Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 23
4 39
0 7
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2018 00:21:29

I found this to be a very fun module to run, though there are some concerns. The module is in two main parts, the race and the fight.

The race, and the preamble to it, were overall very good. As others have said, the "hook" is rather weak, especially for PC's "new to town." The betting system is particularly weird with multiple dinos all possible winners. We explained this away by saying you were placing more exotic bets, but regardless the end result is unsatisfying.

The actual race was a blast to run, and my players all said they really enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to just make up descriptions to what the dinos were doing, what the PC's efforts were resulting in, and what their opponents were doing. The race did end up being swingy, with my group doing well out of the gate and on the pteranadons, but it took a lot longer than it probably should have to find the right bricks under water. I found that I had to fudge the other teams' dice so they would either stay competitive or not run too far ahead. Of course, that allowed the other teams to catch up and almost win the race, making it close and exciting. That was me, however, not the dice. More so than most mods, I think this one benefits greatly from a DM keeping things close to the end. It was also fun to bring out my inner Jeff Probst and really get into some of the descriptions. In the end, even my group of six level-one players (three totally new) were able to succeed enough at the challenges to make it fun and exciting.

After the race, there was a pretty big fight. This was a tough fight for all 1st level characters since the big one can one-shot almost any first level PC except for a raging barbarian. The module says it is optimized for 3rd level, so go easy on your firsties. The "investigation" part of the module where the players are all supposed to piece it all together could stand to be much better fleshed out too.

I've run this one twice, and I'll probably run it a few more times because it is just a fun, different adventure for players to try different things in. I'll probably get parts 2 and 3 of the trilogy and see how they go, even though quite a few reviewers say there isn't much of a connection between this one and those two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:20:39

it is simply fun. dinosaurs and races make a great



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 03:26:14

Ahhh, a Day at the Races! SO MUCH FUN! This mod Ive played and DM'd a couple of times (in fact its the first module I hit Deja-vu on). This is the PERFECT module if you have a table with people brand new to D&D. Having them watch, interact, place bets, try to effect the outcome (I mean, as if PCs wont try to use things like Minor Illusion, and Ball Bearings, and flasks of Oil...)

I will get through the bad parts first - my nick picking on the module has to be that its hard to keep to time, the race earnings are a nightmare to figure out (needs examples, I bet 10 gp on x dino, I win y gp), and other than a super tiny section right at the end, it really has nothing to do with the trilogy. There should be more to do with the theme throughout the race where possible.

The main section of the race itself - playing through this multiple times, Ive found that either the other teams fall off super early and the last part is boring, or the players have basically no chance of winning. A lot of groups Ive played this with do their best to mess up the other teams, so usually fall into option 1, where they get to the final leg and just coast across the finish line. Would recommend that DMs implement a 1 distraction per character rule, to keep things moving quickly.

What did I love with the module is how different it is. Even the combat piece seemed way more natural than most modules - and has the Chultan deadly element to it (a bunch of level 4s are going to struggle...). If DMs make sure they read the module and have a rough outline to cover everything, I can't imagine the table NOT having a good time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:48:21

This was a reall fun mod overall and a great way to introduce interesting mechanics for players as opposed to slogging out a million and one combats. It did take longer than 2 hours, but it's worth budgeting that extra time in order to take your time with the roleplay and skill chalenge. It also gives the opportunity to really indulge the player's creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by BRETT V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 01:48:41

My players had a lot of fun with this! During and afterwards they provided some feedback which I've provided.

One point raised which I could understand was a desire to have d20's on both sides of the competition during the racing rather than using d8's on one side and d20's on the other, or have it as an individual race. I understand that may bring time/complexity challenges.

The party we ran with had three players, which made the word puzzle fairly simple: we felt this could be more challenging, however that may strain the 2-hour timeframe with a larger party.

We were happy with the storyline flow into the race and afterwards. The storyline link to the next adventure was great I felt, as it happened literally right at the end and so will be quite easy to recall if we don't run the followup for a few weeks or a month.

Overall this definitely an enjoyable and memorable evening for both players and DM. The above feedback points really did not detract much from the game. We recommend this to other groups for an enjoyable session.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 08:14:21

Good: Fun Theme Great Utilization of skills Bad: The contest can take longer than planned DM Tips: Be flexible and adaptable



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 17:29:43

I loved being able to offer my players something out of the ordinary. The level of excitement was almost tangible! I look forward to replaying this in the future as well. Fun mod!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 17:41:43

Some clunky parts, some fun parts. I feel like the suggested adventure hooks are kind of misleading as they suggest the point of the adventure to be the investigation against the yuan-ti. In actuality, that whole conspiracy plot just felt like an excuse to have a giant dinosaur race.
The betting in part 1 is a bit hard to grasp (it's only one race, how can there be multiple winners?). I do like all the fluff included in the registration though, my party greatly enjoyed coming up with a mascot. Part had the actual race itself and the whole setup was very grand and fun to imagine. Especially liked the multiple different stages here. Some of the stages were really clunky though, like the fishing for stones bit which felt kinda static (not many options besides a bunch of Ivestigation/Perception checks) or the triceratops at the end which has the potential of really dragging on.
Would recommend against using rolls for "The Others". Feels like the opposition would be lagging behind too much going by the book. Instead just handle the enemy factions from a pure narrative perspective to keep it as a neck-to-neck race.
The fight at the end is fine but as always, zombies can be very problematic in Tier 1 unless the gorup has some clerics/paladins as it's kinda hard to deal enough damage to make them fail their con saves. This is a great opportunity to use some of the dino zombies from "DDHC-TOA-3 - Beasts of the Jungle Rot" though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2018 21:45:58

This is my favorite 5e adventure! The dinosaur racing rules in the Tomb of Annihilation are a bit vague. This adventure greatly expands on those rules. My group loved it so much, they want to do it again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 13:17:25

I really liked this module as it's different than the traditional kill everything mod.It allows the players to take part in several events, and use skills instead of weapons. I ran this a couple of times and both tables really enjoyed the race. I do feel it's not one to pick up and run on the fly, it takes some prep if you want to give the table the best experience. It offers a lot of opportunity to add some flare, and let the players rp.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 04:51:24

Great introduction to ToA, particularly for new players. The race is a great balance of roleplay and skill challenge, and really gives life to the Port as a location.

Theres not a lot of combat in this, but the combat present is interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 18:30:19

Not a very combat-heavy adventure, but the races in this adventure were varied and fun! The race included parts on ground, in air, and across water, and all the legs of the races were handled very smoothly by the adventure's design. It can limit creativity though for some characters who depend on magic and don't have very could skills used in the races.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephanie B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2018 15:24:50

(THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS-- and tips for GMs preparing to run this adventure)

My group of 4 level 3's played this over the weekend. It took a little over 3 hours to finish; I would budget at least 3 hours for a newish group of PCs.

The introduction and betting fell a little flat. The main NPC has a dialect that is difficult to get around-- I worked it by simplifying the dialect a bit, and prefacing the RP with "this NPC has a difficult accent, and that's deliberate." I also had had pre-existing contacts between NPCs and the players-- Pock Marked Po made a return in this adventure to serve as an introduction.

The betting scene was very basic-- the avarice-minded PC was into it, but nobody else really was. They all wanted to examine the animals before the race, partly for evaluating their bets, and largely because they thought there was a big cheating investigation plot they needed to pursue. They were doggedly pursuing as many clues and leads as they could, but the reality is, this module is a bit thin and doesn't support it. There's no guidance for which dinosaur in the betting round has been doped-- and there really ought to be.

If I were running this again, I would beef up the cheating angle, and flesh out one of the rival teams in the race section as a more dedicated cheater, so the PCs have someone to accuse.

The race was surprisingly engaging for the players. They had previously played the dinosaur race mission in 0701, so I worried that they would find this to be "old hat." It was not-- the different mechanics were engaging, especially when I made comparisons to the Triwizard Tourney at Hogwart's. In the second major section of the race, they really got into the interference aspect of the race-- and here again, the module didn't strongly support counter-interference from the rival teams. They were rather pre-programmed and weren't set up to do anything to retaliate against the PCs. If I were running this again, I'd have one of the rivals cheat more heavily, and use all manner of dirty tricks against the PCs.

The final encounter felt tacked on, and the PCs got very frustrated with the terrified little girl. They had little patience for a non-combatant who had no agency. I don't think I'd run that section differently, but it would have been smarter in hindsight to have introduced her before the races, when the PCs went down to the animal pens to do their investigation. Then they'd have seen her normally, and would have felt some kind of connection there. You could even put in a clue or two earlier where the PCs might spot the yuan-ti woman, or have better foreshadowing.

I give this a 4 out of 5, largely because there are enough places where you really need to tweak the adventure to make sense, but the bones are there, and you can make those tweaks without really taking it out of the Adventurers League format.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 16:01:00

There are two distinct parts to this mod. I'm going to call them the 'race' and the 'fight.

The race is brilliant. Lots of small skills that don't see enough use, and it's just plain fun to run & play. It takes a little effort by GMs to adjudicate off-the-wall ideas that players can come up with, but that's normal, even if this even inspires more of it than usual.

The fight is extremely tough. I've seen it be fair, I've seen it be horrible, I've seen it be unwinable. The issue is that two hour mods simply do not have the time for a standard array of fights, and the challenge level short-rest and long-rest characters can absorb is simply to wildly variant. DMs need to be aware not just of your party's by-the-book, power level, but it's short vs long rest power levels -- if the party is heavily weighted with short rest characters, be aware that they may not actually be as strong as the level numbers indicate. They need two short rests to the long rest to match the long-rest characters, and the lack of a refresh on their short rest abilities make long-rest characters much stronger than might otherwise be apparent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 01:02:22

The majority of the module consists of the race and it provides different mechanics for each leg (4 in total). This keeps the event for turning into a bland series of ability checks as each leg has a different goal and allows different characters to shine. The combat at the end provides an opportunity for more combat orientated characters but feels unnecessary and only really helps to connect this module to the next one in the trilogy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back