Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 23
2 0
0 0
0 0
1 0
A Guide to Storm King\'s Thunder
Click to view
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 21:55:13

Completely amazing guide that is totally worth $5. Thanks so much for creating such a wonderful resource. Even as an experienced DM, I appreciate this as I lead my group into this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 01:02:02

Must have for new DMs! SKT is highly recommended for first time DMs, but I still found it fairly overwhelming and had no idea how to start prepping for my first session. This guide walked me through not only the adventure, which was great to have before diving into the official book, but also HOW to approach the adventure and plan sessions. Following the tips and tricks in this guide has made DMing SKT a breeze, even for a brand new DM, and I look forward to referring to this guide all the way to the final chapter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2018 08:23:24

I loved this guide so much I went back and "re-bought" it. This guide details every section of the campaign and provides great ideas! As a new DM this campaign was really overwhelming, and this guide definetely helped ease the burden. I HIGHLY reccomend this guide, and if you like it please be sure to toss the creator a few bucks!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 13:32:22

This book has been invaluable for organization of the Storm King's Thunder adventure, advice on how to best foreshadow and construct your interpretation of the story contained within the adventure, and how to tackle the more intimidating chapters ( 3 and 4 of course! ).

What better review could I give for this other than the fact that I 'purchased' the book for free originally to try it out and see if it would be useful. Only to later come back to drop cash to show my appreciation for the amount of effort that was put into this guide. I cannot recommend this enough to anyone looking to run Storm Kings Thunder!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 09:43:24

Comprehensive, great suggestions from an obviously experienced DM. Extremely pleased with this purchase! (And definitely recommend tossing something to the author!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by andrew e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 19:27:30

A very helpful little primer, this has definitely helped me overcome a few stumbling blocks before I encountered them in the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2017 19:21:45

Great ideas. Can't wait to try them out in Storm King's Thunder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 07:25:37

So glad i donated, well worth it. It summarizes and gives tips, helps you seed a few things, clarifies a few confusing points, but never ever just quotes the module or fills space with fluff. Saved me at least twice from big flubs (like npc a not knowing npc b's secret and i was about to spill the beans - this guide predicts a lot of those possible gm OOPS moments!)

Ill be buying more for sure, great great helper!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Duane B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2017 16:58:07

This provides a fantastic analysis of the adventure, and does a great job of summarizing the contents in such a way that it can be used as a great aid to prepare session notes, or even used as session notes. The author does a great job of suggesting ways to foreshadow, how to fit things together, expand upon the adventure, and does a good job of pointing out potential pitfalls.

I'll be looking for his guides for other content I run in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris V. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2017 12:53:20

I am a relatively experienced DM who felt comfortable going into SKT, but I'm certain Sean McGovern's guide helped me give my players a better experience than I would have been able to without it.

For a new DM, this guide is invaluable-- sections of the adventure (especially Chapter 3) can be overwhelming, but this guide streamlines it and works like a Cliffnotes that is easy to refer to before diving into each chapter for more details.

As an experienced DM, what I found most helpful were Sean's comments about what elements he felt needed foreshadowing-- what aspects of the plot needed more clarity. I basically used his list and worked those into the early sections of the story based on my players' choices. He also inspired what was one of the most memorable fights of the campaign during the Berg of the Frost Giants chapter (don't want to give it away, but it was an awesome set-up the players loved). Finally, the background information he collected on Iymrith helped to make her a more memorable foe-- not just a standard ancient blue dragon.

Overall, Storm King's Thunder is a flexible story-driven campaign. Sean's Guide to Storm King's Thunder is especially helpful in streamlining the aspects of the story that MUST happen to drive the story forward, calling attention to how the DM can provide a better plot flow, and inspiring creative use of the various villains and settings throughout the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2017 21:13:55

Last week was my first time DMing, and I decided to buy this after lurking on Reddit and seeing someone suggest it. Holy crap, is this awesome. The five backgrounds he provides at the beginning to help tie the players into the story are amazing, and are something official WotC publications should do with all of their releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2016 14:23:50

I am running SKT for an AL group at my FLGS and have found this to be very helpful! I recommend it heartily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2016 15:27:23

Just bought this for $2, and it was well worth that! It is the coles notes for SKT and it's a great tool.
if you are interested here is an unboxing of SKT Minis : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubVPLLW_0Hs

Thanks

Mick PS. their was a link referance to Klauth but no link given in the text so here is a good one: http://archive.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/wn/20030226a



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2016 15:54:37

I'm a fairly new DM. The sheer amount of content (and yet lack of guidance) in Storm King's Thunder can be extremely intimidating (especially chapter 3). This guide has been invaluable. This guide is everything missing from Storm King's Thunder plus a number of helpful suggestions on how the author has dealt with some areas.

This guide will provide a high-level overview of the events, helpful reminders of the key players in the campaign, suggestions on what to foreshadow by certain points, and much more! If you're about to run Storm King's Thunder - PICK THIS UP! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Storm King's Thunder
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2016 16:35:52

Very well done. This is going to help a lot as a run through the campaign. Thanks for the good work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items