Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion $4.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 9
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Click to view
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 20:31:05

This review is a long time coming. I have to say that this module is one of the best formatted modules I've seen. There are so many nice touches. For instance... it tells you how many of each type of miniature you need at the end of each section. Beyond that, the story is well written and quite challenging for the players. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ariel I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 01:44:04

Greatly enjoyed playing this as an 8-hour mod but ran it as a 4-hour mod (and I love that it has that flexibility). I'm honestly not sure which version I had more fun with. My favorite part is seeing how the characters cope with the unexpected puzzle presented at the end. :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adrian A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 12:29:45

This is a well done mod. The maps are well made and I really love the cover art. For me, I like to have good art. The format is nice as well. I like that the moster stats and maps are present in the encounter rather than at the end of the advneture. This is a throw back from 4e that I'm dissapointed didn't make it over to 5th edition. Having written a ccc mod myself I can say that the format given to use is cumbersome. I find myself struggling with the paragraph breaks and indentations that seem to have a mind of their own. The software created by the author of this mod eliminated all that. Its a shame that type of creativity is not allowed in the creation of CCCs. Play wise, the mod is very challenging and engaging. Its a good buy for 4.99.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vilma S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 12:11:47

The story is really good, the heavy combat setting was very liked by my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2017 13:45:22

This is a long adventure. It was pretty fun, but is pretty combat heavy. There are a few chances for role play, but not very many. It can be difficult for the party to know that they can talk to people, rescure people, or other interactions. If your characters do not have good boat building skills or sailing skills, the DM may need to improvise.

It is fun, but a lot of work for a +2 Shortsword.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carson E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2017 15:55:23

Although I have not had the pleasure of yet running this mod, just a readthrough has me very excited to run it. The organization makes the mod very easy to navigate, with each chapter containing everything you need in that chapter. Yes, this means you no longer have to flip to monster stat blocks at the end, and then back to the chapter to remember their tactics. As a bonus, if you run this mod digitally, it uses hypertext, so you can click on the names of the characters/locations, and it'll jump you to their descriptions. The rewards are also helpfully pre-calculated for you.

The mod also provides flexibility, allowing you to run it in four hours or eight hours. Whichever way, it provides detailed guidelines on how to run it, while still maintaining the story.

As for the actual content, the story evolves nicely, with interesting and detailed NPCs. What stands out the most, however, are the combats. Each one has twists to it, preventing them from becoming the "attack until dead" combats that are a little bit too common in other mods. Also included are detailed tactics for the enemies, simplifying the combats for DMs.

Would highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark J P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2017 13:39:45

Gameplay

I had the opportunity to play this module at FarWest in April 2017 with the module writer as the DM. If run as expected, this module provided a challenging set of combats. I played a bladesinger, but me and the other casters eventually expended all our spell slots to keep fights manageable. We felt pressed without it feeling like we were getting slaughtered. It managed to callback to the elemental evil cults activity that Season 2 was all about, but I won't say more to avoid spoilers.

Finally, this module is based out of Mulmaster so if you're looking for another opportunity to earn levels with the Cloaks, you can gain it here.

Organization

As someone who DMs a lot, this module's organization makes far more sense. Each chapter is a self-contained unit of: story pages, DM notes, combat summary, combat map, combatant stats. Everything you need to run that chapter is there - no more flipping to the back to find a map, then flipping 8 more pages to find the monster stats. When you are done running the chapter, you can set aside all those pages and move on to the next set of pages.

This organization takes into account the way modules are actually run and I would encourage both AL admins (who probably aren't reading this), and all other CCC module writers to reconsider how they organize their chapters.

Value

By far, this purchase provides excellent value for the price you pay. Here's a catalogue:

  • You start with 8 hours of content (with the option to run it in 4), which is double or quadruple the content many other CCC mods offer.
  • There is a full set of maps (.jpg format) separate from the module PDF for individual printing or use on Roll20, Fantasy Grounds, or other online gameplay
  • Speaking of Fantasy Grounds, this purchase includes a .mod file for that
  • Story Award sheet with 3 per sheet for quick printing to hand out to players
  • DM Cribsheet to easily digest and/or checklist the milestones as you read and run through the model

Summary

To summarize, as a purchaser, this offers fantastic value and supporting assets to run IRL and online. As a DM, this is organized sensibly for running the module with helpful pages to cue your running of the module. As a player, the content is challenging and beefy (4-8 hours).

Buy this mod!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Voltaire A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 12:49:57

I feel like it's a really fun adventure. There are a number of interesting encounters that don't just boil down to, "throw the monsters at the players." The extra wrinkles of secondary objectives and environmental hazards are an interesting addition, though obviously that depends on the quality of the DM as well. I do feel that the structure isn't perfect. The first half is fast and tight, though a little light on narrative. It's action packed and fun. But I wasn't sure that the flow into the second half was seamless and the exploratory nature of the second half made it feel slightly uneven. A solid adventure, though it being 8 hours long makes it a bit prohibitive to schedule.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by vasilie c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 13:02:08

This is one of those adventures that starts innocently enough, but as it progresses the PCs begin to realize that there are deeper and darker things going on.

The story is really good and is a nice departure from the typical "cultists" and "dead god/ancient demon is coming back" that fill the pages of so many tier 2 adventures from AL.

The organization of the adventure is the best I've seen in AL. In fact, it even tells you what figurines you need if you use minis (and how many of each!).

Overall, I can't recommend this highly enough. It is one of my favorite Tier 2 adventures to run. The only drawback is the 8 hour runtime! You'll need some good amoun of time to properly execute this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-SFBAY-01-01 Plots in Motion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2017 09:25:14

This module is it interesting and well organized. There are typos, but they are mostly cosmetic in nature. The story itself is linear, but good. Good encounter variety, and difficulty scaling is more than just an afterthought. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items