Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 12
1 42
2 16
0 3
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 12:17:49

City on the Edge provides a good introduction to Chult for new players as well as an easy starting point for new DMs. The module is broken into 5 Missions which can be played as separate sessions or as one larger campaign. While the writing and story arcs are enjoyable and easy to follow the module states that each of the missions are planned to take 1 hour. For most of the groups I have run these adventures for the time has worked out to be 2 hours or more unless the party is discouraged from roleplaying interactions or exploring the city during the adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:08:41

Very solid introductory adventure that gives characters an overview of what to expect from Chult and Tomb of Annihilation. The adventures can very easily stretch more than 1 hour. They were fine for 2.5 hours with a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 07:38:09

Great Module! little longer than anticipated, but still very fun. My players really enjoyed mission 2. Ending felt a little rushed as far as story, but still good. Looking forward to more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 00:57:51

A good amount of variety between the individual adventures and a good introduction to the different elements of Port Nyanzaru. The only real negative is that like usual it can be quite difficult to run each of these in under an hour.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 17:00:41

5 very enjoyable missions. But as with all other seasons they do not take 1 hour if you want to do ANY roleplay. That wouldnt matter if the xp gain was bigger to better reward the time played.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:34:13

5 very enjoyable missions! I liked these better than the ones from the other seasons. The dinosaur races have been fun every time I run them, and that fight with the kenku is pretty rough. I do have the same complaint with this module that I did with Over the Edge. What is the use of the Triceratops Society story award? Where are these people at? Because I haven't seen them in any of the modules or hardcover.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 09:56:47

The first mission is fine, nothing special here. The second mission is probably the most fun, with the dinosaur race. I'd do what 07-03 reccomends and really play up the race. The third mission is a bit more difficult to motivate, but works fine. It's a little unclear to the players (or was to my players) that the people can't be saved. The fourth mission is a good mini-boss fight. The fifth mission is a very good boss fight for low level characters. These missions really need over an hour to play, which is my only other real criticism.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 20:19:51

4/5 Mission 1 is perfectly serviceable. Mission 2 is very fun to run. Mission 3 is cool, but the pool encounter can be a problem if you have a grung PC. Mission 4 is very cool, nice puzzles. Nifty battle at the end. Mission 5 is an excellent boss fight for low level characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 14:49:13

This series is a good introduction to Chult and season 7. It can and should serve as part of the "Port" portion of the hard cover. It introduces the faction reps who will show up in later modules and introduces most of the sweeping plot points for the tier one modules ot follow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 16:58:48

A fantastic introduction to Port Nyanzaru and the Chultan peninsula. The dinosaur races were a huge hit - so much so that my group continues to call themselves Bladefang even in the final chapter of Tomb of Annihilation!

I appreciate the effort the author takes in bringing the party to each section of Port Nyanzaru - it really helps flesh out the place in preparation for future DDAL adventures. Really, a wonderful job all around. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2018 21:48:09

Great into to Chult and the city. Nice primer to get the characters started on their adventure.

A nice departure from the previous seasons (1-5) where module one was for levels 1-2, whereas this is for levels 1-4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jay J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2018 07:19:58

I did run this with my group as an intro to Chult. I definitely think the mini-missions overall were a really good way to introduce them to Chult. Of course I would say that certain aspects of the missions were definitely rough around the edges, or otherwise could have been polished/executed better, but over all, I think it does a phenomenal job of introducing players to Chult, allowing them to get a better idea of the kind of adventure they're in for, and conveying the general attitude and feel for Port Nyanzaru that the DM can then use to springboard into Chapter 1 of Tomb of Annihilation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 07:40:49

This was a good introduction to the city. The TOA hardcover has a lot of information to digest and working with these first gives you a nice breakdown of areas around town as well as introduction to the faction agents that will show up during future adventurers. Be aware that these do run longer than the 1 hour expected run time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:27:24

While these mods function well as an introduction to Port Nyanzaru's faction representatives and the city itself, some of the adventure lines suffer from poor descriptions that I found myself needing to smooth out or even rewrite altogether.

Run as a linear series of adventures, this module tells a fascinating story full of suspense and intrigue. Run separately, most of the adventures function as short and sweet excursions, though a couple of them do leave the party wondering "ok, but why do we care?" due to lack of greater context. The conclusion is great, and with a little bit of DM modification the storyline can flow very smoothly.

They do tend to run long, but that's no fault of 7-01.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:28:01

City on the edge is a great introduction to the port and the faction leaders.

As always, simple one hour adventures that are easy for a new DM or player to get through.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items