Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 16
1 50
2 17
0 3
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:50:11

As a group I found these adventures to be a fun way to introduce players to the city of Port Nyanzaru. Warning, Spoliers ahead! I've run this adventure three times now and still enjoy it each time. The structure of introducing the faction agents one at a time with thematic missions made for a great overall experence. Each of the faction contacts had interesting details to help them stand out. Of the bunch, I've had the most fun with mission 2, Grand Prize of the Oracle. While the logistics of the race felt a little confusing the first time, players had fun coming up with insults and other ways to mess with the opposing team. It felt a little odd that it only mattered which individual finished the race first. Once one racer gets ahead the rest of the race doesn't really matter. It may have been better to require the team to place ahead on average instead. The cage match is always exciting! However, it seems all too easy to forget about the plants. I think including an indication on the map of the presence of the vines would help remind DMs of their existance. I think the weakest mission was number 4, When Death Calls. Whlie the first half of investigating and exploring was a good opporunity to rp, and the ambush at the huts felt exciting, exploring the "dungeon" was very disapointing. I wish there had been a real "puzzle" instead of just an intelligence roll. While I loved the concept of the final fight, in pratice, a "boss" with 10 AC and 9 HP doesn't last very long, making the second fight end up being just too similar to the first. I would reccomend changing the encounter adjustment tables in a few ways. For the first encounter, Very strong party, replace one zombie with a Ghoul. For the second encounter, Strong party, add a skeleton near Viplo's Alter. Very Strong Party, have Viplo use the Evil Mage statistics from the first adventure. Over all these adventures were a very fun experience and are a great way to help new players get to level 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cameron H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 08:59:16

The array of faction leaders are pretty memorable and used numerous times during the DDAL07 modules, so newcomers start to recognize names and and personalities, which is nice; the introduction to the dinosaur racing was great, though quick on its heels a few weeks later is "A Day at the Races," so it gave both some familiarity to how the events worked and a bit of repetitiveness (though the races do have very different sets of rules). Overall, it's a great primer to get people into the setting of Chult and Port Nyanzaru. I'm sure I'll be running them again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 15:48:58

I played this out over a few sessions with a varying group each time. Most of the times I ran it, we had some younger kids playing with us, and so the five "One-Hour" adventures turned into something more simillar to four 3-hour adventures, but overall we had a bunch of fun! And if I'm being honest, it had a lot to do with not being ready to guide things on my part :)

Overall it was a lot of fun!

The rest of my review highlights what I liked/didn't like, and while I try to avoid any explicit spoilers it could be a little spoiler-y.

I think the parts of it I liked the least were the descriptions/solutions to the puzzles in Parts 1 and 4. They were a little too hard for me to understand at first, and if I'd followed them as written they would have boiled down to "Roll an Investigation check to see if you solved the puzzle". I substituted them with a few home-brewed puzzles that fit the theme of what they were trying to accomplish and everything worked out fine though :)

The story was interesting, but I felt it lacked a little clarity/instruction on how to guide the players through the different parts/it wasn't super clear on how the MacGuffins came to be in the possession of the characters who had them, nor was it super clear on what they could have even be used for/why the baddies wanted them. All that said, each chapter felt distinct, and each one was fun. The variance on the NPCs was great for my love of playing characters, and I particularly liked getting into the boots of Soggy Wren :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 12:31:34

DDAL07-01 is a great opening to the setting of Chult, it provides numerous level-appropriate adventures for both new characters and new players, running a gambit from roleplaying and combat opportunities to miscelanious activities that break away from a typical module.

Some players will enjoy different aspects (I know a few of mine weren't too thrilled by the dinosaur racing), but there is plenty in here for everyone to try out a number of different play styles to get a handle of their characters.

It also works as a good introduction to the ToA hardcover and fleshes out the city of Port Nyanzaru.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:24:09

great start to the season. they introduce chult in a way nothing else could.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 02:41:29

Intro missions are always a lot of fun, both to run as a DM and to experience as a player. A City on the Edge does a fantastic job of setting the backdrop to Season 7, giving the city of Port Nyanzaru it's own character. The missions within the module allow the DM to help explore the city (and the jungle as well!).

I ran each of the missions in order, with a consistent group - everyone enjoyed it (especially Mission 2 - bringing in additional thematic activities like Dino Racing is excellent!). Only reason I wouldn't say 5 stars is that the overall theme of the item the players get as they complete each mission doesnt seem to be explained or impact until one section in the final combat.

I would have loved to have seen maybe small bonuses or impacts if the players had or did not have certain pieces threaded into the later missions.

I would also love to applaud the author on having missions that are super easy to keep to time. Usually when you see 1 hour mission/adventure, an AL DM will automatically add an hour. I found these missions were written in such a way that made life easy to keep the plot moving quickly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 22:35:52

HELLO ADVENTURERS!!! This mod was my first effort into AL DM'n. I Felt that it was a great introduction both to intial running and to Tomb of Annihilation. The vesatilty of being able to run one or all five of the one hour sections was a nice feature. At a local store for the first go round then at a friends home for round two. I had fun borh times. I will happily run it again. For the RP inclined it offered up great fun! The suggestions for party strentgh and how to keep people engaged while not killing them outright with the overhanging dread of the death curse played out well. For those new to Sword Coast faction interaction, the mod allowed an efficient learning curve and a delve into the ideology of each! Stringing the chapters together with very little challenge from a running the game standpoint. I had particular fun playing as Kelvin in chapt 1. "I have JUST THE THING to bring out your eyes! OH YES..... The mission..." hehe Pick it up and enjoy the ride. ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!! xVxORIONxVx



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank v. d. Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 03:49:18

A city on the Edge is a very entertaining introductory adventure to the season. I like it that all factions get a moment to shine and all have personalities. The only thing that can be marked as a downside to the adventure is the fact that the personalities created for the factions are not inspiring NPC's in their own right. This can go both ways, making the adventurers feel more like heroes because the NPS's are all washed up. To highlight one, it has to be Soggy Wren. (SPOILERS) To be fooled in such a manner as a Harper is just silly.

All adventures give you a solid feel of Port Nyanzaru. I actually ran these mini adventures before starting the hardcover so my players had a feel of Chult and were familiar with some places in Chult. The flavor item in the first adventure is also very well thougth of and did make my druid very happy. The culture and ambiance of Chult is so rich, and you defeniatly find this flavor in the adventure.

The replay value of the stories as a DM is also high enough to run it multiple times.

Very solid adventures, which can easily be run in a store as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 02:17:47

Overall they ran as a good introductory series for both new players to the game and players new to the region, they helped to introduce the region of Chult, in addition to the various factions and provide varried mechanical challenges to the players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 01:49:04

I ran this as my introduction to AL and it is good for new DMs to learn on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bob T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 22:16:32

Fun set of missions. I have run this twice, both times for tables of players new to AL. This has been good starter material and the players enjoyed the missions. Running in a convention setting, it is tricky to fit enough missions in a 4 hour time slot. There is enough RP to make any mission go for two hours on its own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 13:14:03

Good introductory set of adventures for season 7 and introducing the players to the land of Chult. I also felt they were some of the best mini-adventures for newer players to learn how to play 5e. I'd allocated about 90 minutes for each one, that allows the players to get the opportunity to take advantage of the many rp situations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 13:42:27

These introductory adventures work well to introduce the players to the Port City of Nyanzaru and offer good social roleplaying opportunities, but they take quite a while to run. If one or more of the player's characters were suffering the effects of the Death Curse, they would be justified in feeling their time is being wasted as they don't really make any progress towards solving the problem.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 12:17:49

City on the Edge provides a good introduction to Chult for new players as well as an easy starting point for new DMs. The module is broken into 5 Missions which can be played as separate sessions or as one larger campaign. While the writing and story arcs are enjoyable and easy to follow the module states that each of the missions are planned to take 1 hour. For most of the groups I have run these adventures for the time has worked out to be 2 hours or more unless the party is discouraged from roleplaying interactions or exploring the city during the adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:08:41

Very solid introductory adventure that gives characters an overview of what to expect from Chult and Tomb of Annihilation. The adventures can very easily stretch more than 1 hour. They were fine for 2.5 hours with a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back