Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 6
0 20
0 6
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 15:33:14

This is the first AL module I've DM'd. A general comment first: as others have said, these run far longer than the specified 1 hour. If you are mixing in hardcover information for a richer role-play experience it will take even longer. As it was, I was not successful in mixing in plot hooks for other potential adventures (Guild Adept content & Tortle package) prior to starting the actual hardcover as they served to derail the actual missions.

The hooks : these are a bit vague, but I guess serve as alternates to those in the ToA hardcover. Arrival and general info about Port Nyanzaru (PN): I found the arrival description text, and quick info about the various sections of town to be useful as I constantly referred to them as quick refreshers when asked about various sections of town.

Mission 1: I felt that the brigands were too easily bypassed, and that there were insufficient consequencse to setting off all the traps (seriously, my party found all the traps, then tripped them anyway). Mission 2: This was by far all the players' favorite. They would have participated in a number of races if possible. This was my favourite part as well. It was the quickest to run, and the players felt the significance of meeting one of the Princes. Mission 3:This mission felt disconnected with the overall narrative of the module, but provided needed exposure to what the jungle might hold. I enjoyed the Grung encounter, but it could've connected better Mission 4: The combats here were a real challenge for the players, and they seemed to really feel they earned their victory. They also really enjoyed recognizing the finger-tracing mechanisim here. This mission felt the most like an Indiana Jones adventure. I was really intrigued by the premise and felt it would have been better if it could've been more fully developed as a stand-alone module. It felt "thin," with an interesting mystery that is quickly resolved in 2 combats. Mission5: The players felt a bit rail-roaded by all this, and except for the one player who continuously sets off all the traps, this wasn't much of a challenge despite the additions for a very strong party.

I preferred the Tier 2 intro module which I played, which I just found more interesting, though I might have played for a better DM than I am. I think the best use of this is throwing an individual mission in here and there for extra money and XP rather than the entire module. I would really like to see some of the roleplay encounters like in the season 7 epic , or Too Fancy in Encounters in Port Nyanzaru added to some of these intro modules. While Mission 2 was non-standard, it was not in the same style as those (though it was everyone's favorite). I think it would be a nice change of pace from combat, and also help speed things up.

Possible hooks with Guild Adept products: These became AL legal after I had already run most of the module, so I only added one at the end. The Encounterse in Port Nyanzaru would work really well in-between these missions (or instead of, because they offer more XP in some cases). -Snuffed Out works well after the end of Mission 5. It only takes moving the location of the warehouse to the warehouse district in the harbour. It depends on how badly hurt the party is after completing the mission as there is a lot of combat. -Too Fancy fits in well after that, as they meet up with the Faction leaders to get their rewards, they can suddenly find themselves all alone leading right to this encounter. My party who participated in the season 7 epic commented on how much they enjoyed some of the more unusual encounters, so this would've worked well (we ran out of time to run it)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2017 12:21:12

This was a good introduction to the hardcover. It gives the players a foundation to build on within Chult, some starting money, and a chance to interact with the Merchant Princes. As others have said, the modules do last longer than a single hour.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 06:28:43

A very good intro adventure for new players to Season 7, did have issues with running all the stories withing the expected aloted time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2017 19:47:42

A City on the Edge is a great way to introduce new palyers to Port Nyanzaru, and some of the factions and figures of importance. It serves as a great basis to launce from, and the adventures are varied enough to ensure something for everyone.

However, these are not 1 hour adventures. Especially for new players. Each took 2-3 hours of play for the group to complete.

The other issue I discovered is that while varied, the disparate nature of the short scenarios was a little jarring for the players, and I spent more game time than I'd prefer making logical links betwewen them for the players.

Lastly a couple of the encounter areas are not well described, and/or the provided map is confusing or cumbersome, particularly with respect to split levels and where doors are placed (upper or lower).

Still these are small criticisms of an otherwise excellent set of short adentures. Definitely reccommended, but DM's should know a little work will be required.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2017 12:50:49

The Good.

Overall the mini-adventures do a great job of introducing the players to the different locations around Port Nyanzaru and some of the encounters they could expect while adventuring in the Tomb of Annilhiation campaign.

The dinosaur race was a wonderful detraction from the typical dungeon crawl flow of most adventures.

The Bad.

Though these mini adventures advertise that they can each be run in 1 hour, you should budget at least 2. The number of encounters (both social, combat, and traps) easily push you past the expected time limit. If you are running this adventure as part of an organized event you will have to fast-track any social encounters which some players (including myself) enjoy. I've run the sessions multiple times and so far my record is 3 mini adventures in a 4 hour time block. And that last adventure felt very rushed.

Also my players were not overly excited about the rewards. Even the Volo's Guide mini adventures (also meant for level 1 play) had a magic item thrown in every now and then. The lack of magic items and low xp/gp left the players feeling not to excited about the new land of Chult that stretched out before them. They were however very interested in the amulet pieces they acquired but, as they were not able to form Voltron at the end (player comment), they were left with feelings of "what's the point?"

The Ugly.

I would have preferred it if these missions had not been tied to the factions but instead came directly from one or more of the Merchant Princes. That would of opened the door for some closure on the amulet's assembly and intended purpose right away. As it is, these missions should really have been included in the Tomb of Annilihation hardcover module as side quests to do in Port Nyanzaru.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Garrett R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2017 10:09:55

I ran a table of this at one of the regional preview conventions, and enjoyed it quite a bit. That said, there were a few issues.

First, it ran WAY slower than I expected. We only ended up finishing 3 of the 5 adventures in the 4 hour slot I had allocated to it. The ones we did were fun, but if you read it ahead of time you might go in thinking you can burn through these things in 4 hours. You'd be mistaken.

Second, if you're on a compressed timeframe it's a little tricky to make the jumps from one adventure to the next. The PCs are supposed to be given tasks by each of the 5 AL factions, but you don't necessarily have members of each faction, so why should they care?

There's also the whole "we did all this stuff to put together the macguffin, and now it does nothing because this is the intro adventure to a whole season and a hardcover and it can't actually resolve anything" problem. Don't know how you solve that.

On the bright side though, there's a dinosaur race, which was awesome. I can forgive basically everything if I get to run a dinosaur race.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alessandro S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2017 04:55:46

Good introduction to the season, but:

  • This are not 1 hour modules, gameplay time range from 1.5 to 3 hours.
  • The non linear sequence of play can be a problem when mixing players in different tables.
  • Description are sometimes confusing.
  • Fights could have benefit some more thinking, i.e. the mini boss in the first adventure is a wizard without ranged attacks...

3/5



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2017 22:47:36

these were ok with two main gripes they are a bit under EXPed in the times i ran it the groups lost 10 to 50 exp per part think the max is to low for what it is they will take longer then 1hour even if you dont RP (but this is common with AL stuff i seen)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giorgio P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 09:21:15

Un'ottima avventura introduttiva, facilmente gestibile soprattutto per giocatori neofiti. Unica pecca: è particolarmente lunga, impossibile affrontare tutti e 5 gli scenari in appena 5 ore; comunque con un pò di gioco collaborativo tra piu tavoli si riesce a completare il modulo. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2017 06:40:40

There are some cool mechanics in these adventures as well as some fun times. Like most of the into adventurex they are more roleplaying than any serious threat to the players but a good starting place for new players or DMs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2017 15:55:18

Personally I liked the 5 parts to this adventure. It does a good job of introducing characters to the area and their factions. However, I felt that a lot of the time, the module was too easy for characters. The threats don't seem to be big enough to the characters, even adjusting with the other options provided. The puzzle part also seems a little tedious as it's the same skill check and no really description. Perhaps doing it the first time is ok, but replay value goes down in my opinion as DM. A good change maybe to increase the DC for the checks? Every time I've run it, the PCs pass without issue.

And a side from the many errors through out, it is an excellent module to tie into the hard cover for first level characters. It could also be used as part of chapter 1 of the hard cover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gail D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2017 17:53:18

These are perhaps my favorite intro adventures to an AL season thus far. Whilst I agree that the experience does not necesarily lend itself to just 5 hours of play, these are fantastic missions that can be run as a set or individually side by side with hardcover adventures in Chult.

When run as a set, the first hour of 7-01 usually seems to be spent getting introduced to Port Nyanzaru and the other players in the party. There are so many sights and sounds, out and about, that to rush this first glimpse of Chult would do it a disservice. Following that the missions hit their stride and allow for relatively quick gameplay. Still, I would schedule 2 4hr sessions to run 7-01. The players may only get to level 2, but what they lack in experience, they make up for in roleplay/development of their PCs and balancing group dynamics.

I adore the detail and focus on location, npcs and flora and fauna. 7-01 imbues its adventures with just the right about of Chult flavor to get players excited and provide ideas for RP situations.

However, it would do well to recall that this is an intro adventure, meant not only as a gateway to Chult but also for easy gameplay for new DMs. I do believe it straddled that line very well in that regard. I hope to see the faction agents further fleshed out in following tier 1 adventures.

The primary issue with 7-01 for some, may be its lack of permanent magic items which could put off a large swathe of AL players in the longterm. They may opt for other tier 1 season 7 adventures that do offer the opportunity to grab a shiny item instead. However, I quite enjoy a couple of the story awards in "A City on the Edge" and find them to be better by far than a number of the regularly seen uncommon magic items that populate t1 adventures.

Looking back at my runs of 7-01, I would honestly recommend running these amidst Guild Adept adventures and ToA hardcover. That way, not only do players get XP for RP during hardcover hours but it allows DMs not to worry about figuring out which sidequests to pick when they can simply switch to a 7-01 mission in the second half of the session. Alternatively, running Cellar of Death (Guild Adept adventure) would also offer a seague directly into the hardcover, post 7-01. Overall I found this particular AL adventure delightful, with many opportunities for fun with dinosaurs, trips to the bathhouses and filthy rainy days out and about. Definitely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2017 00:43:21

A good intro and supplement to Port Nyanzaru and help players explore the city a little more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 18:22:52

A City on the Edge is very much like a Faction choose your own adventure. Each one hour adventure easily takes 1 1/2 hours and is Background rich. All in all a very enjoyable adventure to introduce your PC's to Port Nyanzaru.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 12:41:33

These adventures are fine as an alternative to the side quests in Port Nyanzaru, but I found them to be lacking compared to the side quests in the book and the ideas in Encounters in Port Nyanzaru.

The biggest benefit to 07-01 is that the rules for Dinosaur Racing are better set up here than in the hardcover for Tomb of Annihilation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items