Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-15 Streams of Crimson
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2018 01:38:32

Great module that is offering a lot of great opportunites to players to do things in unusual ways!!

I think the first version was more intersting with the fire dammage every turn at a certain point (trying to stay as sploilerless as I can)

Most fight are trivial and probably (ressource drainers)

The last encounter is amazing. THO YOU MUST READ THE FINAL FIGHT AND THE STAT BLOCKS OF CREATURES INVOVLED... they have amazing stat block but if you don't know well your creatures and the final might end in 2-4 tours (like that alawys do in AL tier4)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-15 Streams of Crimson
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-16 Pools of Cerulean
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2018 01:31:19

The final combat is amazing. Requieres a lot of prepartion to be worth a challenge for the usually AL broken tier4 PCs.

According to PCs, consider being in a cave with a low ceilings.

Not much intersting plot in here and it still fits well in the 4-parts S07 tiers 4 story arc

at least just for the final combat. YOU. MUST. PLAY. THIS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-16 Pools of Cerulean
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2018 01:21:08

Season 5 tier 4 were IMHO not challenging. Definitly great adventures overall, but a bit of a walk in the park.

Now this 4-parts stuff is something!

That one with the last are my favorites.

A lot a RP opportunities. Players need to make plan and strategies so cirumvent some pretty harmful environnemental effets. This brings them out of comfort zone and is just great (no for overbody tho!)

But those 4 season 7 adventures. Your group and you will have a great time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Greger's Grotto
by Spartan 3. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 22:04:40

Greger's Grotto is a great adventure for the starting DM or new player group. The designers have included multiple maps, numbered room descriptions, story hooks, and NPCs. The module also includes various tables to generate random encounters and conditions that affect the players/arena fights/overall story. Refrence pages to the three core rulebooks (i.e. PHB 149), cutting down on time needed to search for a monster.

I used this module as a starting place for a group of 4 players (2 experienced, 2 new to role-playing games). All of the players started with level one characters and had advanced to level three by the end of the adventure. Overall, the module felt well balanced for our group. The designers do include other ways to run the adventure for higher level characters, as well as alternative story ideas.

Overall, this adventure is well written and easy to run. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Greger's Grotto
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monsters of the Guild (Fantasy Grounds)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 22:00:27

Great creation and conversion, as would be expected.

And even more monsters for my campaigns... never enough critters to throw at my players... ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Guild (Fantasy Grounds)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-TAROT01-01 Awakening of Fates
by Joe T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 21:40:11

This was a straight forward adventure that had some moments, which allowed for roleplaying, but little in the way non-combative challenges. The only challenge that was posed to the party had no affect on the outcome of the session. All in all, the players enjoyed it, which is the most important thing, and the combat was challenging at the most advanced adjustments for 6-7 players of Very Strong strength. The treasure and rewards were also nice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TAROT01-01 Awakening of Fates
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lost Tales of Myth Drannor
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 21:11:10

Let me start out by saying that I love this overall product and would count most of these adventures to my favorites. As follows, I'll give a short review to each of the adventures contained in Lost Tales:

The Darkwood Webs, tier 1; DDAL00-02a: As the first adventure, this one gives a decent introduction to the Forest of Cormanthor and the creatures living inside of it. The actual plot is pretty straight forward and consists mostly of a travel passage that has opportunity for roleplay, exploration and combat, leading into a fights which includes saving some people in distress. There's nothing all that special about this adventure but I never felt like it was lacking. What it does, it does good enough and I would consider this specific adventure to be a very good intro to D&D5e in general. 4/5

The Weirding Vats, tier 1; DDAL00-02b: This is one of those adventures which uses a bunch of optional the encounters to start with which the DM can pick and choose from as desired. I really enjoy this design in general as it allows for more replayability for both players and DMs. The final fight is very interesting in that is a Tier 1 adventure where the boss has 3rd level spell slots as well as lair actions. I was afraid it might prove to hard at first but it turned out to be exactly right when it comes to balance. The unique enemy types and creature modifications were also pretty interesting for both flavour and gameplay. 5/5

Spawn of the Maimed Virulence, tier 2; DDAL00-02c: Starts out with a typical premise of adventurers moving out slay some dragons. It does allow for that kind of play but also offers opportunity to go about it more diplomatically. Also offers a bunch of different ways of how to approach the scenarios, basically being multi-linear and less railroady than a lot of other AL mods. Greatly enjoyed the classical dragon fight as well as the opportunity to ally with one of them. 5/5

Echos of the Weeping War, tier 2; DDAL00-02d: This adventure also includes some encounter choice for the travel portion but whenever I ran this adventure the players would go for the same one as it's the most obvious (the ship one). Especially the air route is very unconvential and I doubt gets used much because of that. Probably requires some more help from the DM side to make the other options more appealing. The final encounter has one of those "never-ending" combats where the fight just goes on endlessly unless the group decides to leave (with some win conditions attached obviously). I've never really been a huge fan of encounters like this and will probably rework it for my future runs of it. It's also kind of a bummer that the adventure hook with the rumour about the legendary elven artifact turned out to be just that: a groundless rumour. This adventure does provide opportunity for some MTF monster addtions though and is very rich in flavour. 3.5/5

Forgotten Foes, tier 3; DDAL00-02e: Pretty straight forward this one. Has a very interesting background and sets up the T4 adventure well. Adventure itself is pretty much just a small dungeon crawl but does have some neat traps. The tome one is a highlight by itself and proved for some humorous situations. The dungeon does fall into the pitfall of not accounting for flying characters though for some of the later traps. The bossfight was alright but I would have loved some more interaction with the villian before the actual fight breaks out. Gets a bump in score just because it has one of my favourite uses of wild magic in a mod yet. 4/5

The Definition of Heroism, tier 4; DDAL00-02f: Starts out very similar to the T3 adventure and also includes a dungeon crawl (kinda). Dungeon itself is not really all that interesting and the pulled thread mechanics do get old fast, though I guess they do a fine job of having players expend ressources without fighty bits. Final combat itself is fine and all but might be a bit weak for T4. This adventure is very rich in flavour and lore which is always something I enjoy to see in AL mods. Also has a bunch of fun story awards. 4/5

Overall I really enjoyed how flavourful the rewards and creature modifications were handled for the adventures and will totally run most of these adventures multiple times before they get repetitive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Tales of Myth Drannor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Storm King's Barrows: Tombs and Crypts of the North
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 18:31:16

For my full review come check out: https://youtu.be/9iAua41DOhY

I don't know who on earth thought this deserved 2 stars it's surely up there with some really great adventurers and as soon as my full review comes out I'll be posting that here, for now though this is an excelent set of adventurers and dungeons particularly if you are running Storm King's Thunder and want a taste of something a bit different.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storm King's Barrows: Tombs and Crypts of the North
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you! I'm eagerly watching my subscription feed for the full review ;) In the meantime, everyone reading, check out Brad's channel on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwL7jsH1PFOTTP6DkRaP-DQ
100 Monster Hunts
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 04:06:26

This book shines because not only does it have unique and original sidequests with just enough material for the DM to embellish with creativity, it also offers a great table that lays out those sidequests in a clear manner, making the DM's job easier. Tons of variety, tons of flavor, easy to use. Some things I wished it had were selectable text, a clickable menu and page numbers for the encounters, but if you want quick and fun encounters that you can spin into a oneshot or even string together into a campaign, you cannot go wrong with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 03:29:25

SPOILERS

I actually value balance pretty highly, and with this one...let's just say it wouldn't surprise me if a party of 5th level characters could mop the floor with most of these combats. The grand unified cult leader at the end is only CR 6, with half a dozen CR 1/8 minions and a single CR 5 elemental. This is a joke and it's honestly just sloppy. Even if you always run at Very Strong, the combats are basically unplayable as written.

The story and pacing are just okay and don't really make up for it. It's still a fairly linear dungeon crawl, even if there's an NPC with an interesting backstory who joins your party. It does have some "living dungeon" elements that spruce it up a bit, so it could be worse. The concept is fine, but the execution is...not so good.

EDIT: Thanks for the author response! Given the intent, here's some more targeted feedback: 1) It's not teeechnically the grand leader, but it's still the leader of the cell, and from a narrative perspective, it is the position that you expect to be filled with an end boss, so a CR 6 dork is something of an anticlimax. I would have gone with an archmage instead. (When I run this adventure now, I usually go with two archmages—that always gets 'em sweating.) 2) While there are interaction sections at the beginning, they don't really have goals (except for "receive exposition"), obstacles (the NPCs are gonna give you your mission either way), or stakes (Boddynock might not open up to you, but that doesn't matter if you're not invested in the character, and if he doesn't open up to you, you probably won't be invested in the character, right?), so they end up playing more as cutscenes with dialogue trees. The flumphs and myconids pull it off better (but they are part of the dungeon crawl). 3a) Encounters with multiple routes to victory are awesome and I'm a big fan. The adventure hints a little at using the cultist robes as disguises, for example, which is great. But in a pre-published adventure, you've also gotta cut the DM a little slack and give some guidance on what to do if the players try other solutions. For example, the ogre den has some ogres that are employed as guards by the cult. If the players disguise themselves as cult members, what do the ogres do? Wave them past? Ask their names? Ask for a password? All the cultists here are human—do nonhumans have disadvantage on Deception checks? I'm a pretty experienced DM, so I can come up with answers for all these, just like I can rebalance the encounters, but ideally I shouldn't have to scramble. I'd name DDEX2-2 and DDAL5-4 as examples of adventures that did this really well. 3b) Hordes of enemies can make for a good encounter, but it wasn't well-executed here. A good horde fight is almost always gonna require multiple waves of enemies, because if you toss one fireball and that's it, encounter over, then that's not so much a horde as a minor speed bump. You also want enemies that can pose a credible threat in great numbers, because otherwise you're just mowing the lawn, y'know? Where's the thrill? (DDAL7-10 recognizes this and basically says "Yeah, there are infinite manes here, but they can't do jack against you, so let's handwave 'em and save you the trouble.") Cultists have a single melee attack at +3 to hit, which means they not only need to get right next to the PCs, they also need to baaasically score a crit to get through a typical melee AC at this level, and then they deal an average of 8 damage—to the frontliner, who is probably the beefiest person in the group and won't even feel it. For this sort of thing, I'd be more inclined to go with several waves of low-CR elementals, since they play into the elemental cult theme. Magmins are good—they're fragile enough to mow down en masse, but their death burst makes them effective at chipping down your HP while still allowing for meaningful counterplay if you use smart tactics. Mephits could work well too. Additionally, you can't just have the whole adventure be low-level mooks—you need to balance it with more level-appropriate foes too!

The XP budgets from the DMG don't reeeally produce balanced encounters (especially at high levels), as seen in, well, this adventure, I guess. For contrast, if you look at the more detailed encounter-building guidelines in Xanathar's Guide to Everything, you'll find that for a party of five 13th level characters, a challenging-but-winnable fight would be more like two mages, four cult fanatics, twelve thugs, and twelve cultists.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
WARNING: SPOILERS! Hi Jasmine, A few quick notes/clarifications: 1) "The grand unified cult leader" doesn't actually appear in this adventure. It should be clear from the text of the adventure that this is an isolated cell. Part of the "final rewards" is actually an item intended as a gift for a higher-ranking member not appearing in this adventure. 2) The dungeon crawl is really just the second part of the adventure. There are role-play encounters and a couple combats before the party enters the "dungeon" part. 3) As you mentioned, some of the combats are fairly easy for a tier 3 party, and that was by design for a couple reasons: a) Some of the encounters were not intended to be combats at all, but opportunities for some roleplaying and possible throwbacks to story award from other adventures. b) I wanted the "large group" combat (excuse me for being a little cryptic, as I try to avoid spoilers for those who haven't read/played it yet) to be something fairly easy for a tier 3 party. Although the XP is budgeted appropriately for a tier 3 encounter per the DMG, the large number number of creatures results in a high XP multiplier for sizing even though many of the creatures involved may individually be low-powered. I wanted to give the feel of highly-powerful heroes sweeping through a large number of minions, ala Conan or a lot of the old fantasy books where the powerful heroes sweep through a hoard of opponents. Anyway, I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy the adventure, but thanks for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. Happy gaming! -Scott
Whispers From The Sea
by Gorram W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 02:02:09

A fun adventure with catapults, goblins, derring, and doing, and much hilarity to be had. A strong sophomore adventure delivered by the powerful writers, and I look forward to playing this, and seeing what else they will create.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whispers From The Sea
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Veils & Vengeance
by Gorram W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 01:59:36

An excellent roleplaying adventure, this little module demonstrates the skill in writing and creativity that can be brought to bear in this field. I can already see how to fit it into future roleplay with my parties, and possibly in more than one game.

A good module if you are looking for an alternatrive to the standard combat heavy adventures.

-GW



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Veils & Vengeance
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-PHA-01 Six Summoned Swords
by Thiam H. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2018 21:29:40

Played through this module and initially I found it a little odd, but after some time I realized that this module is really fun, and decided to buy it so that I can run this in the future.

We never gave her up, Never let her down, Never ran away and deserted her.

Never made her cry, Never said goodbye, Never told a lie and hurt her.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-PHA-01 Six Summoned Swords
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Hargon's Hoard Pt. 1 (Crates)
by Charles D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2018 18:42:52

I love your work. I checked your facebook page and noticed that you were working on part 2 some time ago. I can't wait. I use Hargon's for almost every dungeon and encounter! It's great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hargon's Hoard Pt. 1 (Crates)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Charles. I'm currently trying to finish up part 2. It's been a bit delayed due to life circumstances. Pt. 2 is still on the way and Pt. 3 will be along some time later.
Ulther's Compendium of Poisons
by Elise C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2018 18:26:11

Nice layout. Great add on content for any D&D game! There is not enough content for crafting, so I really enjoyed this piece as a DM!

I also could not find the author online. If the author is interested in an interview style panel on Twitch with other DMs Guild writers, PM on Twitter or Facebook @DNDElise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ulther's Compendium of Poisons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 7136 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles