Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 48
4 49
1 9
0 1
0 2
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank v. d. Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 08:19:11

A thousand tiny deaths really gives you the vermin feel that Kobolds are. It also supplies wonderful scenarios in which their silly inventions actually work. It gives players a look at the new Kobolds in Volo's guilde which bring some inventions of their own (Scorpion on a stick and some flasks).

Its great fun running this a as a DM. I will advice to look up Blasingdell in Tales of the Yawning portal. Furthermore you can also find information in Forge of Fury on the shute in the end.

The downside of the adventure is the wording on the "wall kobolds" and the fact that they can become deadly. The final scene can be a hard fight as well. But to bring that kobold boss to life is just a pleasure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 03:22:57

The module is beautiful. It lets new DMS explore how monsteres use diffremt tactics nad how they can effect the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 17:53:43

Excellent introductory adventure if you're planning on running the Forge of Fury. Provides a good alternative to the standard entry methods into the dungeon. Unique gameplay and challenge forcing a party to use different tactics than just charging in and killing as players are prone to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2018 16:12:49

This is a great adventure and a perfect tie into Ruins of Khundrakar for Season 6. As a Player I was in a party of mostly 1st level characters, and it gave us a TPK, so it is extremely tough if you have a semi devious DM. As a Dungeon Master I love how this Author took Kobolds and made them EXTREMELY deadly and EXTREMELY devious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Carole O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 21:12:48

My players loved this adventure, especially all the quirky kobold "inventions". The scorpion on a stick almost drew blood from the players over who would take it (for the remainder of the adventure). It's too bad the flavor of that item wasn't added to a permanent magical item at the end.

My only criticism is that the guidance for the kobolds moving after the alarm is tripped is confusing. The first room is supposed to be empty, with kobolds in the walls, but also kobolds move to that room after the alarm. I had the moving kobolds ambush the party there. How the kobols moved in the walls was also a little unclear, and I would have appreciated a little more clear guidance on that aspect as well with advice as to how players can interact with the wall-bolds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 09:49:27

This was a fun module, and a good segue into into Forge of Fury. Crappy kobolds that wreck players is always fun. Good learning oportunity to teach players about holding their actions too ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 17:47:08

This is a fun adaptation of Tucker's Kobolds, and well worth running your players through.

The first encounter can be surprisingly deadly, so be ready to scale it on the fly if needed.

There's not much story to be found here, so RPers at your table may be reduced to crawling through tunnels or eating things they shouldn't to keep themselves entertained, but there's plenty of combat for the players who crave that.

Some of the specific mechanics can be confusing, so it's worth reading through a few extra times before you hit the table.

All in all, a good and deadly module that will keep your players on their toes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:19:32

A Thousand Tiny Deaths is a very flexible mod, with potential to be a pointed welcome to dungeon delves for newer players or a monstrously oppressive needle-filled challenge for the more deserving.

I do find that, run strictly as-written, character deaths are very likely without a clever idea on how to address the titular environmental hazard. Most of my groups do come up with a creative way to avoid said hazard, however, which lets the dungeon play out as a smooth, interesting, and fun series of encounters culminating in a boss fight with great potential for roleplay, hilarity, and tension.

Definitely a big fan, though some DM intervention is required to keep it fun for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 01:27:15

I remember the players reaction when they saw a flying kobold... "they can fly??" (cue fireball) "it did what!!"

The players and I really enjoyed running this module and we had a lot of fun RPing the kobolds and finding creative ways to deal with all of the traps found throughout the cave. My personal favorite part was the cave in, which the players continued to argue about how they were going to get through the closed off area. Another fun part is all of the alchemy (especially the skunk kobolds :D ) and inginuity of the kobolds in this module! Overall great ride 4/5!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Benjamin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 10:17:50

A good little adventure, it's a good reminder that kobolds aren't just cannon fodder thrown at PC's to level up, they are foes that should not be underestimated. This module can be particularly deadly for players who think it'll be an easygoing dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 06:30:30

Module infamous for its nasty surprise, but the rest is not necessarily remarkable. But the aforementioned surprise is itself worth the price of entry, and has created several stories at many tables in my D&D community, stories that have been traded across said tables.

As many have mentioned Kobold communities beg to be played with a mixture of humour and viciousness, and in the hands of a flexible, RP-capable DM, the NPCs can really shine both in combat and out, creating very exciting tone switches as well as transitions between the various pillars of play (exploration, combat, roleplay)...not many AL modules do this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:29:19

Solid T1. Season 6 modules have the reputation on being deadly, and for a slow or low HP party this will deliver. I would recommend adapting to your party for all S6 modules - they can be killer



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:12:50

Was a fairly solid Tier 1 adventure. Not to hard not to easy. Can't go wrong fighting goblins and kobolds and the rewards are solid. Also enjoy the fact that it leads into Forge of Fury as a sort of alternate intro scene. Gives the players a chance to level up before entering Forge.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:04:20

Its my boy Travy!

Season 6 was up and down, 1 lame epic, 1 amazing epic, and 1 epic that almost no one got to play but if you did... oh the carnage.

This module was a nice shot of energy after the meh dungeon crawls in TotYP it was fun, made players think and if they wanted to hit things they hit back and hard. I permadeaded a character with vengeful dice rolls but they all still had fun so that says something. Not alot of interest in season 6 mods but if a player asked I would run it again! -DM Ace



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Devin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 22:53:02

Definitely free to play as humorous kolbolds. A good dungeon crawl for 2nd-3rd level characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 109 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items