Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 6
1 2
0 0
0 1
0 0
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to view
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:03:17

A flavourful module of the Underdark, featuring some of adventurers' worst nightmares. You can tell an excellent story with adventurers through their encounters in the den and it should keep them on their toes and leave them some lasting memories. However, there remain some undesirable portions, such as trying to figure the motivation of the final boss, and wondering why he would not be any more intelligent given his species.

To really draw out the story potential, the DM would have to spend some time to research the lore of the mind flayers and be creative with how to run the final boss encounter. Assuming you're not there to totally murder the adventurers, try to prevent save-or-die scenarios and give the adventurers a real chance to save themselves.

(One point to note - a consumed brain would mean adventurers need access to Resurrection or Reincarnation to continue playing their characters, both options not likely available at their levels).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 04:15:04

Very good module. The setting is cool and the puzzle is an especially good addition. My party steamrolled the combat because they were very optimized, but I can see the potential of the encounters, especially in the final boss room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2017 04:10:27

This adventure combines my favorite class and favorite monster in D&D, and I highly recommend it. It allows DMs to cover creatures and lore that isn’t covered in most hardcovers and modules. If you want to teach your players about Astral travelers and brain eaters, then this is a good adventure for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:20:47

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 2,250-3,000 Note: a rare instance where WotC/DDAL actually updated the moduel because the way it was originally release was a complete mess.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charlie G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2017 03:01:03

Love this adventure. It has a great macabre horror element to it, which is always nice. The Puzzle is a fun one that anyone can enjoy and solve (it just might give them a headache ;) ). I definitely recommend encouraging the entire group to work on it and definitely use the suggestion of dark thick sleeves for the puzzle pieces, I went with dragonshield card sleeves as they get the job done. The Combat can be a fun challenge, and perhaps punishing, depending on the party build and the DM. The only complaint I can make is that I wish it was longer. I would highly recommend this adventure, whether you're running it or playing through it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:24:44

Ran this for my normal group because the warlock really wanted the RotPK +2... It only cost him his brain. :D Seriously, for a party that's not used to plane-shifting, psychic-damage dealing, brain-eating enemies, this is a fun module with a couple fights that will kick them in the pants!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2017 15:27:47

Having enemies able to completely remove a character from AL play should not belong in any tier is my opinion, many dms won't use the plane shift or extract brain or the Brain stealing feature. Those that do will make this module a nightmare. The puzzle section was interesting but a large table of players fighting over the pieces was not a good experience or having players not do anything while a few solved it. The combat was not hard it was frustrating. The only thing i liked about this module was it was a T2, its short and the reward item is amazing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 07:16:17

A very short adventure when I read and ran it for my players. Although it gives off a nice sort of side story about one of the allies for the adventures that continue this one. The first part is all about the introduction and setting the current predicament and what needs to done. The second and third part go about the actual adventure, it's quite normal the usual heroes need to do something in order to make sure the alliance is held by defeating something. The actual fun part is who the allies are and who the opponent is. I was excited when I saw the monsters that were included in this adventure. Fast and fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2016 09:49:41

This is a fun adventure, and it deals with an interesting foe. It is also a 2 hour tier 2 adventure, which is awesome. Now that it comes with a fantasy grounds mod, it is an even better value. I recommend you pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items