Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 14
0 21
1 7
1 2
1 2
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:55:26

The traps aren't really intuitive and can be easily avoided even though the adventure states that they aren't supposed to be able to. There are hardly and combat encounters. Also the story doesn't make alot of sense when run as a lead in to White Plume. Kelvan escapes into the mountain, and then never resurfaces in the actual White Plume.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JEAN-DANIEL P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 07:33:03

I liked the adventure although I found it was moving along slowly due to the traps. Also, while the adventure mentions a tie-in with White Plume Mountain from the Tales of the Yawning Portal hardcover, which we actually moved straight to after this adventure, the link is tenuous at best. That being said, the link to the Return to the White Plume Mountain epic however is great and I wish I'd been able to have my group do The Redemption of Kelvan right before going into the Epic.

One of the encounters in this adventure was very enjoyable for my players, specifically the Hall of gears. While the random factor could have been aggravating, it turned out to be a very fun moment where the players were very excited to see what they'd find in the drawers. While it was not officially listed as treasure as it's not a magic item, one of my players kept the orange striped cap and made it one of the defining features for his character!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nic W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2017 22:23:17

One of the worst adventures I have run by far for 5th edition. No variety to adventure. Too many puzzles and clues are lackluster. Characters have to fail skill checks in order to continue. Players hated it. Plot was confusing. Only good thing was the prologue.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 15:07:21

Lots of traps/puzzles/non-murder hobo thing to do. Your murder hobos will also hate that the arch[mage] villain gets away during boxed text. Expect them to try to interrupt you several times and sigh since the villain is way beyond their capabilities.

Every puzzle isn't Sedoku this time too, so that is nice.

Overall a very refreshing break from 100+ rooms of small fights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 12:49:59

So this is by far my least favorite epic I have played and/or read through. The fact that this forces characters down a path without giving them options made it underwhelming and flat out not make sense. (A table of all plate wearers SNEAKING into the place!).

The final battle was an absolute cluster which was hard to follow for dms, administrators, and players. The room was overly complicated which added to the mess.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2017 03:54:27

This module provides a dungeon crawl relief for "murder hobo" parties. It makes the players think about their surroundings and utilize more of their utility items and spells. The detriment to it would be the reliance of the story provided to the epic adventure, which is only playable at conventions. So it leaves loose ends if you are playing in a small group unless you modify the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2017 09:50:11

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) was a well thought out, and extremyl fun, adventure to play, as well as DM. It was nice to do something other than smash everything in sight. The puzzles were fun, the NPCs were well-versed, and the rewards were great. I would highly recommend this adventure; an awesome intro to an extremely fun campaign (White Plume Mountain).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 09:00:53

This module is puzzle heavy and trap heavy . There is not a lot of role-playing. It is enjoyable on the first go through but does not have a lot of replayability without the DM adjusting the room significantly. Some of the puzzles don't really match what is going on with the theme. After playing at once and dming it three times I can say it's not one of my go-to Adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 14:07:47

This is a good module overall, with an emphasis on solving puzzles and avoiding traps. It's relatively light on combat, depending on how well the players do in figuring out traps and bypassing locked doors. I've ran it twice so far to good effect, though the party that didn't have Comprehend Languages was frustrated at times.

Pro: very imaginative room/trap design, well balanced combat and challenges.

Con: solution to some of the puzzles is fairly opaque; this can lead to frustration if the DM doesn't adjust to the players and/or characters. Some puzzles are nearly impossible to work out without access to a rare campaign-specific language. I recommend either encouraging players with access to Comprehend Languages to have it available, or otherwise providing access to the spell if the party composition isn't favorable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 00:00:08

A potentially fun module. Give your players the benifit, so it doesn't become unfun. Warn them to prep comprehend languages.

Have fun with the voice of Kelvin!

The puzzles are not very puzzly though, with some tweeks, can be great!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 19:14:04

Love the additional nugget of info on the Netherese language and the Season 3 Shade Fanatic background. Also, the use of Glyphs of Warding. Overall I'd probably have liked this more if it hadn't tied into the Epic, as not everyone gets a chance to play those. Also, the end Treasure/Story Award part that remembers there were Teleportation Circles and actually bothered to include a spellbook among the loot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 09:10:51

This module, I thought, was incredibly fun. It provided an excellent lead in into both White Plume Mountain and Return to White Plumbe Mountain. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the puzzles in the module that were present, and how you had to be incredibly inventive to get around the puzzles without any too terrible things happening. I do think the ice room was very difficult to figure out, but a lot of the parties i ran it for figured it out by accident. Overall, very fun!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 00:04:02

I enjoyed most of the module, the rooms were really interesting until the ice room. Other than the ice room, the puzzles were enjoyable and the combat was challenging.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 22:01:44

A non-typical AL shot adventure. The puzzles and traps made for some interesting encounters. Once ran though it would be difficult for PC's not to meta game it. I recommend including variations to each puzzle. This would alleviate the aforementioned issue. In enjoy it was enjoyable to DM. It would be great if the adventure included the Fantasy Grounds module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items