Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 4
0 8
0 7
0 7
1 3
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 12:12:53

A very quick and easy module.

There is continuity problems with one of the NPCs in this. It's jarring enough that this and the next module are being rated down so that in the future better coordination happens among authors writing a multi-part series. It feels like two authors couldn't be bothered to communicate with each other. I don't think it was malicious by the authors, but a symptom of a larger problem.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 16:38:47

My favorite part of ths mod was the "mudslide" encounter. I ended up using a similar situation in my ToA HC campaign. I like the fact that something outside of basic combat was included. The flavor of the goggles of night my players thought was pretty cool, Predator vision!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2018 20:30:26

I find this module rather weak. Most of the encounters are ill-natured, designed to frustrate rather than excite. The first part doesn't really do a good job of giving the adventurer's a reason to take on the quest unless they already completed DDAL07-03. While I understand its part of a trilogy, there still should be good hooks for people who pick it up mid-stream.

The chase scenes - two different versions of it - seem forced. In addition, some of the DCs are artificially high for an APL3 group. Related to the chase, there's a passive Perception check that only a character proficient and with maximum starting Wisdom can make (or a variant human with a feat), and a suggestion that it should be five points higher most of the time. It follows with a combat encounter that is suggested only if you have extra time. Because AL play doesn't allow for XP on traps or RP, unless you have the extra time to run the combat, the chase scene does nothing but use up time. It's really just wastes time and serves as an opportunity to take items away from players.

The next scene involves a recalcitrant shopkeeper, with notes that indicate he absolutely will not buckle under interrogation no matter what the party do. Again, this is another pure RP scene that provides nothing to the characters and just takes up time. The plot only advances after this scene, in a deus ex machina kind of encounter. The characters bump into somebody who they have no reason to trust, but are forced to to advance the plot. In fact, players who've played the DDAL07-01 introductory modules will have good reason not to trust the plot-required character.

The next part is a travel scene. It involves a big pile of skill checks, with no guidance on how to make them interesting or fun. Experienced GMs will have no problem making this part interesting, while inexperienced or unskilled GMs will likely flounder. And once again, it mostly serves to use up time and deprive players of minor bits of equipment. As written, it is simply not fun or interesting.

The final fight is at least marginally interesting. However, it starts with another forced deus ex machina piece, almost a continuation of the first one. If you didn't trust the stranger that you have no reason to trust, there really isn't any way you should even get to it... and then the same NPC is required to advance the story. Not only that, but he turns around and tries to give the party orders - determining thier strategy for the coming encounter.

TLDR: Not the worst adventure ever written, but it requires a strong DM with good improvisation to make it even remotely entertaining.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Collin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:11:41

This module starts off a bit confusing. The partie's motivation to continue from the previous adventure is a little forced. The complications do not build together logically until the party makes it outside of the city. The time in the jungle and the rules for the complications of traveling are great, it creates a good sense of atmosphere for the players and an anticipation for whats ahead. However, without running the next module immediately after this the conclusion leaves a lot to be desired and leaves the players confused with what they've accomplished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sharon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 15:36:45

My players enjoyed this; but it was tough to run.

1) Very strong suggestion: remove/avoid asking the adventurers to figure-out how the substance is being smuggled into the city. There's no plot to follow here even though the module text suggests this as part of what the quest-giver asks to party to do. 2) Be aware that a moderately crafty party can shut down the chase scene very quickly (less than three turns)--so be prepared with some other outcome or pay-off for the set-up of the theft. 3) If you know your players like scheming and plans and a good infiltration game, have some notion of what the final village looks like. Let them sneak in, avoid guards, and get some advantage for the final fight rather than just dumping the party in the middle of the evil ritual scene.

I think final battle is fun. My group liked the "reveal" of how the grungs were involved and the monsters are fun to run. Review the tactics available to the tribal warriors; it makes them much more fun to run!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 12:14:01

2nd in the 'The Jungle has Fangs' trilogy. The adventure serves as a plot device rather than a standalone adventure, In the first section there is an optional chase scene, which is the only way to get anywhere near the 2 hour run time, my party had a lot of fun with the chase. The difficulty level of the encounters is very low, expect to use the very strong option for all but the weakets parties, I had to add extra enemies to create any sort of challenge.

The shop encounter needs to be modified to provide any sort of logic as to how the main NPC is to meet the party, I had him locked inside a cupboard under the counter, a couple of characters freed him while the rest of the party distracted the owner, otherwise it just does not work.

The final section is also quite illogical, my party just simply would NOT walk into an encampment that is known to have enemies somewhere in it without a LOT of encouragement from the NPC.

Its not bad when taken as part of the whole, but probably the weakest of the trilogy.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 08:48:51

A rather disappointing middle to this trilogy of adventures. Even if you choose to use the chase in the first part, the module is extremely short for a 2-hour adventure. Visiting the shop is an exercise in frustration. The misadventure in the middle is a nice addition to the potential problems of traveling through the Chultan jungle, and the fight at the end is well set up, but overall, this module needed something more. 2/5.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JUSSI S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2018 13:10:38

I like the concept of having three adventures directly tied together, just a pity we didn't have time to run the third adventure too at the convention. This adventure had a fun ending where the boss completely got locked down. Though the boss fight was fun, the whole village and how to handle it seemed unfinished and lacking. I still give this adventure a thumbs up though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 12:08:43

Let me start by emphasizing that I think this is the best of The Jungle Has Fangs trilogy. It's a fun, strange, surreal adventure, but, stripped down to its component parts, there's just not that much here for the players to sink their teeth into. The title of the adventure says it all: this truly is a walk in the park. Just don't look too closely under that foliage, or you'll see the rails everyone is walking on together.

The lead the parties are required to follow in Part 1 is pretty thin, but the scenarios presented while they follow up that lead can be entertaining IF the DM really plays up the goofiness of those scenarios. In particular, the Satchel Shop (and the associated in-jokes, of which I was totally unaware going into this module) will either be a hoot or fall flat, depending on how the DM plays it. (It should REALLY be made clear, in the box text describing him, whether or not the smuggling operation the Satchel Shop owner is involved is inherently, or just incidentally, connected with the operations in the village in Part 3--and, if so, we need to know why the guide, knowing what he knows, is working with the Satchel Shop Owner in the first place.) The "fisherling" scenario, while amusing, feels like a further distraction.

Once the party meets its guide, the adventure proper starts--except that said guide trivializes jungle travel to a comical degree (which works with an absurdist approach here) and the only possible danger presented in Part 2 is really more for laughs. I enjoyed the random consequences table immensely, even if it had very little impact on the actual adventure. I honestly feel like the guide should tell the characters the stakes during this part, rather than wait until Part 3--he's already gotten them this far out in the jungle, so it's not like they could realistically turn back now.

Part 3 is confusing. There's a village the characters are led through in full view of apparently everyone, but then they're told not to enter the village until nightfall... for reasons. You've got at least three species present at this village, but we only see one of them prior to the initiation of combat... for reasons. And then, once combat begins, it really is a walk in the park, even on very strong. (I can hear Rainier Wolfcastle here: "THAT'S THE JOKE.") I get the intention, here, and the reveal of the true nature of Wanderlost is suitably horrifying, but the execution of this part is a little lacking. Moreover, the lead-in to the next module left me scratching my head. (There's a lost city... that who, exactly, cares about?)

Generally, while easy, breezy, and fun, this adventure suffers from being the middle child of a thematically-discordant trilogy. There's a lot of great individual parts here, but the whole, which is dependent upon a not-terribly-interesting larger plot, is unfortunately less than the sum of those parts. That said, if played for comedy and absurdism, this can be a rollicking good time--just know that very few tables will take the full two hours to run this, even if you dial up the hamminess to eleven. I think emphasizing the surreality of the whole module is the key to having a good time here. I truly do appreciate that this is a roleplay heavy adventure--combat slogs are so two seasons ago--but the plot skeleton doesn't feel sufficient to support the weight of all that RP.

But, finally, I think I speak for everyone when I express my relief that there is FINALLY an AL-legal module where players can buy satchels. That's a long-running grievance literally every table I've DMed for in the past has raised, and it's far past time someone remedied it. My earlier criticisms notwithstanding, this module is worth the price of admission alone for finally fixing that glaring omission and elevating satchels to their rightful place in the D&D universe.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trucker L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:27:12

It was there to do what it needed to do. Story connection that didnt work out too bad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 15:17:42

Let’s just say that this is a module that, if I wasn’t running the trilogy from DDAL07-03 to DDAL07-05, I wouldn’t have ran 07-04 as an individual adventure.

The module did its job as the plot connection between the discovery of wanderlust at the end 07-03, followed the lead to the Grung village, and found out the Yuan-ti are behind this, and eventual brings us to 07-05. So it did well in fulfilling its purpose.

Other than the necessary plot progression through the trilogy, there really isn’t any highlight worth mentioning in the module. The satchel shop felt more clunky than a fun Easter egg to me, the travel through the jungle was kinda mundane, and the characters’ venture into the village didn’t leave a lot of room for fun RP interactions. The only notable RP moment I can find is when the characters first spoke to the Yuan-ti pureblood and they were asked to state their business. But regardless of what excuses they made up to visit the village, the final fight was inevitable anyways, so it didn’t really affect the course of the story.

The 2-star rating might seem a bit harsh, but also bear in mind that it did receive the short end of the stick being the middle module in the trilogy, and really was just there to narrate the plot progression. Hence half of why this module is “boring” in my book was to no fault of its own.

P.S. Upgrade the Yuan-ti Pureblood in the final fight to a Yuan-ti Malison. The fight should feel like a step-up from DDAL07-01.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 05:32:15

Lots of RPing for thie adventure, which is quite a refreshing change. The final fight isn't very challenging, so the DM might want to up the mobs for it. Our group enjoyed the middle portion of the advnture, which is the biggest challenge. Extra points for a very fun NPC.

Overall though, the trilogy isn't very strongly connected, and shows that each portion was written by different people. Nonetheless, it does tap on the environment of Chult and its atmosphere.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2017 10:19:14

Satine Phoenix was given the thankless job of writing the second part of a trilogy, and while she ably fulfilled her duties, DDAL07-04 is little more than a bridge between two other, more stimulating adventures. The city chase and the flash flood add moments of excitement, and the hut where the drug is manufactured is satisfyingly creepy, but the fight is easy even for a small party and feels compulsory. Unless you're running the whole The Jungle Has Fangs trilogy, which does make for a nice day of gaming, you might as well skip this.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2017 15:30:22

A Walk in the Park? No kidding. Last combat is less dangerous than the final combat in 7-1! There so little experience available to recieve that it's impossible to get more than the minimum experience with a party of four players!

The writing is weird too - does no-one check for continuity?

Seriously diappointed in the module with issues that playtesting should have picked up on.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by CR M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:13:51

Not much of a beginning, no real conclusion, just kind of a bridge between two better modules (with a commercial for the author's Twitch channel mashed in there...SIGH!) without much to it. Granted, some of the encounters have potential (the mud slide is fun, if it weren't the only thing in part 2), showing how the drug is made made for a properly shocking moment, and the idea of the "fishers" could have been incorporated veryt well into the adventure. Instead, you get a series of unrelated encounters and a shopping trip. Not so fun.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items