Dungeon Masters Guild
Find Category









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Random Encounter Creator
by GM B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 21:21:24

Yet again a wonderful product from Rob Twohy! I have it hotkeyed now in all my games, what a handy tool! I used it yesterday and in like under one minute I was able to throw out a random night encounter during watch. Completely built!!!! BAM! BOOM! I continue to purchase products by Rob because he gives quality work for reasonable price. BUY IT NOW!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Encounter Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Scarab of Death
by Marc A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 16:19:26

Haven't run it yet, but it is well structured and gives all the information necessary to feel confident about running it. It also feels very professional with the layout and artwork. There's no doubt that a lot of effort was put into making this an amazing adventure. At this price I consider this a steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarab of Death
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 14:11:43

So far I've only run one of these encounters, due to time constraints, and not owning it (not being AL-legal) when the campaign started. I definitely could have thrown in several of these very easily.

These encounters work very well in and around the DDAL7-01 missions as well. I made a slight modification of the location of the safehouse/warehouse in #5 to the warehouses in the harbour to allow for an easier hook for Snuffed out. The two flowed seamlessly, and a small party(4) of level 2s, though reduced by combat, had a reasonable challenge with the pirates.

A Little Too Fancy was cut from our session due to time, but I chose it because it seemed similar to one of the encounters in the first s7 epic that players at my table have raved about.

Spa Day is probably my least favourite, but I could see it being a lot of fun to play.

If I run other campaigns or adventures set in Port Nyanzaru, I think it is highly likely I will use many of these. Especially as a way to add XP quickly, and make Tomb of Annihilation more survivable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Cannoneer Class (5e)
by Jacob K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 10:15:01

It has some potential, but it is still missing quite a bit of content such as:

  • Other starting equipment besides the gun
  • A paragraph about what levels you get ability score improvements at (like all other classes)
  • a spot that says how to calculate your spell attack besides just saying it uses wisdom
  • concerning the Eldritch Cannoneer, you need something special to it besides just getting some spells. Wizards and any other spell caster just gets the slots when they get to a certain level and can choose from a list. These are being added like they are abilities, but really aren't
  • Improvised Launcher needs more explanation. What do the 3 or 5 projectiles do? Do they each do a damage die to the same target, or 3/5 different ones, or what.
  • Grit system could be renamed to something else besides what Matt Mercer's called it
  • I'd reword the Deft Hands explanation to be more like how it describes extra attacks in the book. Or just call them extra attacks.
  • What kind of ammo does it use? Musketballs or something else? And how do you make them/buy them?
  • A quick build guide would be nice, as well a couple mini stories at the beginning like other classes.

All together, it has the potential to be good, just needs fleshing out a little more. Rocket Rider though sounds great though, and I will totally use that when I try this out soon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cannoneer Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mercantile Missionaries #1: Fashion Conscious
by Marion A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 07:18:32

I ran this adventure for a group of five brand new players to D&D and they loved it! I enjoyed getting to make the bandits as silly and colourful as possible, and they had tons of fun mowing through them and battling on the docks. Great beginner adventure for any group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mercantile Missionaries #1: Fashion Conscious
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Murder at Moonveil Manor
by Marion A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 06:57:42

I just ran this adventure with a small three-person party and it was a blast! As the DM, I really enjoyed playing all the NPCs and the PCs enjoyed talking to everyone. Once the action kicks off, it's a fun open enviroment with the characters being able to go in and out of rooms and set off traps. As one of my players said, it started out Agatha Christie, and ended up Lovecraft! Great adventure, highly recommended. I may use some of the room traps again in other adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Chance Encounter
by Pauper J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 06:53:20

This is a fun, easy to follow adventure and we had such a wonderful time playing it. Being new to DMing , I was very pleased how well mapped out it was and didn't get lost. We loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Chance Encounter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Feats Effects Coding
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 03:06:33

These feat effects are a huge time saver! I personaly recomend all of Rob2e's products to all of my players. The best way to learn how to write your own effects is to see many great examples. Yesterday, I wanted to make an effect for a players samurai character. So I copied the resist from barbarian rage, and the adv on atk from reckless attack. It is very easy to make any effect with such a large code base to draw from... IE: all of Rob's work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Feats Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Guide to Out of the Abyss
by PETER L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 02:51:38

This is a great product that has been really help me set up and run the OotA campaign, thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Out of the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Underdark Encounters
by PETER L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 02:48:21

I'm running a homebrew Underdark campaign mostly using Out of the Abyss as a guide. I was excited to get this product as it stated that these encounters could be "added as random encounters in your Out of the Abyss/Rage of Demons campaign", great!

I was expecting some new and different things that I could throw at my players but after reading it now it's clear that there is little different here at all from what you'll find in OotA. For at least 7 of the 10 encounters my party have already encountered, or have plans to encoutner, something extremely similar if not exactly the same. Out of the other 3 I feel only 1 is worth throwing at my players. Frankly I expected a lot more than just ten pages of monster stats that I could find in the Monster Manual and 1 paragraph below them of setting up the encounter.

So please be warned that if you own OotA and the MM you may feel this is not worth it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Underdark Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Charred Rose
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 00:23:24

I'm a huge fan of the mood and themes in the Ravenloft setting, so when I saw this adventure I bought it right away.

Visually, it exceeds most comparable products published on DMs Guild, but it's not quite professional quality. The cover itself is intriguing, but inside it's lacking. The layout is fine, but the art varies in styles and quality. There are two maps included: One is a hex map, but as there's only three areas of interest, it's not particularly necessary. The other map is a simplified version of the same area, but meant to be someone's scrawling in the dirt. It's a good reference for the DM to have, but it's... very ugly. There are adequate pictures included for most of the NPCs, but strangely not for the central NPC that PCs are sent to find.

Some Spoilers Follow

The first chapter (two pages of material set in a small village) has the makings of an interesting adventure. Mostly, the PCs are making ability checks related to investigation as they poke around the village. There's a fun bit of foreshadowing between a song sung in a village tavern and the lingering scent of rose perfume in several areas. Only elves and half-elves get a check to notice the latter, which seems like a mistake; between parties that don't have elves or half-elves and those where elven character fail the checks, this fun element might get missed. In my opinion, it's a creepy touch and one of the 'gothic-horroriest' things about this adventure. There's a body or two thrown in the mix as well, with prompts for horror checks from the PCs. I'd suggest getting rid of these or at least lowering the DCs, since 3rd level PCs are likely to have seen a bit of gore, but your mileage may vary.

The second chapter (two and a half pages) takes place in a nearby forest. The confrontation therein can conclude a couple of different ways, but ultimately the monster is readily identifiable, since the party conveniently stumbles upon them mid-evil act. A lack of red herrings, other suspects, or interaction beyond running or fighting seems to preclude any possible mystery or chance that the glaistig will get away. Despite the very good chance that the glaistig attempts to run from the party, the adventure tells the DM to 'improvise this chase scene as necessary'. This seems like a missed opportunity to showcase some creativity on the part of the author.

The final chapter (little more than half a page) is by far the weakest of the three. Caitrin, the possessed NPC from chapter 2, gives the PCs this location in what is the thinnest plot point in the adventure. Unless she was possessed immediately after she and Gathan were attacked, I'm not sure how she knows the bard has been brought to a clearing in the middle of the forest. Even if that's the case, her spirit is supposed to be following her body helplessly during the possession. Of course, since Gathan was carried here by a gargantuan forest worm, presumably the party can follow the swath of broken trees or burrowed earth from the scene Caitrin's possession in chapter 2. Plot holes aside, once the PCs arrive, they must make a perform check to rescue the central NPC from the aforementioned worm. There does not seem to be any other means of resolving this scene. The worm's CR exceeds the player's capacity to defeat without some extremely creative tactics (not a problem from my perspective, but might cause some problems with bull-headed characters itching for a fight). Another chase scene will ensue, but again there is no elaboration.

When I run The Charred Rose, I'll remove or rewrite the 3rd chapter entirely. The giant worm seems a little out of place in a horror adventure, and the glaistig is a far more interesting antagonist anyway. The first two chapters could also use some elaboration. Perhaps Caitrin's spirit, not merely content to follow her possessed body, takes some initiative and attempts to warn the villagers, leading to strange incidents of haunting. A couple more NPCs in the village couldn't hurt either; I'd consider setting up one of Caitrin's suitors as a possible suspect for the disappearances.

End Spoilers

All in all, The Charred Rose is a short adventure in need of some TLC but with a lot of potential. Worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Charred Rose
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Michael, I really appreciate you taking time out to review my adventure and many thanks for your considerate and insightful feedback.
EDC's Cantrips Revisited
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 22:25:34

This is an excellent supplement that provides a thoughtful reworking of many of the standard cantrip spells, where it is appropriate. The author has a deep understanding of the standard rules and game mechanics, and he clearly put in a lot of carefully thought about what cantrips spells needed revisions, and which was did not, to improve game play. The writing and editing are top-notch, and I appreciated the detailed reasoning provided when he revised certain cantrips. The author also does a terrific job of redistributing the current cantrip list across the player classes to create more interesting and balanced game play.

This guide is an excellent value for its price.

I really would love for the author to continue to update this supplement to include new cantrips spells released in future WOTC publications (and perhaps add some new original cantrips). Also, I definitely hope the author releases similar supplements reviewing and revising the standard 1st - 9th level player's spell list.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EDC's Cantrips Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Jungle Goodies - The Treasures of Chult
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 21:13:29

This is a fun collection of...well, goodies, you can give to your PCs! If you love tables of unique items that your players haven't seen before, you need to pick this up. Intended for use in a Chult or ToA campaign, I can also see most of these working in my Feywild game. Many of the items present an opportunity to bring in backstory or future adventure hooks. I can see using this as a quick reference to spice up overland travel or an otherwise mundane dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jungle Goodies - The Treasures of Chult
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Giantslayer - Adventure
by Karlo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 13:32:18

Well worth the money. and it can be changed to fit most levels really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Giantslayer - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Arcane Tradition: Mage Hunter
by Rhynn h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 10:27:28

While this is a well written supplement, i feel this would have been a better archetype for the ranger opposed to wizard, as spellsinger kind of already fills the niche.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Tradition: Mage Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Publisher Reply:
Hey, Rhynn. Thank you for the review! I agree, that would be an interesting ranger archetype for sure. The Mage Hunter is based off of the wizard kit from the 1993 Jungles of Chult supplement. The entire history behind them is based on the fact that they are wizards who hunted their own kind. With that in mind, it would have to be a Wizard archetype. Hope you enjoy it either way!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4001 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles