Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 16
3 18
0 6
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 10:03:47

I found this adventure to be a lot of fun to run. It can be difficult to track how the race is going and I thought it was a little wonky on how some of the actions go but it wasn't too hard to overcome. My nephews(3 and 5 years old) had a good time imagining racing on dinosaurs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Emory P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 21:59:54

This is a VERY fun module. The key points to make it exciting and fun for your players depend on the section. In the first part, let them explore and investigate as they please. Being familiar with the Port Nyanzaru races as described in the ToA hardcover is highly suggested (and are used almost verbatim in the module, so no worries if you don't have access to the ToA HC,) and familiarty with real-world professional auto or horse racing culture can be helpful in fleshing out a vibrant series of encounters.

In the second part, it is all about keeping it fast-paced and exciting. The system of random rolls described in the module can be used but it is just as easy to adapt any system you are comfortable with to determine the interactions of the players and NPCs during the race. For inspiration, look to films and video clips with iconic chase scenes. Use classic tropes to your advantage; there's nothing more satisfying than seeing your players' joy when they discover their opponents are falling behind because of running into a random cart full of fruit...

The final part is a fairly standard combat encounter. Adjust as necessary, but there's nothing out of the ordinary. The stakes can be high, but that's at your discretion per usual.

Most importantly: have fun yourself. These are an exciting series of races. Pull out your best celebrity impression for an announcer (I went with William Shatner, myself,) or for an added challenge do two commentators. Your table will love it.

As for the important real-world details: even with my players doing their own "investigation" in the first part, we clocked in right at the two-hour mark. Your experience may vary, or course.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 23:07:47

Not for every DMs.

I think you need to be dynamic to keep the run interesting. The feeling of the race is IMHO directly proportionnal with the energy you give when animating it.

Personnally, it was one of the most amusing module I've run! I really liked it.

The end has a great twist too. Also, I love Soggy Wren. heheh



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 11:29:49

Definitely a great module for beginners, players and DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 12:20:17

The races are fun and exciting, though there was some initial hesitation about gambling on dinosaurs. I tried for one of the teams rolling the checks as well, just with a modifier of 0 for all of them, which my players seemed to like and find fun.

Narration is the key for this entire thing. If you're not doing your best "race caller" mixed with "auctioneer" for this, it's going to become a slog. I handed out inspiration liberally: when a couple of players didn't manage to pick up the right color blocks and the wizard decided to minor illusion the right color for the "fantasy jumbotron", for example. I figured the point was to be exciting and fun, not 100% rules-lawyery on inspiration.

The combat at the end seemed a bit powerful, but that might've been my party balance. The little girl gives them a great reason to wade into the battle, but my players didn't seem interested in the magical "stick" until she mentioned that her "da'" had... (looks up). Overall, a really fun module. Very different, keeps the players on their toes!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 14:02:22

I love the concept of an adventure that is largely dinosaur races, but your players' interest may vary. This module is largely a skill challenge (the dinosaur race). The rules for each stage of the race are fairly proscribed, so I had to go out of my way to encourage players to use creative alternatives if they wanted to. Like others have said, it relies a lot on the DM to add crowd reactions and other narration to make the race exciting.

This adventure begins with an RP section and ends with one combat. The RP section helps set the stage for the trilogy but doesn't have a ton of payoff as a one-shot, which can frustrate players after they get invested in the scenes. Combat heavy groups will also be left wanting. Overall I'd say this is 5 stars for the right group, 3-3.5 stars for the wrong group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 21:05:55

Fantastic module. The races are super fun and having things other than combat take place keeps players on their toes. Sure there is some at the end but it's not the worst thing ever. I'm a big fan of how all the S7 adventures tie together This one in particular leads right into the next and the end scene investigation is great. The NPCs are very unique and fun to act out. This is one of the weaker modules in the group but that does not make it any less fun. It's simply a joy to participate in and that's why it does not hurt the rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marvin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 16:02:37

I personally didn't enjoy running it the first time, but both times I have done it the players had a blast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alessandro S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 04:10:52

I must admid i was very skeptical about another dinosaur race adventure but my players enjoyed the thrill of betting and racing, developing a fun and competitive game. Only thing that i didn't like was the rushed ending of the adventure with an encounter popped out of nothing that felt a bit too forced upon the players. It's hard to make an endless sequence of skill check fun but this module seems to work the best out of it, a lot stands on the shoulder of the DM but the experience can be very exciting and fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 15:31:42

First time i ran it i thought it ended up i a endless dice throwing, my players did not notice and loved racing dinosaurs:-)

Second time i took alot of time and prepr in making alot of descriptions of the race, and how the other teams and the crowd reacted on the players actions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Roberta C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:07:23

The final encounter is a bit out of nowhere, and some of the challenges are unproprotionally easy. Overall it was a fun quick module, but it needs to be a bit more balanced I feel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:11:01

This was a very fun module, though I think it goes a little too quick in some parts, and that end encounter is a bit jarring. I would still highly recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sebastian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 15:25:23

The first part of the Jungle Has Fangs trilogy has Tier 1 (levels 1-4) players back in the spotlight of what I find to be one of the most entertaining features of the the world featured in season 7 of Adventure Leage: the dinosaur races. Players will saddle up and take part in a race that offers much more that what we saw in City on the Edge. Fans of that adventure are sure to enjoy this one.

When it comes to combat, this module sees rather little of it. Players will not find themselves in an actual combat scenario until the end of the module. Combat skills may still find use earlier in the adventure so combat-focused players won't feel completely left out. I would suggest that when the final combat occurs, throw everything you have at the players. They should have plenty of character resources available and you can spice it up by really focusing on the civilian lives that might at risk if the players do not move quickly.

Exploration is an area where this adventure shines. While players will not be actively exploring ruins or solving intricate riddles and puzzle, they will be utilizing a variety of skills to successfully navigate the various sections of the race they are participating in. Just about every character archetype has a chance to shine in this race. Your wilderness characters such as druids and rangers can help with your mounts and those with fast and dexterous hands will have their moment in the spotlight when players start to ride Pteranadons. Tough and strong characters will need to be ready to exert themselves and those that love puzzles will get a chance to do so as well.

The race takes up a large part of the module and this where the DM can really bring the adventure life. Be as descriptive as you can with the race and how the opposing teams are faring. If you are good with voices, going with the "old-time" radio sports caster voice is sure to be a highlight for your players. Another great tip for DMs would be to check and see which players particiapted in the dinosaur race in City on the Edge. Have them brought back as as city favorites for thier previous victory or perhaps for a shot of redemption if they lost that event. Spice it up by making one of the opposing teams the Green Vipers who are out for revenge or to humiliate the players once more.

There is not a great deal of scripted roleplay for players to participate in. You can have some fun with the initial contact at the races by playing up the the fact that the bookie knows little to no Common. However, most of hte roleplay is going to be player driven. Encourage them to descriptive in their actions during and reward daring with gracious amounts of inspirtation. If possible, find ways to bring the crowd to life by having onlookers hold out mugs of water for players to grab from their steeds and splash on their faces.

This is a sold adventure and works as a great way to hook the players into the larger story that makes up the Jungle has Fangs trilogy. It can work as a single adventure but the way it ends so suddenly will leave players asking for more. If you get this adventure, be prepared the second and third ones as players will be hungry to solve the mysteries that they begin to uncover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 12:40:31

A skill check adventure, that if you as the DM can engage the players to make it interesting is super good. Dinosaur racing, how can that be bad?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 16:36:09

An excellent concept executed poorly. I feel like the authors here were really trying to step outside the cookie cutter mold of how mods usually are but unfortunately ran out of time and just threw something togerther. There is not enough informaiton provided to the DM in this mod to accurately instruct them on how the race is suppose to work. I do not know if they meant for there to be about 30% of the race mechanics to be open-ended or if this was just a poor job on the descriptions. I unfortunately felt like I was "winging" it for most of this mod. The players seemed to have fun but really could of been better written.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items