Dungeon Masters Guild
Category









Back
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 19
2 16
0 5
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 20:02:18

This was the first module I ran and I am a bit concerned that the bar has been set so high. lol. This was so much fun to run, and really fun for my players. They are a think-outside-the-box kind of group and had a lot of fun with the enronomental factors. :). I felt that the NPCs were given good groundwork personalities (DMs flesh it out of course), and the random encounters were well varied and all were interesting.

I do have to say that my favorite thing in this module was rolling for the weather. lol. The sniper was on edge to see what that d4 read. Haha!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2017 06:45:13

This is an excellent adventure, it has the potential to run long, so be aware of that when running the first encounters. The only major issue is running the "3rd" option, it can be very confusing on how it is supposed to work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:32:27

Drop the reference to SEER, and this would be a great adventure to insert in any ongoing campaign. Most of the groups I've run through this used the same approach, but I suspect that groups who didn't limit themselves to the two hour timeline could have a great time with this adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2017 16:11:55

Fun and easy 2 hour module. Great MI and interesting quest.

One time I played this, the paladin climbed to the top of the mountain and (when signaled) started an avalanche and then snowboarded down to the base camp. Would do again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 23:04:25

Very interesting scenario that allows for some creative solutions. Main concern is that the run-time can definitely go long. Really enjoyed it overall though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 19:02:43

A well written adventure with an interesting story. However, I did not find it to be as organized as I would have liked. In addition, I had a hard time running the adventure in two hours. There is just too much explaining that needs to be done in order for the players to understand what they are up against. In addition to cramming in too many encounters. Having said that, the story was enjoyable and there are a couple of moments that will entertain any group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 21:48:08

I felt that this module was overall fun, and a great introduction to the Stagwick region. The introduction to SEER was great, and having a task was nice, but the random encounters felt tedious at times, becuase of the reliance on them for the experience gain. In addition, the orc tribe felt overwhelming as well, but was also an interesting challenge to overcome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:21:45

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 1,875-3,125

The Season 5 Hardcover (Storm King's Thunder) is an amazing sandbox that spans the entire northwest Swordcoast. Unlike seasons 1-3 these storyline modules actually occur in the same area and mesh well with the hardcover. This is the first season to include the digial certificate for permanent magic items.

Before running any Season 5 module, you should download the following content from DMSGUILD and read it fully:

  • Season 5 Narrative: Parnast, Stagwick, & Beregost Sadly this was released only AFTER the season was over :(

  • A Guide to the Factions of Faerun Lots of Faction stuff in Season 5, so your players should be engaged with the Faction they've chosen.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2017 01:06:27

A 2 hour adventure that is easy to run in that time. Though I don't care for the end of the module. I've played/run this several times, and only once did the party even consider getting out or had the resources/ abilities to get out without triggering the avalanche. So naturally there are tons of characters walking around that the frost giants all hate lol.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:42:44

Very railroading adventure... similar to adventues like DDAL 4-6 The Ghost, this adventures relies on random encounters to hit its exp qouta though I should point out the REs are more related this time around.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 20:14:39

This is an odd start to the second teir of the season. We learn about the problems giants are facing in the area and the problems they are causing, but the mission itself is a little too simple. The party must journey, then sneak in and rescue. This relies on random encounters en route and then the main art of the module can be down in several ways. A violent party can just wade in, while a stealthy party can do the sneaky way. That is the only real choice in the module. Otherwise its a "follow the train" story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2017 00:04:28

Excellent mod that's easy to run with many different options. I like that i can just throw more encounters in if I need to make it longer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2017 16:46:54

I really enjoyed this adventure, its not your average module the party has to take a more measured approach as running in swords blazing will result in disaster lol.

The encounters can be difficult for a group near the 5th level mark but at higher levels the party should be just fine.

On the whole a great adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:12:24

I had a blast running this adventure multiple times and helping a newer DM run this as one of their first modules as an Adventurer League DM, and I look forward to opportunities to run it many more times. This adventure offers multiple paths you can take, a colorful cast of NPCs, opportunities for some out-of-the-box strategies, and some cinematic-like endings. Time is short as you brave the frozen North to find the dwarven warriors, will you make it in time?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2017 10:19:00

It's very rare that you come across a module as well put together as this. It offers a dynamic, almost sandbox-ish story that has a real opportunity to get your players invested in what is going on around them. The obstacles presented in this story have a unique openness in how they can be handled. Often, the enemy they face is overwhelming, so the player have to out-think, or be selective in how they fight. This creates some truly dynamic encounters, and opens up great RP opportunities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items