Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 6
0 5
0 1
0 0
0 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:33:19

Fun Module! most of my players have enjoyed it, both as a non-combat heavy module and dino racing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2017 08:25:35

I really enjoyed running the race in this adventure. That mechanic added somthing more than just the combat that most adventures offer



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2017 12:56:47

Really love the Trilogy! As a starting adventure for tier 1 play A Day at the Races delivers an interesting and different experience for players, but will require a creative and prepared DM to ensure a high caliber experience.

I like the diversity of the experience, the betting, the race and the battle; however, each could use a bit more flavor. The experience of this adventure is almost completely in the hands of the DM. Without the DM adding flair to the races--having to fill in mechanical flaws, describing a short series of checks to add drama and coming up with more detail to add to the extremely general winning conditions--this adventure will most often fall flat for the players.

I would suggest any DMs prepping this adventure to reuse or reference mechanics from 07-01's race to fill in the gaps, especially with the final stretch of the race.

I also prepped some bookie/betting tickets to add some flair to the first part. If I had more time to prep I would have maybe made some ribbon tokens to give to each player in the second leg, as they have a gold value, and some scrabble type pieces to represent the bricks they fetch from the harbor to make the experience more tactile for the players.

In the final fight I maxed the encounter challenge as the players had no prerequisite combat. It also adds a more satisfying crunch to the finale with a better XP award for their mostly roleplay experience.

This is neatly wrapped in a 2 hour session. The timing for the module never really feels rushed as the DM holds all the sway on the pacing.

The Trilogy, The Jungle Has Fangs is great as a whole, a well paced hook to get new players invested in season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2017 20:30:28

While the idea of the race is interesting, the mechanics feel clunky and could have done with more detail similar to the last part of the race. I had to also just handwave as to why the little girl was in the pen to begin with holding a magical staff.

Would probably still run it again as all players so far seem to enjoy taking part of races of any kind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2017 11:16:52

I ran this for my Sunday Night group at a store. This review will contain spoilers! Over all 4 stars, was fun for the group, the fight at the end was fun and players enjoyed a risk to get more gold for themselves in AL play! Spoilers below.

The betting was a bit confusing, I got lucky and all my players bet on the same 2 dino's, so I just ran two races, did some racing announcer voices, and made an open roll on win or lose.

The race event with the players was well done, I was able to have them describe actions and make good choices, but some bad die rolling on the final leg lead to a 2nd place finish for my players, I loved it! good to see a place where the players can "fail" without ruining the story....

The reason for only 4 stars, the final part, was real confusing on setting up the fight, where is the little girl? where do the undead start? How did she get into danger? and separated from her parents? That caused me a bit too much "hand waving" at the table. The investigation at the end was a bit forced, as the "big bad" was dead.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giorgio P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2017 07:58:48

Purtroppo modulo si merita solo la sufficenza. L'avventura di per se non è male e offre qualche buon spunto per il roleplaying; il problema è la gara che compone il corpo centrale del modulo che non è ottimale. Al tavolo è risultata faraginosa e dispersiva, la quantità esagerata di prove che devono sostenere sia i pg che i png spezza molto il ritmo del gioco e sembra essere stata concepità piu come riempitivo per far passare il tempo che vera competizione di abilità. Risistemata questa parte potrebbe diventare un bel modulo investigativo.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2017 23:18:55

This is a a GREAT mostly non combat adventure. The players skills are used pretty heavily and there is even some room for creative solution making. The only issue I have with this adventure, is the same issue I've had with every adventure so far in the DDAL07 series. The CR of the adventure isn't at a level to challenge the players as well as it could. It's like the authors realized that the Season 6 adventures were Colossally hard and went to far the other way to nerf the adventures in Season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2017 13:30:04

The races in this module were different than those in 07-01; they focused less on combat and more on group ability checks, puzzles, and overall collaboration, which was a nice change of pace. My table really enjoyed the change of pace as they have been trudging through the jungle with the Hard Cover the past few weeks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gionmattia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 10:04:36

I mastered this adventure several times, during an event: all the new D&D-players enjoyed it, and i was happy too, seeing their involvment with the races and the background story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 15:37:28

This is a fantastic adventure. The dinosaur race is something new and unique that many players will enjoy. If played out right, the race is suspenseful from start to finish, with a variety of skill checks and puzzle challenges for players. The module sneaks in a bit of fun combat at the end, and perfectly sets up the story of 7-4. I highly recommend the trilogy or this module on its own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2017 20:27:41

Excellent mod and great intro to the Jungle Has Fangs Trilogy. Even as a stand alone this works great, with the grand prix race being the centre of the adventure. However, it truly shines with the last second swerve cliffhanger to set up the next part of the storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Erich S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2017 10:15:42

At first read, I was worried by having a module that focused on more races. I was pleased to find that the race provided here does a great job of mixing skill checks, teamwork, and encourages creative thinking from the party. I also loved throwing a puzzle in the middle of a chase scene.

I had a great time runnung and my players reported a good time playing. Thanks for that!

I look forward to having another chance to run it again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items