Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 22
0 10
2 3
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derek G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 11:04:58

Fun Adventure to run, Make sure to read through it fully or it will run over the 4 hour time frame. If not at a convention this can be a fun long adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by james a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:36:22

I ran this module for a group of 5 3rd level characters. I found this had a little bit of everything for them as some were more combat oriented but again, the others wanter more storytelling and RP. I enjoyed the way they organised the town defences as it gives everyone a chance to use what they are good at to help out. Also, a nice big fight at the end and a bunch of XP (well, for tier 1 anyways) and a great ,magic item. Thought provoking, challenging and just rewards make this a great module for experienced plays or newbies. Great mod!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:02:03

Very good to have a module with a different structure to usual. This one makes quite a good finale to the teir one story line. It can be summed up quite simply as lots of role playing followed by lots of fighting. It also has links to several of the modules earlier in the season and the capacity to be used as a mini-epic. Its not perfect but makes up for it with uniqueness and strategy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gaetan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 02:28:56

This is a finale to the season and needs to be treated that way. You really want to run this with a party at level 3 or 4. This is a very dangerous adventure, TPKs are very possible.

Pros:

  • Relevant hooks connecting back to the whole season. My PCs had only played some of the season adventures, but they really appreciated that their actions had meaning.
  • Varied and interesting combat. Later waves of enemies are well-organized and intelligent. There's a lot of flexibility in how these encounters play out.
  • Good sub-plots and meaningful character interactions with the NPCs.
  • Flavorful story awards.

Cons:

  • It's long, 4 hours is tough. We took 8, doing it in 4 requires a very disciplined, experienced table.
  • What the heck happened with the font? The printout of this adventure is really hard to read. But there seems to be no author interest in fixing it.

Note that the adventure is at least 4 combats. If the do the Night Raid and Spine Rippers encounters, you're talking about 6-8 combat encounters. That's on top of the significant NPC interactions. This is a lot of adventure for your dollar.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Curtis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2017 08:26:38

Fun adventure but really stuggled to run it in 4 hrs. Have done it both as one table and as a group of tables with similar results. The "training" points are very clunky and didn't seem to work well. Also, this adventure seems almost like a death trap for many adventurers. I have killed SO MANY characters because there is just too much going on at such a low level.

I think it is a great idea and I would like to see more like it, but I think this one missed the mark just a bit.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 21:43:16

"Parnast Under Siege" is best played by a group that has already completed one or more of the Storm King's Thunder adventures and is optimized for a multiple table event. Also, take serious the recommendation that this is designed for lvl 4 characters. Lower level characters, especially those without any prior connections to the storyline in Parnast, will have a very hard time.

Because of the scope of the siege, there are some new metagame mechanics introduced that involve accumulating "fortification", "scouting", and "training" points during the few days prior to Bad Fruul's arrival. These points can then be spent in different was to reduce the strength of the waves of attackers and to gain short rests between waves. It can be challenging for players to understand the impact of the various "points" until the final siege, which can result in frustration as they make decisions on how to spend the limited amount of time available before the siege begins. These mechanics also minimize the effect of any roleplay that occurs and encourages players to avoid roleplay in favor of playing this new metagame.

There are also a large number of ways that characters' prior experience in other Parnast adventure can adjust the overall adventure.

All of these factors make this a complicated adventure to run. A novice DM or inexperienced players would be wise to attempt another, simpler adventure.

There are several interesting and challenging combat encounters, but it is hard to do justice to them within the time constraints of a 4 hour play session.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2017 22:04:46

The whole idea of a seige is pretty great, and seems to work well. DMs who are running this should read the suggested level and pay attention to it - characters below L4 will have a lot of trouble here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sammy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2017 18:30:34

Great adventure with plenty of prep for adventurers to make it feel like they are having a truly dynamic impact of the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2017 10:50:48

This is easily the most epic of all the Tier 1 modules to-date, and not just because it can be run as a mini-epic. The way the Tier 1 modules worked out for this season, they beg to be run in succession, and this is a great capstone to the event. There's a lot here, and I mean a lot. The challenge for the DM is to be economical and adhere to the mantra, "You cannot do everything as written" with this adventure. For example, while the Spineripper Den is a solid sub-plot encounter, you have to leave it out unless you are running this as a multi-table mini-epic. There's just not enough time, and the rest of the story requires the PCs focus their attentions elsewhere. Everything should be focused on preparing for the big battle and protecting your charge.

The great things is these two plot threads alone will keep your party very busy and engaged. The mechanics are very well thought out and can be adjudicated fairly quickly whilst giving the DM and the PCs plenty of room to be creative and clever. It also creates great moments to tie back into previous Tier 1 modules, making the consequences from those adventures important and real for the table. It's really cool when you have a table who has played the previous content together - it ties a neat bow on things. As the DM, you may just need to give a gentle hint to think about how those previous modules might play a role in their current situation.

My biggest gripe, and that of many other DM's, is the townfolk attrition rules for the final battle waves. It really penalizes weak and very weak parties, and it becomes a non-issue for most strong and very strong parties. It also does not help that the instructions for adjudicating it (when you remove monsters, calculating whether the party did well enough or not) are not clearly written. It took me several readings and consulting with fellow DMs to firmly grasp it. I know most DMs just ignore this mechanic for both of these reasons.

I also have to say, in my experience it's pretty difficult for the average party to not have collected enough points to make the final wave battles extremely manageable. I recommend that DMs consider cutting back on the number of allowable skill checks (usually 2 per PC per day) based on party size and strength - large very strong and strong parties can easily collect a wealth of points, limiting the epic nature of the final battle with Bad Fruul. I have run this module twice, and in both cases my party easily weathered the final battle section.

So if you are well-prepared, approach this module with the mindset of being flexible and adjusting some of the mechanics on the fly, this can quickly become an AL highlight for your PCs. In my mind, that makes this one of my favorite Tier 1 modules to run - it's a true mini-sandbox and a big departure from your standard DDAL rails experience. It has earned a permanent spot in my AL DM toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:26:35

Run this as a mini-epic, 3 tables! It is basically designed to be run that way, but running it for a single larger party, I say larger, as the first time I played it, there was only 3 of us. We barely survived as we had a well balanced party of Druid, Ranger and Paladin.

There are optional small quests or missions before the invasion of Parnast. There are plenty of options asl well to help the town and the townsfolk prepare for the final battle. This is a great adventure to be run at a convetion or a multi-table game store event.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2017 01:17:21

This is a unique module in that it can be run as a mini-epic. In fact it was seemed to be designed as such thus it is recommended you do so in order to fully appreciate it. I ran this for a three-person party of tier 1s and I had no choice but to cut out the part of the cave encounters in order to make it finish within the recommended 4 hours. The mechanices of the final encounter with Bad Fruul's siege was fun as it showed some tangible rewards from the PCs' efforts. The whole storyline for the Tier 1 quests though seemed a bit disjointed with this module doing its best to patch it up together into something coherent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2017 12:14:42

I had a lot of fun with this one. I ran at a CON, not knowing it could be played as an EPIC. Well, two of my party members were first timers to test the gameplay of 5e. They wanted to do their own thing and split the party. After the rest of the table decided they couldo as they wished, it became an adventure for me. 5 members of the party continued on to main storyline, 2 stayed behind to fortify the town.

While the party did not finish the mod in time, the split actually ended up helping more than hurting on final battle.

If you ever have the chance to run it as a solo DM EPIC, I suggest plenty of water and headache medicine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by ROBERT F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2017 13:09:23

This adventure, as the culmination of the tier 1 SKT adventures, is designed to be meant to be run as a convention module. The constant use of ability checks in order to accomplish various tasks can be quite tedious but is required due to the complexity of the module. Note that this module is quite difficult and if you're not running it with a full table/multiple tables will unfortunately require the aid of NPCs to help them as the final confrontation (with 4 5-6 CR opponents plus mooks) will be too much to handle if they fail the preparation checks required to buff the towns defenses.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2017 09:15:36

As the culmination of the tier 1 story line I loved it, the background was able to touch on almost every tier 1 adventure as each adventure build upon the last. My players loved that thier sacrifices (loss of camels to save a staute), Upsetting the prince , even the struggles between the leaders of Parnast all had consequences for the story. If you are looking for an just a one off adventure this is not for you. The story in this adventure finishes the tale started in "The Black Road".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2017 17:05:09

A great end to the Season 5 Story line! If you have the players, running as a mini epic with 3 tables at once is grand. The lead DM has to do some work, as the rules provided are only bare bones to run as a mulit table game. It can be deadly but hard won battles are the best right?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items