Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 4
0 17
1 6
0 4
0 0
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:40:00

The adventures are interesting but not much.

What I found the most a shame is that there is no conclusion to this adventure. DDAL07-01 had 4 miniadventures and the fifth was the conclusion. That was pretty great.

Here you are sent on a mission to 5 spots and you never hear of the outcome of it... this is a letdown for me who really like the story behind the modules.

But what makes it 4 stars and not 3 is that taken as stand alones, the mini-adventures are really fun to run and to play. Nice mechanics and everything.

Also great to have tier 2 adventure that you can run on a short time-slot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 19:57:12

These are five very solid adventures, but this should be listed as five two hour adventures not one hour each. They have rich role play potential, dampened by the time constraints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 17:06:43

5 good missions. As allways these missions take way more than 1 hour to complete unless you wanna "boardgame" the RP part. the maps was not very well marked so more time was needed to pair the descriptions to the map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:26:17

This was a fun idea! I think it allows for tier 2 characters to be silly and get into some fun just like tier 1 characters do. A great way to also introduce characters to the land of Chult! Full of dungeon delving, puzzle solving, and that god awful sweltering heat! Where is that story award for the Yuan Ti supposed to be used? Maybe in the hardcover? Because I have yet to see it come up in any of the mods, I was a little dissapointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 10:09:14

General Comments: Overall, nothing too special. These adventures aren't 1 hour adventures, it's remarkably hard to get T2 characters to work that fast. The rewards from the factions are very unmotivating as well. I ran this in two ways: as one shots and integrated with ToA (sending: "oh, you're nearby this thing we need you to check out"). The latter was far easier for them to accept than just "you're level 8 adventurers, have 200 gp and go do this". Maybe it'd work for people very devoted to their faction, but it's not great motivation. As other reviewers mentioned, the maps are unlabeled, which is very frustrating. Five hours of modules for no permanent magic items is fine at T1, when the goal is to not die, but it's more than a little dissapointing for T2. This was more pronounced when I did them independently, rather than as part of ToA.

The first mission has a nice puzzle, but it's very easy for players to miss the entrance to the shrine entirely and wander around aimlessly. The second mission is fine, nothing too special, but really needs around 2 hours to really work. The third mission has amazing RP opportunities, and was the most fun I had with this module. The fourth mission is once again fine, but a warning against running theater of the mind like I did. The magical squares are very important to making this combat work well against T2 characters, and otherwise it can get very one-sided. The fifth mission is once again, fine. The combat isn't that impressive, and the link to Ubtao is nice, but not really capitalized on.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2018 10:12:31

First review here, gotta say, im not happy. the maps are always low quality, which is fine, i hand fabricate copies for sessions. however, this quality is deplorable. in the PDF and printed, you cant see the grid lines (to gauge scale) and the rooms are listed, but not noted on the map: misty ruins, which chamber is the entrance? which is the cheifs chamber? wizards tower, which floor is which? otherwise the content is well laid out, but there is no way that this thing takes 1 hour per section. usually takes about 7 hours for my players to complete.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Henry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2018 16:55:50

Each part of this 5 section module contains 2 or more combats. It is unreasonable to run more than 1 combat in a strictly 1 hour session. If you are running this straight through with a single table, you might consider the extra combats.

Additionally, each combat depends on different gimmicks that may not be apparent to the players. Most notably, part 3 is an automatic TPK before the battle starts if the players make certain decisions when they meet the farmers (warlocks).

I am a big fan of punishing parties that chose to adventure without filling the basic roles (tank, healer, ranged) but I found myself making heavy modifications to every combat just to make sure they seemed winnable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 19:31:29

Ran this for a group: exactly like a -1 adventure except for Tier two charachters. Not bad, takes place near to the Port which means thematically the players dont have to run across the continent. Minor editing erros, mostly copy and paste issues on stat blocks and things like that. Solid intro to Tier Two



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 16:53:45

Similar to my review of DDAL07-01, this introduces something new; 5 1-hour mods for characters level 5-10. With the theme of these adventures being made to accompany players going through Tomb of Annihilation, it's a great way to fill in if one of your party members is running late to a session, or to introduce players (again if you played 07-01) to some NPC members of their factions. Not as many story awards featured in these adventures, but a nice option for short sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2018 13:20:33

I did not get to run this as an intro Mod, I actually ran it as a filler. The players were in the tomb and wanted the XP to make it to Level 8 which required 4000. Well, I figured it would be great to let them each have 5k in one night instead of sharing what might or might not get them to the level they wanted. In the tomb, the PC's had "succombed" to a gas that put them in a dream state. This threw them into the mods and they actually had a lot of fun with it. I portrayed giving them the gold as a reward in a chest that was magically delivered by the trickster gods.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 19:04:44

Having now run this several times, I think it is one of the better concepts for an intro mod. I would have prefered it have less travel time for the players, and more of an impact on play with a simple addition for each of them:

If you complete all 5 missions, offer a "Guide to Chult" award to the player which gave them advantage on survival checks in Chult, as a reflection for the huge amount of travel and time the mod would represent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 14:32:04

Tier 2 introductory modules were, in my opinion, a very welcoming change. It allow people to experience the new season's content without having to create a new character. The nature of the tasks and the puzzles were a step up from the Tier 1 counterpart, which felt thematically appropriate for Tier 2 characters. I also liked the diversity of the individual quests better in this one over DDAL07-01.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 10:25:19

These are awkard at tier 2, the stories were good and the fighting poses a good challenge for tier 2 characters, but trying to get a group of tier twos to play these is difficult.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 15:36:56

I really loves this adventure.

The players got to choose which mission theyw ould tackle first, and the fact that they had to choose a certain locale gave an air of mystery and adventure "into the unknown."

This Adventure gave me a chance to describe the dark jungles of Chult ... kinda of giving player a tidbit of what theyw ould experince in the hadrcover.

Mission 5 was pretty straight forward and the reasons for the players helping the Weretigers, then exploring the Temple of Ubtao further compelling enough. It only get a bit muddy at the end ... the monkish hobgoblins and caster in the crypt didn't really leave enough clues for the players to understand why theyw ere down there and how they were connected to the initial attack on the temple (which they weren't). It may the ending confusing, dashing continuinity and making the players feel successful.

Mission 4 was good for the most part. The puzzle wasn't too hard, but dangerous enough if the players didn't stop to think what they were doing. The description and purpose of the mage tower was absent. I get why the writer didn;t add any detail, but it would have been a traet if clues were left in the tower for what they mage was originally doing out in the Jugles of Chult. When players explored the tower they felt kinda cheated not finding anything compelling besides creatures to fight. The first fight on tehs econd floor seem a bit much ... I feel like one larger battle at the top would have been enough. Either that or design that fight better.

Mission 3 was GREAT. I loved the NPCs and how it was designed to lure players into a false sense of security. I had fun role playing these characters and the players haed fun trying to figure out the weirdness.

Mission 1 was by far the weakest, but it was still ok. The puzzles were kinda poorly designed in my opinion. what was presented in the dungeon wasn't really enough for players to figure it out ... you pretty much had to give them the answer. The close quaters combat at the end was pretty fun.

Mission 2 was ok. Not much to say here. I think a dedicated DM could really role playa nd make the Yuan-Ti compelling. The fight in the training area was tough enough ... the monsters spellcasting through the players off a bit.

My only MAJOR peeeve was time constraints: Without MAJOR railroading, it's super hard to finish this module in 5 hours ... There is just too mcuh here. I LIKE the detail and I think it is not an issue is you are not under time constraints ... but if you go into this thinking "hey, I'll be done around 5 hours" you will be scrambling at the 4 hour mark trying to decide whether you want to retunr to this module in a "Part 2" or just drop it. I feel like they should have just added more detail and expand this to an 8 hour ... I can understadn why they didn't, but 5 is just not enough they way it currently is. Luckily, you COULD just run them all in separate 1 hour packages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:56:29

Give people options and they'll choose to complain. I liked this module because it gave players the option to use previously created characters in a new storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items