy but thought this was the weakest of the 3.

Problem with the module as written:

  • The kids are above the group and fish out items...then its a chase scene. How did the characters get on the same level as the kids? Players got confused there.
  • The bag shop went well until they needed to leave. Basically they felt it was their only clue and had no where to go after....and the next clue doesn't show up until they step out the door.
  • Our friendly grung offers his services because he wants some extra coin...but then ends up paying them with goggles of night?

The fights were light so if you've got players just interested in combat this one is probably best to avoid as it was more about an investigation, and traversing through the jungle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 08:24:14

Good: NPC's Challenging Enviornment Encounter Bad: Low Combat Challenge DM Tips: Review and tailor combat difficulty



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:11:29

Enjoyed this one. The adventure is very raildroady but that's fine for a 2h module. Also one of very few that can actually be completed in the estimated time without rushing players.
The beginning is probably the weakest part of the adventure, the entire chase scene feels like filler and is honestly completely unneccessary to the scenario. My party just skipped the chase part by casting sleep on the children. The satchel shop scene was fine but getting the players to ask the right questions can be a problem.
Part 2 is a trip through the jungle of Chult. Wadumu is a fantastic NPC and the given quotes and his little story really helped with fleshing out the lil' fellow. The final fight provides a fine challenge but the open ending can feel pretty unsatisfying for people that don't run the next part in the trilogy directly after.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 04:55:22

For my mind the weakest of the trillogy - but saved by one of the best NPCs ever - Wadumu.

Its a basic "traverse the jungle" scenario, followed by a combat in a village. It allows for some strategy, but the DM will need to work to keep the jungle interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 20:03:41

One of my favourite adventure.

If you run the ToA HC, you should at least read this adventure. gives some insight and information about Malar's Throat. Also comes with a Urban Chase complication specific to Port Nyanzaru.

The absolute highlight of this advenure? YOU GET THE POSSIBILITY TO BUY A BELT BAG... LIKE A REAL BANANA BELT BAG!

This is way too cool IMHO.

Ok joke apart, I don't want that last comment to be interpreted as "well if the coolest thing is you get to buy a bag, the module must not be so great".

The story is great and greater as part of the trilogy of tier 1 adventures. There are nice mechanics and checks that make this unique and different from the previous seasons' adventures.

ps : you want to roleplay a grung that serves as a guide for your players? say no more, run this module



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 16:07:17

This mod continues this season's efforts to incorporate 'unusual' ability checks, to continue to attempt to bring in unusual character abilities.

It does an excellent job, and gives an interesting investigation storyline, with some interesting diversions that actually give players the ability to interact meaningfully with the world.

Wadamu is a fun character, and works well to smooth over the roughness of incorporating wilderness survival in the normally combat-oriented AL structure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 01:13:59

This is the weakest adventure in the Jungle Has Fangs trilogy but is suprisingly quick, my group actually completed it in under 2 hours with roleplaying which was a first for a 2 hour module. The module as a whole feels like it only really exists to setup for the 3rd part of the trilogy with the only real highlight being Wadamu who brings something different to an otherwise uninspired module.

The introduction left my players confused as they wanted to investigate the shop owner more but no advice is given in regards to that. You're just supposed to visit the shop then Wadamu takes you into the jungle. Infiltrating the village is also rushed through with your arriving Wadamu 'vouching' for you then a fight in the central tent.

Overall this module only really serves to get you to the 3rd part of the trilogy and could probably be skipped.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2018 20:48:57

The first part of the adventure was a blast for both me and the players, but after they meet Wadumu everything seems lackluster. My players liked the mystery aspect of the previous adventure, so they enjoyed the start of the adventure. They also had fun getting their stuff stolen and having to chase the kids into the alley. The ability challenge with the mudslide was a little lackluster as any potential consequences were reversed by the ensuing long rest. The final combat also seemed way to easy, and didn't provide the players with any new information. I would like to run this adventure again and tweak the encounters a little bit to make them more challenging and meaningful to the story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 66 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items