Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 6
0 14
0 20
0 13
2 3
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 04:55:22

For my mind the weakest of the trillogy - but saved by one of the best NPCs ever - Wadumu.

Its a basic "traverse the jungle" scenario, followed by a combat in a village. It allows for some strategy, but the DM will need to work to keep the jungle interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 20:03:41

One of my favourite adventure.

If you run the ToA HC, you should at least read this adventure. gives some insight and information about Malar's Throat. Also comes with a Urban Chase complication specific to Port Nyanzaru.

The absolute highlight of this advenure? YOU GET THE POSSIBILITY TO BUY A BELT BAG... LIKE A REAL BANANA BELT BAG!

This is way too cool IMHO.

Ok joke apart, I don't want that last comment to be interpreted as "well if the coolest thing is you get to buy a bag, the module must not be so great".

The story is great and greater as part of the trilogy of tier 1 adventures. There are nice mechanics and checks that make this unique and different from the previous seasons' adventures.

ps : you want to roleplay a grung that serves as a guide for your players? say no more, run this module



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 16:07:17

This mod continues this season's efforts to incorporate 'unusual' ability checks, to continue to attempt to bring in unusual character abilities.

It does an excellent job, and gives an interesting investigation storyline, with some interesting diversions that actually give players the ability to interact meaningfully with the world.

Wadamu is a fun character, and works well to smooth over the roughness of incorporating wilderness survival in the normally combat-oriented AL structure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 01:13:59

This is the weakest adventure in the Jungle Has Fangs trilogy but is suprisingly quick, my group actually completed it in under 2 hours with roleplaying which was a first for a 2 hour module. The module as a whole feels like it only really exists to setup for the 3rd part of the trilogy with the only real highlight being Wadamu who brings something different to an otherwise uninspired module.

The introduction left my players confused as they wanted to investigate the shop owner more but no advice is given in regards to that. You're just supposed to visit the shop then Wadamu takes you into the jungle. Infiltrating the village is also rushed through with your arriving Wadamu 'vouching' for you then a fight in the central tent.

Overall this module only really serves to get you to the 3rd part of the trilogy and could probably be skipped.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2018 20:48:57

The first part of the adventure was a blast for both me and the players, but after they meet Wadumu everything seems lackluster. My players liked the mystery aspect of the previous adventure, so they enjoyed the start of the adventure. They also had fun getting their stuff stolen and having to chase the kids into the alley. The ability challenge with the mudslide was a little lackluster as any potential consequences were reversed by the ensuing long rest. The final combat also seemed way to easy, and didn't provide the players with any new information. I would like to run this adventure again and tweak the encounters a little bit to make them more challenging and meaningful to the story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank v. d. Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2018 06:28:02

DDAL07-04 A walk in the park is an adventure with loads of potential, however only experienced dungeon masters will be able to really utilise these hidden treasures. Maybe even more important is to sidestep this adventures deadly DM pitfalls. This review will contain SPOILERS, if you are going to play this adventure, please respect your dungeon master.

Part 1-A starts of divided, those who played the previous story DDAL07-03, and those who didn't. I really like this idea, to cover all the bases. If you're running this at a store, as part of weekly sessions, this really gives the DM material to introduce new characters if your group setup changed. I do want to advice to keep the same group, or run the story on multiple tables and rotate groups and DM's whilst keeping the "Yeah I played DDAL07-03". You can always use parts from A2, I used the cat to create a bond between Screaming Wind (Emerald Enclave) and Soggy Wren (Harpers). I do agree with most that having the potential that Screaming Wind legs it before giving the quest is very poor writing, allthough I understand the concept. A shy character in Port Nyanzaru from a faction that is not supposed to meddle in its affairs. Any faction representation should calm Screaming Wind though and only make a group roll the check if they intimidate her or do something foolish (would almost advise a group check). I for one liked the Rope Bridge Fish Hooks. Give characters a chance to react, if they fail to do so run a chase. I really like that these adventures explore rules from the DMG. Ensure combat after the chase or after the characters exit the shop, a little dice rolling between roleplaying is good for the RP-Heavy story. Part 1 ends after the satchel shop. In my opinion not really a unique selling point of the story. The merchant doesn't know anything and characters can easily get hung up here because it's their only lead. You can use the Thug encounter to interrupt questioning and let the Merchant flee. Wadumu is then able to talk freely after they have beaten the Thugs and if he helps in combat this gives him more of a trust factor. Don't just hand out the goggles of night, they need to be earned. They can either be given by Wadumu if you use the loyalty rules from DMG and they max it, or explore other fun options in Chult from the hardcover.

Part 2 is a fun way to introduce the group to the jungles of Chult. I really liked this part and gives the group a laugh. its a fun mechanic, just don't go overboard on it. Keep the pase moving, 20 mins is really the max for this part. The weak part about this chapter is, that it gives DM's a chance to screw their players. A player can really lose the feeling of being the hero of this story. Please ensure that this doesn't happen because this is a huge pitfall!

Part 3 is by far the weakest link in this story. Do NOT let Wadumu do everything! Again, he is not the hero of this story, the players are. Its such a huge pitfall to have a DM character like Wadumu do everything, and the story tells you to do exactly that. Instead, let Wadumu go in alone and let the characters sneak in on their own strength at night. If you do it this way, there is always the feeling that Wadumu is going to betray them, which brings some tension to the story. Let them explore the village as well by sneaking around. If they find any humans, they can always attempt to persuade them that they are here to free them from the Yuan-Ti control (instead of Wadumu doing so). Ow right the story was about wanderlost, it's here and even being crafted here, but even after running all 3 stories I'm not 100% sure why this was important, since it can basically be crafter anywhere as long as there is a Grung and a Yuan-Ti. Why isn't it more special and requires a shrine like the one in adventure DDAL07-05 to craft. Let the characters find out about this Lost city of Bulobo and the ritual which evidently needs Wanderlost and is the true key to DDAL07-05.

I for one am unsure why Wanderlost is being uesd to poison dinosaurs in DDAL 07-03 and now turns out to be used in a ritual to summon their all powerfull god. Why would you use this particular poison that can lead adventurers right to you, whilst any other poison will suffice. And if you summon Dendar, why would you need the merchant princess grip over Chult to be weaker? Isn't this all powerfull Yuan-Ti god supposed to devour the sun? That would pretty much make him strong enough to dispose of Port Nyanzaru's defences easily. In my opinion the addentures could have been better linked together and been more about Wanderlost.

As stated at the start, an adventure with plenty of potential, however poorly connected to the trilogy and contains huge DM pitfalls.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2018 17:24:42

I really liked the idea of this adventure, but not the execution. I got to run it this past weekend at a convention, where I think it's a poor choice for a module due to timing issues (though it is a short module, there are plenty of places it could go long). I had hoped to run it the week before as a test run to see where things could use tweaking, but that fell through. What I liked: the RP heavy nature of the adventure. What I didn't like, pretty much everything else. I would generally concur with what Ashley K wrote in their review:

The B opening (for non EE faction members or characters who haven't been in the previous adventure) is terrible terrible terrible. I would never run this as written. It needlessly wastes time. I don't understand why someone would need to chase the quest giver. This is one of the main areas where convention DMs could run into trouble, as players often run modules out of sequence due to scheduling. I would definitely recommend treating someone scheduled to play DDAL 7-03 as having played it. Same for characters who have interacted with Screaming Wind in DDAL 7-01. Luckily, I didn't need to worry about this. The fisherlings scene is fine, but I prefer making this a plot point rather than a more random thing and plan for interaction/combat with the thugs. This is pretty much the only way I could see coming close to the max xp, as the final combat wasn't enough. A way to introduce it even if the party foils the theft of the satchel would be to have the thugs waiting at the other side of the bridge :" Hey doesn't 'X' have your satchel?" You could also do it right after they leave the shop and saving Wadumu from them (is it a setup?) You definitely don't need two chases in an adventure. Like others, my party wanted to question the shopkeeper far beyond necessary. I haven't yet decided how to try and limit this should I run it again. My party didn't need convincing to follow Wadumu, which was interesting. I ended up having him lead them to the village and let them decide what to do. He ended up talking to the guards anyway and suggested attacking at night. He handed over the goggles to someone who couldn't see in the dark. This felt like better timing anyway. I think the key here is to allow some kind of agency, forming a plan of attack, letting the daytime trip through the village be for scouting etc. Because the village has almost no detail, you'll need to make this up. Nobody went anywhere near the grung, and the combat was over quickly (which was good, because we were just about out of time). I haven't yet had any feedback so who knows what the players thought of it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:39:03

This is a more RP heavy adventure, combat isn't that hard and really it helps advance the last story pretty well. Basically as DM you have to read this one a little harder just because it is more about player RP than combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2018 12:46:45

I have enjoyed both playing and running this adventure. Rather than being completely formulaic, this adventure offers more atmosphere and side options for games that aren't on a clock. It also provides more RP options rather than just action sequences.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 14:55:45

This module does a great job of introducing the players to the jungles of Chult and its inhabitants.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jay J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 08:56:34

Overall, I did really enjoy this module. There are certainly parts that are rough around the edges, but over all it was super enjoyable! In fact one of the parts (with the mud) ended up taking us 20 minutes filled with racous laughter as one of my players continually kept rolling poorly and becoming disoriented, so at the very least that's certainly a fond memory that now lead to that character being extremely afraid of mud, haha.

I think some of the weaknesses lie in providing context to both the end goal and Wadamu. If the players don't think to present a certain item to the guide, you're left in an awkward spot of trying to help the plot along while sort of forgoing context which at the very least made my players mildly confused.

Over all, its extremely enjoyable but lacks in providing a proper flow of story beats and context as to what the players have to do. Beyond the story elements its extremely fun and will certainly engage your players as they brave the jungles of Chult.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2018 16:56:24

While I agree with some of the editing problems that others have pointed out, I actually enjoyed this mod, and made sure that my players did as well.

The concept of buying a varition of an item from the PHB was actually a bonus for AL play, as these kinds of items tend to be more restrictive. It was great for folks with Spy, Criminal or smuggler backgrounds, and it gave them a chance to shine in play.

I do think folks should buy the mod, but take time to add your own touches to it to fill in anything you feel is weak. (as you should do with any mod, actually).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Henry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2018 17:43:40

This is the poorest module of the series and suffers a lot of bad editing problems. The biggest unfixable editing problem is that the players are able to purchase a satchel with a secret compartment from the Satchel Shop that is like the one they found in 7-03 but the DC 20 to find the secret compartment is not mentioned, so you have to reference 7-03 for this information. All the other editing problems (bad punctuation, poor story links, confusing dialog) can be fixed with careful reading of the module.

As far as time goes, this module is the longest of the trilogy and includes options to lengthen it. There is also a lot of time wasted on atmospheric stuff like the fisherlings which does not contribute to the over-arching story of the module. The only way to keep this within 2 hours is to read it closely (to find all the editing errors) and eliminate ALL the extra stuff like the fisherlings and flash flood.

The final combat is also a big letdown as written. I've played and run this a few times and unless the players attack the grungs Wadamu is arguing with, you will need to add a lot of extra enemies to make it challenging.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2018 22:08:20

As many have mentioned, this adventure does not seem to have ever been looked at by an editor. It has all of the standard typos and sentences that don't make sense as written.

The bigger problem is that this seems more like an adventure outline than an adventure. There are various ideas here that should have been better fleshed out. The introduction to Wadumu needed to be expanded so that it wasn't just a random grung approaching the characters for no discernable reason. There are other sections that seem like interesting ideas, but ones that the DM has to expand significantly in order to make them work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 05:08:20

Part 1 was fun with the fishing, chase, and the shop. However part 2 felt lackluster and had little impact save to give wadumu some story. The end fight was fun however. That it is so very easy to miss the item was rather upsetting to one of the nicer parties I ran through it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items