Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 23
2 19
0 5
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 22:36:19

Great mod, played it last year, DM'd it tonight.

Fairly straight forward, 1 combat encounter, 1 environmental encounter. Pressing the players for time is essential, but if they wanna take a long rest, let them, it just means more dwarves are killed. For the combat encounter, I had an barely average party take on a remorhaz. Welcome to Tier 2! With this mod, I feel you can throw an extra potent mob at the players, and use up resources because combat in the final, plot driven encounter should be discouraged.

The rescue encounter can be solved very easily with a druid/ranger spell (which, when I played, our druid got off first thing, and the infiltration was a cake walk) but when I DMd it, the PC druid did not have it memorized. They elected to go up, climb down, and infiltrate. They then got locked into some frivleous plans about distracting the horde of ogres, and one PC was bound and determined to cause a distraction, and then wanted to run through the camp while thunderwaving everything. That cheapens the threat, turns the danger of an armed camp full of lethal foes into a joke. I don't recommend that you, as a DM, allow that to happen without serious repercussions.

Part of this problem, I think, is that the players can spool the plan out into complete absurdity, like trying to use Prestidigitation to try and distract an entire camp of bloodthirsty ogres laying siege to a place, because they don't have a better idea. It also wastes a significant amount of time while the players spin their wheels. Use the NPC dwarves to point out some logical flaws. If you are pressed for time in the AL environment, try to encourage them to find a solution that will A) not waste any further time, and B) not lead them to their obvious and inevitable deaths. Combat is probably the worst option and if you have players bent on having combat with the ogre forces, you should pulverize them. Ice Spire Ogres are very potent, and there should be little to no chance of success against the entire camp.

Tier 2 for Storm King's Thunder is fantastic, with some really scary monsters for players to fight. It's my favorite season, and this module sets the tone for things to come. Highly recommended, but be prepared to put the hammer down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by GOH K. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 10:08:09

Just finished running this module a couple of hours ago. The players were at first flabbergasted, and then delighted when they realized what was the "easiest" solution to get the dwarves and their cargo to safety. :D

If there's an issue I have with the module, it'd be that the open-endedness of the latter segment can bog things down for inexperienced DMs, especially if you have large numbers of players around. (Double especially if said players have summons.) The time constraints on the journey to the Birthright Stones makes that part snappy, but once the players actually get there, things can get confusing really fast. (And draggy. This 2 hour mod took us 3 and a half.)

That said, I find that this module does its job of portraying an epic rescue mission, and does it well. And "Tombstone Joyride" sounds like a kickass band name.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:30:32

This adventure is short, sweet, to the point. It has a little of everything you would want in a table top game - a clear mission brief, urgency, exploration, some RP, and a problem that is pretty much sandbox. Players have a lot of leeway to be awesome in more ways than one. Lovely adventure. Just be warned you are very likely to overrun time lol.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Doug P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 23:02:54

This is one of the best adventures I have run. It has just enough content and to help the DM frame the story with an interesting and exciting adventure while giving plenty of leeway for player ingenuity. At one point during the session the group was split in three doing roleplay, combat, and deception all at the same time in order to pull off the mission, although YMMV since it's a pretty open adventure. Excellent and highly reccommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:25:19

Fun adventure, lends itself well to combat, or exploration or RPing through encounters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2017 22:57:32

The story for this adventure develops well and gives the players challenges beyond combat, assunming they get the right random encounters. The set pieces offer a way around the potentially overwhelming combat of this module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:17:24

Despite the 5-star rating, I'd give due warning first: the adventure is most enjoyable if you're willing to let go of the 2-hours that it's supposed to be run for. The craziness of sending 3-7 adventurers to rescue 20+ dwarves from 30+ ogres aside, there are incredible potential in this module, allowing PCs to employ plenty of creativity. Do push them for the Set Piece finale, the players would really thank you for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 20:02:18

This was the first module I ran and I am a bit concerned that the bar has been set so high. lol. This was so much fun to run, and really fun for my players. They are a think-outside-the-box kind of group and had a lot of fun with the enronomental factors. :). I felt that the NPCs were given good groundwork personalities (DMs flesh it out of course), and the random encounters were well varied and all were interesting.

I do have to say that my favorite thing in this module was rolling for the weather. lol. The sniper was on edge to see what that d4 read. Haha!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2017 06:45:13

This is an excellent adventure, it has the potential to run long, so be aware of that when running the first encounters. The only major issue is running the "3rd" option, it can be very confusing on how it is supposed to work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:32:27

Drop the reference to SEER, and this would be a great adventure to insert in any ongoing campaign. Most of the groups I've run through this used the same approach, but I suspect that groups who didn't limit themselves to the two hour timeline could have a great time with this adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2017 16:11:55

Fun and easy 2 hour module. Great MI and interesting quest.

One time I played this, the paladin climbed to the top of the mountain and (when signaled) started an avalanche and then snowboarded down to the base camp. Would do again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 23:04:25

Very interesting scenario that allows for some creative solutions. Main concern is that the run-time can definitely go long. Really enjoyed it overall though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 19:02:43

A well written adventure with an interesting story. However, I did not find it to be as organized as I would have liked. In addition, I had a hard time running the adventure in two hours. There is just too much explaining that needs to be done in order for the players to understand what they are up against. In addition to cramming in too many encounters. Having said that, the story was enjoyable and there are a couple of moments that will entertain any group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 21:48:08

I felt that this module was overall fun, and a great introduction to the Stagwick region. The introduction to SEER was great, and having a task was nice, but the random encounters felt tedious at times, becuase of the reliance on them for the experience gain. In addition, the orc tribe felt overwhelming as well, but was also an interesting challenge to overcome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:21:45

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 1,875-3,125

The Season 5 Hardcover (Storm King's Thunder) is an amazing sandbox that spans the entire northwest Swordcoast. Unlike seasons 1-3 these storyline modules actually occur in the same area and mesh well with the hardcover. This is the first season to include the digial certificate for permanent magic items.

Before running any Season 5 module, you should download the following content from DMSGUILD and read it fully:

  • Season 5 Narrative: Parnast, Stagwick, & Beregost Sadly this was released only AFTER the season was over :(

  • A Guide to the Factions of Faerun Lots of Faction stuff in Season 5, so your players should be engaged with the Faction they've chosen.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back