Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 9
1 29
2 12
0 2
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by mark t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 21:53:26

Theses are 5 1 hour scenarios that help players familiarise themseves with Chult. Gerat for new players and Dm's alike. Plus side is you can get a tiny baby Velociraptor as a pet in one adventure1



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sharon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 16:01:37

I've run about 30 hours of these adventures at three different cons.

MAJOR PROBLEM: There seems to be broad consensus that these take well over an hour to run and I had several players frustrated by the low amount of xp available after they'd spent nearly two hours playing the game. This is a real problem at conventions when time is precious and good players feel cheated on xp.

Pros:

  • Port Nyanzaru is an engaging setting; fun to play with the climate and the dinos
  • Several of the NPCs were quite good, my players cared about the missing people in Malar's Throat and liked the twist with the final adventure
  • Several players really liked the dino race becuase it gave them a fun way to interact with the dinos and not simply kill them as monsters

Cons:

  • It was a little difficult to get players hooked into the adventures
  • I printed my own map of the city; the mod really, really should have had a map
  • Soggy Wren was fun, but none of my players trusted him--which made resolving the adventure difficult


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Collin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 07:49:28

This adventure is best suited for players who are completely new to dungeons and dragons. It presents a set of options for players to pursue and has things unfold in ways that are inline with several of the major tropes of DnD. However, the set of 5 take longer to run than an hour each, new players will likely only complete 2 in a 4 hour session. This makes the adventure slow and unrewarding for players who are either just making new characters for adventure league or who want to get right into the action. Some minor summary and lite [spoilers] follow

Characters have to investigate misterious deaths leading to a fight with a necromancer under a ziggarat Characters can participate in a dinosaur race which ends in a cage match with velociraptors. The characters need to investigate an underground smuggling operation to find a piece of a magic amulet



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 16:28:50

I ran this mod 3 times as part of the DM quest this year. Each time the players seemed to easiily breeze throgh it, even on the Very Strong setting. I would of like to see more challenging encounters. Also, a bit more of a conclusion at the end of the 5th mission would of been good. We found this amulet now what???



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:42:19

This was (I feel) the weakest season introductory module printed to date. There were cool things in the module (The dinosaur race was suprisingly the best part of the whole thing) but for the most part, motivations and the ability to move characters quickly through this was hard.

I ran this for ~24 game hours at a convention a few weekends ago as a way to get new people/returning people to play AL content. In previous years, motivation was pretty easy ("There's dragons attacking, you should look into it!" , "The giants are doing things! Supposedly there's treasure nearby!") and super simple to get a group of level 1's hooked on. In this, there was almost ZERO motivation unless you were part of a Faction, and even then, that only gets you motivation for your faction's adventure.

Previously the intro adventures were faction-related, but mostly because you would meet a faction member part way through who would help out. As questgivers, I think only Poe and Screaming Wind had fleshed out motivations. Alastar seemed like a rich guy doing it because he missed his servant Derio unless you could read his mind, Wren seemed like a drunk that was just doing it because Nerissa was making him, and I'm still not sure what the Lord's Alliance contact was trying to accomplish. I think Nerissa getting weaved in to 3/5 of the adventures was new, but was not pulled off well. Unless you ran them in order, you didn't recognize her in 4, or party members already knew her before the race, in which case the Nerissa vs Poe conflict loses all tension.

Since most people didn't care where Chult was, I had to handwave pretty heavily that "there's adventure here, and a Death Curse that everybody wants dealt with" as the reason most of these people were here. Zindar (remember the gold half-dragon from the start of the module?) as a contact point to send you to each of the faction quest givers was weak, and was more of a local guide than 'important quest giver.' There was no reason to come back to him, so I had to railroad that between sessions as well.

Other things that I thought were weak:

Adventure 1: The map is VERY unclear where you should see the wavy lines puzzle on the wall the first time. It looks like it's in the lower West section of the map based on the description, but from what I could tell, it should be visible in the lower East section so that you can potentially bypass the tripwire trap. Also, a picture/example of the wavy lines would be cool. I know among 3 DMs we each described these VERY differently, even though they seemed important.

Adventure 2: The gladiator fight with Slicer seemed very small. I was regularly running 6-7 players at the table, and the map they gave you had VERY little space to move around in. After the surprising excitement of the dinosaur race, it was kind of a huge letdown.

Adventure 3: The idea of "help village against encroaching blight" is cool, but execution was flawed. The jungle was dark for what seemed to be no reason, and there really wasn't a good time for the party to be attacked by the swarm or the moving bushes (also did they walk around or just aggresively lean toward people?) before getting to the weird path. Then once they had the amulet at the end of the weird path, there was no way to immediately tell it was the cause of the blight. Most of the parties I ran through this section had to be explicitly told "yes this is it, go back"

Adventure 4: This adventure (beyond the motivation of Alastar Bol) was pretty solid. I liked how characters could call upon Pockmarked Poe for additional info if they knew him. The one part I HATED about it was how after they got a clue to the triangle puzzle (great!), the module just says that "the puzzle is easy, only Intelligence DC 12 to figure out" and doesn't actually give a solution/order to ANY of the other puzzles in the area. Just "DC 12 to figure out the order". Every party I brought through had different theories with the wall puzzles inside and the proper order, and I just went with whatever they said if the reasoning was good as opposed to having a concrete answer I could work with. The timed zombies at the end was excellent, but the room setup was weird. You could only really see the evil wizard from right in front of the ramps until you got all the way around to threaten him, and the only way in/out of the pit was those cluttered ramps. Still an excellent fight each time.

Adventure 5: I was only able to run this once, so I won't comment specifically on what I felt was weak here, beyond the general "lack of motivation" and also Nerissa being shoehorned into the party once again (hope you met her and were allies before!)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:29:18

One of the more fun intro adventures for a season, A City of the Edge was full of action and adventure, not all of which relied on combat! More than introducing the storyline, it also does well at getting the players and characters introduced to Chult and Port Nyanzaru, new locations for AL play.

In the past, I have not been a huge fan of the five 1-hour short adventure compilations, but I feel like this one pulls it off much better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:25:44

I was a bit let down to see that after 5 hours there is aboslutely nothing but a wild goose chase. Wish this tied in to the season a bit more than just having the curse.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 08:44:04

I believe these are some of the best introductory modules for D&D in general and for Chult, but they fall short as being good for the Tomb of Annihilation season.

Each of the four parts details a different aspect of life in Port Nyanzaru - smuggling, dinosaur racing & gladitorial games, wilderness adventure,

  • Part 1 is straight forward - a little combat, some traps, a little more combat. Not much to say here.
  • Part 2 features the race. This part is probably the most fun to play and run, but it does have some flaws. There are a limited number of actions available to the characters, all of which could use better explanations. Some things knock riders off mounts, some knock them back. Is there a speed penalty for remounting? Are they allowed to take actions while dismounted? A little more attention to those kinds of details would be beneficial.
  • Part 3 is as straight forward as Part 1 - it's mostly combat encounters.
  • Part 4 is great! A bit of combat at the beginning, some solid investigation with a touch of world building in the middle, then more combat. I find it works best if you imperil the hostages, giving the main bad guy some time to throw a few spells.
  • Part 5 is meant to tie everything together... and that's where it all falls apart. I mean, yes... it resolves the content of the module, but it turns out it has no tie-ins to the hardcover.

The oft-repeated point of the release schedule of these modules was to join them up with hardcovers. The MacGuffin doesn't actually have any rules the players can make use of, even briefly. It also doesn't have any bearing, plot or otherwise on a hardcover run.

That said... this module does have the same problems as all the other introductory modules, and most DDAL content. The intended purpose is to bring new players into the hobby. I have yet to see new players finish any of these mini-modules in a hour. Most of them run much closer to two. Veteran players can bang some of them out quickly, but that's not really who they're for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 08:47:48

What a blast. This is now my favorite of the introductory modules, with an interconnected story and pieces that can easily be run individually or as a group. It’s well-planned, all of the faction contacts are nicely fleshed out, and fans of both roleplay and combat will find value in it. It’s also a good introduction to Port Nyanzaru; much better than that contained in the hardcover. My only quibble is that there’s so much going on that it’s difficult to run any of the pieces in an hour without a serious hit to roleplay – but that’s fine; I just scheduled more time when I ran it at a gameday.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter A. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 02:25:15

It's a nice introductory adventure for players who went to Chult for the first time.

PROS:

  • Many things to do. Skill checks and combat have been spread well, and any character type can surely help the team contribute to moving the story forward.
  • The dinosaur race was great.
  • Chult was well-described and easy to imagine.

CONS:

  • Could take longer than the prescribed time. Without some railroading, one mini-adventure can last more than an hour.
  • A bit too sandbox-y at times. As mentioned earler, some railroading on the DM's part might be needed to get the story on time.
  • The macguffin wasn't properly fleshed out. Also, why would the factions just send Tier 1 characters to retrieve something that might probably badly affect the entirety of Chult?
  • Confusing wordings and some typos. Minor.

Overall rating: 3/5



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 18:31:42

City on the edge is the introductory adventure for the Tomb of Annihilation story season, it consists of 5 linked adventures revolving round the recovery of an item thought to be related to the death curse.

The 5 adventures introduce many of the main groups and NPC's related to Port Nyanzaru and it is an ideal adventure to start the campaign with. There is a good mix of RP and combat with nicely fleshed out NPC's although I particularly hated the way the Harper rep Soggy Wren is depicted so I changed it, playing a drunk is amusing for a couple of minutes, it gets old fast...

Definitely recommend as a starter for your Tomb of Annihilation campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trucker L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:30:49

I ran this module, but like other said the encounters were a bit on the easy side. They blew every enemy apart. But it was a fun module overall. Players liked the racing edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2017 21:22:37

I'm currently running this adventure with a group at my game store. So far it's a pretty good beginners adventure but I've found that the fights tend to be a little bit to easy overall. The details of a lot of the areas are very lackluster regarding details that players commonly ask for. Not a huge deal breaker for me but it can get a little annoying to try to figure out the map area versus the information provided.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timophey L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2017 04:00:19

This was the first adventure I ran in the 7th season. That is very great adventure, but unfortunately the adjustments provided in the adventures do not provide real challenges for parties of APL 4 that I had. I had to enter a "gray area" of changing a spell list to make the challenge. Luckily, it's legal to change spells in the AL, so grung wildling attacked with a lightning arrow. That created some tension. The plot is overall good, but I didn't like the Harper being drunk all the time: my players didn't trust him. So, some advice: adjustments for stronger parties chould be checked more thoroughly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2017 11:42:43

These represent a great way to get started in Chult, but in every iteration of dinosaur racing I wish there was better guidance on how much preparation the PCs get before getting involved. The NPCs are great fun to roleplay, and it's very easy to tie this into ToA, which is the way our group went with it. Recommended!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items