Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
by Aryana D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 19:57:28

We are just about finished this adventure and my players and I love it. I looked at the 5e conversion offered here on the DMs guild, some of which I kept but a lot of it I did my own modifications. Explicitus is going to be a recurring villain so I've made her a bit tougher, and we she comes back she will be stronger and have a vendetta. I am looking forward to having her appear again! I've also planted seeds that the cult has spread to Hookhill and possibly Hochoch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 15:23:53

Fun module to run. Combat-heavy, and that first major encounter is a doozy. Definitely NOT for level 1 characters, especially with the way the last encounter goes. Overall, it had good pacing, though it has the potential to run faster than the 4 hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Land of Intrigue (2e)
by Karl H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 11:36:57

I made this purchase to help flesh out the backstory and potential plot hooks for a character I created who hailed from Tethyr, the first of the three kingdoms detailed in this collection. And there's plenty of information to be found therein. As the content is 2e, the information is set over a hundred years prior to 5e goings ons. But it's still a great rescource for getting details on locations, history, and notable families. On that front, the product met my expectations.

There are four PDFs included, one for each kingdom, and one for a few maps. The maps-only PDF is ok. They're not super detailed, some are color and some are black and white. I don't think the maps included offer anything more than what is widely available on the web. The maps inside each of the kingdom PDFs are really disappointing. Specifically, the quality of the scans - which is what I assume they are - is like looking at a copy of a copy of a copy. They're still helpful in terms of getting an idea of the layout of a city and relative locations. But otherwise underwhelming.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Land of Intrigue (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Stephanie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 10:31:36

Treasure of the Broken Hoard is the Adventurer's League "-01" introduction module for season 5 of D&D organized play, corresponding to Storm King's Thunder. It takes place after the events of Season 1, Tyranny of Dragons, which contained a major story arc involving Tiamat.

In Treasure of the Broken Hoard, there are hints at adventurers treasure-seeking for bits of Tiamat's now-scattered dragon hoard. As level 1 PCs, it can be very exciting to think "ooh, we're going to handle a dragon egg!" Unfortunately, the adventure is a little disappointing in that regard-- PCs do not interact with major pieces of the Realms like that in this introductory adventure.

However, if you step away from "big picture thinking" and get down to the personal level, the mini-adventures in this module can be very satisfying. I give it a 4 out of 5 because some of the mini-adventures just don't quite gel for me.

SPOILERS BELOW!

First, this is a very difficult adventure hook to bring PCs into the module. For starters, it occurs just outside the town of Parnast.... which is the destination for DDAL05-02, a road adventure where you end in Parnast. If you are running this with a continuing group, you will want to run 05-01 after 05-02 and 05-03. Second, the hook involves meeting up with a dead NPC. It's very hard to get players motivated to care about an NPC who is already dead. If you have the time, consider adding a role-playing encounter prior to the start of the adventure, to get the PCs to care a little bit about this would-be employer.

Additionally, if you recall previous -01 modules and their ties to the factions, be aware that 05-01 doesn't have any faction rewards whatsoever, including renown.

Mission 1: Beneath the Hills. This adventure gives the players a fairly straightforward tactical cave expedition with some comedic elements, like miniaturized goblin swarms and a tiny pet bear (yes, this is the module to run if your players want a pet!)

Mission 2: Upon the Stones. The badgers that make for the foes in this encounter don't make a whole lot of sense (I re-fluffed them as giant lizards to make them more menacing), but there is an excellent role-playing encounter with some living stones. Unfortunately, the most valuable treasure in this mini-adventure is typically destroyed when the PCs try to recover it.

Mission 3: Against the Frost. This mini-adventure features a PvP combat, and a curse. It works in some groups, especially ones where the players already know and trust each other, and are experienced players. Otherwise, I do not recommend it, as it sets a very negative tone for new players.

Mission 4: Through the Fires. This is a very straightforward kobold-fight with a lot of fire effects. It's a decent introduction to 5e combat, but can be a little boring if you already know 5th edition.

Mission 5: Above the Clouds. Starts with a surprise attack (typically; getting a 15 passive perception at level 1 is difficult if you aren't a Wisdom-based PC). They then go into a second fight which has a kind of "boss fight" element to it. Finally, they encounter an NPC that is too powerful to fight. Greedy adventurers (which is most PCs) will not do well in this adventure, and will feel railroaded-- assuming they don't attack and get murdered by the final NPC.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 09:10:52

So as a DM i am noticing since POA that the first adventure is extremely deadly. In this case a mage with the ability to cast Fireball. Now oridinaryly I wouldnt have an issue with it but when you are playing with new players to d&d it would make sense to give them an adventure that is not so deadly as an introduction to d&d



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 08:58:35

I enjoyed the adventure but i find the scene at the camp when you persuade the leader to turn on his second in command seems to be counter productive and drags the story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Giorgio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 07:58:48

Purtroppo modulo si merita solo la sufficenza. L'avventura di per se non è male e offre qualche buon spunto per il roleplaying; il problema è la gara che compone il corpo centrale del modulo che non è ottimale. Al tavolo è risultata faraginosa e dispersiva, la quantità esagerata di prove che devono sostenere sia i pg che i png spezza molto il ritmo del gioco e sembra essere stata concepità piu come riempitivo per far passare il tempo che vera competizione di abilità. Risistemata questa parte potrebbe diventare un bel modulo investigativo.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Ashley K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 19:33:16

This adventure is easily in my Top 10 WORST Modules List. There is a joke that goes around the DDAL about how nothing is ever edited very well... I don't think this adventure saw an editor at all. The text is clunky and has numerous omissions of important information, the plot is paper-thin and barely exists, and there are a hundred redudancies that needed to be tightened up. Nothing makes sense, all of the encounters save for the final battle do anything to serve the story or advance the plot.

SPOILERS because I'm going to give you a complete breakdown of this trainwreck:

PART 1 Section A1 actually isn't that bad. It's the version you use if a majority of the table has played "A Day at the Races." However, there's little to no connection between this adventure and the previous one "A Day at the Races." There are numerous inconsistencies between the end of "A Day at the Races" and "A Walk in the Park." It almost feels like the two writers didn't share notes so that continuity between the two adventures could be established. I really don't like how Screaming Wind (Tabaxi NPC & Chult's Emerald Enclave contact) doesn't even mention Soggy Wren (Harper Contact in Chult) who is the person who had the Plot Framing DeviceTM - The Satchel & Poison - at the end of "A Day at the Races." There should at least be some sort of mention of a hand-off of the item to Screaming Wind or a reason why she has it instead of Soggy.

Also... why does Screaming Wind have a Tressym? A Sending Spell Scroll would have sufficed for the reason they need to send MowMow (yes, that is the name of a Tabaxi's Tressym I kid you not.) along with the players.... MowMow is not important and can kindly find their way out of the adventure. Thanks.

Section A2. This is the version you use if your players didn't participate in "A Day at the Races" and, honestly, where I started eyeballing my vodka bottle. YOU NEVER HAVE YOUR CONTACT RUN AWAY BEFORE GIVING IMPORTANING ADVENTURE-BEGINNING INFORMATION. NEVER. In the author's world it's okay for Screaming Wind, a leader in the Emerald Enclave and the point of contact to begin this entire adventure, to refuse to talk to non-EE player characters and effectively STOP THE INVESTIGATION FROM HAPPENING. Literally! There is written in the text a CHASE SCENE where Screaming Wind will actually RUN AWAY from the players if they can't make their Persuasion Check! Better make sure you have an Emerald Enclave player at your table! They then would have to chase her down and REPEAT THE PERSUASION CHECK. What... I...... Hold on kids, lemme get a drink....

Section B. If someone can explain a reason for the "Fisherlings" encounter other than just annoying the players and potentially triggering a SECOND Chase Sequence, I'd love to hear it. Otherwise, this encounter needs to be trashed or fleshed out to actually have a plot-related consequence. If it WAS more about keeping the players from investigating then I would be okay with it. Otherwise it feel more like NaNoWriMo wordcount padding. There is a mention that the Fisherlings will target the Plot Framing DeviceTM Satchel, which I think SHOULD have been the point - grab the satchel and run so that the drug smuggling ring stays hidden because "oops... there goes the evidence!" But no... nope. Nothing of the sort is mentioned in the text. Yes, there is an "Extra Encounter" included where if the Fisherlings get away then you might run into some thugs that'll extort you to get your property back, but no mention that it could turn into a "Destroy the Evidence" type of scenario which would have been muuuuch more interesting!

Then there is... THE SATCHEL SHOP. Apparantly, this is the MOST IMPORTANT THING IN THIS MODULE OMG. Hey kids, want a fun drinking game for this module? Drink every time you see the word Satchel. Guarateed Alcohol Poisoning or your money back! I feel like I know everything there is to know about Satchels after this aventure. Also... is Abwale Capaning part of the smuggling ring? It's never made clear, impled... but never made clear. It would be more interesting if he was and all of his dialogue (that DOESN'T deal with trying to sell you a Satchel!) seems to imply he knows more than he's letting on.... but there's nothing given to the DM. So... story-wise The Satchel Shop is a dead-end for the most part. No new information is learned because... guess what... THE SATCHEL ISN'T THE IMPORTANT PART! THE! POISION! IS! Which makes the other NPC you meet Wadumu the more important part of this scene and he's just sort of... dumped onto the players.

Also, this Module recieves the Ashley Shadowheart Award for Fastest Magic Item Awarding. Wadumu shows up and voluntells the players he'll be their guide into the jungle because he knows about the Plot Framing DeviceTM Poision (thankfully the Satchel leaves the story) and he also just throws this adventure's magic item at the players. Honestly, I feel like magic items should be presented as a special reward not just a random piece of candy to entice the players into going where they're supposed to go in the story.

Honestly? The best fix where would me to remove the Fisherlings and let the players get to The Satchel Shop, get all of The Satchel Shop BS over with, THEN have the Thugs show up (hired men by Abwale to rough the players up and steal the evidence) and use that as Wadumu's entry into the story where he helps the players fight the thugs off. Better flow and every encounter does something to serve the story.

PART 2 "In the Jungle, the Chultan Jungle the PCs Sleep Tooooniiiight." No, really, that's the extent of Part 2. Apparantly Wadumu's such a BAMF that he gets the players through the Jungle without issues... until a Rain Storm hits. There's some skill challenges here to avoid being swept away in a flash flood, but otherwise this part is all padding without substance. Wadumu escorts the adventurers to a safe place to sleep and tells them a bedtime story that's secretly the story of his Tragic PastTM. Then it just... ends and we go on to Part 3.

Seriously... I got nothing. This part was so pointless it doesn't need to exist. Get rid of it. Wrap Wadumu's Tragic PastTM story into his introduction and toss Part 2 out.

Part 3. We just... ENTER THE GUARDED VILLAGE WITHOUT ISSUE. No... no... make 'em sneak in! And if they can't sneak in, then they get taken directly to the Yuan-Ti Pureblood that's running the show. Then have the big final fight. Part 3 just reads like a muddied mess and makes no sense. Does Wadamu sell the adventueres as slaves to the Yuan-ti and that's how the get in? He does have a converstaion with some of the human guards of the village, but we're not told what he says or what his game is. All we learn is that he CLAIMS to have told the Humans the Adventurers were here to save them, but the adventurers will have to wait for nightfall... why? They're already inside the village... they're being given a tour by the guards... seriously Adventure! What does the Guard REALLY think they're there for? You don't tell us!

And once they do fight the Yuan-ti the adventure just... ends. Yes, you get a plot hook about a "lost city" where the Yuan-ti have set up their main base, thus setting up the third part of the Trilogy. But it just feels... meh. Especially since it is Wadumu who learns about this city through an argument with some fellow grung and then tells the players. It would be far better for them to have to interrogate the Yuan-ti or maybe be told about it from the human slaves in the village. This Adventure commits a Cardinal Sin by making an NPC more vital to the story than the actions of the players, one my top Unforgiveable Sins.

So... my final thought? I need more vodka to deal with this adventure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 15:33:14

This is the first AL module I've DM'd. A general comment first: as others have said, these run far longer than the specified 1 hour. If you are mixing in hardcover information for a richer role-play experience it will take even longer. As it was, I was not successful in mixing in plot hooks for other potential adventures (Guild Adept content & Tortle package) prior to starting the actual hardcover as they served to derail the actual missions.

The hooks : these are a bit vague, but I guess serve as alternates to those in the ToA hardcover. Arrival and general info about Port Nyanzaru (PN): I found the arrival description text, and quick info about the various sections of town to be useful as I constantly referred to them as quick refreshers when asked about various sections of town.

Mission 1: I felt that the brigands were too easily bypassed, and that there were insufficient consequencse to setting off all the traps (seriously, my party found all the traps, then tripped them anyway). Mission 2: This was by far all the players' favorite. They would have participated in a number of races if possible. This was my favourite part as well. It was the quickest to run, and the players felt the significance of meeting one of the Princes. Mission 3:This mission felt disconnected with the overall narrative of the module, but provided needed exposure to what the jungle might hold. I enjoyed the Grung encounter, but it could've connected better Mission 4: The combats here were a real challenge for the players, and they seemed to really feel they earned their victory. They also really enjoyed recognizing the finger-tracing mechanisim here. This mission felt the most like an Indiana Jones adventure. I was really intrigued by the premise and felt it would have been better if it could've been more fully developed as a stand-alone module. It felt "thin," with an interesting mystery that is quickly resolved in 2 combats. Mission5: The players felt a bit rail-roaded by all this, and except for the one player who continuously sets off all the traps, this wasn't much of a challenge despite the additions for a very strong party.

I preferred the Tier 2 intro module which I played, which I just found more interesting, though I might have played for a better DM than I am. I think the best use of this is throwing an individual mission in here and there for extra money and XP rather than the entire module. I would really like to see some of the roleplay encounters like in the season 7 epic , or Too Fancy in Encounters in Port Nyanzaru added to some of these intro modules. While Mission 2 was non-standard, it was not in the same style as those (though it was everyone's favorite). I think it would be a nice change of pace from combat, and also help speed things up.

Possible hooks with Guild Adept products: These became AL legal after I had already run most of the module, so I only added one at the end. The Encounterse in Port Nyanzaru would work really well in-between these missions (or instead of, because they offer more XP in some cases). -Snuffed Out works well after the end of Mission 5. It only takes moving the location of the warehouse to the warehouse district in the harbour. It depends on how badly hurt the party is after completing the mission as there is a lot of combat. -Too Fancy fits in well after that, as they meet up with the Faction leaders to get their rewards, they can suddenly find themselves all alone leading right to this encounter. My party who participated in the season 7 epic commented on how much they enjoyed some of the more unusual encounters, so this would've worked well (we ran out of time to run it)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Jeremy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 14:14:34

I ran this adventure with 6 players at one table. We were able to complete the adventure in 5 hours. It will challenge your DM to pick the best section in Part 2 that will be best suited for his or her group of adventures. I wasn't able to complete all the tasks in Part 2 because of the time limit (which sucked). I do wish that the mod will tell you what and when to use the maps given and when to use your own. Overall I loved SKT hardcover and I was able to transition into this mod seamlessly. Highly recommend this if you like big battle scenes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 09:33:19

This module may not have had the best writing, but it was entertaining to run, regardless. Having the situation with the second group was very interesting, since that encounter triggers events later on in the module. Most of my players were a little disappointed with how the module ended, though one of them (who has been a long-time player) figured it out very quickly. Overall, it was very fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 09:29:21

Recently ran this, and the players had fun, even though the game ran fairly quickly. Some of the encounters were a little tough for the group, though that was mostly because the group were all low level. The fact that the module gives groups a lot of leeway in how to approach the two later encounters was a big plus. It gave the party the ability to resolve the situation without being forced into combat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 23:33:55

Finally a DDAL07 adventure that finally challenged this party. I enjoyed the story this added to Season 7, and the early misdirection for the Soulmonger. Let me just say that Wadumu will become a recurring NPC. I love that character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 23:30:01
I really loved the characters reaction to the section were the street urchins are found. This adventure plays quickly, the combat here was to easy for a Very Strong Party however, If you have a very strong party add 2 Purebloods instead of 1 and it should keep the balance a little better. Loved the description of the Googles btw.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 23:18:55

This is a a GREAT mostly non combat adventure. The players skills are used pretty heavily and there is even some room for creative solution making. The only issue I have with this adventure, is the same issue I've had with every adventure so far in the DDAL07 series. The CR of the adventure isn't at a level to challenge the players as well as it could. It's like the authors realized that the Season 6 adventures were Colossally hard and went to far the other way to nerf the adventures in Season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3624 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles