Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 28
0 14
2 5
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2017 16:51:40

Epic finish and I loved it, but this adventure is near impossible to finish in 4 hours without either cutting out a huge segment (kidnapping/rescue dungeon crawl), or eliminating most of the town role play and just forcing your players to systemically roll all the rolls for Siege Points. If you let your characters actually ... roleplay ... or complete everything in the module, you'll find yourself rushing through the epic end fight in order to finish playing in alloted time. Obviousy, this ONLY matters if you are playing in an enviornment where there is a time crunch.

This module is super cool, just horribly timed. Not sure what group play tested this, but they sure as heck didn't consider a lot of players try to talk to NPCs, delibirate actions with each other, etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 14:14:34

I ran this adventure with 6 players at one table. We were able to complete the adventure in 5 hours. It will challenge your DM to pick the best section in Part 2 that will be best suited for his or her group of adventures. I wasn't able to complete all the tasks in Part 2 because of the time limit (which sucked). I do wish that the mod will tell you what and when to use the maps given and when to use your own. Overall I loved SKT hardcover and I was able to transition into this mod seamlessly. Highly recommend this if you like big battle scenes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 19:53:50

Season 5 is pretty great for Tier 1 top to bottom, but this is the best of the bunch. It's time to face Bad Fruul at last.

Pros: Cool mechanical bit that abstracts the PCs' preparations for Bad Fruul's arrival and makes them central to Parnast's survival. Multiple paths to "success," in that it's up to the players where to put their effort in said preparations. Challenging final encounter for most parties in which they finally face the Fruul himself. It's not all building walls and training the militia -- there's also the opportunity, though not the requirement, to get involved in a couple side-quests. If you've played through the previous Tier 1 adventures in the series, this one makes all that seem even more worthwhile by calling back to nearly every one of them in a meaningful way.

Cons: Unless the DM and players make the effort to add color to the siege preparations, it's just a bunch of skill rolls. Obviously everyone should be adding color all the time anyway, but the point is that building up the resource pools doesn't generate fiction -- only numerical results. There's a lot for the PCs to do and lots of choices for them to make, but the flipside is that they may feel directionless -- especially where Chandra Stol is concerned. This is a minor point, but it's possible for both Bad Fruul and his mount to be the same size creatures, which... doesn't work, riding-a-mount-wise. That time Jay Africa shouted "Let's get Parnast-y!" upon Bad Fruul's arrival.

My Experiences: Having played it once and run it once, I'll say that they were pretty consistent experiences. That is, my experience as a player gave me certain expectations for how it'd go when I ran it, and those expectations were met. So from my admittedly limited perspective, it produces pretty consistent results. It's not one of those adventures like, I dunno, The Executioner, which can vary wildly with each playthrough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JEAN-DANIEL P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 08:03:20

Fun adventure that serves as a very clear conclusion to the Season 5 Tier 1 adventures. Everything the players have done so far have lead them to this point and now they must protect their village. The design of the final encounter with the various options for reducing the threat based on their preparations was great, although I've found that as they'd been very successful in their prep they were able to ignore most of the final encounters and focus all their ressources on the boss, making for a much easier encounter than it should have been. Slight disappointment for me as a DM but to be fair, the players were very happy with that, and that's what counts right?

Also the suggestions on how to run this as a mini-epic was a marvelous idea. I know groups ran this in my area but I was unfortunately unable to attend that event. I wish other modules were built with this option in mind, especially for any module that concludes a Season's tier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 16:50:39

This is a fun adventure. It says that the game can go 4 hours, but I have run it three times and usually goes a little over 2 hours. This module gives a chance for PCs who have played the earlier T1 adventures to cash in on their exploits and Story Awards. New players, especially level 1, will have plenty to do, but may be overwhelmed by the fights. This adventure also has the option to be ran as a mini epic for up to three tables (or allow your PCs to be epic by completing 3 tables worth of stuff). The adventure opens a little roughly with a red-herring, but removing or replacing this encounter is fairly easy. The rest of the adventure is way open - allowing players to shrine and be very creative. A new DM could be overwhelmed or a table of new players may need some direction - so it is advised to maybe find a path you would like to run the characters threw. This module is also very versatile. It can be run as almost a purely RP game with one fight at the end or their could be tons of battles, including a dungeon. Highly recommended to buy and run many times.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lorinda H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2017 13:33:06

I really wanted to like this module, given the good reviews. There are some neat things here, but I ran into enough cons that I can't rate it higher than a 3.

Cons: -it runs much longer than the stated 4 hours; we've met for 2 2-1/2 hour sessions and have yet to finish -No page numbers. This is very annoying with a module this long -several of the monsters that appear in the encounters do not have stat blocks in the appendix (goblins, orc war cheif, orog, etc.) I did not discover this until we were in the middle of playing. -In one encounter, the scaling sidebar (to adjust for party strength) tells you to remove the mammoth for a certain party strength, but the text of the encounter says the mammoth cannot be removed -In the seige section, when explaining how to use points and when to use them in relation to the scaling/adjustment sidebar, the text consistently tells the reader to see the sidebar "below" when the sidebar is actually above the text. -The ability checks at the beginning of the module can get boring; this is especially true if the party splits to try and cover more territory. (I was running a single table of 4 players) -The adventure is complex enough, a time table and flowchart would have been very helpful



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2017 12:17:40

This module was a fantastic ending to the Tier 1 storyline for this season. All of the interactive components were incredibly interesting and, although difficult to maneuver around, were instrumental to the module. I also think the opportunities for all character types to shine was fantastic, as that sometimes doesn't happen in the AL mods. Finally, the combats were intense and challenging, but very rewarding. Overall, a fantastic module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2017 06:25:23

Okay, so I might get some flak for what i'm about to say. This module is a 9/10 on the Frek-balls scale for challenge if you have a party of ANYTHING under level 4 and haven't done half of this seasons content! I was fortunate enough to have a fairly kind GM who gave us the module for face value in a party of level 3's and 4's who only did a few of the adventures for this season. Going into the adventure is simple enough at the start, get resources to stop a Giant's army from raining terror and wanton destruction on this tiny little town. as the preperations go well there is a fog of not knowing when he'll strike, so you better be prepared for a loooooong fight!

Pros

  • Tons of fun
  • Epic final battle
  • Good reward at the end
  • Can be run as a multi-table adventure (much to my satisfaction!)

Cons

  • Can run much longer than intended
  • If you are not level 4, prepare to have you're world rocked
  • You need to do most/all the season 5 adventures to have a decent chance at survival


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bradley D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2017 10:13:27

Myself and my players really enjoyed this module and was a perfect end to the Tier 1 Season 5 story line. As many others have said depending on the # of players in the party and average party level really makes a difference once the siege starts. My group was close to TPK multiple times due to some bad rolls on their part, and really good on mine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 15:50:49

This is a suitable conclusion to the tier 1 storyline for season 5. The structure encourages creative solutions to prepare the town for the coming fight, thoughit also allows players to stick to the basics if they wish. The siege portion can be tough depending on how well the characters manage their resources.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2017 23:55:49

Vert fun but also dificult module, and has rules in it for running the module with two tables. I highly recomend this adventure for anyone who wants to know what it is like to dm or play in an epic, since this is as close as you will get without going to one. Running all of the tier 1 modules and finishing with this one feels like a better start to the storm kings thunder hard cover than playing through the great upheaval, it takes longer but builds up a better role play and gives the players a better feel for the urgency of the situation at hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:26:28

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 1,275-1,700

The Season 5 Hardcover (Storm King's Thunder) is an amazing sandbox that spans the entire northwest Swordcoast. Unlike seasons 1-3 these storyline modules actually occur in the same area and mesh well with the hardcover. This is the first season to include the digial certificate for permanent magic items.

Before running any Season 5 module, you should download the following content from DMSGUILD and read it fully:

  • Season 5 Narrative: Parnast, Stagwick, & Beregost Sadly this was released only AFTER the season was over :(

  • A Guide to the Factions of Faerun Lots of Faction stuff in Season 5, so your players should be engaged with the Faction they've chosen.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derek G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 11:04:58

Fun Adventure to run, Make sure to read through it fully or it will run over the 4 hour time frame. If not at a convention this can be a fun long adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by james a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:36:22

I ran this module for a group of 5 3rd level characters. I found this had a little bit of everything for them as some were more combat oriented but again, the others wanter more storytelling and RP. I enjoyed the way they organised the town defences as it gives everyone a chance to use what they are good at to help out. Also, a nice big fight at the end and a bunch of XP (well, for tier 1 anyways) and a great ,magic item. Thought provoking, challenging and just rewards make this a great module for experienced plays or newbies. Great mod!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:02:03

Very good to have a module with a different structure to usual. This one makes quite a good finale to the teir one story line. It can be summed up quite simply as lots of role playing followed by lots of fighting. It also has links to several of the modules earlier in the season and the capacity to be used as a mini-epic. Its not perfect but makes up for it with uniqueness and strategy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items