Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse









Back
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 3
1 9
0 1
0 0
0 0
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to view
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2017 09:06:27

DDEX 1-2 Secrets of Sokol Keep is a good adventure that consists of three parts.

The first part seeds the adventure's hook to the players and provides some interesting options for roleplaying. It works well as an introduction to later events and allows a good bit of wiggle room for groups to make their own choices about their motives for adventure.

The second part is the meat of the investigation. It provides several different locals and non-player characters for the group to explore and interact with. The non-player characters are interesting enough to be fun to roleplay and the investigation of the locales is pretty simple so it won't pose a huge challenge but doesn't run the risk of stopping the adventure either.

The third part is a short dungeon crawl that is fun and can be challenging. It's very basic in the choice of enemies but it leads up to a good moral dilemma that can be enjoyable for groups.

Overall Secrets of Sokol Keep is a good adventure. For Adventure League play this adventure stays true to the xp rewarded at the end giving the players a fiar challenge for the xp rewarded and awarding a good amount of quest xp for the missions. Flaw wise even though the XP budget is fair for the risk, it's a little low for a four hour suggested play time and fits more into the awards that a two hour adventure should award.

For home play this adventure is good as it is easily adaptable for many different hooks and provides a fun adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2017 11:53:55

This is one of my go to adventures for players just getting into 5e. It has a great mix of RP and combat, some story rewards for doing bad things and a ton of interesting story points. Much like most adventures, the RP is up front and the combat is in the second half after exploring the depths of the keep itself (mostly the Jade Temple). The spirit is a nice touch as well and helps explain away any other way the adventurers try to light the lighthouse again. Supernatural beings make this super easy.

The exploration of the keep is fun and fast paced. Easy to understand and you can really picture what's in most room through the descriptions while leaving plenty of room for custom elements to be added.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2017 20:58:16

This module was a fun bit of exploration, and a good followon to Defiance in Phlan. There were a few parts that I found confusing my first time running the module, but on subsequent runs I had an easier time keeping it all straight. It has some nice story ties to Shadows Over the Moonsea, but not to the extent that either are difficult to follow for a player who hasn't played the other. I like the mix of exploration and roleplay in addition to hack-and-slash, it makes the module fun for lots of different types of players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer N. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2017 21:23:13

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2017 11:02:25

OK dont start newbies out with this module, make sure they are at least level 2 before starting this, yes it is tier one but... Now this is a great module for the detective type characters, some good hack and slash, overall a fun module to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 01:41:32

The mystery of this adventure is great. This module does a good job of encouraging rewarding exploration. It also had a unique tone for the season which i liked.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2017 14:43:29

Neat adventure taking the group to a close but far location from Phlan, was fun for my players with lots of opportunity for creative thinking and RP. For DMs it would help to get a stats for the key NPC in this adventure (without giving things away) along with a little more quotes/lines for PC interactions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Donald P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2017 12:55:05

For me this will always be the definitive Adventurer's League module. It was my first taste of 5e and so I am full of nostaligia when I think about it. I wouldn't hesitiate to run it as an introductory module for new players either.

The first part of the adventure is roleplay intensive, and the second is a linear dungeon crawl, so there is a good balance for all types of players. Good introduction to Phlan and a good starting point for the rest of the ToD modules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sly G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 07:23:47

GMing Secrets of Sokol Keep

First of all, note that all the older modules are 4 hours, so make sure you have plenty of time.

A large part of the first half of this module is very heavy investigation and mystery. Some players will enjoy this, but those who want action may get a bit bored, especially if the first encounter is avoided.

The instructions for swimming to the island stretch any reasonable belief. The island is only 300 ft away (100m, so a couple of laps of a pool) -- taking 2d4+2 hours is beyond ridiculous and sounds like an error (maybe 2d4+2 minutes).

Lots of mystery on the island to investigate, so try and fit in some exposition of the plot. I find many scenarios have all sorts of wonderful background plot but no way for the characters to easily discover this. I don't like to waste this information, so try to pass out bits of the story during the scenario so the players understand what is going on.

Portraying the servants was okay for interaction, but the ghost was difficult as it had limited interaction. I literally knocked under the table (once for yes, twice for no) as the communication with the players.

The ending is a fairly straight dungeon crawl, although it also has parts they are a bit silly, e.g. creatures hiding is a small pit that you don't detect even if you fall into it.

As an example of exposition, I kept the bodies at the end separate from the undead; otherwise if you fought the bodies then the chance of deducing the plot of what happened after blasting the undead, would be impossible. As a GM, I want to tell the players the cool story that is happening.

Scaling seemed about right; I love zombies and the death save that allows the, to keep going (makes for great descriptions to players when they strike a 'killing' blow).

A solid starting scenario, but make sure your players like investigation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Philip U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2017 08:56:11

This is a great intro into what D&D can be. It was the first AL game I DM'd for and the players had a blast. If your party has played before though, ignore the APL. I had 4 level 1 players which is technically a "weak" party for this adventure. Even playing the monsters intelligently they were nuked down by the party and posed little threat. Pros:

  • Great Roleplaying potential in town when you are collecting information.
  • Simple puzzles with a nice plot device to prod them in the right direction if the players get stuck.
  • Learn some of the history surrounding Phlan and some of the local superstition. Cons:
  • Combats can be trivialized if you have experienced players.
  • The reason for exploring the keep felt flimsy in execution.
  • No Map for the laughing Goblin inn


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2017 08:35:33

This adventure is great for players who enjoy the murder/mystery side of D&D. Its a good start for anyone who is looking to transition from a little homebrew and step into Adventurers League Play. I've GM'd and played in this adventure, and being on either side of the screen is fun. If you want a good balance starting with combat, then some RP with a few story twists then back to combat, this is the start you need for your players.

The perks to this modules include:

  • Learning the history of local landmarks around Phlan
  • History of the Sokol family, and what the lighthouse represents
  • Understanding of who-does-what around Phlan

Downside: No tavern map of the Laughing Goblin included! :(



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 16:48:36

Second module I played through. It is great.

Introduction: Smooth with adequate roleplaying opportunities.

Exploration: Interesting and tense. Some very interesting crossover into later modules. Player choices really matter and some decisions can make for very different playthroughs.

Combat: Great introduction. We had a new player at the table that was able to pick things up.

Actual Diplomacy: It isn't often that PCs are able to talk opposition out of a fight (especially when [redacted - "bad stuff is imminent anyway"])

Overall: I would like to play through this module again with a new character and a new group to see how different things go. This is a top tier module.

Ratings: -- New PC friendliness (1st and 2nd level): 5/5. -- Story: 5/5. -- Pacing: 5/5. -- Combat Difficulty: 3.5/5. Some tier 1 modules can be extremely rough for new PCs (e.g. enemies that deal 10 damage with 1 attack). This is not one of those. That said, the combat encounters themselves were well done. Especially how they interacted with the pacing and exploration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2017 19:33:25

I've played/run this module enough that I could run it from memory except for the monster stat blocks. It provides some good investigatory work to Season 1 where players have to act like detectives instead of just kicking down doors and attacking everything in sight(although there are still some memorable combats). The number of times I've played it the DM has made all the difference which is usual for any module, but we still have fun each time and came away with a different play experience due to DM discretion/interpretation of various parts of the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items