Dungeon Masters Guild
Close
Close
Browse









Back
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 12
0 3
0 0
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Grigory P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 07:32:56

Very very good "mini-epic" adventure which I enjoyed running AND playing! Great job overall!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2017 14:40:37

A lot of new mechanics here, so DMs do need to perpare well ahead of running this adventure. Although a 4 hour adventure, it can easily take 6. Like most AL modules, it could use a little editing but is otherwise the most epic Tier 1 adventure I have ever read, well done!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marc G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2017 05:53:58

This was my first experience playing a module with multiple tables and it was fantastically fun. Some feedback if you're planning to run it:

  • The module runs longer than 4 hours. Even after the DM did a lot of narrative handwaving at the beginning to shorten the visit with SEER, it took our table 4.5 hours to complete the module.
  • Bad Fruul is one tough cookie. Of the three tables, two beat him and one suffered a TPK. This felt about right--you had a good chance of succeeding but faced real risk.
  • The siege points mechanic does a good job of abstracting events to keep things moving. Occasionally I felt like it robbed the players of agency. For example, I wanted to scatter caltrops during a battle, but the DM explained that was already factored into the siege preparation.
  • The need to manage resources fighting wave after wave heightened the dramatic tension.

tl;dr: We loved it, and Parnast Under Siege is a thrilling season capstone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2017 13:17:22

One: Amazing story and good finale to the Bad Fruul storyline. Two: whoever decided to go 3 table mini-epic was a genius.

Now usually in D&D you have RP, you have trappy/skill contest stuff, and you have some combat. There are almost always one at a time. Weaving together all 3 in one here was wonderful. Did task A well? Did task B well? Did task C well? Suceeded in previous adventures? Good, not enjoy auto-killing waves 1, 2, & 3, and half of wave 4 which you now have a massive ally for. Even with all but 2 enemies being slaughtered beforehand, the last 2 (Bad Fruul and mount) still but up a hell of a fight! We had 27 people + 3 DMs (including a few n00bs) and everyone loved it.

I may even consider re-running DDAL 5-2, 5-3, 5-10, 5-12 & 5-16 again to replay this amazing story arc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2017 01:29:57

Excellent way to wrap up the Parnast story. I love how all the different stories connect together, and how you can find characters from past mods to help with the defense. It almost has a "Seven Samurai" feel to it, or "Magnificent Seven" if westerns are more your style.

That said, I'd like a little more DM guidance on running it as a mini-epic. I love that we can do that, but some tips on table coordination, dividing up tasks and combat, and so on would be really useful, especially for players who've never been part of an epic before.

I also kind of feel that the Mud Mephits from "Beneath the Fetid Chelimber" could have joined the defenses too, but I don't know how much help they'd really be. So that's a really minor thing. I also had no idea sparing Kagrota Threeteeth was even an option, I've never once seen her left alive.

Definitely challenging combat, so it makes the players work for their win, which I'm totally good with. Really nice item drop as well.

Overall, nicely done, ties together and concludes everything in Parnast very well. (How do things go with Wallace and Elspeth after it's all said and done, though?)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paige M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 13:06:41

This is a great capstone for the tier 1 season.

Pros: It’s very fun for characters who have participated in other season 5 adventures to see that everything they have done has a chance to matter - whether it be through RP or mechanical purposes. The siege point mechanic makes it truly feel like everything the characters do in the module matters. Characters will feel like they have defeated an enemy that feels undefeatable. The option to run this as a mini-epic is fun and makes the end feel very exciting.

Cons: If you run this for a party who has not done certain season 5 adventures this has the potential to be brutal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2017 12:33:56

A fantasic conclusion to the Parnast modules. Full of challenge and great loot. What more could adventures want?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 10:28:24

I wish this was the standard for adventures. This is well written and very challenging. It gives the DM options on how to run the table and ties in other adventures that the players may have played without requring them to play them. Good time and well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 01:09:43

Because there were so many different adventures this season, I would have actually prefered to play this broken down by tiers rather than on a month to month basis with other content.

Once you put it all together, while much of the season has been light, the Siege is an excellent end to that storyline. I actually ENVY those who will be able to play Season 5 as a story across weeks rather than months, which really did it no favors as a season.

There are some different mechanics here, and you WILL need to have your own method of keeping track of points, which kind of points, and how those points may be used.

Naturally, my advice to you is to eliminate anything which is too complex, and perhaps add in a few surprizes of your own.

The rewards for completing all the steps in this tier and season are quite fun, and make it so everyone is quite deserving of the reputations they have built for themselves, and this mod acts as a capstone for tier 1. Just by existing, takes all of the other mods in the tier up a peg.

Further, it is easy to convert this to a mini-epic with just a bit of work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 17:24:38

Agreat end to the tier 1 season 5 adventures. Provided players with plenty of time to use their skills and improvise to prepare for the coming assault of Bad Frull. A lot of moving parts with the whole point system. Requires players to strategicaly use their points to win battles, while saving enough to prepare for what they know is more to come. Even with the point system the combat was still challenging. A great mod to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 16:43:55

The concept is a beautiful capstone to the tier 1 series of adventures for the season. It very nicely includes uses of story awards to recognize the accomplishments of characters that have been doing it all for Parnast.

The siege mechanics are pretty decent for getting ready before the battle, but could use some re-organization to make it easier on the DM. I would suggest first making sure players determine where to defend (Old Parnast vs New), then estimating timeline with the group Wisdom (Perception), then the basic fortification/training/scouting siege point checks summary, and finally outline the specific encounters that can happen during all the prep (Night Raid, orc scouts, spies, Spineripper Den, Gralm, fey, etc). There seemed to be a lot of repeated information in the fortification/training/scouting sections that could have been consolidated both for page length and DM prep. I very much enjoyed having players come up with uses for their skills to get ready, which does stymie many players as they are not used to this kind of playing, so I hope to see more of this kind of thing. I would also suggest adjusting the timeline of invasion based on the number of players. I ran a full table of 7 and they generated a metric ton of siege points, probably enough to bypass every wave if they wanted to (they didn't because they were making sure to have enough for the the end where they expected the toughest opponents).

Many other DMs have noted the somewhat confusing wording on how villagers are affected in each wave. I had to think it out a bit, but didn't find it overly confusing. However, it seems very easy to avoid villager casualties unless the group is very unlucky in their siege point rolls. It looks like in most waves, strong or very strong parties can not spend any points and still not have villagers die in this mechanic because their adjusted encounter adds more monsters.

This adventure has way more things in it to do than players will every deal with in 4 hours of play. The DM has to keep things moving briskly if in a timed slot environment. If you want a fun substitution in the waves to change things up, I highly suggest Nurtured Ones of Yurtrus in the Two Pronged Assault in place of the orcs. My players got very scared when the first one ran into their midst and exploded...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 13:57:28

Overall, this is an awesome module. I like how it leaves room for improvisational roleplay, where the players come up with ideas to use their skills and build their own characters into the sotry. It's unfortunately that a lot of players seem confused by this basic idea, suggesting to me that it needs to be done more often. Good roleplay, good combat.

Pacing... is very iffy. As a DM, I tend to run very fast, very snappy combat, and work hard to keep it that way. Despite that, I still struggled -- with a good group of players -- to run this in the proper time frame. There's a lot going on here. DMs are going to need to learn to keep things moving, and try to weave various components together.

Editing wise, there was a fair bit that could use improved clarity. A lot of DMs seem to read the exact same siege difficulty adjustment text and come up with completely different ways to intepret it, some of which are completely unfair to the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2017 19:26:17

This is great. A worthy conclusion to the Parnast saga that does a great job tying everything together and making the players feel empowered. There's a good healthy mix of combat, interaction, stealth, and just general open-ended problem-solving, and the final battle is harrying and intense and brings all the players' previous efforts into play.

It definitely runs best with a group that has done the other Parnast modules. Also, there's so much content in it that you can't possibly do it all in 4 hours! If you're not running it as a multi-table epic, there's definitely something to be said for extending the runtime. Oh, and it asks a lot of the DM! I would not recommend this one for an inexperienced DM! There's a lot of prep, and you still need to be able to think on your feet as well. I found it to be the most challenging mod I've run this season!

I also want to say that I really enjoyed roleplaying Bad Fruul's hyper-intelligence. During the battle, I had him do things like point out the players' tactical errors (while exploiting them), casually chat with the party warlock about how the thaumaturgical principles behind Eldritch Blast are so fundamentally similar to his own Magic Missile (which he then blasted the warlock with as a demonstration), and so on, and as sesquipedalian as I could manage. It was fun.

Anyway this mod is great. Kudos to the authors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Garrett R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2017 18:49:53

I ran a table of this at one of the conventions it premiered at, and it was probably the most fun I had all weekend. This adventure is a perfect capstone to the Tier 1 storyline from Season 5 of Adventurers League, the looming threat of Bad Fruul's monstrous army comes crashing down on the town of Parnast and only the PCs can stop it in its tracks. You can certainly run and enjoy this adventure on its own, but if you've run the previous adventures from this season (DDAL05-02 The Black Road, DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests, DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber, DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent, DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy, and DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast) you'll be better prepared, as Parnast Under Siege is filled with callbacks to the previous adventures. The players' previous accomplishments make things in this adventure harder or easier, and it adds to the feeling that this is a single coherent campaign as opposed to just a series of one-shot adventures.

The adventure is structured as a sort of Magnificent Seven kind of thing. The PCs spend the first half helping to fortify the town and training the townspeople, using whatever skills they're most proficient in. Simultaneously there are various side quests they can go on. The whole time this is happening they're building up points that will be used later on in the adventure to help with the actual defense of the town. Once the assault on the town starts the PCs will have to fight a series of battles against portions of the monsterous army, and they can strategically use the points they acquired to buy off some of the enemies, representing the work they'd previously accomplished paying off, i.e. the townspeople shooting some orcs with arrows, or pit traps they helped to dig trapping some of the larger enemies, etc. Eventually it all culminates in a final battle against Bad Fruul himself.

Another interesting aspect to this adventure is the way it can be split up and run as a sort of multi-table mini-epic. There's easily enough content to satisfy three tables worth of players, which allows you to go more in-depth into the various side quests, something that gets glossed over a bit if you're running the adventure as a single table, especially if you're ina 4 hour convention time slot.

There is one thing that should be kept in mind before diving in to the adventure though. Parnast Under Siege is the capstone to a series of tier 1 adventures, which means it was written assuming a table of 5 4th level characters. You can scale things back a bit to handle fewer players or lower level characters, but after a point it will stop working terribly well. The final battle of the adventure is against a spellcasting Hill Giant, this isn't the sort of thing a couple of level 1 characters are going to be able to do. If the DM fudges things so that the PCs manage to win despite their low level you risk losing credibility. If you alter the plot to have Bad Fruul die off screen or something you damage the plot that has been built up in the previous adventures, nobody wants to see the BBEG die off screen! Personally I'd recommend only running the adventure for level 3 and 4 PCs. A table of level 1 and 2 characters won't have nearly as much fun.

In conclusion, this is an awesome adventure. It's particularly cool if you've run a bunch of the content from the rest of the season, but it would still work without it, as long as you've got characters who are sufficiently strong to be able to appreciate it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2017 02:49:16

Thank god for this. This is an awesome finale to Season 5's Tier 1 adventures, in my opinion the best storyline and adventures in Season 5.

We did a "mini EPIC" with this and all 5 tables including a couple of new players really enjoyed this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items