Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e) $3.99 $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 7
3 2
1 1
0 1
1 0
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Click to view
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 18:19:08

Clue: The D&D Adventure. There's a lot of information that the both the PCs and the DM need to keep track of, and this can get pretty confusing, especially if you have a group that isn't into murder mystery style puzzles. Some groups may like it, others probably won't. My group had a couple players who really liked it, but the rest of them players were either bored or confused.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 09:03:16

Do you like Clue? Because I love Clue with ghosts and murdering-erness. This is the best module from season 4 hands down! Its worth the mists, dive in and enjoy! -DM Ace



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2017 14:56:00

Easily the best season 4 module. The murder mystery is an absolutely amazing twist on what the players are expecting in a dungeon crawl, and the revelation of the Burgomeister at the end is a nice twist back to combat. A couple of players veered off the path in the beginning, and I thought the magic missile only wouldn't deter them enough, so the arcanaloth used finger of death, which was a far better deterrent. Especially due to the combat-light nature of this module, I felt like that was perfectly fair to do, and the players didn't see it as unfair. The roleplaying cards for the ghosts are grainy and hard to read, so if you have time, I suggest typing those up separately and handing out yours, just to make everyone's lives easier in the end. Easily one of my favorite modules to run, highly reccomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 18:18:57

The fact that this was literally Clue, but in a module AND the results can change depending on which ghost ended up being the murderer was fantastic. I think the disintegrate at the beginning was brutal, but overall this was another fantastic module to play and run. My players enjoyed the story elements, and once again, the final battle was incredibly challenging. I think the lair actions were especially interesting. Overall, a great module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:52:32

If you're only going to run one module from Season 4, make it this one. It is AMAZING!

Recommend Purchase: Yes....Yes Yes YES! XP Range: 3,000-4,000

The overall story woven between all fourteen modules is called 'Misty Fortunes and Absent Hearts' and is relatively strong overall, but suffers for a couple reasons. The final module probably wasn't written at the time the first was released, so they couldn't or didn't want to spill some of the meta information that DMs would have LOVED to have. In the early modules things would occur 'deus ex machina' and even the DM wouldn't have a clue as to why.

If you're planning on running these, i HIGHLY recommend buying the bundle, reading the DDAL04-14 (The Dark Lord) Adventure Overview on pages 7-8 to see where everthing is heading ... and then reading each module's Overview in turn before running everything. This will help you greatly.

If you start with the first module you'll have enough XP to level up, stay within the module tiers and make it all the way to the 14th module. Afterwards you could always play a few chapters of the Curse of Strahd Harcover and then leave Barovia behind.

Before running any Season 4 module, you should download the following content:

  • dndadventurersleague.org/barexit-escaping-the-mists-of-barovia/
  • dndadventurersleague.org/curse-of-strahd-backgrounds/
  • DMSGUILD: DDAL04 Expanded Dark Gifts Table [OPTIONAL CONTENT]

Season 4 initially couldn't leave the Demiplane of Dread until the very end, but the Admins later introduced the 'Barexit' mechanic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tosh L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:43:14

I love this module! The clue game, the final boss, the roleplaying, everything I think is really well done. The only thing is that it's quite a bit of stuff with only four hours to do them all. I think that it didn't need the zombie beholder fight and the clue game could've been run for three hours and then finally concluding with a very difficult (but still fun) boss fight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2017 11:09:50

This adventure takes a number of risks and pulls most of them off -- it starts out looking like a traditional dungeon crawl, for instance, complete with a very controversial encounter with a creature capable of removing PCs from the campaign permanently, then quickly shifts gears into a murder mystery before concluding with the traditional big fight.

The problem with the adventure is that the reasons why the adventurers are here don't make any sense -- why would the campaign's villain order her catspaw to bring the PCs here where they can recover the only thing capable of defeating her plan? Or if, conversely, the catspaw brought the PCs here of his own accord to try to gain leverage over his mistress, why attack the PCs rather than simply claim the object and quietly return to Orasnou? These flaws provide a jarring counterpoint to an otherwise interesting adventure, and make the adventure less interesting in retrospect than it will be during play. It's still worth playing, just be ready to deal with disappointment if your players have more than a minimal interest in the overall plot of Season Four.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:36:41

This adventure is like Ravenloft Clue. I really enjoyed it, but maybe I missed something, it wasn't clear how to get the adventurers to get interested in the murder, or why they should care to figure it out. They can just sort of stumble thru it.

I feel as if this adventure would have been better done elsewhere in Barovia, with the same dramatis personae!, by having less conflict with the player's interest in exploring the Amber Temple.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 11:32:58

Great module if you can take the time to play it out completely. It does suffer a bit when you run it at a convention because of time pressures. The replayability of the mod is one of its greatest strengths.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 18:36:16

The Artifact is a short and fun adventure, basically it is like Cluedo but simplified. The roleplay and investigation in this adventure is good. Not much combat except for a few encounters and the last part which can be expected. At the start I already knew what was gonna happen in the end but the whole bulk of the adventure is the Cluedo game that tells the storyof what happened at the temple. I find this adventure to be good in terms of roleplay and mystery investigation. I recommend this adventure for players that are more into roleplay than combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-10 The Artifact (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2017 09:35:39

It's basically Ravenloft Clue. With a minor fight at the end. Also a very avoidably enemy at the start that will straight up TPK any party stupid enough to fight it. But the bulk of this module is a game of Clue. If I wanted to play Clue I would play Clue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items