Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 15
2 13
0 4
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2017 01:06:27

A 2 hour adventure that is easy to run in that time. Though I don't care for the end of the module. I've played/run this several times, and only once did the party even consider getting out or had the resources/ abilities to get out without triggering the avalanche. So naturally there are tons of characters walking around that the frost giants all hate lol.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:42:44

Very railroading adventure... similar to adventues like DDAL 4-6 The Ghost, this adventures relies on random encounters to hit its exp qouta though I should point out the REs are more related this time around.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 20:14:39

This is an odd start to the second teir of the season. We learn about the problems giants are facing in the area and the problems they are causing, but the mission itself is a little too simple. The party must journey, then sneak in and rescue. This relies on random encounters en route and then the main art of the module can be down in several ways. A violent party can just wade in, while a stealthy party can do the sneaky way. That is the only real choice in the module. Otherwise its a "follow the train" story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2017 00:04:28

Excellent mod that's easy to run with many different options. I like that i can just throw more encounters in if I need to make it longer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 16:46:54

I really enjoyed this adventure, its not your average module the party has to take a more measured approach as running in swords blazing will result in disaster lol.

The encounters can be difficult for a group near the 5th level mark but at higher levels the party should be just fine.

On the whole a great adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:12:24

I had a blast running this adventure multiple times and helping a newer DM run this as one of their first modules as an Adventurer League DM, and I look forward to opportunities to run it many more times. This adventure offers multiple paths you can take, a colorful cast of NPCs, opportunities for some out-of-the-box strategies, and some cinematic-like endings. Time is short as you brave the frozen North to find the dwarven warriors, will you make it in time?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2017 10:19:00

It's very rare that you come across a module as well put together as this. It offers a dynamic, almost sandbox-ish story that has a real opportunity to get your players invested in what is going on around them. The obstacles presented in this story have a unique openness in how they can be handled. Often, the enemy they face is overwhelming, so the player have to out-think, or be selective in how they fight. This creates some truly dynamic encounters, and opens up great RP opportunities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 22:02:28

IF your party just wades in, they're gonna have a bad time. So I appreciate that this module makes the party think of another solution. Really experienced players can even find ways to make sure that they never enter combat and that's truly rare in a module.

The magic item is a huge hit for lots of different builds. This one is a solid 5/5 from me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:03:30

Ooh, I enjoyed running and playing this adventure. I enjoyed the various possible encounters included in the adventure because of the potential that the it will feel fresh every time you run it because of the encounters on the way to rescue the dwarves. It's a healthy mix of exploration and combat, though I feel in most sessions the social interaction with those dwarves can be shortchanged due to the lack of time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2017 20:13:11

A good adventure. The first T2 adventure for season 5. Part 1: A excellent set-up. The use of the SEER (primary story giver this season) and Emilia help drive the story. Faction assignments are very good. They show that each faction has its own agenda. Part 2: Traveling through cold mountains. Would recommend a blurb on Rangers and favorite terrain. Since the party is on a time crunch and distance to Birthright Stones is unknown add a level of difficulty, which is enjoyable. Picking random encounters are good, but can make it extremely easy or hard depending on what is roled. Random 1: Who doesn't like owlbears, especially snow owlbears. Standard combat. Random 2: Gricks can be fun, just not with me. Again standard combat. Random 3: Enter Remorhaz. This can be a rough at the recommended level (5 - 7th levels). Random 4: Good random terrain encounter with bad weather makes it almost impossible to avoid. Random 5: Another good random terrain. Random 6: As stated above, good terrain encounter. As with all the terrain, makes them subtract time from mission driven by time requirements. Part 3: Wow. Map is not needed here, even those that are provided. Excellent explaining the size of enemy camp. Limits the run in and fight everyone groups. The enemy camp activities should be stressed if possible. These give players a chance to come up with escape plans.
Part 4: This part gives the players time to role-play and the DM to stress the dire situation the dwarves are in. It also can be a huge waste of time if a player wants to role checks on the stone tablet, thinking the tablet is the key to escaping. Speaking of escaping, the avalanche seems to be the go to escape in my area, I think this hurts the adventure. Once it was done, cool snow surfing, next everyone chooses that escape (players talk to each other). The adventure is fun and exciting. Excellent 2 hours of game play. Just wish players wouldn't talk about the adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Asa H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2017 03:44:47

The first Teir 2 module of Season 5 helps reinforce the lessions some murderhobos are calcentrant to learn, "think before you act". DM's should take the advice of killing off a dwarf or two once the party arrives to reinforce the "Dire" situation. All of the options are fun resolutions even if requireing a bit of a suspension of disbelief. But meh, fun to play and fun to run!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2017 20:05:17

The intent of this adventure is pretty clear - to introduce characters to encounters involving overwhelming numbers of powerful creatures which are more easily stealthed around or outsmarted, rather than confronted directly (which would end very poorly for the PCs in the adventure). The rune tablet is an interesting bit for scholarly characters, but disappointingly there isn't much lore to be learned by anyone who goes through the effort of studying it. Although the options for getting the Dwarf Scouts out of the giant holy site are limited, the ones that are presented are fun and memorable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daron F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2017 14:44:25

A really fun module, but getting out of the site is kind of a shoehorn. I would have liked to see the latter parts of the adventure to be more structured.

Pros:

  • Satisfying to complete - you are ultimately trying to save a bunch of dwarves.
  • Final encounter can be fun (tobogans anyone?).

Cons:

  • The "wrestling" option was very awkward. I had a hard time accepting that the ogres would not wipe out the party (or subset of the party) doing this.
  • Why do the dwarves have to wait until the PCs get there to get out of the site with the suggested "plan"?

I would have liked to see a little more structure. The escape could have been either (1) you go with the dwarves plan and have the final encounter on the "sleds" or (2) the PCs have another creative way to get them out and the ogres launch an attack while they are preparing.

For (1) give suggestions on how the combat should play out while on the sleds, such as start with X opponents and add Y opponents every round for 3 rounds, or something like along those lines. Set the players up for thinking of creative ways to prevent the opponents from entering combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 19:38:23
A pretty interesting module. It's supposed to give a saving private ryan/ behind enemy lines feel, but it's harder to feel that way depending on your groups playstyle. Your group is used to being the center of attention, and as a DM I don't think you really want to take away from that, but some of the suggest encounters do just that. I think the next time I run this I am going to try and play up the other NPCs a bit better, to give the players more incentive to keep the dwarves alive.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 16:32:49

This was a good one, if a bit wonky in a couple spots. Nice to have a situation where the party had little choice but to avoid the brute force approach, and another where RP was heavily rewarded. And of course, any module where there's a degree of protection required as opposed to pure seek-and-destroy is quite welcome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items