Dungeon Masters Guild
Find Category









Back
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 14
0 5
1 1
0 0
0 1
DDAL05-09 Durlag\'s Tomb (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2017 09:45:52

Got to run this at a convention, and played it twice. This was a lot of fun for everyone, and each time it was run, it had a different feel to it, as it allowed for multiple paths. The lead in to the follow-up module (DDAL05-10) was well done, and I definitely recommend playing one right after the other.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wait, part one was DDAL05-08...but you probably knew that...
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:23:59

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 10,125-13,290

The Season 5 Hardcover (Storm King's Thunder) is an amazing sandbox that spans the entire northwest Swordcoast. Unlike seasons 1-3 these storyline modules actually occur in the same area and mesh well with the hardcover. This is the first season to include the digial certificate for permanent magic items.

Before running any Season 5 module, you should download the following content from DMSGUILD and read it fully:

  • Season 5 Narrative: Parnast, Stagwick, & Beregost Sadly this was released only AFTER the season was over :(

  • A Guide to the Factions of Faerun Lots of Faction stuff in Season 5, so your players should be engaged with the Faction they've chosen.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2017 13:48:27

I liked this module, I thought it was well-written, well thought out, and well-executed. I just had some minor issues with visualization and maps. A lot of these encounters and puzzles had a lot to do with spacing, and some maps weren't present and/or were confusing (I'm looking at the gelatinous cube one specifically). Other than that, though I really enjoyed it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2017 12:44:11

Great dungeon crawl, even though it's linear. The author did a good job of challenging Tier 3 players, not by adding monsters, but by using the environment and puttinh time limits. Make sure the players pay attention to what SEER or Hsing says at teh beginning. This will save them some pain once inside.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2017 23:53:15

This was a really good mod that for some reason we finished in 2 and a half hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chloe S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 23:53:15

Durlag's Tomb is a good scenario for characters levels 11 to 15. It is the second part of a two-part series (the first part being Durlag's Tower), but can also be played as a stand-alone adventure if needed.

The introduction for the adventure is a nice change of pace from the dungeon crawl portion of the scenario. I found that SEER and Tsing are wonderful to roleplay. The problem is that if you played the first part and the party chose to continue on rather than report back, this part might cause a bit of a continuity issue. Skipping this part, on the other hand, might cause them to miss an important clue for one of the dungeon's puzzles.

Most of this dungeon is puzzle- and trap-laden, although there are also clues to some of the traps hidden on some of the floors. Of course, there are also monsters to fight. One of the encounters almost took out the entire party when I ran it; which was dangerous because of more of the monsters appear if they delay (for instance, if the group rests near it after a hard fight, only for more to appear).

The final encounter isn't too hard but still poses enough of a challenge to be fun. Also, the treasure in this scenario is worth it, particularly to warrior-type characters. The overall story of this is great, especially if combined with Durlag's Tower.

All in all, one of the better of the level 11-15 scenarios out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2017 01:04:37

Now if Durlag's Tower was a sandbox, you don't get any more linear than Durlag's Tomb. This is a straight-up classic dungeon crawl, with little to no RP social encounters and puzzles, and a greater emphasis on combat, traps, and do or die skill checks. And again, you also have that annoying special stone mechanic that makes your teleportation and planar travel wonky as hell. But I get the idea behind the design choices, because death traps and such are one of the few reliable ways of providing a possible challenge to high level parties.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2017 20:41:22

This multi-level dungeon run was a lot of fun! It balances a mix of traps, puzzles, and combat perfectly, giving high level PCs many different options for how to deal with each floor. There are some editing issues in the module that make some parts of it confusing. The statue descriptions are inconsistent and the maps of the dungeon aren't designed well for Baron Rajiram's simulacrum to move around very well. I ended up making the ceilings a bit taller, so that he could at least stand in here without being a cloud the whole time. Other than that, with some tailoring, this is a very fun module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2017 15:25:43

The content of this module is a solid 5 stars. The editing and cohesiveness of the instructions to run it get... 2 stars? Whole paragraphs from the third sublevel are pasted onto the page for the second.

The second level is a great trap, but the way it's described, I've seen 5 different DMs run it and none of them set the trap up in the same way. It creates good replayability, I suppose, but not in the way you wish it to...

The statues on every floor are a good bit of continuity, but there's some confusion on the first level as it assumes the party ran the first part of the adventure, so they know why everything is the way it is.

The final combat gives the DM a load of options to challenge any party composition. 3.75/5 stars



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 17:46:28

Durlag's Tomb, in sharp contrast to its predecessor "Durlag's Tower," is an absolutely amazing adventure. It is quite possibly a top 5 favorite of mine for D&D 5e AL-legal adventures. (Others include: Assault on Maerimydra, Reclamation of Phlan — season 4 epic, Curse of the Fire Witch — a chapter from Princes of the Apocalypse, and Flames of Kythorn.) Durlag's Tomb surprised me. I'm not normally a fan of trap-and-trick dungeon crawls. In most cases, give me something with hit points that I can hack and slash. But this one absolutely worked. And it posed enough peril to keep even the most savvy tier 3 players on their toes. SPOILERS AHEAD, YOU KNOW THE DRILL

Whereas with "Durlag's Tower," it was often unclear what we needed to do with our time. This adventure had pretty straightforward goal: Get to the bottom level and survive.

Part 1. The Grand Foyer. Not a huge fan of the shorn/hunter/delver/crafter puzzle, but consider that more last module than this module. However...

Sublevel 1. ...I really like the dwarven mythos being incorporated here. Now it all makes sense.

Sublevel 2. I cannot stress this enough: You really need to mention "smells and sounds" part of this level. Otherwise, your players will just be confused about what's going on here — and they need to know what they are dealing with. If the alcohol combusts, we're talking 18d10 fire damage. Gah! It's good to see (or not see, as the case may be) some gelatinous cubes. Always a fun monster.

Sublevel 3. This level is exciting, especially if your characters can't simply fly across the magma. The moving wall creates some urgency. 5 feet every 6 seconds is not slow. (The "Fun & Deathtraps" note is greatly appreciated.)

"No rest here. Keep going." It's a good challenge to deny the players a chance for a short rest. Some will push back against this, but it increases the tension of being trapped in the tomb.

Sublevel 4. Also, very fun. Characters that enjoy roleplaying (and not just rollplaying) will take to the avarice very well.

Sublevel 5. The massive tablet posed an interesting problem, which leads to a satisfying final battle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 18:36:16

This module is fantastic. It really requires a party to think about encounters differently, rather then just attempting to kill the enemies. One recommendation for DMs though is to emphasis the importance of the dwarven pantheon a little bit more, because by the end my players were slightly confused (I did run this on the second day of a convention though so that was also part of it).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 16:03:16

There are some solid traps here, and quite deadly if the party is not ready for Tier3 level of play. This mod continues it's prequle's journey into the Dwarven Pantheon, but I almost fear it will not stick, as it focuses on four different gods.

The mission plays well until the end fight- which tends to be either too easy, or too nasty, depending on the compsition of the party. The addition of the EE secret mission seems nonsensical, as thought it was forced into the mod.

While the author attempted to add flavor to the magic item, it is of too little practical value to make much of a splash on the play for the item, and a better secondary ability should have been chosen to keep this item away from Fai Chen's a bit longer.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Grigory P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 07:37:01

Pure joy. Room full of spirits. Devils that push people into lava. And everything else is really really good! Thumbs up for the author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:00:38

Normally my group does better with combat than with RP or puzzles, so I had some reservations as to how well this one was going to go. I was pleasently surprised how well it went. Fun in the beer room (the Sorcerer almost TPKed the group with lightning), set the stage for the rest of the tower's challenges to be taken seriously. Lava was easy for some (Monk can walk walls and Warlock has flying broom) and difficult for others (Sorcerer forgot about Hizagkuur and tried Misty Step). 2 Rogues in a room of treasure they know they aren't supposed to take lead to some rare RP moments (I was a member of this party for HoDQ and RoT, so I know how little we RP). For the Tablet, I was able to insert a quote from Dan Parkinson's Dwarven Nations Trilogy on the Dwarven view of the creation of the various races by the gods (spoiler: Dwarves are the apex of creation and favoured of Reorx). The final fight definately hit hard but the group, despite not being great at RP or puzzles, is really good at combat, so they hit back harder. All in all the 8h 5-08/5-09 pair was a well spent afternoon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-09 Durlag's Tomb (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2017 14:59:50

One of my favorites of the season! Tier 3 can see quite the explosion in power level for characters, but this dungeon does a great job of really challenging them. The lava room was by far my favorite, with the impending doom clock while wrestling with pesky devils as you try to time your actions just right with each other in order to unlock the next door. I haven't met a group yet that could get around that with little challenge.

The adventure has some excellent lore connections, and very challenging yet satisfying puzzle/trap/combat rooms for both DMs and players. Definitely run it just after DDAL5-08 for the full connection and immersion as you revisit Durlag's Tower from your Baldur's Gate video game days!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items