Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CCC-GARY01: A Night to Remember
by Timophey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2017 04:02:42

I liked running this adventure. I ran this adventure online, but I like when an adventure is focused on roleplaying more than combat. A detective style of the adventure lets shine less armed characters and creates tension in testing the player's brains, not the minmaxed builds the player brought. The adventure cannot be passed recklessly - it makes the players think twice or suffer some ill effects. Great adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GARY01: A Night to Remember
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Artistic Character Sheet for the Discerning Adventurer (Dwarven pg.2)
by Dylan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2017 03:29:34

cant wait til page 3 of the spells



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artistic Character Sheet for the Discerning Adventurer (Dwarven pg.2)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Druid Circle of Death
by donald j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 19:49:04

Cool. The veil awareness ability seems a little bit vague and subjective though, if not a little out of place. Otherwise I like it, might use it at some point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid Circle of Death
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Shattered Souls
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 16:46:50

A solid dungeon crawl with multiple factions of enemies and potential allies. A bit tricky to work them all together to make a cohesive dungeon environment where the players can understand that they are dealing with multiple factions but a fun romp none the less with a end result enemy that can become a long term enemy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shattered Souls
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Haunt
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 16:44:02

I ran this recently for my players and slid it seemlessly into our campaign. Used some creepy lullaby's as suggested and tormented my players with hours of fun. They still are scared of dolls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Shawn, Appreciate the review! Regards Phil Beckwith
The Dawn Chasers - Adventure
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 16:41:28

Excellent and fun adventure that was easy to slide into an ongoing campaign. I enjoyed running my players through it and have made the nemesis a recurring villain who shows from time to time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dawn Chasers - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Frosted Prince
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 13:38:42

Ran this for some friends as a winter one-shot adventure and they had a blast! In the interest of time, I lopped off the first part (which provides a number of hooks and helps ground the adventure in the setting more strongly).

My group got straight into the action, with an encounter with some frosty trolls and winter wolves on the route to Castle Krag. The adventure felt like a fun little dungeon crawl, with a few lower-ranking 'miniboss' fights leading up to strenuous final boss(es). A blast of burning, necrotic hellfire put the fear of all the gods into my 14th-level party!

The players all complimented the adventure, which after cutting out the first bit still took a good six hours and filled out the day nicely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frosted Prince
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Specialty Priests of Faerûn
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 13:12:35

After using this book for several months and reading all the different variants of priests I have to say that this is the best options book I have seen for a long time. It grants loads of individual options that are accurate to your clerics god, grating you a deeper and more interesting game play. Rather than a simple “1+ to trade” that my Cleric of Waukeen probably would have gotten, Instead she got a more interesting effect to use in trading and in using languages. Its very interesting. I would also recommend this not just to players who want to play a cleric but also DM’s who will feature Clerics or priest in anyway in the campaign, as it contains some more defining info about the gods and some abilities that could be interesting for the party. The Forgotten realms is a campaign that is steeped in gods so having this helps with the wide variety of gods that are in there but it's also good for another campaign to add more flavour the priests that might be in it.

It's hard for me to state how wonderful this book has been to use in my group as I have used my cleric of a rather unusual faith (waukeen) to make the world feel more alive and more interesting. I am able to solve problems and find solutions in more interesting and innovating ways. I always recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Specialty Priests of Faerûn
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCCTHENT01-02 Those That Dwell Beneath
by Kyle J Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 10:51:11

Overall, this felt very underwhelming. I got this at the last minute and was just as surprised and let down as my players openly were when it ended as quickly as it did.

There are opportunities for more combat, but as my group isn't murderhoboing, all they ended up fighting was the last encounter. Done in about an hour, when normally it takes them 3-4 to finish a 2hr module.

Part 1 was good, hopefully part 3 is too.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CCCTHENT01-02 Those That Dwell Beneath
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Trouble in Ironboot Mine
by Akav A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2017 02:34:58

First off, this is a great adventure and my players enjoyed it. Here are some things DMs wishing to run the adventure should be aware of:

I had a party of 6, and if I used the milestone rule they'd have steamrolled every encounter. They were already pretty tough as it was. Instead I awarded EXP points, and that seemed to put them in a good spot balance-wise, reaching 3rd level during the 3rd act of the adventure.

The adventure opens with the PCs stumbling upon a battle between the antagonists and an NPC ally, but depending on the party, they might not be motivated to fight the antagonists. Not that fighting the antagonists at this moment is essential to the adventure, but if you think this is a problem, you might want to say that this NPC enlisted the PCs to travel together on the road, for safety.

Also, there is a potential plot hole here that my players pointed out (warning, spoilers): If Rubert had such valuable cargo, why did he carry it alone when kobolds have been raiding travelers? My explanation was that the kobolds were known to prioritize obviously large shipments of goods, and he hoped to avoid drawing attention.

After this opening encounter, my players did their best to hunt down 100% of the fleeing kobolds, and I put an arbitrary 'tunnel seals behind them' trap in the players' way to stop this from happening. Maybe I shouldn't have, but it would have changed the adventure significantly if none of the kobolds in that encounter had escaped.

In the first dungeon, there's a great big pit that the adventure only describes as going "a long way down." My players wanted to explore the whole thing... I made some stuff up as to what was at the bottom of the pit, and I had to end the pit with a narrow tunnel going down into pitch-black water to keep the players from turning the adventure into a spelunking session. In retrospect I'd rather have come up with a less railroad-y solution, like slimy fungus growths that dealt acid damage on contact and damaged their gear, or something. Also, my players avoided falling into the pit, but what would have happened if they had fallen? The adventure doesn't say.

The random encounter tables in later parts of the advenure are sort of strange, since they introduce creatures that otherwise aren't mentioned as inhabiting the area even when you'd expect them to be, particularly the gnolls and ogres. I substituted my own random encounter table here.

In terms of positive features of this adventure, my players enjoyed the town and its NPCs, the dungeons, and the numerous interesting encounters. I definitely recommend this adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trouble in Ironboot Mine
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Akav. Great review and helpful. Good points on the plot and duly noted. :)
The Pirates of Senag Island
by Emmett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 13:52:34

I used The Pirates of Senag adventure as a one-shot for my first time as a DM. I did have to come up with a few town and npc names on the fly (so that my players had a reason to fight the pirates; they were hired by the mayors of the coastal towns) but that was hilarious as I got to give them some dumb names. I would call my one-shot a wild success, in that my players had tons of fun derailing it and actually recruiting all the Sahuagin pirates and forming their own pirate empire, completely abandoning the quest to kill the warchief.

Afterwards, they really wanted a deck of many things, so after they finished forming one of the most feared Pirate empires in the Forgotten Realms I just let them find one and pull cards from it. They all died except one. 10/10, best one-shot for derailing players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Senag Island
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Tower of the Mad Mage - Adventure
by Emily R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 11:44:48

I've really enjoyed all the modules I've gotten from M.T. Black, but I have to say that I had an absolute blast running this one, and my players had a great time too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tower of the Mad Mage - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Xanathar's Lost Notes to Everything Else
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 10:21:05

I'll be honest, I am kind of disappointed by a good bit of this book.

Firstly, you would expect a book that was made by 9 people, to at the very least not have as many grammer problems, missing words, and typos that this book has. Regarding the subclasses themselves, most of them are fine, but a few of them such as the Atonement Monk and the Sacred Kin at first glance seem WAY too powerful, while some other ones such as the Dragoon, College of Keys, and the Spirit Lord (for most of the game for this one atleast, later levels it might be on par if not exceeding the other subclasses) seem fairly weak. Then you have the Entropy Domain, which I think is fine as it is, considering it is a specialist class, but the mechanics and lore don't seem to work too well together. Why does Entropy give you advantage on Death saves? Why does Entropy work to cancel out spells, isn't that more of decreasing entropy? Even just ignoring the word Entropy and replacing it with a more fitting word, let's say....Control, because I can't think of something better. Why does this Anti-mage cleric not have counterspell? Why does it have Blight, or Inflict Wounds? The Lore of this subclass calls it one thing but it's mechanics say it's something completly different.

So, now let's talk about the Backgrounds, their all fine. Fairly common ideas in a backstory I would say, and backgrounds should be that way, otherwise they wouldn't be used often and have little reason to be there. Feature wise their all fine, eyeing over the proficiencies and traits, their fine. It's a background, it's not easy to mess up a background.

The race though, I like the idea. I saw the race and wondered why it doesn't already exist. However I looked over the race and was kind of disappointed. Fey Ancestry and Fey Resistance seem to be pretty counter productive, doing the same thing, quite literally giving advantage on being charmed twice. The Fey Charm doesn't say what the DC for the save is, I would presume Charisma though, and it doesn't give a duration, therefore lasting forever. Regarding the subclasses, level 6 is a very strange time to get something when most other classes get something at 5. The same thing goes for three but since the Aasimar get something at 3 and this is pretty much a Fey Aasimar, I'm okay with that one.

The DM tools were all very nice, the crit tables, the lingering injury tables. All the tables were very nice, Suspicion was okay. I liked the items, but the rarities for a few seem a little off, such as Armor of Ease and the Chaos gear.

I'll be honest, I haven't read the adventure yet but from the reviews I've seen, people like them so that's good.

Lastly the notes were nice, on par with Xanathar's Guide I would say.

If you want this book go ahead and pick it up, the DMs tools are good, the adventure is being liked by the other reviews, the race is a good concept that you could probably use to homebrew a better version. Most of the classes are okay. For $20 it's an okay deal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Xanathar's Lost Notes to Everything Else
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Lingering Soul - Class/Post-Death Option
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 06:07:08

I just played a poltergeist in one of my party's last sessions all in all a very fun experience. But it became very difficult due to the fact that I could not interact with items. But that is a big part of the class being a lingering soul so it was an adjustment I enjoyed the ability to throw the weapons around and going through walls was extremely useful. It may have just been our party dynamic that made it more difficult for me in the specific case of that session but all in all it is very fun. Were my party built better to be able to accomadate a lingering soul it would have worked better but I think it is very well done and very enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lingering Soul - Class/Post-Death Option
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Very Merry Giftmas
by Lachlan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 03:45:30

My friends and I playtested this and, despite what it says, we completed it in under an hour with only 2 players, and the only reason it lasted this long was because we were messing around. The town is lackluster at best with little to no description. The only apparent structures are the tavern and the apothocary, no other structures are mentioned and there isn't even a description of the NPCs running the places. Our DM helped a little by giving the tavernkeeper some semblance of a personality but it was more as a joke than anything else. In the beginning encounter there is no indication that the reindeer can be saved, and no apparent consequences if it's killed. Incidently the wizard in my group barbequed and butchered it rather than save it. There is also no indication as to why the bugbear and goblins are looting the town, nor any logical reason as to why the townsfolk haven't simply killed them themselves. The ending is dull without any roleplay opportunities, the group simply moves on without real consequences.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A Very Merry Giftmas
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4494 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles