Dungeon Masters Guild
Find Category









Back
Blood Magic (5e) Pay What You Want
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 2
10 5
6 4
3 3
2 0
Blood Magic (5e)
Click to view
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2016 05:28:44

Absolutley love the item! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is it is missing a little information and has some strange wording issues that need to be fixed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2016 12:12:38

The concept of Blood Magic has always been one that interested me and I recall there being a few prestige classes from older editions that had that flavor. One of my viewers actually requested that I do a review of it, so I highlighted it in my ongoing weekly video series, DMs Guidl Spotlight. Keep up the good work! http://www.nerdimmersion.com/dd-5e-dms-guild-spotlight-blood-magic/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:08:58

This is a good quality product that is much more comprehensive than many other supplements. The blood magic is especially very nice and the comprehensive implementation across the different classes is a nice touch.

I'm not an expert at class balancing, so other reviews should be used for that, but these .pdfs show a high degree of effort and fully expand on the initial design concept.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2016 21:14:45

Seems ok from first read but still seems to be unbalanced but some people like play that way.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Francesco R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2016 04:31:47

Liked it, but I find it a little too complicated and not-so-fine balanced. But for the cost is a great have! =)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2016 17:34:11

Fun supplement for people who enjoy the thematic elements of blood magic, and definitely powerful enough to see use. It contains two versions of an Arcane tradition, a sorcerous origin, and a Fighter Archetype, and all look appealing and fun at first glance.

The Fighter Archetype I think needs just a little work to give it more individuality, since some of the later abilities feel a bit disconnencted from the flavor of the whole. It's starting ability on the other hand is exactly what I want out of a dark, bloodthirsty Fighter.

The Sorcerous Origin is by far the most creatively original of the three, utilizing a different and unique style of blood magic that I won't spoil but is a little complicated and quite different than what I was expecting. It's an interesting concept but I think it needs some work to be less high-maintanence and stronger, since the other Sorcerous Origins are very strong comparitively.

The Arcane Tradition is more along the lines of what I expected, executed nicely and with plenty of useful powers. The first version may be a little overpowered depending on your campaign, so keep that in mind. The author uses Hit Dice in some very interesting ways, which is very thematic but also very powerful if your playgroup is fond of trying to break things.

I'll update this review in the future after getting a chance to playtest all the features included in the PDF, but for now I'll just that that this is worth a couple bucks if you like the idea of Blood Magic, and while it isn't a flawless attempt it certainly performs as advertised.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by manolo d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2016 16:57:43

This booklet is finely set up and covers interesting concepts, but i feel not much effort was spent in overall balancing of the character options. Blood Magic v1 seems fairly overpowered, given that the caster is using a resource (hit dice) otherwise rarely used. Blood Magic v2 is more appealing, even if the bonuses granted by the blood points/rituals seems negligible in comparison with the other static features. I was surprised that both version didn't include an instantaneous penality to hit points for the caster. Seems to me that both options could use a simplification revamp. The Sorcerer King's blood origin is what i liked most, a refreshing take to the standard sorcerer and balanced, synergic features. I would have preferred a different capstone to keep the unique sparks features based on encounters, but this is a matter of personal taste. The blood thrall is ... just meh. I could easily fit this as a bodyguard NPC in any evil encounter, but as player you would have really limited options with this archetype. All in all an interesting reading of concept, but loosely refined. As a master i would use this with caution, rework some features before using them, and just wouldn't allow some of this content in the form it is now.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2016 01:06:19

Disappointed. From Mike Mearls' review and some comments below I was expecting a class that boosted itself by spending hit dice. Either I got the wrong product or it was changed before I downloaded the edition with that mechanic. Now the Blood Magic arcane tradition just uses a watered down sorcery point mechanic with some "blood fluff."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Raymond D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2016 23:37:08

To be honest I felt the wizard build was clearly overpowered, I wouldn't allow it in my game. The extra uses for Hit Dice is a neat idea, but it feels like getting something for nothing. The sorcerer build wasn't bad, but I feel like it gives the player too much to keep track of, different kinds of sparks on top of sorcery points invites a lot of meta game thinking. A little more fine tuning would have been a good idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by GKF P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2016 17:32:58

I like it, keep up the good work and continue putting out content like this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gaetan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2016 16:40:56

Strengths:

  • Pro quality formatting.
  • Nice use of design space, exchanging Hit Dice for temporary boosts.
  • A magic potion that restores Hit Dice instead of HP also a neat idea.

Weaknesses:

  • Awkward wordings and editing in a few places. You inflict a "Minor/Severe Wound" on yourself, which costs you an HD which then gives you a "Blood Point". What's non-obvious here is that you actually want to "Wound" yourself in order to power the other features of this Arcane Tradition. Maybe this just needs a side-bar in plain English to explain what's going on, but the "Blood" in "Blood Magic" is really your Hit Dice.
  • This Arcane Tradition is very aggressive on the power curve. There are two or three significant abilities that all get powered up as you go. Most of the official Arcane Traditions are pretty clean, one significant but specific ability at each of 2, 6, 10 & 14. This one is more extensive. -- At level 2 this class has two bonuses for having Blood Points & 3 "Blood abilities". -- At level 6 you get 3 more significant abilities -- At level 10 you get 2 more significant abilities -- At level 14 you get 1 more significant ability + 2 upgrades to existing abilities.
  • Overall, this makes the Blood Mage quite strong, especially at early levels or in campaign with less than the "recommended" number of daily encounters. You get to trade HD you're not planning to use for extra damage on spells. At level 6 and up, you get to "farm" minions for even more "Blood Points" without even spending HD.

For the future.

  • I get that this is just a single Arcane Tradition with 3 pages of text for now.
  • It could really use a couple of "blood-themed" spells or something that ties in better.
  • Printer-friendly version with no background would also be nice.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2016 18:37:45

Blood Magic is an interesting take on a Wizard Archetype (otherwise known as an arcane tradition). It draws on the power of blood (obviously); first your own, then later the blood of your enemies.

The effects and blood point sub-system are an intriguing variation on the otherwise school based fm tradition, and really make the wizard archetype stand out as unique and strange. If you have ever played a blood Mage or have ever wanted to, this may be the product for you.

The PDF itself is excellently laid out in a two column format, and seems to be free of any typos or errors. Though short, I would say that this pay what you want product is worth at least $1, if not more. Furthermore, for any DMs looking for flavorful villains and NPCs, this PDF might inspire your npc design (despite NPCs no longer having class levels).

If you are curious, don't skip this PDF. If you like it, I as a reviewer implore you to show your appreciation and drop a dollar in the tip jar.

5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 10:38:02

I'm a big fan of, and occasional collaborator with, APG. Their stuff is always top-tier and this is no exception. It is definitely a niche class that isn't going to appeal to everyone and its abilities are a refreshing deviation from what you might expect for a blood mage. That uniqueness alone nets it a high rating from me, but your miles may vary. I strongly suggest giving it a shot though and keep an eye out for other content from Alea.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rick J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 01:26:14

The formatting is unique, above all. While I like the idea of a wizard who sacrifices their own well-being for power, I feel your implementation is... wanting. The "wounds" in Blood Magic aren't defined, and Power of Blood is a feature that will likely never come up in gameplay ever. Blood Magic is clearly based on the Bladesinger's main feature, Burn the Blood is based on the Storm sorcerer's feature of the same level.

On a more base level, expending hit dice for class features is a neat idea, but I'm not sure if the extra power you can get from it is worth giving up the longterm survivability of a class that is already so squishy.

On a more positive note, I adore the concept of a potion that can restore hit dice, even if it's only one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items