Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 17
2 27
1 10
2 4
1 2
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert L. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2018 03:24:39

I really enjoyed running this module. Kelvan's character notes on his speech were amusing and the players got a kick out out of it. The puzzles were deviously made and pretty inventive. This is definitley not a combat heavy module (only two rooms have enemies and players are not going to be super threatened by the ones they face), and instead focuses more on traps and puzzles, which can be deadly with the amount of damage they do, which is great for unsuspecting adventurers coming in expected to bash their way through enemies to finish the module. The twist in the last room is delightly devilish in its design.

It was well written, flowed well from one to the next with clear instructions. Can't wait to run this one again and again! (Using currently to run AL sessions, however definitely plan to use it as a lead-in to the White Plume Mountain chapter of the Yawning Portal campaign).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 01:51:35

The module is written well, but I feel like there could have been more. Or aleast some of the traps could have been a little harder to defeat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:04:41

Pretty ok adventure, final puzzle has the ability to frustrate players, much like any other puzzle. The end of the story is cleared up in the Epic, which isn't run anymore so can leave players feeling frustrated about the loose end.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 16:59:11

This adventure was quite enjoyable to DM, and I think my players liked it for the most part. One of my players, who had DMed it in the past, did complain afterward that I hadn't made it difficult enough (as, for instance, I allowed players to unscrew gears in the gears room, eventually leading to them stopping to hurt the players), but I feel like too much difficulty can become unfun.

The traps and puzzles were very well thought-off (it shows that a lot of work was put there), and the evil-guy reveal at the end is a nice touch. It does require a certain degree of preparation, but it is manageable. The good thing about these traps & puzzles is that the way they're shaped allows for creative thinking from the player's side, which can lead to a unique experience each time the adventure is played.

I recommend the purhcase of this adventure, but beware that it will most likely take more than 2 hours if you run all the rooms (which all deserve to be ran, I believe).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kent F W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 01:12:12

i have had two experiences with this module, firstly as a player at a convention, and then as a DM in a home AL game... as others have said, this module is heavy on puzzles and deadly traps. the puzzles were well thought-out, unique, generally fun, and the solutions were never so esoteric that the PCs lost hope. in my home game i tried a relaxed pace with some roleplay in the beginning, and we had more than doubled the runtime for the adventure by the end of it (it is designed to be 2 hours). even when i participated in the adventure at a con, the DM made the wise choice of dropping the middle room from the dungeon so that we would make it through in time. i would HIGHLY recommend keeping this option open if you are on time constraints, because the nature of the puzzles will have some groups taking much longer than intended. this can easily be run without a grid, though some of the trap rooms might need a sketch to make them clear to the players. in this, unlike some modules, the included maps seem to mostly parallel the descriptions. initiative seemed a funny thing in this module, as the encounters were rarely combat-based, yet some effects were listed as lasting a certain number of rounds. knowing when to enter initiative and when to leave it is the task of the artful DM with this adventure in particular. there is a unique and endearing NPC that offers the quest to the players, fun to roleplay, which gives the ending to the module all the more impact.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:16:21

This is a VERY trap heavy adventure and is a lead in to one of the Classic Carnival Dungeons, White Plume Mountain. It's not bad, but could be tough to keep the attention of newer players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:15:44

This is actually one of my favorite AL modules that I've run to date and a wonderful break from the combat heavy, go and retrieve a person or kill an objective type modules so prevalent this season. Run as the adventure hook to WPM, it was extremely effective at motivating the party to go inside after "Kelvan". A lot of memorable moments-my players are still talking about the room of gears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 16:55:24

Puzzle-heavy modules can be quite divisive. As a DM, you can feel helpless if your players just aren't up to the challenge that particular night. I am one who enjoys the change of pace of a more cerebral D&D night. I think all the traps are well thought out and enjoyable for a party who is ready to put down their swords (temporarily) and put on their thinking caps. Although, I did have a early Tier 2 paladin do 128 points of damage against a certain enemy in the dungeon... that was cool!

The only negative I can think of is that all my players could see the plot twist at the end from a mile away. They were excited to start White Plume Mountain, though, so mission accomplished.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2018 11:12:53

Great into to White Plume. The clockwork trap was amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 05:13:51

I really enjoyed both playing and running this module. Some fun puzzles, lots of potential for death, and both funny and frustrating final bout. Got one of my first TPKs in here and almost died playing it 6 months later despite being the second time had played it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 02:17:02

Some thoughts:

(1) Traps are a bad mechanic. They are boring for a DM, since they are so mechanical. Traps are fun in moderation. Building an entire mod based around traps is a bad idea.

(2) Puzzles are fun... in moderation. Again, puzzles drain RP potential out of a mod. Solving puzzles tends to be a meta activity.

(3) [slight spoiler alert] I like that there are re-occuring characters in this mod (i.e. characters that persist beyond the mod). Villains in AL rarely outlast the mod, so this is a refreshing change.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marvin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 15:42:46

I enjoyed it as a DM, but if you don't have any clever players or characters it goes no where fast.

As a player I personally am not into puzzles so not so great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:08:21

The adventure it self was both good and bad. Entertaining prequel to White Plume Mountain with a nice leadup and a hint of what was to come. That being said the traps themselves were needed some work. One group spent three hours on the coin puzzle, just for half of them to die to the wyverns (which were awesome btw). Needed slightly better clues.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:07:08

White Plume was a joke, not sure why its so revered. We ran it with a group of close friends and mostly laughed about it not with it. The module has the same tone and annoyances. Traps are not very well constructed and takes a lot of DM force to make them feel dangerous. The combat left the players wondering where the rest of the adventure was, and I was agreeing with them. Luckily there isn't a big demand for season 6 mods because I wouldn't run this again. -DM Ace



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items