Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
A Guide to Curse of Strahd Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 12
1 1
1 1
0 0
0 0
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Click to view
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by dave b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2018 09:22:32

Having never used a WoTC published adventure before, and being a brand new DM with totally new players, I was completely lost with CoS when I read through it the first time. I was expecting the book to be in sequential order, and that myself and my group could follow it from page to page. When I found this guide, everything clicked into place and made our CoS campaign extremely enjoyable. We have now gone on to purchase more WoTC campaigns, and are looking forward to more guides from this author. Thank you for a invaluable product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lucas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 12:33:09

Fairly okay. At times the writer goes into too much detail when reacting to the writer's playthrough that was put on youtube. As for bringing together specific details (go to x page for this!) The guide is great. When it comes to offering new ideas, it seems rather limited in its scope -- ie: suggesting that players can not exit the castle after showing up there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Morgan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2018 13:53:32

Absoutely required reading for anyone running Curse of Strahd for the first time. Or anyone running it ever, really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by LEV P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2018 13:45:57

A great and simple guide which really gets you going with CoS without delving into numerous extra options. Definetely would recomend for any DM attempting to runtye campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 11:20:01

This guide is absolutely fantastic. Being a relatively new DM (only one campaign under my belt), skipping to a large, sandbox-style campaign like Curse of Strahd was a significant step-up. This guide really helps one organize the large amount of material that the DM will need to prep. Definitely will be looking into more guides written by Sean.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darryl B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 14:28:16

i would be lost without this guide. curse of strahd is a lot to handle, especially for a relatively new Dm. Readig this guide, with the layout and suggestions, i feel much better prepared to run the adventure. for example, i now know what to do with all the information that the book gives you and how to organize it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Simon P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 02:16:35

It's tempting to think that this is exactly the sort of thing that should be in WOTC's published adventures in the first place, but realistically, those adventures are so expansive that the number of things that could be added are endless. We get it into our heads that if we buy a published adventure, that's everything we need to run the game, but we will always need to work on integrating them into our games. They're a toolkit rather than the final product. Also, there are a million and one different layout possibilities, and every DM is going to have their own preferences.

Power Score RPG's guide is an excellent breakdown of the adventure, and is invaluable in giving pointers to organising your games, without being proscriptive or limiting. In addition, the whole thing is written with good humour, and a wide ranging knowledge of previous published incarnations of Ravenloft. Seriously, I couldn't even count the number of ideas from this Guide that I used in my Curse of Strahd campaign. This gets the absolute highest recommendation from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 13:15:19

This is just so good that I recommend it as required reading for anyone considering running Curse of Strahd. It makes the hardcover easier to prep, gives great ideas in addition, and helps to teach general prepwork tips for large hardcovers like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2017 05:32:46

These guides are amazing! A complete must have for any DM looking to run CoS. As a long time DM these are just what you need in your toolbox for delivering a quality experience. Cant remommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by matthew j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2017 13:36:48

Even as a long time GM, I found this document to be invauable when running CoS. The ideas, outlines, references, and insights are simply great. I would not suggest running CoS without this document. Excellent work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2016 12:13:49

A definite time saver for the time concious GM. The scope of the recent D&D campaigns can sometimes be hard to grasp without reading the whole book from front to back, with necessary details buried here and there, and this product makes using the official product much more manageable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bradford W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2016 10:58:38

No frills. REQUIRED READING. I wish something like this were standard in the products themselves. (Though perhaps shorter). -Bawylie



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2016 15:44:08

Very useful. The outlines were particularly inspiring as well. This product comes from a consistently entertaining and useful blog.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jed J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2016 18:56:07

The breakdowns of each chapter are exceptionally useful and include page number references to the core rule books. The author provides an excellent example of how to write a quick and flexible outline for the adventure. This resource will certainly benefit a DM looking to run the Curse of Strahd.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back