Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 18
3 13
0 3
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 20:15:49

DDEX 01-3: Shadows Over the Moonsea, PIRATES and ghost pirates to boot. A great module to get players to think about what do you do if you are not on land? Is using my fire spell / attack such a good idea on a ship? What about my movement? The standard land battle occurs but the boss fight in the end requires the players to choose spells wisely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:10:56

I loved running this module and the twist at the end is hilarious. It does take a bit more than four hours to run, but it's still fun to run and play! I tend to embellish and add more detail to it, though, since it it a bit sparse in some areas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:54:40

I had a very moderate reaction to running this one. There's a ton of background that is easily missed, and without the background the end doesn't make a ton of sense. That said, it's a really neat setting, and a cinematic finish that are well worth the playthrough., especially if your group investigats things thoroughly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2018 20:23:31

A fun module. A really entertaining excursion out of Phlan, but keep your players moving or the exploration will take time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by JAMES T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:19:05

I've watched this one on Roll20Play, I've played in the adventure and I've DM'd it. I really enjoy this particular adventure, though it really pays to do a little preparation beforehand. Other than the 'finale' my characters were able to avoid combat throughout the entire span so were able to spend much more time being 'gumshoe' detectives. My table decided not to build any fortifications, so they really only had to deal with the ambush party and I hand-waved (like was suggested) that the boat and Elisande were carried off to the boats in the water. Again, most of this adventure works if you play up the creepiness factor and if you run the combat like the author suggests, throwing only the two 'leads' and the entire remainder of mobs into the 'roll for both, whoever wins remove a mob' style. Only engage the mobs directly with the players if the players engage. Combat was smooth when run in that style which is what the author suggested.

A great continuation of the story of Phlan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 20:14:41

I've recently completed Shadow of the Moonsea via play-by-post, and you can check out my review over at my blog!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kareena R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 11:20:05

Shadows of the Moonsea was an exploration based adventure. Most of our characters enjoyed playing it, as a DM it was hard to determine how much information to give to players. The islanders made for an interesting plot twist, but it was really hard to figure out the history of the island without giving away spoilers to the characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 20:18:39

A mixed bag, but I'd always prefer Adventurer's League modules be too ambitious than too dull.

For the first time in the Tyranny of Dragons path there's a good mix of exploration, roleplaying and combat here, with a central mystery to solve, fun characters to interact with, and a climactic battle. It introduces some great NPCs who'll likely hang around in your campaign - Alleyd Burral isn't given much to do here, but she returns regularly along the path. Elisande is the sort of easily-adoptable character likely to become a party mascot.

On the other hand, there are some serious mis-steps. The villagers were probably intended to draw from the long tradition of sullen Lovecraftian rural cultists, but the description of their village "huts" and the unfortunate choice to give them accented dialogue makes them instead read as exceptionaly racist stereotypes. Some DM finessing - most notably to their dialogue - is needed to salvage them.

In addition, the plot of the villains ends up being overly complex, and ultimately pointless. The McGuffin the villains are searching for is not to be found in this module, or indeed in this campaign, and players can be left thinking it's important when actually they'll need to pop over to the hardback Tyranny of Dragons campaign to see what has become of it. The DM will need to be careful and creative in giving the players enough exposition to understand the events they have just been involved in.

Finally, the "guardian of the cave" is an odd squib. The setup suggests that the lone monster patrolling the woods is a serious and frightening threat, but stat-wise it's not even a match for a single martially-oriented level 2 character. Our group murdered it before it even rolled an attack.

Still, a definite improvement over Defiance in Phlan and Secrets of Sokol Keep, and a good fit for anyone looking for a short tier 1 adventure that's more than just a dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2018 14:04:47

Very good and very complete module.

The story is really great. There are a lot of great RP opportunities in the begining.

Then you have some travel are you can apply all the travel rules.

The end is great. The clock is ticking and the players have many many options to explore. They won't do everything possible which gives a really good replayability valor to this adventure.

The plot twist is awesome are hilarious.

My friends (who are experienced homebrew players) had a lot of reserve concerning non-homebrew stuff and Adventurers League. I runned this module and with them and it convinced them that Adventurers League can be quite fun and the mission are not always simple hack & slash rescue mission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:47:53

It can be difficult to see the complexites of the early modules - A certain goat and girl are found here that keeps cropping up into other modules. The mystery aspect of these are fun, but can be missed by unattentive parties



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paige L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 10:45:53

This is the start of the real complexity in Season 1 of Adventurer's League. The story here is colorful and unique (which is something you can ALWAYS expect from anything Greg Marks writes), however the DM is going to have to pay VERY close attention to what is going on and WHEN it happens. This means it's definitely NOT something you can run cold, or with inadequate prep. It's a good story if your DM is willing to put the work in - but isn't that true of every adventure? Final combat can be painful (also a hallmark of Greg's writing, and I mean that in a good way), so hold on to your butts!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2018 11:45:42

This adventure had some of the best NPCs. Haha! The madmen and the suspicious inbred villagers where a hoot. Elisande is an amazing character to play with - she and the groups rogue, a former urchin himself, really clicked. She doted on him and he became very protective of her.

Sadly the plot itself was very confusing. There was too much secret stuff going on; a mystery hidden inside a mystery, smothered in secret sauce. It made it hard to follow and I had to rexplain to my players several times as to where the second boat came from, even after I had the villagers confess what they did. If a plot is going to be this convoluded there needs to be some sort of "...and I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you pesky kids and your dog." (Even now I am still not sure what "the adventurers already did to break the pact.") The confusion took away from the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 21:07:57

I found this to be a ton of fun to DM. A straightforward module with consistent narrative logic and a meaningful villain's plan; the final encounter really caught fire in my imagination and kept the party of six on their toes, with a moment to shine for everyone.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alain P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 20:50:23

This is one of my favorite Season 1 mods! An interesting mystery, rumors of a ship crewed by the damned, and an isolated village with its strange denizens combine into a varied adventure that culminates in ship battle against pirates. My only slight complaint is that the only combat encounter to change the pace of the 1st half can be circumvented which can make the game feel slower for certain types of players. Basically you might not get to any action until the last third of the 4 hours, so a hack-n-slash group may get restless, though a RP heavy group will probably eat it up and possibly make you go overtime. My group loved discovering that the ghost pirates were fake only to have the real ones roll up! Overall the lack of combat encounters can be forgiven due to the well presented mystery, story and RPing opportunites that make this mod shine. 4.5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 23:43:59

This one module does a better job of giving the players background information on the entire Tyranny of Dragons storyline season that the enitrety of both books in that storyline do. If you want to inject some backstory into the Horde of the Dragon Queen campaign, you;d be hard-pressed to find a better way to do it than to insert this module somehow.

Also, who can pass up fighting pirates at sea, in a storm, right?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items