Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 6
1 3
0 7
1 0
0 0
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Henrique A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2018 19:26:24

Ok - for a two hour adventure, this was loads of fun.

Players can expand if they want around the carnival, or you can be more straight-forward towards the plot, and it's easily done. One of the most malleable modules around, easily expandable and compressed.

DMs also have fun with this due to lair actions, although some of the damage may outright kill LVL 1's, so do adjust the encounter appropriately. Works well with PC's that you know their background well, as it gives a good chance to RP on their fears and traumas - as the boss would.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MORDALAINE Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:47:51

A trip to the carnival!

I truly enjoyed this RP-heavy, non-combat adventure. For some of the carnival attractions, we played the games and I let the players roll to cheat, and then had them actually cheat. It was a really unique experience as a DM.

AND WHO DOESN'T ENJOY DANCING MICE???

10/5 would mice again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 14:51:47

This has probably been my favorite for new players or for just having fun with the roleplay as long as you have players looking for roleplaying and not hack-and-slash. I spruced up the carnival and kept adding games as players idly suggested "Do they have any X?" or "You know what a traditional goliath game is?" Ran it and turned this two-hour into a six-hour-long festival of silliness and then creepiness. The only thing it lacks is a proper map for the room of the final encounter. Or at least an idea of how large it actually is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:59:13

I've only run this once and I don't do a lot of DMing, so it's quite possible that I don't have the skills to make this module shine. The concept is a nice change of pace from your standard hack-and-slash, but it takes a lot of work on the DM's part to fill in the blanks. It has everything you could want--creepy carnival, creepy clowns, creepy maze, etc., but it somehow seems less than the sum of its parts. It might actually be better to run everything but the combats theater of the mind and not try to design and draw an entire carnival on the grid. I ran it with several people I know and play with regularly who were willing to play a RP-heavy module, but it still felt like I had to railroad pretty hard to keep them moving forward. This is not something I'd want to run with a table, especially a full table, put together at the last minute with complete strangers.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:49:33

I'm always a fan of roleplaying modules, and this one is no exception. This does a very good job of keeping you on pace: if you have plenty of time, you can roleplay more, otherwise, it tells you how many activities they can get into before continuing. A very funny irony that the mission giving NPC is ignored by everyone, and everyone has a tale to share about her that makes her seem crazy. But she is right this time! This also has a pretty challenging final boss with neat tactics! I would recommend this to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:57:45

Quick module, nice RP, cool concept. Really the only downside is the magic item. The module can go more than 2H if you let your players roleplay



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:44:54

Disclaimer-I have only run this once, and with a weak party. I love the concept - a creepy and mysterious carnival! Who doesn't have flashbacks of the county fair as a kid? Trying to herd the cats of my group was a challenge - all they wanted to do was fight. A great adventure for RP though. I had a blast. And the magic item was fun - I had a bard in the group who used it well in later adventures "Oh God, not that again???" And if you get the chance to play the related CCC, then this is an awesome lead in. High for a RP group, low averae for a combat group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 23:40:23

Oh the magic item in this is pretty terrible. The rest of the adventure is a lot of fun. I really love this adventure for brand new players. It takes place at a carnival. Making new players come up with their own carnival game is very entertaining. Instead of playing for a sum of money, the players won an "inspiration die" (free d20 advantage roll once). I printed a maze, but quickly realized that I didn't want to roleplay walking through a maze for 2 hours. It is a very enjoyable module for new and low level players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 00:44:56

If players hate mimes they will love this quest. It was fun but first time I ran it they went staright for the mirror maze and then wanted to talk to the doctor after they were attacked. Kinda got awkward.

I do recommend though



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:13:50

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 450-600 Note: WotC/DDAL doesn't do ANY cleanup or editing, even when blatant errors are pointed out.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2017 16:32:18

This is one of my favorite modules. It couts as a two hour module but there is such an opportunity for countless roleplay it usually ends up taking around 3. Players like to spend countless minutes playing carnival games, and there is so much to do with so much room for DM spin. The module can also be very unsettling when they encounter the fools. Madness saves are always fun. The mirror maze is amazing at confusing players, and its cool to see a final boss with lair actions at tier 1.

The magic item is not something you see, so i appreciate that. However, it is situational at best and completely useless at tier 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:38:07

Setting is great, story is fun but there's WAY too much here to run it in 2 hours. This is not a module that will be easy to run without some prep to get everything laid out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 11:48:23

I ran this Two-Hour level 3 module with no prep time, so take that into consideration.

The theme is fun. But as someone that had to run last minute, I think I would have benefited from a block that said, "List the attractions, give the PCs time to explore [2 or 3] of them. Then have the Fools interaction."

There is one single combat that had to make the XP requirements, and it went with the (usually recommended) fewer more durable enemies, which can make things hairy for lower level PCs. I recommend other DMs use this calculus when deciding what strength to run it at:

  • Tak counts as 2 attacks
  • Thugs count as 1 each
  • Rats count as 1

If you have 3 PCs, even if they are over-leveled (so level 4), I would remove one thug so it is 4 to their 3 instead of 5 to their 3. Or reduce the Thug HP to 25 and Tak to 40.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:32:40

No Foolish Matter is a short adventure that contains a bit of roleplaying and combat. There isn't much to it except for exploring the creepy carnival which can be a fun subject of interest for the characters. The way the creepiness of the carnival is shown in the different scenes is good but there are a lot of NPCs that don't really have much use in the adventure and just provide a bit of roleplay opportunity for the players. This module contributes to the overall strange happenings or events that transpire during the Rage of Demons storyline. It's a short adventure and can be fun to give your player's the creepy carnival experience.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 23:04:53

I'm a newer DM, so take this with a grain of salt. The setting (creepy carnival) is undeniably fun, and ripe for all kinds of roleplaying. And it was appropriate and enjoyable for a group of mostly newer players. But as the other review for this mentions, what drags it down is the dialogue in the tavern (too many NPCs with too little important info to share). My PCs felt like they were missing something, when in fact there just wasn't much there. Then exploring the fair, while more fun than the tavern, can suffer from creating too much downtime before the first combat encounter. The tavern is more at fault than the fair, though I think it's reasonable to say that whatever dialogue is spread throughout numerous tavern/fair NPCs and locations could easily be streamlined into 1-2 discussions or stops. If I were to run this again, I'd have them arrive at the tavern at night with one NPC (Aelia) awake to fill them in and push them off far more quickly, and would consider some tighter "rails" at the fair itself.

Once my PCs got into the mirror maze, this was a blast. I improvved a mirror teleportation puzzle that they solved with some rope and spellcasting, and the final encounter with the cool mirror-based lair abilities was satisfying.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items