Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 9
0 13
1 2
1 1
1 0
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 10:07:16

They're a bunch of puzzles that are decently creative, I don't really have an issue with them tbh. My only issue is the number of them and the length of the adventure as a result of that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bryan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 09:19:57

classic puzzle dungeon, heavy on the puzzle. my players felt it was a bit too railroady. Overall I had fun running it and watching the players working their way through the dungeon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 02:26:25

The Good: The puzzles were interesting and definitely had bite. It allows certain classes with a focus on utility to really shine (but that has its flipside).

The Bad: The emphasis on puzzles made it very difficult to run with a large group where it is difficult to involve everyone. Ironically, if the players clear the puzzles smartly, there is little combat, which might make some more combat built characters feeling left out due to not having the relevant skill proficiencies or spells to really be of use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2017 07:44:15

Seeing the table try and work together to get out of the traps was pretty cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andre B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2017 00:05:11

This module wasn't bad and a good module to begin with as a new DM. It's fairly straight and to the point and gives players a big bad to chase after once they arrive at White Plume. I wish it would have displayed a little more of the intentions of the big bad more and why White Plume was so important though which never came out in the module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2017 10:47:13

This a very specific flavor of module - the party will be asked to venture into a death trap style dungeon, and the vast majority of the work will be figuring out puzzles. While most of the puzzles can be solved through trial and error, there as at least one which requires pretty critical thinking to figure out, and some players may find the lack of other kinds of interaction to be boring. I've done this module twice, once with a group of mostly roguish types, and then ran it with a second group of lunkhead "smash first, think lat.... no, smash it again." types. Both groups had a lot of fun.

My suggestion if your working with a group that's a little less thinky would be to let one of the NPCs go along in an advisory capacity (or create your own) - that way if the players are stumped, the NPC could provide a breadcrumb or two for the players to work with.

I appreciate this style of module, I think AL needs this sort of adventure. There is one thing that keeps it from being a 5 star module... No guidance is offered if the party decides not to complete the final tasking, which is a completely reasonable thing to try and do. The ending leads into the epic, so the events of the first module are locked in.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2017 21:49:55

This module is mostly puzzles and traps. The second to last room, the one with the obliesk was not a fun one. My players didnt like the trap, and I personally feel that it is just dickish to do that kind of trap. Aside from that, good module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charlie G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2017 02:24:56

Good adventure, but it does have some issues. Decent number of traps and puzzles that will require you to put on your thinking cap, and what combat there is can be a real challenge. If the party you're running for isn't equipped for the puzzles though, or your players are more combat interested, it might not be a fun run for everyone or they might find it unduly hard to proceed through the adventure. I definitely suggest running and playing through this though. I'd just advice that the party make sure to be a little more balanced and try to have at least one person with Comprehend Languages prepared.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2017 22:06:43

Enjoyed playing and running this module because it is very, very different. Not a hack and slash, muder hobo jaunt, but a great pace thinking adventure.

Very challenging despite fewer "melee" fights.

Great fun for all tier 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Benjamin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2017 02:05:37

Super fun to run except can't really play it again or play It after running



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2017 11:52:50

Running this module was some of the most fun I have had at a table in recent months. It is a refreshing change of pace from the "you walk in a room and have to fight a buch of stuff" style that is pervasive throughout many other products. It instills a sense of genuine curiosity in both players and GMs watching to see what the players do. Each room i memorable and deadly in it's own way, and uses the player's own mentality against them. I would highly reccomend playing it over a longer time frame than 2 hours so you can take your time and really let the players engross themselves in the puzzles they have to solve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2017 23:26:24

I love this mod! The traps/puzzles are tough, the encounters are challenging, and the flow of the adventure is awesome. My party loved this adventure, and I'll be running another table through this next week.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 18:11:13

First off: I love the Greyhawk throwback. The fact that "Kevin" constantly mis-speaks is pure gold (especially for myself, who has been known to jumble the occasional wording). I also loved how it serves as a true introduction for a new generation to the "Funhouse". It's just a series of tricks and puzzles. That being said had the party had a warlock with Devil Sight, the whole things would have been a cakewalk, instead it was a near-TPK in the first room. Apparently kids today have a steeper learning curve that us in the older generation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 16:38:34

This module is pretty tough on your party, there are a number of traps in here with pretty arbitrary triggers, its set up for 5 8th level characters and they will find it pretty damaging. I have no problem with puzzle based traps if there is a logical way of working them out, they dont have to be particularly hard, just give a clue or two.

Went through it in under 2 hours, the timing is pretty spot on unless you have a large party.

Old school Dungeoneering.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Josh T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2017 11:58:21

I was wary when I was reading this module while preparing to run it, but I shrugged and figured I'd give it a shot after only minor modifications.

My main problems were that the party might not be at all equipped to solve the puzzles necessary to get through. Two traps require reading an ancient language, and no one in my 5 member party had access to Comprehend Languages. Another puzzle required the use of arcane magic or using any magic item, though this was unclear, and there isn't much evidence that would lead to a player guessing this solution. One puzzle was a classic "gotcha", where acting on the obvious solution was only detrimental to the players.

On top of the puzzles being difficult to solve, they were also just frustrating and sucky, in the sense that unless you happened upon the right solution, you would likely have things blow up in your face, dealing damage and other consequences, and lose out on experience points. The most likely route for a less-than-well-prepared party would be to bumble through the traps, soaking up the punishment until you stumble out to the end, bleeding profusely.

My players didn't get to feel clever because the clues weren't just obscured, they were inaccessible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items