Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 44
3 46
1 9
0 1
0 2
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:19:32

A Thousand Tiny Deaths is a very flexible mod, with potential to be a pointed welcome to dungeon delves for newer players or a monstrously oppressive needle-filled challenge for the more deserving.

I do find that, run strictly as-written, character deaths are very likely without a clever idea on how to address the titular environmental hazard. Most of my groups do come up with a creative way to avoid said hazard, however, which lets the dungeon play out as a smooth, interesting, and fun series of encounters culminating in a boss fight with great potential for roleplay, hilarity, and tension.

Definitely a big fan, though some DM intervention is required to keep it fun for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 01:27:15

I remember the players reaction when they saw a flying kobold... "they can fly??" (cue fireball) "it did what!!"

The players and I really enjoyed running this module and we had a lot of fun RPing the kobolds and finding creative ways to deal with all of the traps found throughout the cave. My personal favorite part was the cave in, which the players continued to argue about how they were going to get through the closed off area. Another fun part is all of the alchemy (especially the skunk kobolds :D ) and inginuity of the kobolds in this module! Overall great ride 4/5!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Benjamin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 10:17:50

A good little adventure, it's a good reminder that kobolds aren't just cannon fodder thrown at PC's to level up, they are foes that should not be underestimated. This module can be particularly deadly for players who think it'll be an easygoing dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 06:30:30

Module infamous for its nasty surprise, but the rest is not necessarily remarkable. But the aforementioned surprise is itself worth the price of entry, and has created several stories at many tables in my D&D community, stories that have been traded across said tables.

As many have mentioned Kobold communities beg to be played with a mixture of humour and viciousness, and in the hands of a flexible, RP-capable DM, the NPCs can really shine both in combat and out, creating very exciting tone switches as well as transitions between the various pillars of play (exploration, combat, roleplay)...not many AL modules do this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:29:19

Solid T1. Season 6 modules have the reputation on being deadly, and for a slow or low HP party this will deliver. I would recommend adapting to your party for all S6 modules - they can be killer



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:12:50

Was a fairly solid Tier 1 adventure. Not to hard not to easy. Can't go wrong fighting goblins and kobolds and the rewards are solid. Also enjoy the fact that it leads into Forge of Fury as a sort of alternate intro scene. Gives the players a chance to level up before entering Forge.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:04:20

Its my boy Travy!

Season 6 was up and down, 1 lame epic, 1 amazing epic, and 1 epic that almost no one got to play but if you did... oh the carnage.

This module was a nice shot of energy after the meh dungeon crawls in TotYP it was fun, made players think and if they wanted to hit things they hit back and hard. I permadeaded a character with vengeful dice rolls but they all still had fun so that says something. Not alot of interest in season 6 mods but if a player asked I would run it again! -DM Ace



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Devin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 22:53:02

Definitely free to play as humorous kolbolds. A good dungeon crawl for 2nd-3rd level characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 21:25:15

Fun little adventure for 1tier character, features a kobold dungeon crawl with some cool variations inencounters



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by THOMAS S W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2017 13:05:31

nice set up. we enjoyed the adventure. as a dm i really liked how they could choose which path they wanted to goto first.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2017 09:50:46

This one is great for long-time players - it really made them respect kobolds again (especially after the first fight, as the attitude went from "Meh, just some kobolds" to "AAAGH! THE KOBOLDS!"). The final fight can turn very deadly very quick, so it's important to guage the players and how well you as a DM think they can handle a tough fight with their available resources. But it made a nice segue between dungeon crawls from TftYP.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2017 09:10:52

So as a DM i am noticing since POA that the first adventure is extremely deadly. In this case a mage with the ability to cast Fireball. Now oridinaryly I wouldnt have an issue with it but when you are playing with new players to d&d it would make sense to give them an adventure that is not so deadly as an introduction to d&d



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:51:35

Fun little adventure. I DM'ed it for my first time ever, and it went swimmingly. The Kobold inventors and potions are hilarious and awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 12:02:10

A good, short dungeon crawl with a strong tie to another adventure (Forge of Fury) that makes that other adventure more interesting.

Pros: Requires some problem-solving from the players -- if they try to barrel through, it will go... poorly. Makes good use of the new wacky kobolds from Volo's Guide (but it includes those statblocks, too). Solid permanent magic item at the end that is nevertheless repulsive.

Cons: Can be an absolute murder-fest, depending on the DM and party composition. "Da Door Sealer" is cool, but some guidance on what the kobolds do after it's triggered would've been useful. Sik'garuk has the potential to one-shot the entire party in a single turn through no fault of their own, so... watch out for that.

Our Experience: Our party included a kobold bard with good interpersonal skills who disguised herself as a Sourscale and infiltrated the warren. This was kinda uncharted territory, as far as the adventure's concerned, but it's such a corner-case situation that I don't blame the author.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 11:20:09

The adventure itself is easy to run with a little prep. However at times it can feel disjointed when trying to run a fluid adventure. As has been stated in other comments you really do need to adjust the adventure to the party level, as it can wipe a party quickly if you don't. Overall my party had fun with it, and enjoyed that as first timers there was actually a decent reward at the end. Though honestly I would have to think about running it for a level 1 APL again, as even adjusting it was difficult for the party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 102 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items