Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
The Haunt $3.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 16
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Haunt
Click to view
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2017 10:39:53

This Halloween one off was fantastic, like really great! Not only that but from a technical point of view the guide itself was perfect. Laid out every step for me so I had very little prep to do. I feel spoiled now because I am looking at my "Out of The Abyss" book and I am really irritated and disapointed how vauge it is and that it is not laid out like this one off was. Thanks a bunch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2017 12:51:27

I ran this adventure yesterday as a Halloween spin-off for our group. It went very well and was on-point for what we needed; theme-appropriate and a bit spooky. I especially like the way that the encounters are set up in a way that (repeatedly) have the adventurers walking straight into the trouble. They never fully learned the lesson partly because it was usually a different character each time who was doing something and the others who had gotten 'got' before were silently waiting to watch something bad happen to them too. The highlight was when they entered the library. I honestly thought reading through this encounter that it would be an obvious trap; I have to describe a burned down library with the only thing standing being a cloak on a hanger. I thought for sure that would put them on alert, but the first they said was 'Ooo, magic cloak' and sent the wizard to identify it. The cloaker then proceeded to eat his head.

All in all this is a great adventure for two reasons; it is spooky and fun both, and also it is fertile ground. By that I mean that it is relatively easily to customize to make it fit your game better.

A few suggestions, but not really issues that I would be remiss not to bring up;

  1. The map is not really suited for tactical play. My players and I really enjoy tactical play, so I took the map and sized it to print out so that it would be fit for miniatures. The map looked awesome and was super cool, but it brought up some things such as it was obviously not made/drawn for the express purpose to work on the grid. The map has a grid on it, but there are a lot of 'half squares' and other bits that just don't quite fit the grid right and thuse prompted questions by players if it was a valid space they could move in. Also, playing through in this way meant that the 'secret doors' were not really a secret at all. The secret doors, on the map, are just like all the other doors but with a dot in the middle; no way really to hide the fact that there is a door there if you're playing it on a grid. Not a huge issue, just worth pointing out.
  2. The basement puzzle is a little... convuluted. I get the sequential number puzzle, I just think it's a bit odd. It screams 'made to be a puzzle' wheras the scenario itself seems to be made to be a more natural scene.
  3. 40% chance for the doll to show up in any one room was suprisingly rare for my playthrough. I would highly suggest instead of making it completely random, make sure it happens a few times. For one, the bit on the first floor where someone has to stay by the griffon statue and pull it to switch the random doors; this is made so that the party has to split up. Well, if your group is like mine and leaves only a single person on either side; that is an awesome time for have the doll show up. Besides that, I would probably suggest definitely using it in the first room they check on the second floor.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mats Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 07:21:36

Incredible adventure that was perfect for my group, I just had to scale it to fit a little bit better to the overpowered rogue we have.

I had spooky music and sound effets at the ready that really turned up the atmosphere. Will definitely play this with more groups around halloween



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you so much, we really do appreciate the feedback and the love. It reviews like this that keep the creative fires burning! Warm regards PB
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2017 14:32:35

Ran this over the weekend. Highly recommended!!! We did use the youtube videos another user recommended for some amibant spookyness and it was great. Time seems accurate, took about 6 hours and we kept it light, had dinner and conversation. I will admit my group had some "specialized" weapons so combact was a bit easy and faster for them, but the passeing was great, the puzzels were just enough. I am going to "dumb" it down a bit to run with my kids (6 and 9).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, thanks for the review Amy! We are super glad that you and your courageous band of adventurers enjoyed it! Be sure to check out our other titles. Regards PB
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rob T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2017 01:14:13

Well I feel I must review/pimp THE HAUNT. Even though Gwydion and I coded it (for Fantasy Grounds), we both ran parties through it as well, both his video and my video can be found on youtube. It's an excellent 4 hour adventure that is scary as hell for players. Especially if you can pull off sounds with music and SFX. Complete with haunted mansion, and hags, and spiders, and evil dolls, and earthquakes, and all kindsa shit! This would be ESPECIALLY GREAT for Halloween. Awesome to run, awesome to play...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2017 03:28:13

Set the lights low, put on some spooky music and be ready for a frightful treat! Great adventure to throw at your PCs. Solve the puzzles, kill the crazy haunted doll with fire and escape the damn house before it's too late! It's a rollercoaster ride through hell!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Braydon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2017 22:17:28

Worth every cent, my players had an absolute blast!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2017 18:31:54

Had a ton of fun running it and I think my players had a good time playing it. Some devious tricks lead to tactical play and breaking the first rule of RPGs. This module probably works best as a one shot for a few reasons I won't spoil here, but it's a great way to spend 4-5 hours gaming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 11:28:14

so just finished this one as my first time DMing as a one shot. It was a blast. Had a party of 5, including one gus trying D&D for the first time.

I found it easy to follow along and track. Thematic descriptions well written to create a tense feeling for the party and actually had them afraid to go into certain places. Managed to kill all original characters, one desintergrated and the test crushed to death. Leaving a rush in as on player to be the last alive

Had a load of fun running this one, lots of story and challenges pretty good overall



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2017 10:03:40

Setup

The Adventure is written for characters between level 4-5. It’s built intending the Milestone system of character advancement. This means that the characters need to accomplish specific goals in order to level up. The standard rules for experience gain are applicable, if the DM is more comfortable with that. A small party of 4th level characters is going to struggle with some of these encounters, and they could up victims of the house. A larger party, or more experienced characters aren’t going to struggle as hard.

There are a variety of reasonable adventure hooks to draw a party to the mansion itself, and once they’ve entered the building, the spooky starts to ratchet up quickly. This adventures plays on traditional horror story ideas and methods to provide both atmosphere and challenge. There are some rough encounters banging around in this house, and it’s staged so that characters will have to make tough decisions to move forward.

The Adventure

This adventure does a wonderful job of establishing the spooky atmosphere with vivid descriptions and some very cleverly thought out setting elements. As we expect with creepy old mansions, there are hidden passages, multiple floors, and a host of other comfortably expectable elements. There are spooky traps, hauntings, undead guardians, and a host of other fantastically appropriate challenges for a party to encounter on their way to trying to solve the mystery of what happened here, and to keep it from happening again.

The Aftermath

THe adventurers will either find the source of the haunting itself and overcome the challenge or succumb to its horror. There are a couple of lingering plot elements that will have an outcome on the adventure depending on how the characters handle their business. There’s a high likelihood that the adventurers will have to run for their lives at least once at the conclusion of this adventure.

What I like about this adventure

This adventure takes everything that’s fun about a horror movie and extrapolates it into functional game mechanics. The adventure is atmospheric (and the author has a wonderful bit of advice on setting the scene appropriately for the players with music, lighting, and some props), and it feels scary. The author has also done an excellent job of laying out the creepy setting elements and the combat encounters. DMs are going to need to read through the adventure a couple of times to get all of the moving parts straight, but they are wonderfully constructed. Treasure is clearly identified (with one exception), and the adventure does include a copy of the map you can lay out for the players. The monsters have clear tactical plans laid out and suggestions for how they are going to behave during combat.

Issues with the adventure

I only have a couple of issues with this adventure, and they are relatively minor. First, the maps that are included don’t have a scale listed, so i’m not sure if they are a 1 square equals five feet, or if it’s another measurement. The other issue that i have is that some of the loot featured on the final boss has no explanation of how it works or what value it has. Personally, i would have liked to see the Author give a rough time frame for how long he expected the adventure to take, but my rationale for that is that it’s a trend that others in the community are including with their adventures. I suspect that if you’re a fast playing group, you could finish this adventure in a single four hour setting, but i think it probably plays better if you stretch it out to two four hour sessions. Some of the recurring elements seem like they’d do better with two sessions.

Conclusions The Haunt is an atmospheric horror adventure that is full of extremely engaging setting elements and appropriate encounter choices. Nothing feels out of place or jarring to the senses. From start to finish, this feel like an interactive horror movie. It’s well paced and with the little bit of preparation you’d need (mostly grabbing monster stats out of the Monster Manual) you can very easily run this adventure. The two minor issues i saw in this do not distract from the very fun adventure presented.

I give this adventure 5 stars, and i enjoy Mr. Beckwith’s work. I am interested in perusing more of his work and i will likely be spending more time on DM’s Guild checking out P.B. Publishing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Larry D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2017 16:15:33

Ran this as a one-shot with my group as an interim adventure (because not everyone in the group was present) - two 5th level characters and two 4th level characters (+ an NPC from current adventure) who leveled up midway through.

Everyone had fun, and the group was sufficiently challenged. One character hit 0 hp but was healed, and several others were dinged up pretty significantly. The background was well thought out, and the overall story has a solid, creepy vibe to it.

I ran the night hag a little differently than suggested - the Sleep spell wouldn't have been effective, so I cast Create Undead first. Ghouls managed to paralyze half the party at one point, and it got a little dicey if it hadn't been a crit from the druid and a lesser restoration spell to save a party member.

Worth the money. A couple editing errors, but nothing major. Good artwork, and clever puzzles - especially the one that split up the party.

Nice job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by matthew g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2017 00:59:18

We had a wonderful session with this adventure. a little more comedy than i had expected out of my PC's. worth the money!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2017 11:52:16

A very good adventure. The author manages to capture the flavor of horror very well. Full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tony P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:49:45

Wonderfully spooky, atmospheric haunted house with plenty of thrills, chills and spills. I have a full review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2017 02:13:04

I loved a couple of the encounters on the ground floor, they were very atmospheric and defintely will be enjoable for my players :)

Obviously a lot of time has gone into the writting of this adventure and it is definitely worth the $1.95 asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items