Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 9
2 15
0 4
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sebastian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 15:25:23

The first part of the Jungle Has Fangs trilogy has Tier 1 (levels 1-4) players back in the spotlight of what I find to be one of the most entertaining features of the the world featured in season 7 of Adventure Leage: the dinosaur races. Players will saddle up and take part in a race that offers much more that what we saw in City on the Edge. Fans of that adventure are sure to enjoy this one.

When it comes to combat, this module sees rather little of it. Players will not find themselves in an actual combat scenario until the end of the module. Combat skills may still find use earlier in the adventure so combat-focused players won't feel completely left out. I would suggest that when the final combat occurs, throw everything you have at the players. They should have plenty of character resources available and you can spice it up by really focusing on the civilian lives that might at risk if the players do not move quickly.

Exploration is an area where this adventure shines. While players will not be actively exploring ruins or solving intricate riddles and puzzle, they will be utilizing a variety of skills to successfully navigate the various sections of the race they are participating in. Just about every character archetype has a chance to shine in this race. Your wilderness characters such as druids and rangers can help with your mounts and those with fast and dexterous hands will have their moment in the spotlight when players start to ride Pteranadons. Tough and strong characters will need to be ready to exert themselves and those that love puzzles will get a chance to do so as well.

The race takes up a large part of the module and this where the DM can really bring the adventure life. Be as descriptive as you can with the race and how the opposing teams are faring. If you are good with voices, going with the "old-time" radio sports caster voice is sure to be a highlight for your players. Another great tip for DMs would be to check and see which players particiapted in the dinosaur race in City on the Edge. Have them brought back as as city favorites for thier previous victory or perhaps for a shot of redemption if they lost that event. Spice it up by making one of the opposing teams the Green Vipers who are out for revenge or to humiliate the players once more.

There is not a great deal of scripted roleplay for players to participate in. You can have some fun with the initial contact at the races by playing up the the fact that the bookie knows little to no Common. However, most of hte roleplay is going to be player driven. Encourage them to descriptive in their actions during and reward daring with gracious amounts of inspirtation. If possible, find ways to bring the crowd to life by having onlookers hold out mugs of water for players to grab from their steeds and splash on their faces.

This is a sold adventure and works as a great way to hook the players into the larger story that makes up the Jungle has Fangs trilogy. It can work as a single adventure but the way it ends so suddenly will leave players asking for more. If you get this adventure, be prepared the second and third ones as players will be hungry to solve the mysteries that they begin to uncover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 12:40:31

A skill check adventure, that if you as the DM can engage the players to make it interesting is super good. Dinosaur racing, how can that be bad?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 16:36:09

An excellent concept executed poorly. I feel like the authors here were really trying to step outside the cookie cutter mold of how mods usually are but unfortunately ran out of time and just threw something togerther. There is not enough informaiton provided to the DM in this mod to accurately instruct them on how the race is suppose to work. I do not know if they meant for there to be about 30% of the race mechanics to be open-ended or if this was just a poor job on the descriptions. I unfortunately felt like I was "winging" it for most of this mod. The players seemed to have fun but really could of been better written.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Collin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:16:05

This is the most unique module I have run in AL. It very much is what the title says and builds a great picture of the fantastical nature of port nyanzaru. At the start it seems to be a nice fun but relaxing day for the players but they are thrust without being forced into a wild ride of skillchecks that create an exiting tension between them and the challenge they are facing. It does a great job of unifying the players to a common goal. helping them to work together for a common goal more objectively than just combat does.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 08:48:20

A solid module, with two very different pieces. The first three-quarters is really all about the race, which I was afraid would be a rerun of DDAL 7-01.2 but took a very different turn. The gambling and the motivations for having the celebration could have been made clearer, but my players had a blast in the flying section and the final race. The fight towards the end was a pretty abrupt shift, but it gave my players quite a shock. My main problem with the module is that the ending feels like the characters just get shunted aside if you’re not going straight into DDAL 7-04. 4/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JUSSI S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2018 13:09:16

I like the idea of having three adventures tied together, and the whole racing concept was awesome, even though it seemed impossible for the players to lose.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 18:41:16

A day at the races is an absolute hoot, my party loved it, it is a skill based module with plenty of RP and only 1 short combat. The characters get to race dinosaurs! And fly dinousaurs!

Keeping the race exciting and engaging was my hardest challenge, I had to fudge a little with the pursuing teams to make them relevant, otherwise it would have been a cakewalk. The only thing I wasnt keen on was the underwater section, it is too easy for the party to get a long way ahead if they are clever, this could make the finale race dissapointing, which is something I wanted to avoid.

This is the first module in the 'Jungle has fangs' trilogy and the rest of the adventures look equally interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trucker L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:25:20

It was pretty nice. Players enjoyed racing and killing the other team in the sea. Nice to have some non-combat related events like this eventhough my session had combat in it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 01:43:24

The race itself was fun. I blew up the map and printed it across several pieces of paper and made a sort-of board game out of it. I have very visual players so they enjoyed haveing that sort of set up. I did a little altering here and there in order to keep everyone moving (the players rolled high, and I kept rolling low) and the other teams cheated via portal jumps to end up back on their heels. The combat at the end was fun, too. Anytime I can pull out that catagory of mob I enjoy it. :)

Semi-Spoilers This module was very confusing to me as I preread it. It took me a while to understand certain parts of it. The adventure hook had very little to do with what actually happened. Then we had sort of a Sixth Sense spoiler at the begining where someone pretty much called the end scene. I still don't know how yaun-ti subplot was supposed to effect the race itself unless I chose to ad lib it. (I don't know how/what I would have ad libed as there were no suggestions as to how that would affect the race in any way.).

All in all, it was a fun module; good variety from the norm. It's just clunky and needs to be pulled together better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 12:57:19

Definitely a rather unorthodox module amongst AL, with the majority of the module set in the Grand Prix race event instead of your usual investigate the surroundings and talk to NPCs. Which made for a challenging experience as a DM (because no one is used to running mods that are races), but it was challenging in a fun way, so I did appreciate the creativity.

Definitely use a lot of liberty when you DM this mod. For instance, I changed the word puzzle into having them solve a riddle. With the word puzzle, you can just work out all the combination in due time, which isn’t very fun in my opinion, and can also take forever (until the characters can no longer hold their breath). With a riddle, it’s less time consuming, and it gives off a better sense of achievement that the players actually did something (instead of trying all possible combinations until they found the right answer). I also made the final leg of the race into a spellcasting competition, where I had the spellcasters on the table have a little magic duel with the spellcasters on the NPC teams, so we all got to roleplay Harry Potter for a little bit. Whatever you think might add spice to the module and make it more interesting, I’d say just go for it.

Two points of nitpicking:

  1. The hook for the characters to join the race was a little bit disjointed. Having them join the race themselves to investigate from the inside is a good idea, but I’d like to see more light shed on how the “baddies” have be rigging the race (instead of only having the discovery of wanderlust at the very end of the module);
  2. The little girl in the dinosaur zombie fight felt a little out of place. Having zombie dinosaurs assaulting the ground should be enough of a threat to add urgency to the fight, having the little girl just felt clunky (which I straight up took out of the fight).


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 07:58:39

The main content of the module is fun, I got plenty of laughs and good cheer out of most of it. However, it did drag on a bit long. The puzzle bit was kind of pointless. The words are entirely too short to present any challenge to anybody with more than an elementary school reading level, e.g. a five letter clue with a single vowel has very few options. If there's ever an update, they should be at least twice as long and multiple words each.

The main plot of the module, however, doesn't really seem to relate to the content. There's a briefing by the quest giver that talks about it, and there's some rumor gathering, but there's no actual advancement of it. More than once, I had players wanting to check out the pens and gather clues more directly (instead of just as hearsay).

I think the module would have been improved by a slightly shorter race, and an additional (if optional) encounter with some of the alleged antagonists. Standing this module up alone makes the adventure hook feel like a red herring - an excuse to get the players into the race.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 05:46:47

The telematch style dinosaur race is silly fun. Make sure you allow players to come up with ideas and going beyond making it more than just a bunch of skill checks. You might also want to add some NPCs to add some more RP opportunities to the race. A fan of one of the PCs, a boastful rival, for example.

The puzzle part of the race was a little confusing; best to be prepared. The fight at the end feels a little stuck on, and if there's a cleric in the party it can even be a little trivial.

Overall, this module has a beginning and ending that shows its hinges, but still an enjoyable module that is quite unlike any of the other AL modules. Recommended and remember the Death Curse!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2017 10:02:54

The dinosaur race makes for a very atypical module, and one that can be exciting and memorable in the hands of an enthusiastic DM. For experienced players, it's a refreshing break from the usual slog of combat and exploration, and for newcomers, it's a fun tutorial on the basic mechanics of ability checks and skill rolls. I do suggest that DMs beef up the scrambled word puzzle; the suggested words are too short and simple to make for a challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2017 18:46:36

Overall I liked this adventure a lot. It was very fun to run. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is because I have very harsh words about the betting system in act 1.

I had a problem with the betting on the first 2 dinosaur races. I wish they'd done a straight forward percentile table. I ended up starting from the top, intending to just roll until somebody one. I didn't like that because it felt very unlikely for the last one to even have a chance of rolling. As it turned out, the very likely thing happened and the first one won. I ended up simplifying it to say that by the time they were ready and betting the first race was done to avoid dealing with the table more.

The fact that the same terrible table is in the ToA book isn't an excuse. It's bad there too. It seems like someone wanted something complex in ToA and somebody wanted it simple and they "simplified" it by printing half of it instead of actually printing a simple betting system--and then a piece of that mess got copied to this adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2017 15:40:13

The Dino racing is kind of fun I guess. However the betting section is weird - if there's a chance of multiple dinosaurs winning the race, why is it stated that there is only one race? Honestly this is more of an issue with the betting mechanic in ToA as a whole.

The plot hook is about how random no-nae racers are winning big but then the players enter as rando no-name racers and win...what was the point again? Maybe there should be more focus on how the dinosaurs are getting killed? Why are they being poisoned? We'll never know. Overall the Blade has fangs trilogy could do with the authors actually talking to each other so they can get their story straight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items