Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 42
4 27
0 1
0 0
0 1
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2017 15:43:51

This was a pretty decent module. My players and I both enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed the sandstorm section, it added a fun challenge that was outside of the norm. Plus the fake out at the guarded gate is especially fun to rp. I would fully suggest this module as a one off game



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2017 17:00:28

My players seemed to enjoy this adventure, but I felt like the bard was kind of marginalized, without much to do. Meanwhile, the party druid was an all star providing food and water after the caravan was mostly lost in the sandstorm. Also, my players basically wanted nothing to do with the Zent caravan, which bummed me out, considering I'd planned to try to humanize the faction through them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JEAN-DANIEL P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 07:58:57

Great adventure for both players and DM. This serves as a great intro adventure for new groups starting up as it will present them with relatively "safe" challenges while still requiring them to think fast and consider the consequences of their actions. I also liked that it had a small link directly to the SKT hardcover with the cloud giant castle reference.

Although if you're running this as a follow-up to DDAL05-01 as you're running the Season 5 mods in order, I've found that this made very little sense to have players start back on the other side of Anauroch if they were already near Parnast in the first module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:48:49

I enjoyed playing and DMing the 3 story arcs for the Season 5 adventures. The Tiers are a series of interconnected adventures that can be played as stand alones, or as a part of the story arc. Tier 1 is set around Parnast, a town that has seen better days. The adventure here gets you to town, and has some nice combat and RP elements. I felt it was a nice combination and gave the players some options to go off script a bit. A nice setup for the rest of the arc. Plus I enjoy RPing the NPCs more when I know they will pop up in later adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:12:55

An adventure that brings plenty of excitement into what would otherwise be a trope - caravan guarding. The sandstorm encounter is especially well-written, allowing players to employ their creativity and use whatever limited resources they have. Thinking out of the box is highly encouraged here, and I do recommend a liberal attitude when it comes to rewarding players for good roleplay and creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2017 16:55:08

Fun module with very creative encounters. Because some of the encounters were so different, some parts weren't as intuitve but are worth investing time in to get right.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by mark t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 00:11:47

This was a good two hour adventure to run, EXCEPT the map as well as the flowsheet to follow can be a little confusing. If wanted to, this couls take 3-4 hours if the party roleplays really well



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:22:06

Fun module which allows for the players to deviate from 'the rails' a bit. Good mod for new DMs and new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2017 10:57:08

Fantastic straight forward adventure well organized and tons of fun especially for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2017 15:46:12

This is a fantastic introductory module for both new players and for new DMs to run. It is well organized and well balanced. The flowchart provides a clear overview of what happens depending on party decisions. Moreover, the desert environment provides a different challenge than is typically seen. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ricky H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 16:00:08

Well written and straightforward. A great introductory adventure that, especially for new players, showcases some of the different ways encounters can be set up instead of the "attack, damage, attack, damage". Ran it for Adventure League.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 23:19:14

This is a fun, quick adventure.There are a couple of different options for replayability. It is one of my favorite "oh I didn't know I needed to DM anything" go to modules. It leads straight into DDAL05-03.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 16:39:03

This is my go-to adventure to recommend to new DMs and I've used it more than a few times when I've had to fill in as an emergency DM. Pretty straightforward. Your party is told to transport a statue and some goods across the desert. En route, you encounter a few obstacles. This is a good adventure for new players as well - there is nothing in here that suggests you need to know any "inside information" about D&D in order to figure things out (for instance, what type of damage is effective on zombies). There are a few role-playing opportunities and some opportunities for straight-up attacking. Also, it has one of the best T1 magic items (in my Ranger's opinion).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 13:58:04

Solid, if run of the mill, AL module. As a DM, what is important to me: i) well organized; ii) well written (and edited); iii) cool story. The story was not anything out of the ordinary but it was well organized and well writtent. Easy module to DM and easy for the players to follow along.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kaleb H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2017 11:00:19

Overall, a great adventure. I'll break my review into a pros/cons, and then a brief review of each Part of the adventure.

Pros include a seldom used-setting (IMO), a desert, good pacing, wide breadth of skill usage, and some very tactical fights. Cons would be that there is probably TOO much content, more like 3 hours worth, and half the NPCs (namely, those at the end of the adventure) are forgettable because of how "rushed" the end of these adventures always seems to be.

Part 1- This part ends quickly, and gets the adventure started ASAP. Decent NPC interaction and preparatory period for players.

Part 2- First tactical fight. Takes place at night, from within (or without) the ring of caravan wagons. Cover, options, and simple ambush enemies. Loved it. Then comes the part labeled "Optional" in the Zhentarim camp. I have found this part rarely gets played because of how much time the rest of the module takes, and this would go beyond the 2 hour projected play time. After that is the Sandstorm section. Brilliant way to allow player choice in skill usage, and it (usually) require them to sacrifice SOMETHING, which I think is a good thing. Next comes the Hobgoblin gate. Again, if they choose to fight, I think that with the wall and clever wagon usage, this becomes a very tactical fight. If they choose to bypass this fight, or pay the toll, I like how stacked against the players the following encounter seems to be.

CONCLUSION- Around time for the conclusion, the 2-hour mark is either right upon you, or has passed by a little bit. Doing this makes the 2 NPCs introduced here rather forgettable (Chandra Stoll and Raggnar). I also thought it odd that the characters don't get paid for the weapons/supplies if they already got paid for the statue since those payments come from separate sources. The Bracers of Archery magic item reward are pretty underwhelming as well. They only fit a fairly narrow niche of characters, so I've had it that no one even wanted them at all (and if they did it was more for the weather-resistant effect).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 71 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items