Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 20
0 7
1 1
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sammy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2017 18:30:34

Great adventure with plenty of prep for adventurers to make it feel like they are having a truly dynamic impact of the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2017 10:50:48

This is easily the most epic of all the Tier 1 modules to-date, and not just because it can be run as a mini-epic. The way the Tier 1 modules worked out for this season, they beg to be run in succession, and this is a great capstone to the event. There's a lot here, and I mean a lot. The challenge for the DM is to be economical and adhere to the mantra, "You cannot do everything as written" with this adventure. For example, while the Spineripper Den is a solid sub-plot encounter, you have to leave it out unless you are running this as a multi-table mini-epic. There's just not enough time, and the rest of the story requires the PCs focus their attentions elsewhere. Everything should be focused on preparing for the big battle and protecting your charge.

The great things is these two plot threads alone will keep your party very busy and engaged. The mechanics are very well thought out and can be adjudicated fairly quickly whilst giving the DM and the PCs plenty of room to be creative and clever. It also creates great moments to tie back into previous Tier 1 modules, making the consequences from those adventures important and real for the table. It's really cool when you have a table who has played the previous content together - it ties a neat bow on things. As the DM, you may just need to give a gentle hint to think about how those previous modules might play a role in their current situation.

My biggest gripe, and that of many other DM's, is the townfolk attrition rules for the final battle waves. It really penalizes weak and very weak parties, and it becomes a non-issue for most strong and very strong parties. It also does not help that the instructions for adjudicating it (when you remove monsters, calculating whether the party did well enough or not) are not clearly written. It took me several readings and consulting with fellow DMs to firmly grasp it. I know most DMs just ignore this mechanic for both of these reasons.

I also have to say, in my experience it's pretty difficult for the average party to not have collected enough points to make the final wave battles extremely manageable. I recommend that DMs consider cutting back on the number of allowable skill checks (usually 2 per PC per day) based on party size and strength - large very strong and strong parties can easily collect a wealth of points, limiting the epic nature of the final battle with Bad Fruul. I have run this module twice, and in both cases my party easily weathered the final battle section.

So if you are well-prepared, approach this module with the mindset of being flexible and adjusting some of the mechanics on the fly, this can quickly become an AL highlight for your PCs. In my mind, that makes this one of my favorite Tier 1 modules to run - it's a true mini-sandbox and a big departure from your standard DDAL rails experience. It has earned a permanent spot in my AL DM toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:26:35

Run this as a mini-epic, 3 tables! It is basically designed to be run that way, but running it for a single larger party, I say larger, as the first time I played it, there was only 3 of us. We barely survived as we had a well balanced party of Druid, Ranger and Paladin.

There are optional small quests or missions before the invasion of Parnast. There are plenty of options asl well to help the town and the townsfolk prepare for the final battle. This is a great adventure to be run at a convetion or a multi-table game store event.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2017 01:17:21

This is a unique module in that it can be run as a mini-epic. In fact it was seemed to be designed as such thus it is recommended you do so in order to fully appreciate it. I ran this for a three-person party of tier 1s and I had no choice but to cut out the part of the cave encounters in order to make it finish within the recommended 4 hours. The mechanices of the final encounter with Bad Fruul's siege was fun as it showed some tangible rewards from the PCs' efforts. The whole storyline for the Tier 1 quests though seemed a bit disjointed with this module doing its best to patch it up together into something coherent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2017 12:14:42

I had a lot of fun with this one. I ran at a CON, not knowing it could be played as an EPIC. Well, two of my party members were first timers to test the gameplay of 5e. They wanted to do their own thing and split the party. After the rest of the table decided they couldo as they wished, it became an adventure for me. 5 members of the party continued on to main storyline, 2 stayed behind to fortify the town.

While the party did not finish the mod in time, the split actually ended up helping more than hurting on final battle.

If you ever have the chance to run it as a solo DM EPIC, I suggest plenty of water and headache medicine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by ROBERT F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2017 13:09:23

This adventure, as the culmination of the tier 1 SKT adventures, is designed to be meant to be run as a convention module. The constant use of ability checks in order to accomplish various tasks can be quite tedious but is required due to the complexity of the module. Note that this module is quite difficult and if you're not running it with a full table/multiple tables will unfortunately require the aid of NPCs to help them as the final confrontation (with 4 5-6 CR opponents plus mooks) will be too much to handle if they fail the preparation checks required to buff the towns defenses.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2017 09:15:36

As the culmination of the tier 1 story line I loved it, the background was able to touch on almost every tier 1 adventure as each adventure build upon the last. My players loved that thier sacrifices (loss of camels to save a staute), Upsetting the prince , even the struggles between the leaders of Parnast all had consequences for the story. If you are looking for an just a one off adventure this is not for you. The story in this adventure finishes the tale started in "The Black Road".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2017 17:05:09

A great end to the Season 5 Story line! If you have the players, running as a mini epic with 3 tables at once is grand. The lead DM has to do some work, as the rules provided are only bare bones to run as a mulit table game. It can be deadly but hard won battles are the best right?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2017 14:30:02

Ran this game on roll20 and not with a multi table format. Firstly, multi table formats can be fun if you have the facilities! They can also be interesting as a one table experience. Plus its all highlighted and well edited where certain goals and events kick in for multiple tables. Good.

The maps are varied, with enough space, hiding spaces, obstacles and exploration on each map to make the encounters entertaining. Good

The story leads from previous modules (unsuprisingly) and in my game with a player who had previous played Giant Diplomacy this made the game a little more interesting for the table. The characters were fairly solid, and the NPCs were simple to roleplay. Nothing extraordinary. I particulary enjoyed the Etting encounter as a DM. "Shake my hand and seal the deal?" "No you'll kill 'em" "Okay pinky promise!"Good.

The challenge rating scales on a pretty steep curve. Going from simple, average to outright near impossible on the final stage. My players cried out for healing potions near the end, so make sure they stock up well before hand. Four waves of a hoard assault is demanding on any party. However it was very close battle and had they had access to the herbalist or trading post (which they do not) then they would have reached the end. I felt sorry for them because they were on the last wave, two characters down, and so they left to claim the XP and leave the big prizes. Good & Refreshing

Item Rewards over difficulty, the item rewards are decent. We have a magic item which has a high value for trade at any table, wizards may miss out because of the luxury of the item that does not require attunement either. The party I DMd for didn't get the prize but they had a handful of XP. Very Good

Length is generally how much time the DM and table are willing to invest. Its rare I can run a good or very good game under the time slot. Roll20 gives me a bit of time to access but shops will struggle and may need to break this into two sessions. My session lasted around 7 hours in one sitting Eeeek Fun though

Lots of good comments by the players, they didn't feel too robbed and the difficulty will make each adventure all the more satisfying.

There are much easier modules to run for new DMs but if you feel you are an experienced AL Module DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:55:59

Really wish I had the opportunity to run this as a multi-table event. Great mod.

Pros:

  • Structured and satisfying way for the players to get the town ready for invasion.
  • Offers a "kick-in-the-door" option for rescuing an NPC.
  • The seige / fort / training point mechanics were quite awesome.
  • Final encounter is pretty well scripted, can incorporate an NPC from a previous module.

Cons:

  • If the players are clever, they can game the point system to make the final encounter quite trivial.
  • For single table run-throughs, my six players earned FAR too many points and I gave them fewer days than suggested.

I had a tremendous amount of fun with this mod as a DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 18:46:00

A few problems with editing, but overall a good module. It can be VERY DEADLY for groups that haven't been playing the previous modules, but otherwise it's a really interesting set of encounters. The only thing I recommend is to read the adjustments very carefully, because depending on party composition and disposition they could run out of resourses before actually the final encounter. There are a lot of really good roleplaying opportunities as well, and it fleshes out parnast a bit more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Russ G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 16:25:35

There were a couple of formatting quirks and editing issues, but this was a great mod even so. It allows many chances for skill use, a couple of opportunities for early combat, and strategic resource management toward the end. I'd have loved the opportunity to run it as part of a mini-epic, but even with only one group it was a blast. Finally, the magic item is another that combines great utility with very interesting flavour.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 01:34:08

The mechanic with characters earning points to apply in the final battle was really cool. i believe this module is hard to keep to four hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Grigory P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 07:32:56

Very very good "mini-epic" adventure which I enjoyed running AND playing! Great job overall!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2017 14:40:37

A lot of new mechanics here, so DMs do need to perpare well ahead of running this adventure. Although a 4 hour adventure, it can easily take 6. Like most AL modules, it could use a little editing but is otherwise the most epic Tier 1 adventure I have ever read, well done!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items