Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Tortle Package (5e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 13
3 9
0 1
1 0
0 0
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to view
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 12:35:53

The tortle package is simple, but enjoyable. It fleshes out Chult to a good extent, and allows further exploration (assuming your players don't feel too rushed by the Death Curse). It has a single dungeon, some flavor spots that build on the overarching lore, and some exploration options.

The main draw for most people will be the Tortle race, but I feel this is the weakest part of this package, it's fun flavor-wise, but is not a wholly useful race (just my opinion).

If your players have fallen in love with the setting of Chult and have some Tier 1 wiggle room left, take a look at this supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 17:39:38

I loved the lighthearted look at Ahohoyhoy, and would love to return there for another adventure sometime :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Benjamin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 21:28:52

My group has LOVED this adventure. The HC jungle expedition can be a little daunting for a GM, but this is a great introduction for it, kind of like using training wheels. Well worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:09:10

The Tortle Package has been my AL group's favorite part of TOA so far. The adventures they had on the island frequently come up in conversation. The variety and uniqueness of each area of the island provides something for every type of player. The exploration adventure hook was easy to remember and reorient the group when they tried to remember what they needed to be doing. The challenges were tier appropriate without being over or underwhelming and the guidance provided in the module was accurate and helpful. I will definitely replay this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:31:55

It adds a race that is different to the standard races, so it is a usefull addition to the core rules. Your Turtle has natural armour and weapons and a few quirks.

This alone makes it valuable.

It also adds a short adventure which can be useful when there is time to fill or you need something simple to run. I wouldn't go out of my way for it though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2018 11:31:09

I have yet to run the adventure, so my review is simply based off the Tortle content and a "read" of the adventure.

First off, the proceeds go to charity, that alone means you should buy it, heck I've bought it twice, once here and once on FG

Second off, it adds an awesome new Race - Tortle to the D&D universe and it is completely AL Legal. The initial complaints were "EMERGAHD everyone is going to be running around playing TMNT in my game" but so far, I've yet to see that. I've had maybe one player roll a TMNT like character and they role played it so damn well all it did was add to the game not distract.

The adventure is solid, but sadly being SO far away from Port Nyanzaru it's hard to figure out how and when to fit it into the story - and there are frankly some better introductions to ToA that I have problems using this one as the hook. But the content looks great, good maps, delightful story, well balanced combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:26:18

Nice addendum to XGE and TOA. Fun to run, players seem to like Tortles



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:16:37

Great addition to the racial stats. Hppy that it counts as part of Xanathar's Guide for AL games. The island itself is just average and the one adventure is lacking slightly. The race itself is quirky and seems like a lot of players love creating and playing them. Also a benefit that the money went (goes to?) charity.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 21:21:18

Great addon for XGtE, new race anda tier1 adventure included



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2017 09:17:03

Dangwaru is a very well done dungeon crawl. The encounters are a bit too easy but the traps make up for that (the crusher trap is just unfair, but the rangers burial was a nice roleplaying moment). Ahoyhoy is a nice little settlement with it's own flair, but the mudpits seem a bit dull. The encounter at the Horn was the first enemy creature my group had encountered - luckily they got frightened and ran, which sadly lead to them not exploring the ships. Due to the rest of the island having no points of interest and the exploring part beeing a bit weak, we haven't seen the south-east of the island yet and I don't think we will.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2017 15:23:22

I enjoyed the supplement. I haven't been able to put the players through the Tortle region, but I did create a Tortle Grave Cleric which has been a lot of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2017 19:34:48

This is perfect, not only is it a good cause but it is great fun. I am enjoying my Tortle (Tippan) druid every game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:49:42

Excellent addition to AL. Tortles are awesome and allow players to act out all those beloved TMNT fantasies. The adventure is interesting and well balanced. The new monsters are very intriguing. And the money goes to a good cause.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 20:01:31

I absolutely love this supplement. It's incredibly well done, the additions it makes for both players and DMs are incredible, and it goes for an EXCELLENT cause! I ran the included adventure for my daughter and she LOVED it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rey C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 11:15:16

Ilove it would recommend to anyone. I like the new race and the bounes mod.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back