Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 3
1 1
0 5
1 0
0 0
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to view
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 23:40:23

Oh the magic item in this is pretty terrible. The rest of the adventure is a lot of fun. I really love this adventure for brand new players. It takes place at a carnival. Making new players come up with their own carnival game is very entertaining. Instead of playing for a sum of money, the players won an "inspiration die" (free d20 advantage roll once). I printed a maze, but quickly realized that I didn't want to roleplay walking through a maze for 2 hours. It is a very enjoyable module for new and low level players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 00:44:56

If players hate mimes they will love this quest. It was fun but first time I ran it they went staright for the mirror maze and then wanted to talk to the doctor after they were attacked. Kinda got awkward.

I do recommend though



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:13:50

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 450-600 Note: WotC/DDAL doesn't do ANY cleanup or editing, even when blatant errors are pointed out.

I recommend downloading the State of Hillsfar document and reading that before running any Season 3 module.

Why is Hillsfar a relevant setting at this time? Walls and refugees. The Great Law of Humanity: Only humans are allowed within Hillsfar. The Great Law of Trade: Do not interfere with any legitimate trade.

Does Hilsfar have anything to do with the Season 3 Hardcover - Out of the Abyss? Not really.

+++++++++++++++++++ Note: No Season 1, 2, or 3 module has a digital certificate to print because WotC says they can't accept volunteer help for legal reasons and won't allow their paid employees to create the certificates even though they have the templates.

The DMSGUILD site segregates reviews between people who've purchased it here and everyone else. They do NOT have a robust rating system, relying instead on the 5-star model.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2017 16:32:18

This is one of my favorite modules. It couts as a two hour module but there is such an opportunity for countless roleplay it usually ends up taking around 3. Players like to spend countless minutes playing carnival games, and there is so much to do with so much room for DM spin. The module can also be very unsettling when they encounter the fools. Madness saves are always fun. The mirror maze is amazing at confusing players, and its cool to see a final boss with lair actions at tier 1.

The magic item is not something you see, so i appreciate that. However, it is situational at best and completely useless at tier 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 21:38:07

Setting is great, story is fun but there's WAY too much here to run it in 2 hours. This is not a module that will be easy to run without some prep to get everything laid out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 11:48:23

I ran this Two-Hour level 3 module with no prep time, so take that into consideration.

The theme is fun. But as someone that had to run last minute, I think I would have benefited from a block that said, "List the attractions, give the PCs time to explore [2 or 3] of them. Then have the Fools interaction."

There is one single combat that had to make the XP requirements, and it went with the (usually recommended) fewer more durable enemies, which can make things hairy for lower level PCs. I recommend other DMs use this calculus when deciding what strength to run it at:

  • Tak counts as 2 attacks
  • Thugs count as 1 each
  • Rats count as 1

If you have 3 PCs, even if they are over-leveled (so level 4), I would remove one thug so it is 4 to their 3 instead of 5 to their 3. Or reduce the Thug HP to 25 and Tak to 40.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chester C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 08:32:40

No Foolish Matter is a short adventure that contains a bit of roleplaying and combat. There isn't much to it except for exploring the creepy carnival which can be a fun subject of interest for the characters. The way the creepiness of the carnival is shown in the different scenes is good but there are a lot of NPCs that don't really have much use in the adventure and just provide a bit of roleplay opportunity for the players. This module contributes to the overall strange happenings or events that transpire during the Rage of Demons storyline. It's a short adventure and can be fun to give your player's the creepy carnival experience.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 23:04:53

I'm a newer DM, so take this with a grain of salt. The setting (creepy carnival) is undeniably fun, and ripe for all kinds of roleplaying. And it was appropriate and enjoyable for a group of mostly newer players. But as the other review for this mentions, what drags it down is the dialogue in the tavern (too many NPCs with too little important info to share). My PCs felt like they were missing something, when in fact there just wasn't much there. Then exploring the fair, while more fun than the tavern, can suffer from creating too much downtime before the first combat encounter. The tavern is more at fault than the fair, though I think it's reasonable to say that whatever dialogue is spread throughout numerous tavern/fair NPCs and locations could easily be streamlined into 1-2 discussions or stops. If I were to run this again, I'd have them arrive at the tavern at night with one NPC (Aelia) awake to fill them in and push them off far more quickly, and would consider some tighter "rails" at the fair itself.

Once my PCs got into the mirror maze, this was a blast. I improvved a mirror teleportation puzzle that they solved with some rope and spellcasting, and the final encounter with the cool mirror-based lair abilities was satisfying.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2016 04:07:17

DDEX3-06 took my group 4 hours and was still not finished. The story was excellent, but was too complex. As the DM, I really enjoyed it, but the tools to share the story with the players weren't sufficient. In this setting (solving an interesting problem with combat), finishing with the combat meant the story of the problem was devalued. With such a good story, this was a shame.

If I ran this again, I'd railroad PCs into sequential encounters so the story shone. Certainly, I would need to find a better way to run the tavern setting, as this sort of scenario with different characters all having something to share is difficult to do well in a 2-hour RPG.

Though fun, the imposition of a minute of incapacitating madness in combat was cruel. Better directions for these grossly imbalanced elements is needed, or more thoughtful play-testing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items