Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 35
1 19
2 5
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jude M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:29:12

This is a fantastic ending to the T1 Giants stories; deadly and fun. As everybody else has mentioned, basically every character needs to be level 4. Also, if your group isn't into the roleplay aspect, they're not going to make it through the final fights in one piece. Honestly, I ran it for 5 level 4 characters who accumulated enough siege points to kill the first three waves outright and they still nearly got wiped in the 4th round; when I played, my group fought the goblins and took out waves 2 and 3 (thanks to finding the Orc caves), and we were very experienced players who almost got taken out.

Make sure your group has at least a couple of tanks and some healing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 19:06:47

Is it possible to get more than 5 stars? Read my review:

http://www.wizardslaboratory.com/review-of-ddal05-16-parnast-under-seige/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 17:44:48

This adventure really has a lot of things going on in it with preparing for the impending army led by Bad Fruul. It takes a bit more preparation to run this well and the number of options involved in fortifying Parnast can be overwhelming to some players. If pulled off right and managed well (and there are a lot of things to manage!), especially if it is run as an epic-like multi-table adventure, this can easily feel like one of the most epic tier 1 adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brandon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 22:28:05

This module is fun to run and has a great set of opportunities for roleplaying as the adventurers recruit allies to the fight, and combat as they face down the hordes of Bad Fruul. Although the arc of the adventure is fun, and the urgency of completing preparations within an unclear time window is fun, the adventure is tough to run and the concept of siege points is tough to follow. It is often unclear how many and what kind of siege points to award for certain objectives, and the sections concerning siege points are spread out and in different fonts, making it tough to find sometime. Section 2 should end with a table that indicates what events the players completed and how many points they get and of what kind. My version would be:

Defend in Parnast or old parnast - 5 or 10 fortification points, advantage on training or fortification checks, respectively

Fortify town - X Fortification points

Train villagers - X Training points

Scout environs - X Scouting points

Feed orcs false info - 5 Scouting points

Chandra survives and is in town at start of siege - 5 training points

Hope Gralm keeps his word - 5 scouting points or Convince gralm to help - less than DC15: 5 scouting points, DC between 15-20: 10 scouting points, DC above 20: 20 scouting points. There are also no rules for gralm aiding in the final battle

Persuade the fey - DC less than 5: nothing, DC between 5-9: blassios joins, DC between 10-14: Blassios and 2 sprites join, DC between 15-19: blassios and five sprites join + 5 scouting? points, DC between 20-24: blassios, oblivillish (no stats) and 10 sprites join + 10 scouting? points, DC over 24: blassios, thornacious, oblivillish, and twenty sprites + 15 scouting? pioints



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 03:17:26

This review is mostly from a DM's perspective.

As a module, it is fairly coherent to run, but I have some issues with the module as written.

1) None of the pages are numbered. I prepared the module from the PDF, so I didn't notice until running it. Page numbers are really important to keeping things straight--especially given the amount of back and forth that needs to be done during Parts 2 and 3. I suggest numbering your copy--by hand if necessary.

2) Several monsters are missing from the monster section at the end (including an entire non-optional encounter). Specifically, a DM will need to have stats for an Orog, Orc War Chief, Goblin, Goblin Boss, and Wolf. Those are all in the Monster Manual, at least. The module also calls for an orc scout which is neither specified in the MM nor is it in the module. I ran them using the provided orc spy stat block.

3) The module doesn't offer much to help clarify why the characters would want to accumulate any of the 3 kinds of siege points. Given the way that they can spend points in Part 4, I suggest telling them that fortifications will help with "fodder", training will help the citizen "focus on dangerous foes", and that scouting will help keep you informed of the "monstrous creatures" that Fruul has accumulated. That will give enough context so that they can have some agency without giving too much away.

4) This module is quite long. I ran it with a table of 7 experienced players and it still ran over 6 hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 06:34:42

This is a great module, but a bit tricky to run. It it runnable as a mini epic and thus is challenging for just 1 table. However the prep in the beginning of the mod is a lot of fun for my players and the big battle at the end is a ton of fun to run with experianced players, it seems tricky for people who might have trouble keeping track of resources. Solid end of a story arc



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by mark t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 21:46:05

this is a fun module, but at times the logistics steeing upwere a little daunting. I recommend if you are DMing it to read it at least twice. Very fun for the players



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:20:01

I love this module!!!!!! So much going for it, first off I am a self hating DM I love tables of 7 and spliting groups and multiple things going on at once, its exhausting and chaotic but I do my best DMing that way. This one is so all over the place, everything a t1 module could be! If the party does split I recommend having them sit in their new groups and jumping from one group to the other leaving the group with a "talk about what you want to do next" then come back to them in 3 minutes. So much fun! And I am dying to run it as a micro epic! Want to DM this again! -DM Ace



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kal G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 16:55:52

Ran this for a group of 7 players. One player dies about an hour in and had to come back as a level 1 character. Even with that everyone had a great time. I made my party decide before the siege begane how they would spend all of the siege points without letting them know how many rounds there would be and it helped the siege run smoothly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:51:01

This was an amazing addition to season 5 of AL play, and the mini-epic option proved to be worth running this again at our local game store.

In both instances, the players were hard pressed, and in fact failed to finish within the 4-hour time slot. Fortunately, we were playing at a store level, and not at a convention, so time was not such a factor. However, for those planning to run this at a convention, be aware that it seems to run longer.

The point system for successes on preparations against the imminent attack was quite useful, especially when using visual tokens for those points. As those points then dwindled away during the final attack, players had to start worrying about how much to spend and when, adding a distinct level of anxiety (which was fantastic)!

I definitely recommend this module, and if possible, the chance to run it as a mini-epic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jude F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2018 18:12:42

This is a great introductory adventure for D&D and also ties into SKT's storyline quite well. I highly recommend this module to new DMs and players alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Julia D. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2017 21:34:42

I've run this adventure with two groups of players -- one that's combat-oriented and one that's roleplay-oriented -- and both groups had a great time. The combat group had plenty of encounters to make them happy, while the roleplay group had opportunities for negotiation and deception. The roleplay group also had a couple of players who were intent on setting up particular traps around Old Parnast, which they were able to put to good use during the final battle. Creative players should be able to find aspects of the adventure suited to their skills, even if they have not been through other adventures in season 5.

Since this adventure is particularly reliant on preparation and anticipation, I recommend running it for experienced 4th-level players. Less-experienced players will probably need guidance in what kinds of training they can offer or what options they have early in the adventure, and low-level players may need coaching so they don't end up dead during the tough set of encounters at the end of the adventure.

With the combat-oriented party, we finished just within 4 hours. With the roleplay-oriented party, we took about 5 hours to finish.

The main problem I ran into with this adventure was with the missing stat blocks. Orc war chiefs, orc scouts, and orogs are all mentioned in the text or adjustment blocks but are not in the appendix. It would be nice if this could be fixed so DMs with a weak party won't need to haul out their MM in the middle of the adventure. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed running this adventure with both groups of players and am curious to see how a third group is going to tackle it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2017 16:51:40

Epic finish and I loved it, but this adventure is near impossible to finish in 4 hours without either cutting out a huge segment (kidnapping/rescue dungeon crawl), or eliminating most of the town role play and just forcing your players to systemically roll all the rolls for Siege Points. If you let your characters actually ... roleplay ... or complete everything in the module, you'll find yourself rushing through the epic end fight in order to finish playing in alloted time. Obviousy, this ONLY matters if you are playing in an enviornment where there is a time crunch.

This module is super cool, just horribly timed. Not sure what group play tested this, but they sure as heck didn't consider a lot of players try to talk to NPCs, delibirate actions with each other, etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 14:14:34

I ran this adventure with 6 players at one table. We were able to complete the adventure in 5 hours. It will challenge your DM to pick the best section in Part 2 that will be best suited for his or her group of adventures. I wasn't able to complete all the tasks in Part 2 because of the time limit (which sucked). I do wish that the mod will tell you what and when to use the maps given and when to use your own. Overall I loved SKT hardcover and I was able to transition into this mod seamlessly. Highly recommend this if you like big battle scenes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 19:53:50

Season 5 is pretty great for Tier 1 top to bottom, but this is the best of the bunch. It's time to face Bad Fruul at last.

Pros: Cool mechanical bit that abstracts the PCs' preparations for Bad Fruul's arrival and makes them central to Parnast's survival. Multiple paths to "success," in that it's up to the players where to put their effort in said preparations. Challenging final encounter for most parties in which they finally face the Fruul himself. It's not all building walls and training the militia -- there's also the opportunity, though not the requirement, to get involved in a couple side-quests. If you've played through the previous Tier 1 adventures in the series, this one makes all that seem even more worthwhile by calling back to nearly every one of them in a meaningful way.

Cons: Unless the DM and players make the effort to add color to the siege preparations, it's just a bunch of skill rolls. Obviously everyone should be adding color all the time anyway, but the point is that building up the resource pools doesn't generate fiction -- only numerical results. There's a lot for the PCs to do and lots of choices for them to make, but the flipside is that they may feel directionless -- especially where Chandra Stol is concerned. This is a minor point, but it's possible for both Bad Fruul and his mount to be the same size creatures, which... doesn't work, riding-a-mount-wise. That time Jay Africa shouted "Let's get Parnast-y!" upon Bad Fruul's arrival.

My Experiences: Having played it once and run it once, I'll say that they were pretty consistent experiences. That is, my experience as a player gave me certain expectations for how it'd go when I ran it, and those expectations were met. So from my admittedly limited perspective, it produces pretty consistent results. It's not one of those adventures like, I dunno, The Executioner, which can vary wildly with each playthrough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back