Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
 
$10.00 $4.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 9
0 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
B10 Night\'s Dark Terror (Basic)
Click to view
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2017 08:33:13

Solid product (I have the hardcopy and purchased the digital version).

Easily amended to fit 5e (and doing so).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2015 12:59:03

This adventure uses the Basic Rules set of D&D and serves as a bridge between that set of rules and the expanded rules of the expert level.

After a well detailed background of the adventure and several tips on how to play the game using the wilderness, the characters start the adventure by being offered a job as caravan guards for a group of people selling horses.

When they arrive at the homestead of the horse merchants, they are taken right into the middle of a battle between the inhabitants of the homestead a several goblin clans. After spending a long night helping the defenders of the homestead, the characters will be asked to help recover the horses that the goblins captured during the siege. As they explore the surroundings of the homestead, the group will encounter many dangers and find clues that other homestead have been attacked by goblins. Encountering a few survivors, they learn that the guy who hired them has been captured by goblins. During their exploration, they have the chance to meet a chevall (a shapeshifting centaur) and if they help him, they can learn where the goblins are hiding and eventually, what happened to Stefan, the one who hired them.

As they rescue Stefan, the leader of the kidnappers, an agent of a secret society called the Iron Ring and mastermind behind the goblin attacks, manages to escape. As they accompany Stefan back home they learn that he was interrogated about a magical tapestry that he suspects is in his homestead. Back at the homestead, Stefan is intent on piercing the secret of the tapestry using a strange magical needle with a golden thread. The tapestry reveals the location of the Lost Valley of Hutaaka, home to a legendary people thought to no longer exist.

Stefan hires the characters to accompany him on his exploration of the valley. On the way, the group has another encounter with Golthar, the man who escaped them previously, and they have a chance to finally deal with him.

When they reach the valley, the characters realize that it is still inhabited by the Hutaakans and their former slaves, the Traldars. Both groups are at war with each other while trying to survive the horrors unleashed by their incessant wars. Tips are given to run that last part of the adventure no matter which group the characters choose to support, if they choose one. They can even play the Yojimbo game and use eahc group's hatred of the other to their advantage. Once one group becomes dominant, it will try to eliminate the characters. The adventure ends whenever the characters are forced to flee from the valley or choose to leave.

The rest of the module is dedicated to suggestions for further adventures, tips on running the adventure, a rooster of npc's and monsters as well as bestiary.

Until I read this adventure, I remembered my days of playing the game with this set of rules as my very first introduction to the game and I remembered how I instantly fell in love with it. In my memory, the rules were simple and the adventures straight to the point. I never played this adventure before and was not aware of it until I picked it up recently and started reading. Between now and then, 30 years have passed and I played several iterations of the game. Reading this I feel like the game has become quite complicated. Everything in this adventure is as good as any other, more recent adventure. You have many locales to explore, a complex plot, a villain that become a nemesis, wilderness encounters, rules on how to deal with wilderness adventuring and much more! this is a great adventure and a classic in my opinion. It uses a rich background and into details. It is impressing how many elements have been crammed into this adventure compared to more recent ones with even more pages.

With little effort, a GM can adapt this great adventure to any system using none or all of the information provided herein. If I was not already deep into an adventure path, I would definitely adapt this adventure to Pathfinder!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2013 04:06:42

Although I have never run it, this adventure is the one you want if you want to run a Mystara adventure in the Grand Duchy for experienced players. I can't think of a more detailed, atmospheric, engaging and entertaining published Grand Duchy adventure. Only Rahasia rivals this as far as the B-modules go. Proves the UK TSR guys really knew what they were doing.

On the other hand, starting DMs and players might find this a little overwhelming due to the level of detail and the sandbox style play, so would be best trying out one of the other B-modules first - B1, B2 & B9 are all good starting points.

Pleased with the OCR quality too. Thanks drivethru!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2013 07:58:56

First: Please note that the die-cut counters ARE included in this newly-scanned PDF, despite the old disclaimer to the contrary.

The new scan is excellent, and the adventure is still one of the best.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Warren H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2012 21:20:25

A super module for the B and X ruleset. This adventure spans the entire Grand Duchy and introduces new monsters and ancient history background for the Known World setting



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2006 00:00:00

I once had this quite some time ago and was successful in running it once. When I recently had a new group, I had a chance to run this once again, once I found this great mod on this site. Night's Dark Terror is an awesome adventure that is so much more than just a module, and is very nearly a campaign pack, especially if you are playing in Karameikos, where the adventure was written for. I had no trouble adapting the adventure to the Forgotten Realms, and tweaking the ending a bit to begin the second focus of the campaign that I wanted to start. There is so much material in this adventure that you most likely will not use it, and can save to throw in at another time for another shorter adventure. I highly recommend this adventure.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The plethora of small sized gaming adventures, most of which stack together to form the overall campaign pack that the adventure follows. Some of the smaller adventures might not be used, and can be used at another time. I also liked that many of the maps for this product are also done in CC2 format on the internet, and therefore can be printed out to scale or better views.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The only thing that would be better than this product would be a hard copy of the original.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2006 00:00:00

I bought this as more of a piece of nostalgia rather than to serve as an actual adventure for my gaming group. As an adventure, it's not bad, though it's a bit too hack-n-slash for my tastes. Nonetheless, there's a lot of good material in here and I found myself able to incorporate a good portion of it into my on-going campaign.

Scans were all good and very readable. No missing pages or maps that I could tell. I printed out several of the pages and maps - all printed fine.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: There's a lot of historical information in here that is consistent with the old "Known World" Gazetteer series of modules. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Too heavily combat oriented, but I knew that going into it. Some of the map references were wrong - undoubtably typos in the original product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2006 00:00:00

Great adventure with lots of depth and background. Scans little on the pale side, but still reasonable and useable.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2005 00:00:00

One of my favorite D&D adventures ever! I've used and re-used this adventure dozens of times, in a dozen different games.

The story is a campaign in it's own right. Well paced, involved, and filled with wonderful maps!

This is a product that continues to be useful long after the adventure is finished.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Great maps!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by john h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2005 00:00:00

A pretty good scan - everything is readable. That said, the reading was fascinating. I now understand the postive reviews and comments about this adventure that I have read at Enworld and other places.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Variety and how the whole adventure ties together.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The counters plugged on the last page were NOT part of the scan. Not a big deal to me, personally, but a completist may be disappointed. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2004 00:00:00

Great module, wonderful maps and provides many great hours of gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items