Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Finders Keepers $3.95
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
0 4
0 1
0 0
0 0
Finders Keepers
Click to view
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 22:40:45

Finders Keepers is another successful adventure from Janek Sielicki. There are multiple levels of play taking place. It doesn't limit players to having to be the heroic do-gooders or agents of a particular side in a conflict. It doesn't even require the players to be on the same side as other players (of course that takes more work for players and DMs).

Finders Keeper can be used in an existing campaign, for starting a new campaign, or as a stand-alone adventure.

I recommend Finders Keepers for the pure enjoyment of being involved in battles and situations of the magnitude presented. Full review originally published on guildmastergaming@blogspot



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 10:05:20

I recently reviewed Finders Keepers for EN World. While I only give it 3/5 stars here, I think the big idea of this adventure and the chance to play 20th level characters has potential.

The review on EN World is here: http://www.enworld.org/forum/content.php?4676-What-s-To-Find-In-The-Finders-Keepers-Adventure

And thanks to Janek, for allowing me to give it a (tough) review.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 08:18:14

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of Finders Keepers

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- Finders Keepers System-Dungeons and Dragons 5th Ed. Producer- Janek Sielicki Price- $3.95 ** TL; DR**-The Great and the Mixed of the DMs Guild 93%

Basics-Need a 20th level adventure in a hurry? Here you go! Finders Keepers is a 20th level adventure set in the Forgotten Realms, but easily ported to any place. Players start in town, but soon enough a rampaging dragon attacks the land. Players then have to save the town, and perusing the dragons leads down a rabbit hole of dead gods, hidden powers, and words that can literally destroy the world!

Mechanics or Crunch-This book is fine, completely fine, but that's the one problem with the book the author can’t fix. The monsters are all directly from the Monster Manual, the items from the DMG, and traps come from there as well. That all works well, but if things are just exactly what you’ve seen before, it's a tad bland. But, the way the DMs Guild and the AL runs, writers can’t change that fact. That little bit hurts the book a bit, but honestly as constrained by the rules as this book is, the mechanics work. What's here is good and runs well, but I would like the author to do a bit more, even though I know he can’t. 4.25/5

Theme or Fluff- This is an awesome story! We get dead gods, demons, devils, entering alternative worlds, and a goal off saving everything. The author can’t write new mechanics, but he CAN write a crazy new story! I love what’s here! It might not be completely the most original as I’ve seen tiny bits of other things, but I’m happy to see all the pieces come back together in a great new way. 4.75/5

Execution- Hay, this book made me change my opinion of how books are put together. This is one guy at a computer putting out fantastic materials. There is art to break up text, there is the standard template to break up text, and there is formatting that works welo. What I have here that puts it over the top is hyperlinking to pages, maps that the GM can copy/past into any software, and a new art that is made just for this material and handouts. This caught me off guard. WHY ARE OTHER BOOKS NOT DOING THIS? This is a less than 100 page adventure, and honestly, it doesn’t need hyperlinking, but the addition makes my life a little bit easier. Also, not many groups make it to 20, so this book comes with pre-generated characters with and without items to make the plug and play that much easier for any group. More books need to do that, and adding this and other little parts makes me honestly love what’s here. 5/5

Summary- This is a fantastic adventure constrained slightly by the DMs Guild. The book itself is put together amazingly well! As I read more and more books on my tablets and phones, simple things like hyperlinking make my life that much more simple! The store is great. It’s got a few elements that you may have seen before but it's not a ripoff of any story, and it’s told well. The mechanics are the low point, but that’s a bit harsh. It’s far from bad in any way, but it’s limiting for the author as you can’t build new material as often. Overall, I found this to be a solid adventure that you can plug and play into any FR game with ease that is well put together. 93%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2017 16:24:13

A good adventure that manages to show how high level play feels like. However, it could use a little bit of polishing. Full review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tomasz C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2017 02:13:33

Concluding my assesment of Finders Keepers, i can honestly say that despite some minor shortcomings, it is a very good adventure. Climatic, diverse, with interesting history and a sense of participation in a truly epic events. If someone looks for the scenario that allows him to test the abilites of developed fifth edition characters or does not have the idea for the epic end of a campaign, Finders Keepers is a great choice.

Full review (in polish) on dnd.polter.pl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 12:41:45

This review first appeared on mephitjamesblog.wordpress.com

After reviewing a few adventures by Janek Sielicki for the Cypher System, I’m excited to start in on one for Dungeons & Dragons Fifth Edition. The adventures, Finders Keepers, has an interesting premise: an epic story for 20th level characters that you could use as a starting adventure. That’s a tall order, let’s see if he can pull it off!

Note: Janek sent me a review copy of this pdf. I’ve gotten a couple of pdfs from him in this way and always happy to look them over. I don’t think this colored my opinion but, you know, now you’re forewarned.

Introduction To start off with, here are the particulars: it’s for a standard-mix party and set in the Forgotten Realms. Janek explains that he wants this adventure to allow groups that don’t play top-tier characters that often to try some of the most powerful enemies in the Monster Manual and the most devastating of player abilities. The introduction to Finders Keepers admits that it is tackling a difficult subject and promises to provide some advice throughout. It even begins with some preparation advice, nothing ground-breaking but a good run-down of what you want to have at the table when you run a high-level party.

I don’t want to spoil the plot of the adventure but as a taste it involves a set of books containing the true names of the General of Gehenna (see Monster Manual, p. 311) and even some archdevils, a set lost to the passage of ages. Predictably, it never stays buried for long and occasionally the books resurface. This is one of those times. The details of the situation involve fallen angels, ancient dragons, manipulative hags, and the f-ing Zhentarim (you’re supposed to say that as a standard phrase). The Black Network enters the pictures as the former occupiers of Phlan on the Moonsea, though in the canon (as far as I know) they are in charge. In Finders Keepers they have been pushed aside by former murder-hobo and current celebrity King Adran Lichbane.

Epic Adventuring The mission of Finders Keepers, namely to facilitate an atmosphere of epic adventurer, has two distinct parts to it. First of all, it needs to feel enormous and exciting, bigger and badder than your normal D&D fare with the fate of the world in the balance. At the same time, it needs to feel like Dungeons & Dragons which is not a given. There are plenty of ways to run 20th level characters in a game from the Chosen of deities to monarchs dealing with statecraft to monsters providing the flipped version of most campaigns. All of these are great but they’re the sort of high-concept campaign that you might try out for something new. Finders Keepers explicitly doesn’t want “new and unfamiliar,” the author wants to let you play the sort of character you dream of your first-level nobody becoming when you start a new campaign.

So does it accomplish this? Well, the adventure starts in Valejo Castle in Phlan where the party is waiting to meet with King Adran’s seneschal: not quite meeting up in a tavern to hear about an adventure from an old man but close. They can talk and get to know each other and then the door gets kicked in by a bad guy and it’s instantly time for initiative, another classic move for GMs. This might be different from your usual venue but at its heart this beginning is about adventuring vagabonds doing their mercenary stuff and not a departure from D&D norms.

After this comes some classic dungeon-delving with many of the usual haunts just turned up to 11, including those epic-level threats you’d never dream of sending against your party unless you’re trying for a TPK… and certainly not something you ‘d send after them on the heels of an already-epic encounter. The first chapter, in fact, is all familiar enemies from countless sessions of D&D.

There are three chapters, though, and this is where things take a turn from the norm. Simply put, things get a little trippy and the environment changes to something a little more… planar. In fact, chapters two and three seem like a foray into Planescape so strongly that I would be surprised if Mr. Sielicki didn’t intend that. To me, a long-term fan of planar D&D, this is still solidly classic territory but others might not feel that way. If you don’t like plane-hopping then this adventure will take a turn but if you’re 20th level that’s sort of suspected even for a Faerun homebody like Drizzt.

One-Shot? The last part of Finders Keepers is it’s use as a one-shot adventure. This is the stated purpose of the module but this is another tough parameter since epic level campaigns have so much context and baggage that it’s hard to imagine boiling one down to something you could complete start-to-finish in a few hours. Does Finders Keepers manage this? Well, my assessment is yes assuming a few things.

See, the details of the adventure are definitely easily contained in an epic-style nutshell. You’ll need to do some info-dumps to prep your players for the specifics of this story, but no more than other one-shots. The history of Phlan can be summed up in a few minutes and the rest of the story comes out naturally in the course of following the action. This is not to say that there is no bigger picture, however, and the plot of Finders Keepers relies on the already-established history of Faerun, of the Blood War, and of the Dungons & Dragons default cosmology itself. You don’t need expert-level knowledge but if this is the first that your group has ever heard of the Forgotten Realms or the Outer Planes then that few minutes’ worth of explanation can pretty easily turn into fifteen or twenty. Still, not too bad.

The Making of Finders Keepers One bonus feature of this adventure, added after publication, is “Making of Finders Keepers.” This ten-page addendum outlines advice from author Janek Sielicki about how to create and publish an RPG supplement. This is not focused on Finders Keepers (except as an example) and not even on D&D 5e. It’s got some great advice in here including some scans of Janek’s planning notes, advice on graphics and art, and promoting your products once they’re ready. Janek is really good at this and so having his expertise is just as valuable as the adventure itself in my book.

Conclusion This is a really niche product: an epic-tier, one-shot adventure set in Forgotten Realms. Any part of that might turn some potential DMs off and you’re the final decision-maker for what you’re going to run. In the end, though, this is a solid adventure that really nails its narrow focus well. This means that you can take this impressive starting-point and massage it into an ongoing campaign, change details to move it to another setting, or just mine it for interesting and new ideas. I highly recommend this adventure and the great advice section that goes with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zoe P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2017 11:53:18

I'm definitely running this with my group! The story seems like something high level PCs should be doing, and it starts with an earthquake, then tension rises. The best part? How the author offers various alternatives for player choices and explains how the story may unfold All in all, $4 well spent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bradley S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2017 11:28:48

Bought this and read through it. The weak points were the charactes and maps. Characters are pretty generic and have the type of story you would come up with for a new 1st level PC not one after years of adventure and reaching legendary status of 20th level. Only a few of the locations had maps and with the adventure in Phlan I was hoping for some more cool maps of locations on Phlan but that's a personal desire. The strong point was the adventure. It's a pretty standard opening but goes to some really cool locations and has some very interesting encounters and NPC's. It really feels like the kind of thing a 20th level character would get wrapped up in. The ending has multiple ways it could go and I wish there was a bit more storyline on how each of the endings would impact the world but the author does put some details in. I play 3.5 and pathfinder so will have to do a bit of converting to make this work but plan on running it as a one shot for my group. Overall its worth the value and has a good story line.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Finders Keepers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katarzyna S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2017 02:17:35

I was in the final playtesting group. The adventure is exhilariating to read, let alone to play. The word 'epic' is in no way an overtstatement. It empowers the players in ways rarely seen before. A true must-have for every game master!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items