Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
A Boy and his Modron Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 15
2 2
1 0
1 0
0 0
A Boy and his Modron
Click to view
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kylie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 17:17:12

I ran this for 4 level 2 players at the start of our campaign and they loved it. A really nice mix of combat and social interaction and the emotional connection between Tobbi and 31 Squared really landed well with them. Razi has turned into an excellent NPC to have around as well. Definitely reccomend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 22:11:18

An awesome, fun adventure. Thoughorly enjoyable to run for my players.

When I originally downloaded there were few maps - just the final area. I can see the writers have updated with more maps - my only 'critisim' would be to also supply these as separate files so that DM's can print them out at 1" squares easily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tal A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 11:08:31

I ran this yesterday for a party of 5 level 2 players (Fighter, Ranger, Rogue, Druid, Warlock) and we had a great time. This is an exceptional adventure with a great mix of combat, exploration, and roleplaying. Offers the DM a chance to play several amazing NPC characters; my players loved 31 Squared, Tobbi, and Razi. The story manages to be both surprising and logical, and is refreshingly different from standard fare. Playing time was right around 4 hours at a relaxed pace. The players were never in any serious danger of losing any of the fights (well, except the unwinnable one), so I might consider beefing up some of the enemies if I ran it again (they also had a couple of really lucky rolls early in the final fight). I did cut the mud mephits as it felt like one combat too many between the wasps and the ziggurat fights. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 21:48:39

This was great! I've been looking over the adventure for several weeks now, but was waiting until after I'd ran it to leave my review. I really liked the format, and it actually gave me a bit of inspiration on how to write up some starting adventures for my homebrew campaign. I was surprised to find that pretty much everything went exactly according to plan. Start to finish, it took my group about 4.5 hours. The only real workaround they used, was a Wizard casting invisibility on himself, and Nat 20ing a sleight-of-hand check to steal some hair from the ogre while he was eating. I did think at first that three combat encounters right before the final boss was a bit of a harsh resource burn for a low level party, but my four level threes managed to finish the job with only one member unconcious. Thanks for a great time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jimmy h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2017 21:46:48

Great story. Fun to run. My players were sad to separate the boy from his friend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 14:36:29

Incredibly thorough adventure. Haven't run it (yet), but was surprised by the level of detail throughout. Could easily be used to start a campaign - there's many plot hooks and ideas that allow for expansion from this. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rudolf A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2017 05:45:40

At first - upon downloading - I was impressed. Good writing, interesting plot with this low-level "we help peasants" feel, couple encounters of varying style and difficulty. Adventure I could use as an oppening warm up for my new campagin. And then - I played... This adventure did not survive crash test of meeting my players. It wasn't all that bad, but enough to lower my overall opinion from 5 to 4 stars.

WARNING! FOLLOWING PART OF THE REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS! The whole concept of the adventure is that party is a group of outsiders posing as carpenters and vets. The problem one of my playes had was that all those emotional moments of the adventure didn't move him as much as they could, because his character did not really have a reason to care about Toby. If the party would be from that town, knowing Toby as a boy who they sometimes employed to run errands. That Razi guy, somehow sleezy but borrowing them money or employing them from time to time - a devil? Whaaaat? On the other hand - "we are carpenters, move along" wouldn't work, cause Duncar also would be aware who they are.

My party also completely ignored the fight with the Ogre. He hit his head on the branch? Well... There HAVE to be some hair on that branch. That actually might have been intended (otherwise the whole story about Yorthab and the branch would be pointless waste of space). But the other "key fight" - with Razi - they felt really railroaded, and felt like nothing they did made any difference. They knew they didn't stood a chance, and were painfully aware that that fight was scripted. It left them frustrated and displeased. This script as well as couple more turning points of the adventure lacked subtelty in such briefly build setting (time frame for the adventure is pretty tight).

I also felt adventure is missing stats for key characters (including the Modron). SPOILERS OVER!

Although it might seem that I focused mainly on the drawbacks, we had fun overall. Previous reviewers rightfully pointed out all positive sides of this adventure, and I do agree that with some minor fixes it is a great filler or starting point for a new campagin.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bjørn A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2016 14:48:29

One of the best buys on DM's Guild. It's a really interesting story with lots of captivating NPC's that I intend to use again in adventures of my own making. The Planescape afficionado of my group loved this adventure. It has a weird mix of low-level and high-level feel. How often does the same adventure involve the PC's first trying to fix the roof of a barn, and then do combat with a CR 20 creature? It is at some points a tad rail-roady, while other encounters clearly has more than one course of actions available to it - all leading to the same conclusion. I hope the author publishes another module soon. I'll pay good money for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Francesco C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2016 13:37:31

A well written and organized adventure perfect for engaging any party. The author creates a multitude of opportunities for the party to follow different story paths as well as provides outcomes different enough for these paths to really give the party's decisions some serious weight. My only minor critique is that there are a couple of instances where previous edition language is used to reference skill checks (ex. Bluff and Knowledge [Arcana] ) but it is quite easy to figure out their 5th Edition equivalents. All in all, this is a great module that I would highly recommend checking out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2016 08:45:04

Haven't been able to run this yet but the quality of the product speaks volumes. It's well written and gives the DM plenty of information to make the adventure their own. I was really glad to so the encounter adjustments for parties of vary strengths. It makes tweaking this for any party level extremly easy and doable on the fly. If you're looking for a solid good quality adventure this is an excellent place to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2016 18:05:56

Like the planescape feel, and love the module format. The way the NPCs are written up is great. Worth paying for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sara N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 20:48:42

This works great anywhere in the ROT story or EE. Fists with Rage as well if you're looking to have some filer to run in AL modules. Overall, the outline is great, and the setup for the NPC's makes them seem integral to the story when they may just be there for flavor. Either way i'd love ot see more modules that focus on story and npc's. Keep it up and you'll have a paying customer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Antonio Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2016 18:16:42

I love modrons but my current campaign is still in faerun but now i can give them a taste of the planes! I enjoy the smaller setting this takes place makes the world seem more alive beyond just epic battles and dungeon crawling. I cant wait to see more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bennett L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2016 06:31:29

Just what I was looking for! I wanted to introduce PlaneScape to my players and this is the perfect segway.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Boy and his Modron
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Connell S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2016 01:02:45

A good base from which to launch an extraplanar campaign. I like the characters and the way they are not two dimensional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items