Dungeon Masters Guild
Find Category









Back
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 13
0 21
1 6
1 1
1 1
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 15:07:21

Lots of traps/puzzles/non-murder hobo thing to do. Your murder hobos will also hate that the arch[mage] villain gets away during boxed text. Expect them to try to interrupt you several times and sigh since the villain is way beyond their capabilities.

Every puzzle isn't Sedoku this time too, so that is nice.

Overall a very refreshing break from 100+ rooms of small fights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 12:49:59

So this is by far my least favorite epic I have played and/or read through. The fact that this forces characters down a path without giving them options made it underwhelming and flat out not make sense. (A table of all plate wearers SNEAKING into the place!).

The final battle was an absolute cluster which was hard to follow for dms, administrators, and players. The room was overly complicated which added to the mess.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2017 03:54:27

This module provides a dungeon crawl relief for "murder hobo" parties. It makes the players think about their surroundings and utilize more of their utility items and spells. The detriment to it would be the reliance of the story provided to the epic adventure, which is only playable at conventions. So it leaves loose ends if you are playing in a small group unless you modify the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2017 09:50:11

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e) was a well thought out, and extremyl fun, adventure to play, as well as DM. It was nice to do something other than smash everything in sight. The puzzles were fun, the NPCs were well-versed, and the rewards were great. I would highly recommend this adventure; an awesome intro to an extremely fun campaign (White Plume Mountain).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 09:00:53

This module is puzzle heavy and trap heavy . There is not a lot of role-playing. It is enjoyable on the first go through but does not have a lot of replayability without the DM adjusting the room significantly. Some of the puzzles don't really match what is going on with the theme. After playing at once and dming it three times I can say it's not one of my go-to Adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 14:07:47

This is a good module overall, with an emphasis on solving puzzles and avoiding traps. It's relatively light on combat, depending on how well the players do in figuring out traps and bypassing locked doors. I've ran it twice so far to good effect, though the party that didn't have Comprehend Languages was frustrated at times.

Pro: very imaginative room/trap design, well balanced combat and challenges.

Con: solution to some of the puzzles is fairly opaque; this can lead to frustration if the DM doesn't adjust to the players and/or characters. Some puzzles are nearly impossible to work out without access to a rare campaign-specific language. I recommend either encouraging players with access to Comprehend Languages to have it available, or otherwise providing access to the spell if the party composition isn't favorable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 00:00:08

A potentially fun module. Give your players the benifit, so it doesn't become unfun. Warn them to prep comprehend languages.

Have fun with the voice of Kelvin!

The puzzles are not very puzzly though, with some tweeks, can be great!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 19:14:04

Love the additional nugget of info on the Netherese language and the Season 3 Shade Fanatic background. Also, the use of Glyphs of Warding. Overall I'd probably have liked this more if it hadn't tied into the Epic, as not everyone gets a chance to play those. Also, the end Treasure/Story Award part that remembers there were Teleportation Circles and actually bothered to include a spellbook among the loot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 09:10:51

This module, I thought, was incredibly fun. It provided an excellent lead in into both White Plume Mountain and Return to White Plumbe Mountain. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the puzzles in the module that were present, and how you had to be incredibly inventive to get around the puzzles without any too terrible things happening. I do think the ice room was very difficult to figure out, but a lot of the parties i ran it for figured it out by accident. Overall, very fun!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 00:04:02

I enjoyed most of the module, the rooms were really interesting until the ice room. Other than the ice room, the puzzles were enjoyable and the combat was challenging.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 22:01:44

A non-typical AL shot adventure. The puzzles and traps made for some interesting encounters. Once ran though it would be difficult for PC's not to meta game it. I recommend including variations to each puzzle. This would alleviate the aforementioned issue. In enjoy it was enjoyable to DM. It would be great if the adventure included the Fantasy Grounds module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2017 14:33:14

Dungeons & Dragons Adventurers League Season 6 (Tales from the Yawning Portal) only contains three DDAL adventures and the hardcover. All of the former are supposed to provide a hook to a particular dungeon in the book. This one introduces White Plume Mountain.

Warning: this review includes spoilers. If you’re going to play through the adventure, don’t read further.

What I liked

The adventure mostly consists of an introductory scene and five puzzles. Each puzzle basically provides a wholly-contained, discrete encounter, making it easy for the DM. The puzzles provide a good opportunity for players to demonstrate their own creative thinking without become too vexing. That sort of balance is tough to strike, and I felt like this module did so.

Unusually for DDAL adventures, this one was well-edited. I only found a few very minor errors in it. Perhaps they've learned from their previous complete inattention to this - I hope it bodes well for the next season! It's also relatively well-timed, and I suspect the discrete nature of the encounters helped with this. The maps included with the adventure are about the same quality as in previous seasons, though. Fortunately a number of good maps can be found on the DMs Guild; I preferred Zovya's (acquired via Patreon) but others can be found if you prefer a different sort of look.

What I didn't like

A couple of small details bothered me. The end of the adventure that provides the hook into WPM doesn't do it very well, because neither I nor my group understood why they should particularly care beyond rescuing an NPC with whom they had no real relationship. Additionally, the second puzzle had a bit of vagueness in its physical structure that requires the DM to think ahead about how they imagine it. But those didn't detract too much from the adventure and the fun we had.

Wrapping it up

I liked this, as it varied nicely from most of the other AL modules I've run. A bit of combat, a bit of social encounter, and mostly just puzzles and (to a lesser extent) skill challenges. This makes it a good preview of WPM in that sense. If only it had introduced WPM storywise a bit better!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by james a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2017 18:33:49

An interesting module to say the least. Kelvan is weird a quirky and my PCs definately noticed something off right off the bat! However, I found the ruin a little hard to dm as the module is unclear about consequences for some actions and I struggled to find ways that I can reasonably advise the PCs how to solve a particular puzzle without ruining it.

Long and short of it, prep this module waaaaay in advance. Take time to read and understand every mechanic as it will make your life easier as a DM



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2017 09:47:40

After running/playing this module, you can tell Greg Marks wrote this. This was a great module, but I feel that the replayablity of it is limited due to the nature of the rooms as it would be hard not to megagame it. I was glad I actually played it first before DMing it is my only recommendation I would offer to the DMs (if you can).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Walter G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2017 17:01:52

Puzzle oriented game, depending on the party, it can be boring. I really like this module but the maps are not detailled enough and not available in JPEG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items