Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99 $3.19
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 13
1 45
2 17
0 3
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 02:17:47

Overall they ran as a good introductory series for both new players to the game and players new to the region, they helped to introduce the region of Chult, in addition to the various factions and provide varried mechanical challenges to the players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 01:49:04

I ran this as my introduction to AL and it is good for new DMs to learn on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bob T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 22:16:32

Fun set of missions. I have run this twice, both times for tables of players new to AL. This has been good starter material and the players enjoyed the missions. Running in a convention setting, it is tricky to fit enough missions in a 4 hour time slot. There is enough RP to make any mission go for two hours on its own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 13:14:03

Good introductory set of adventures for season 7 and introducing the players to the land of Chult. I also felt they were some of the best mini-adventures for newer players to learn how to play 5e. I'd allocated about 90 minutes for each one, that allows the players to get the opportunity to take advantage of the many rp situations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 13:42:27

These introductory adventures work well to introduce the players to the Port City of Nyanzaru and offer good social roleplaying opportunities, but they take quite a while to run. If one or more of the player's characters were suffering the effects of the Death Curse, they would be justified in feeling their time is being wasted as they don't really make any progress towards solving the problem.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 12:17:49

City on the Edge provides a good introduction to Chult for new players as well as an easy starting point for new DMs. The module is broken into 5 Missions which can be played as separate sessions or as one larger campaign. While the writing and story arcs are enjoyable and easy to follow the module states that each of the missions are planned to take 1 hour. For most of the groups I have run these adventures for the time has worked out to be 2 hours or more unless the party is discouraged from roleplaying interactions or exploring the city during the adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:08:41

Very solid introductory adventure that gives characters an overview of what to expect from Chult and Tomb of Annihilation. The adventures can very easily stretch more than 1 hour. They were fine for 2.5 hours with a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 07:38:09

Great Module! little longer than anticipated, but still very fun. My players really enjoyed mission 2. Ending felt a little rushed as far as story, but still good. Looking forward to more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 00:57:51

A good amount of variety between the individual adventures and a good introduction to the different elements of Port Nyanzaru. The only real negative is that like usual it can be quite difficult to run each of these in under an hour.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 17:00:41

5 very enjoyable missions. But as with all other seasons they do not take 1 hour if you want to do ANY roleplay. That wouldnt matter if the xp gain was bigger to better reward the time played.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:34:13

5 very enjoyable missions! I liked these better than the ones from the other seasons. The dinosaur races have been fun every time I run them, and that fight with the kenku is pretty rough. I do have the same complaint with this module that I did with Over the Edge. What is the use of the Triceratops Society story award? Where are these people at? Because I haven't seen them in any of the modules or hardcover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 09:56:47

The first mission is fine, nothing special here. The second mission is probably the most fun, with the dinosaur race. I'd do what 07-03 reccomends and really play up the race. The third mission is a bit more difficult to motivate, but works fine. It's a little unclear to the players (or was to my players) that the people can't be saved. The fourth mission is a good mini-boss fight. The fifth mission is a very good boss fight for low level characters. These missions really need over an hour to play, which is my only other real criticism.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 20:19:51

4/5 Mission 1 is perfectly serviceable. Mission 2 is very fun to run. Mission 3 is cool, but the pool encounter can be a problem if you have a grung PC. Mission 4 is very cool, nice puzzles. Nifty battle at the end. Mission 5 is an excellent boss fight for low level characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 14:49:13

This series is a good introduction to Chult and season 7. It can and should serve as part of the "Port" portion of the hard cover. It introduces the faction reps who will show up in later modules and introduces most of the sweeping plot points for the tier one modules ot follow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 16:58:48

A fantastic introduction to Port Nyanzaru and the Chultan peninsula. The dinosaur races were a huge hit - so much so that my group continues to call themselves Bladefang even in the final chapter of Tomb of Annihilation!

I appreciate the effort the author takes in bringing the party to each section of Port Nyanzaru - it really helps flesh out the place in preparation for future DDAL adventures. Really, a wonderful job all around. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 78 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items