Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8 $3.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 10
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Click to view
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carlos B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 01:30:23

My group and I had a great time playing it as we had several sessions with one-shots between campaigns. Breaker of Chains fit perfectly for a 4 hour session, not counting characters creation, of course, but do not worry, there are several pretty interesting pre-built characters available in it as well.

We used the pre-generated characters for our one-shot and had a great time. It was challenging for them, but in a correct balance. Everyone had fun and although one of the characters got thorn to pieces by chains, kind of Silent Hill's movie style, they were able to finish the dungeon.

It is a great adventure, with many interesting traps and triggers, filled with creativity to challenge players and characters. On the DM's perspective, it was considerably easy to prepare and the maps are quite well detailed and clear.

Recommend to everyone wanting to run an one-session adventure that is both challenging and interesting, with options out of the ordinary.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 09:44:49

My group had a blast running Breaker of Chains and I had a very easy time prepping and running it. My group played through the module pretty smartly and ended up with zero casualties (4 level 6s). This is definitely a fun module that can be dropped in nearly any setting/campaign if you need a quick, one session dungeon crawl that is easy to prep.

You can watch our full-length session of the module here. It took us one hour and 53 minutes to complete (they missed a couple of rooms, made quick work of the boss and started the session right outside of the prison from a previous session) https://youtu.be/Zpo1kjHHmtY



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2018 00:16:57

Breaker of Chains is a good, solid meat grinder adventure, with a ton of fun, unique traps and amazingly well-crafted atmosphere. in reading it, I could not help but conjure a favorable comparison to Tomb of Horrors.

Generally, I tend to gravitate toward plot as a major measuring stick. In this regard, Breaker of Chains is exquisite in its simple elegance. There is enough hook to engage a group for the duration, if they can survive!

BRAVO! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ariel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2017 15:14:28

I ran this for my players as a Halloween one-shot, and it went great. The layout is neat and beautiful, the adventure itself well-written--if you're looking for a deadlier, more old-school adventure for your players to tackle, this is an excellent choice. There's also scaling options that should come in handy if you're looking to either decrease or increase the deadliness of the dungeon described within.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 18:53:36

I have to agree ... AWESOME COVER ART!!! Great adventure with equally great layout. Heaven help the players as they go through this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tony P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2017 19:54:24

First off... Coolest.Cover.Ever.

That said we have a beautifully laid out one shot adventure that is NOT for the faint of heart. Oh, it's a tough one alright, but the challenges within are sure to provide long term gaming memories.

The writing is clean and clear, the maps stylish and effective, the set up brilliant, and the climactic payoff the stuff of twisted nightmares. Wring your hands wickedly, fellow DMs, and join me in a jovial "Muh ha ha!" "Breaker of Chains" is an outstanding D&D challenge sure to terrify your players. I've got a slightly longer review at this link.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 19:46:00

This is a really nasty little dungeon, in the best way. Chris is obviously channeling old school dungeon design and I can easily see ways to fit this into Tomb of Annihilation as a sidequest. He's not lying when he describes it as Legend of Zelda meets Hellraiser - the dungeon is a small maze full of locked doors and traps, with keys to collect to unlock the door to the final boss. The final boss who will kick your players' asses if they haven't been careful on their way through the dungeon.

I've been following the posts on Loot The Room that followed the writing of this adventure and it's been amazing to see inside Chris' process and look at how a product like this comes together. The fact that the finished thing is so much fun is just a cherry on top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 18:21:19

I grabbed this title the day it was released! I've played through and DM'ed Bulette Storm (also from Chris), and I'm just as excited for this adventure. It's a well-thoughtout, self-contained dungeon that you could put just about anywhere in your world if you don't want to utilize all of the backstory. Not for the faint of heart, this one is gonna give your players some hurt if they don't tread carefully. It reminds me of a less sadistic, much shorter version of Tomb of Annihilation. It also comes with a bunch of pregen characters if you're in a rush to throw a game together. I highly recommend picking up a copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 22:05:43

(Declaration: I am one of Chris's Patreons & received a copy of this adventure for free)

Classic old school D&D. If the party is foolhardy and rushes in, or rolls badly, there will be blood. There are also great rewards for players who investigate, think clearly and take their time.

The layout of this is great - I highly reccomend reading through Chris' blog posts where he goes through the whole process, explaining his decisions and how he laid this out - and easy to follow. The traps show some nice creative thinking, are placed with the logic of why the dungeon was created and nothing feels like a screwjob or illogical.

It also has one of the great "oh s#!t" lines for the DM to read to players right before the final boss.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breaker of Chains: An Adventure for Levels 6-8
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by P.B. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 03:40:50

We played through Breaker of Chains in about 3.5 hours, and boy is it fun!

Investigate the old-school dungeon riddled with inventive traps and super interesting encounters as the Hall of Lament itself tries to keep any and all intruders out! It may be for a good reason however, though I wont spoil the story!I

Pick this up, you wont be dissappinted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back