Dungeon Masters Guild
Close
Close
Browse









Back
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 6
0 1
1 0
0 0
0 1
DDAL05-09 Durlag\'s Tomb (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:00:38

Normally my group does better with combat than with RP or puzzles, so I had some reservations as to how well this one was going to go. I was pleasently surprised how well it went. Fun in the beer room (the Sorcerer almost TPKed the group with lightning), set the stage for the rest of the tower's challenges to be taken seriously. Lava was easy for some (Monk can walk walls and Warlock has flying broom) and difficult for others (Sorcerer forgot about Hizagkuur and tried Misty Step). 2 Rogues in a room of treasure they know they aren't supposed to take lead to some rare RP moments (I was a member of this party for HoDQ and RoT, so I know how little we RP). For the Tablet, I was able to insert a quote from Dan Parkinson's Dwarven Nations Trilogy on the Dwarven view of the creation of the various races by the gods (spoiler: Dwarves are the apex of creation and favoured of Reorx). The final fight definately hit hard but the group, despite not being great at RP or puzzles, is really good at combat, so they hit back harder. All in all the 8h 5-08/5-09 pair was a well spent afternoon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2017 14:59:50

One of my favorites of the season! Tier 3 can see quite the explosion in power level for characters, but this dungeon does a great job of really challenging them. The lava room was by far my favorite, with the impending doom clock while wrestling with pesky devils as you try to time your actions just right with each other in order to unlock the next door. I haven't met a group yet that could get around that with little challenge.

The adventure has some excellent lore connections, and very challenging yet satisfying puzzle/trap/combat rooms for both DMs and players. Definitely run it just after DDAL5-08 for the full connection and immersion as you revisit Durlag's Tower from your Baldur's Gate video game days!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2017 23:14:52

Easily my favourite module I've run in Season 5.

While I see some people state that "oh it's a dungeon crawl", the way the dungeon was laid out was well done. The puzzles that were on each floor forced the party to think and try a variety of options at their disposal. The other important characteristic I find in dungeon crawls is the "impending doom" component to it, and the encounter with the horned devils in the lava room was EPIC on that. And it wasn't even the final encounter. That encounter alone really forced my party into a pickle and I didn't pull punches with them (they are seasoned DnD players). And speaking of the final encounter, I loved the difficulty of it. Again, forced the party to use as many of their resources as possible and ended up dropping a few PC's.

My only 2 complaints about this module:

1) something needs to be done about Leomund's Tiny Hut. If there is going to be the stipulation about not being able to use extra dimensional travel in the tower, like Misty Step or Teleport, then something should be done to include Leomund's Tiny Hut and effects similar to it. 2) I play in a game shop and even with cutting out the 4th Floor, I still ran 4 hours for it. There's a lot available for PC's even without Abathor's floor.

Overall though, definitely memorable and had the PC's on their toes for the evening. Well done! 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2017 21:12:13

Please see my comments in the 'discussion' section.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 14:03:07

While weak on plot, this is still one of my favorite modules this season. It gives DMs lots of agency and room to make the tower their 'own' by allowing us to insert our own traps where we feel appropriate. The combats are interesting on an environmental level, actually making CR2 opponents quite meaningful despite being Tier 3 amongst other things. Overall, I love the module. It could use some editing work -- most notably, the fact that the trap appendix is there for DMs to add their own traps isn't mentioned anywhere, making it seem like a wasted addendum. I had to go onto facebook to find that one out.

Honestly, the final fight is the weakest of the fights. The first fight is also kinda meh, but the middle two fights... oh, those are glorious, glorious things.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 11:50:42

I thought this was a great continuation to Durlag's Tower. I would recommend running Durlag's Tower & Durlag's Tomb back-to-back as you get a full sense of the story/plot. I loved the puzzles and skill challenges in every room as it was based on a theme and you had to really think on your feet. I really liked that if characters cast certain types of spells there was ramifications for it. I really enjoyed the history/lore piece that can be discovered near the end as well as the last encounter fight was challenging.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 20:21:26

Its a dungeon crawl, but quite a good one. One of the issues of splitting the teir 3 modules in two is that some modules feel like they are missing things. This one has very little hook as it is part 2, and very little role play, but it does have a good suite of traps, puzzled and monsters, all of which are what you want in a dungeon crawl. My only concern was that one of the traps was easily countered by magic items rather than roguish skills when it would have been more fun the other way.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 17:15:38

It was a nice change of pace to run an adventure with more puzzles and skill challenges than combat. The pacing was good with the mod taking aproximately four hours. The combat was well scaled as well with the horned devils providing an appropriate challenge to the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items