Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 43
2 34
0 8
0 1
0 1
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2017 14:05:37

This adventure runs really hot and cold. While the rewards and gameplay are interesting and can be very fun to play, the adventure is pretty poorly organized and is a bit of a trial to DM.

The hooks aren't quite strong enough to grab the typical pick-up group, leading to a mid-game detour through the backdrop village to find the plot again.

The core dungeon crawl is super exciting and very mechanically interesting, but suffers a bit from out-of-order side-bar syndrome in the adventure text, making it hard to find the interesting bits burred in the box text; when totally up the rewards for Adventure League, i realized i had simply not offered about half the treasure, because i couldn't find them in the DM text when the characters were exploring that room.

the early combat is a bit too easy even for first time low level characters, but the final boss fight can easily wipe even an experienced meta-gaming party at the top of the level cap; while there is a good progression from 1-round kobalds to death-knight sorcerers, but ramping up from too easy through too hard doesn't make for a balanced combat experience.

if you do plan to buy and run this, take the time to annotate the included map with notes on encounters and treasure, and be prepared to adjust the difficulty on the fly, because its all too easy to lose track of things in the shuffle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 15:08:58

The final boss can wipe a party if he acts even roughly intelligently (read: actually casts his good spells). Fairly sloppy in that regard. The adventure isn't terrible however.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2017 07:04:38

Honestly this isn't a favourite adventure. The entire crawl basically needs to be run in initiative due to the constant attacks by the kobolds, which ends up making ita slog.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alain P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2017 19:02:45

After having the opportunity to play this 1st and then run it multiple times later (on Roll20), I can say that the difficulty level is a little higher than most Tier 1 mods, but is still manageable. That being said, the enhanced danger level made it more compelling for the groups I was involved in (both playing and DMing) and I found the players were still able to roleplay in the in-between moments of the dungeon crawl leading up to the boss battle. Run time has varied for me from 2 hours exact to 3hr and 45 minutes (This group wanted to RP the heck out of it and it was grand!)

From the initial ambush to the trap placement, I enjoyed the structure and pacing of the encounters as it created a bang of an opening, followed by a slow burn as the group delves further into the kobold lair and then reaches a climax during the finale. I found the final encounter to be close to that sliver of a perfect spot where there has to be real potential of risk, but not an overwhelming battle. If the suggestions for modifying the encounters based on APL are followed and the combat notes are looked at, I believe that the battles are balanced and fun. Overall, a nicely done mod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2017 21:19:00

Pretty straight forward. The title of the mod should be a big tip of what is to come. Play it the wrong way and there could be health issues for the party. Not much conversation with nps in this one, but if you like two hours of combat stress then this is the one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2017 03:03:21

Super fun adventure especially for new players and DMs.lots of combat, traps and some decision making for the players. Great for those who like lots of action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2017 09:35:16

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e) is my favorite Tier 1 module to run at my LGS. The module is fun, well-paced, and provides new players an opportunity to learn some great lessons for future play. The end battle is epic and well thought out. The module gives a great challenge to new and old players alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 23:34:54

This is a fairly combat heavy and trap heavy adventure. It can be a litle difficult to convince the party to go into the golblin cave (where the majority of the adventure takes place). The multiple fireballs against the party can be a bit rough for Tier 1. There is almost zero social interaction so it can drag for the players who are looking forward to that type of a game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Virginia L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 18:29:46

This adventure was my favorite from Season 6 by far (sorry Robert, sorry Greg!)

It was a fantastic way to teach people to joy of a well played death and the fun of a mini-dungeon crawl. I ran this countless times at the game store and at conventions and got so much enthusiastic feedback from players that "THIS IS HOW D&D SHOULD BE!!"

Plus, come on, who doesn't love to hate on the little kobolds.

A+, would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by minh a. p. h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 23:18:09

Had a lot of fun with this one, and I ended up DMing it with no prep (adventure calls)! The way it was organized made this extremely easy to pickup and run, and my players had a blast. The layout of the adventure and the various encounters made for a very organic experience. The final encounter can be brutal, but my players were on the edge of their seat, and I'd never seen a player so ecstatic about dealing the final blow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 19:18:05

This adventure is really a love note to Kobolds and something like this for the other Season 6 'chapters' of the Tales from the Yawning Portal hardcover would have been nice for the other Tiers of play. If you love traps and kobolds, this adventure is for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 09:05:58

I felt that this module had a nice combination of traps and combat, and it was a really nice hook into Forge of Fury. I think the final combat (tier 1 fireball) is a little difficult for a group of level 1-4 characters, as that can just completely wipe almost every party that would get there. Despite that, I think it's a fun module and provides a nice reason for the characters to enter the Forge of Fury.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jay M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2017 13:15:07

This is a great way to either introduce people to D&D for the first time or as a nice liitle hook into Forge of Fury. I highly recommend it. Has a little bit of everything from traps to fighting. Also great for a first time DM as it hits on several different mechanics of the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 18:34:19

The writing has some issues and the layout is deeply flawed, but overall the module is pretty solid. Anyone familiar with DDAL modules, and Adventurer's League play in general, will already know that the module is highly linear and relies on players "just going with" the hooks as written. As such, comparing to other DDAL modules exclusively, this one is solid and manages to be a little more interesting and inspired than most.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2017 06:31:41

I was quite looking forward to the module.

Hoping there would be some movement in story towards "The Yawning Portal" in Waterdeep and thinking that's what the season was geared towards, I was let down, because it was a straight up, mini dungeon crawl with a bunch of kobolds. It took quite a while to set up the adventure and had dynamics in traps and hidden tunnels, that could have been thought out a lot better. No inginuity for the cavern layout. I think they tried to just copy Lost Mines of Phandlever because that was popular and gave it a twist. Which really doesn't work.

I ran the game with new players, and by the end of it, I really hadn't enjoyed DMing it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items